|
General
Directory of Open Access Journals
www.doaj.org
” This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. We aim to cover all subjects and languages. There are now 1688 journals in the directory. Currently 414 journals are searchable at article level.” Under Technology & Engineering there are: Computer Science (56 journals) Construction (4 journals) Electrical and Nuclear Engineering (10 journals) Technology (General) (17 journals)
PE: The Magazine for Professional Engineers
http://www.nspe.org/PEmagazine/index.html
published monthly by the National Society of Professional Engineers contains some free and some members only content
. some fulltext April 2002 -
Foresight Institute
http://www.foresight.org/
is a US non-profit, educational organisation whose goal is that nanotechnology be developed safely and beneficially The site provides information about nanotechnology, for both the general and the technical reader. This includes abstracts of posters and conference papers, together with some full-text papers of past conferences, and the full text of the current and back issues of
the Foresight Update Newsletter. Some nanotechnology books are available online as full text, these include Engines of Creation by K. Eric Drexler (available to download in various formats), and Unbounding the Future: the Nanotechnology Revolution by K. Eric Drexler and Chris Peterson. Other full-text papers and documents are available online.
ITALICS, Innovation in Teaching And Learning in Information and
Computer Sciences
http://www.ics.heacademy.ac.uk/italics/
"the electronic journal of the Higher Education Academy Subject Centre
for Information and Computer Sciences (ICS). ITALICS provides a vehicle
for members of the ICS communities to disseminate best practice and
research on learning and teaching within the subject disciplines."
Defense Technical Information Center
http://www.dtic.mil/dtic/digest/
DTIC is the central Department of Defense facility for providing access to and facilitating the exchange of scientific and technical information. It is part of the Defense Information Systems Agency (DISA) The site introduces the centre, its activities, products and services. Documents, research reports and summaries, bibliographies, current awareness products and other online
services are available. The full-text of the quarterly newsletter DTIC Digest gives updates on DTIC's products and services, announces upcoming meetings, and highlights documents in the DTIC collection. The DTIC Review provides the full-text of selected technical reports and a bibliography of other references. The public STINET service allows access to all unclassified, unlimited citations
in the Technical Report Database, which includes over 3000 full-text documents. The special collections also contain many full-text documents and there is a multi-database search facility.
Engineering Education
http://www.engsc.ac.uk/journal/
"is a peer-reviewed, international journal and is freely available via
the website of the Engineering Subject Centre and distributed in paper
format to all UK university libraries and Engineering departments.
Engineering Education is published in the summer and winter each year. "
Motion System Design Online
http://www.motionsystemdesign.com/default.aspx
published by Penton Publishing, Inc., Cleveland, Ohio, is edited for designers and users of motion control products and systems. Articles concern selecting, applying, and maintaining power transmission/motion control products. Coverage focuses on new techniques and products, application ideas, and industry trends Motion System Design Online gives access to the full text of the
current issue in pdf format, design engineering basics, a searchable archive of future articles, a searchable directory of products/suppliers, information about new products, supplier data, contacts and links.
Online journals for ECE published by the World Academy of Science
http://www.waset.org/publications.php
include: International Journal of Computational Intelligence;
International Journal of Electrical, Computer, and Systems Engineering;
International Journal of Computer and Information Science and
Engineering; International Journal of Intelligent Technology;
International Journal of Applied Science, Engineering and Technology;
International Journal of Mathematical, Physical and Engineering
Sciences; International Journal of Computer Science; International
Journal of Electronics, Circuits and Systems; International Journal of
Computer Systems Science and Engineering; International Journal of
Information Technology; International Journal of Applied Mathematics and
Computer Sciences; International Journal of Computer Science and
Engineering; International Journal of Signal Processing ; International
Journal of Electrical Systems Science and Engineering; International
Journal of Computer, Information, and Systems Science, and Engineering.
Electrical & Electronics
Connector Specifier Magazine
http://cs.pennnet.com/
serves the connector, interconnection, cabling, wire processing and socketing segments of the electronics industry. News releases, a calendar of events, and product & article searching are included.
ESD Journal
http://www.esdjournal.com
ESD Journal aims to provide timely information on issues of concern to all professionals in the ESD and Electronics industry. Topics range from electrostatic discharge, static electricity, laboratories, testing and consulting to instruments and vendors. It is a monthly magazine but all comments on articles and items in the magazine will be published on the web site daily.
The site provides the full text of the articles, as well as letters, technical papers, book reviews, and a chat room.
Journal of Microwaves and Optoelectronics
http://www.sel.eesc.usp.br/jmo/
"published by the Brazilian Microwave and Optoelectronics Society (SBMO)
and Brazilian Society of Electromagnetism (SBMag), is a professional,
refereed publication devoted to disseminating technical information in
the areas of Microwaves, Optoelectronics, Photonics, and Electromagnetic
Applications."
New Electronics Online
http://www.neon.co.uk/
"the definitive homepage for electronic design engineers and managers.
In addition to the latest industry News, we have a range of editorial
features and case studies listed by category in our Technology Section.
There's also a comprehensive supplier directory and the latest
electronics design engineering jobs. "
Sensors
http://www.mdpi.com/journal/sensors
Sensors journal is a peer-refereed scientific journal, published online
monthly (since 2001) by Molecular Diversity Preservation
International and provides an advanced forum for the science and
technology of sensors and biosensors
Sensors Magazine
http://www.sensorsmag.com/
published monthly by Helmers Publishing, Inc., deals with applied sensing technology The site provides the full text of the current issue, selected (often all) articles from past issues, plus a cumulative index of articles back from the first issue in 1984.
Computers & Software
The Versita website
http://www.versitaopen.com/computerscience/ contains the journals: Acta Electrotechnica et Informatica; Annales UMCS, Informatica; International Journal of Applied Mathematics and Computer Science (AMCS); Schedae Informaticae; Scientific Journal of Riga Technical University. Computer Sciences; Theoretical and Applied Informatics
http://www.versitaopen.com/engineering/ contains the journals: Acta Electrotechnica et Informatica; Archives of Acoustics; Archives of Electrical Engineering; Bulletin of the Polish Academy of Sciences: Technical Sciences; International Journal of Electronics and Telecommunications; Journal of Electrical Engineering / Elektrotechnický časopis; Polish Journal of Medical Physics and Engineering; Scientific Journal of Riga Technical University. Power and Electrical Engineering; Transactions of the VŠB - Technical University ;
Boxes and Arrows
http://www.boxesandarrows.com/
is a monthly online journal that addresses "the complex task of bringing architecture and design to the digital landscape." Articles are written by peers of this multi-disciplinary field, and contributions are encouraged. Every article is available online since the journal's debut in March 2002. [CL] From The Scout Report, Copyright Internet Scout Project 1994-2002. http://scout.wisc.edu/
Classic Computer Magazine Archive
http://www.atarimagazines.com/
" is a small crusade to make information from old computer magazines
available on the Web. The site was launched July 27, 1996 with the name
"Digital Antic Project" and the goal of putting the full text of Antic
magazine online. We met that goal on September 17, 2000, then turned our
attention to Antic's sister magazine, STart. In July 2001, we finished
putting the full text of STart magazine online, and began work on
Creative Computing. We have also received permission to include articles
from Compute!, Hi-Res, Antic Amiga Plus, Whiz Kids, II Computing, and
other classic computer magazines. It was clear that the name "Digital
Antic Project" was becoming increasingly inaccurate, so in July 2001,
the name of the project was changed to Classic Computer Magazine
Archive. "
Computing Research News Online
http://www.cra.org/CRN/online.html
is an electronic version of the newsletter, CRN, published by the Computing Research Association (CRA). It is available by select articles or by issue in Acrobat and PostScript formats. Articles in CRN can be searched by keyword, author or year.
Electronic Journal of Information Technology in Construction
http://www.ITcon.org/
Alternative Title : ITcon "on-line" edition Electronic Journal of IT in Construction The Electronic Journal of Information Technology in Construction is a peer-reviewed scholarly journal on the use of IT in construction. It is sponsored by the Swedish Council for Building Research. The website offers the full text of papers
IBM Journal of Research & Developmen
http://www.research.ibm.com/journal/rdimg.html
" a peer-reviewed technical journal, published bimonthly, which features the work of authors in the science, technology and engineering of information systems. Papers are written for the worldwide scientific research and development community and knowledgeable professionals. In addition to papers, the Journal contains complete reference lists of patents issued to IBM inventors and
papers published by IBM authors in other journals." ISSN: 0018-8646
IBM Systems Journal
http://www.research.ibm.com/journal/sjimg.html
"The IBM Systems Journal is a quarterly, refereed technical publication, featuring the work of authors from systems and software fields in information science and the computer industry. The papers are written for a technically aware readership in the software, systems, and services professional community worldwide: technical professionals, researchers, and users. Each paper is
peer-reviewed" 0018-8670
Intel Technology Journal [.pdf]
http://developer.intel.com/technology/itj/index.htm
This quarterly journal from Intel addresses many issues related to computers and networking technology. The articles are not overly technical in nature, making them appropriate for a broad audience. Each issue of the journal has a general area of focus. Some recent topics include smart toys, the "digital home," and Hyper-Threading Technology. While the later is an Intel-specific
development, most of the topics are applicable to the industry as a whole. The journal was originally internal to Intel, but every issue since the journal went public in 1997 is now available in an archive. [CL] From The Scout Report, Copyright Internet Scout Project 1994-2002. http://scout.wisc.edu/
Intelligent Systems Report
http://lionhrtpub.com/ISR/ISR-welcome.html
"is a monthly newsletter featuring news and applications of such
intelligent technologies as artificial intelligence, expert systems,
neural networks, fuzzy logic systems, virtual reality, interactive
multimedia and speech recognition."
Journal of Computers
http://www.academypublisher.com/jcp/
"is a scholarly peer-reviewed international scientific journal published
monthly for researchers, developers, technical managers, and educators
in the computer field. It provide a high profile, leading edge forum for
academic researchers, industrial professionals, engineers, consultants,
managers, educators and policy makers working in the field to contribute
and disseminate innovative new work on all the areas of computers."
Journal of Functional and Logic Programming
http://www.informatik.uni-trier.de/~ley/db/journals/jflp/index.html
"is an electronic journal which covers a broad scope of topics from
functional and logic programming. It is especially concerned with the
integration of the functional and logic paradigms as well as their
common foundations. The Journal expects articles ranging from the
theoretical foundations of functional and logic programming up to the
application of such languages ``in the real world''."
Journal of Machine Learning Research
http://jmlr.csail.mit.edu/
"provides an international forum for the electronic and paper
publication of high-quality scholarly articles in all areas of machine
learning. All published papers are freely available online. "
Journal of Software
http://www.academypublisher.com/jsw/
"is a scholarly peer-reviewed international scientific journal focusing
on theories, methods, and applications in software. It provide a high
profile, leading edge forum for academic researchers, industrial
professionals, engineers, consultants, managers, educators and policy
makers working in the field to contribute and disseminate innovative new
work on software. "
Logical methods in computer science
http://www.lmcs-online.org/
“is a fully refereed, open access, free, electronic journal. It welcomes papers on theoretical and practical areas in computer science involving logical methods, taken in a broad sense”
Manufacturing Computer Solutions Online
http://www.mcsolutions.co.uk/
mcsolutions.co.uk is the online version of Manufacturing Computer
Solutions, a monthly journal for manufacturing and engineering IT
published by Findlay Publications. News articles, UK manufacturing
company case studies and a buyer's guide/sourcing database containing
information from more than 1,000 IT vendors and consultants and 8,000
products is available.. Free registration is required to gain full
access to articles and some areas of the site
On-Line Journal of Computer Controlled Systems
http://www.controlled.com/
“products, vendors, news, jobs, books, FAQs, polls, technical info. An
array of on-line magazines focusing on control related products for
various bus architectures including the STD bus, PC/104, CPCI, PCI bus,
CompactPCI, VXI bus, and ISA bus Data acquisition, testing, automation,
motion control, robotics, communications and more..”
The Open Cybernetics & Systemics Journal
http://www.bentham.org/open/tocsj/index.htm
"is an Open Access online journal which publishes research articles,
reviews, and letters in the interdisciplinary areas of Cybernetics,
Systemics and Informatics, including human computer interactions. The
Open Cybernetics and Systemics Journal, a peer reviewed journal, aims to
provide the most complete and reliable source of information on current
developments in the field. The emphasis will be on publishing quality
articles rapidly and freely available to researchers worldwide."
Theory of Computing
http://theoryofcomputing.org/
is an Open Access theoretical computer science journal. ISSN: 1557-2862
Power
International Journal of Emerging Electric Power Systems
http://www.bepress.com/ijeeps/
"publishes significant research and scholarship related to latest and up-and-coming developments in power systems. The mandate of the journal is to assemble high quality papers from the recent research and development efforts in new technologies and techniques for generation, transmission, distribution and utilization of electric power. The range of topics includes electric power generation sources; integration of unconventional sources into existing power systems; generation planning and control; new technologies and techniques for power transmission, distribution, protection, control and
measurement; power system analysis, economics, operation and stability; deregulated power systems; power system communication; metering technologies; demand-side management; industrial electric power distribution and utilization systems." Restricted access to the fulltext, 2004-
Telecommunications & Radio
& Signal Processing
BBC RD Reports
http://www.bbc.co.uk/rd/pubs/reports/
"This section lists all BBC RD Reports published in the period 1970 – 1996, and a small number from the 1960s."
Broadband Guide
http://www.broadband-guide.com/
PennWell Media Online is a web-based operating unit of PennWell Publishing Company. It focuses on three markets: communications and optoelectronics, electronics and information technology The site is searchable and includes information resources from the magazines:
Laser Focus World; Lightwave; WDM Solutions; Vision Systems Design;
Cabling Installation & Maintenance; Optoelectronics Manufacturing;
Strategies Unlimited.
ETRI Journal.
http://etrij.etri.re.kr/
"publishes research papers in English on information and
telecommunications (IT). With an international editorial committee and
experts from around the world as reviewers, ETRI Journal publishes
high-quality results on the latest and best developments from the global
community. By attracting top researchers, ETRI Journal will continue to
improve the quality of its published papers and assure its position
alongside prestigious international journals in the IT field. "
Journal of Communications
http://www.academypublisher.com/jcm/
"is a scholarly peer-reviewed international scientific journal published
monthly, focusing on theories, methods, and algorithms in
communications. It provide a high profile, leading edge forum for
academic researchers, industrial professionals, engineers, consultants,
managers, educators and policy makers working in the field to contribute
and disseminate innovative new work on communications. "
Journal of Multi-media
http://www.academypublisher.com/jmm/
"is a scholarly peer-reviewed international scientific journal published
monthly, focusing on theories, methods, algorithms, and applications in
multimedia. It provide a high profile, leading edge forum for academic
researchers, industrial professionals, engineers, consultants, managers,
educators and policy makers working in the field to contribute and
disseminate innovative new work on multimedia. "
Journal of Networks
http://www.academypublisher.com/jnw/
"is a scholarly peer-reviewed international scientific journal published
monthly, focusing on theories, methods, and applications in networks. It
provide a high profile, leading edge forum for academic researchers,
industrial professionals, engineers, consultants, managers, educators
and policy makers working in the field to contribute and disseminate
innovative new work on networks. "
Telecommunications Magazine
http://www.telecommagazine.com/
is a full text online journal published by Horizon House Publications, Inc. It deals with the information and communications industry. The site provides the full text of the present issue and an archive of past issues from 1994 onwards. In addition a search facility allows to find products reviewed in the present year. There is also an event calendar.
Wavelet Digest
http://www.wavelet.org/wavelet/index.html
"The free and non-commercial electronic newsletter since 1992, linking
together the multi-disciplinary wavelet community. "
|