Electrical and Computer Engineering Web Resources  

Engineering Library home | Engineering resources  | Engineering databases  | Engineering web resources 
Guides  | Engineering Library services | Part 4 & Geothermal reports | Faculty of Engineering


Websites & Technical Information | Electronic books | Electronic journals | Organisations | Software

Electronic books on ECE:

Those purchased by the University of Auckland Library can be searched for in Voyager http://voyager.auckland.ac.nz/ and are labelled e-Resource.  

E-Books from different providers can also be found at Library homepage/ E-Books. The collections  CRCnetBASE, Ebrary, ENGnetBASE, Knovel, MIT CogNet, Referex, Ebsco, Safari Tech Books OnlineSpringerLink, & Synthesis are all useful sources for ECE.  Information of using these e-books is available from Library homepage/ e-books and from Library homepage/ Training & Help / e-books. 

Other online books are accessible directly from the Internet and include those given below:

General      Electrical & Electronic    Computer & Software     Power


General

University of Pennsylvania online books listing
http://onlinebooks.library.upenn.edu/subjects.html
These cover a broad range of topics within EEE, and offer a wealth of information, but do not have a publication date attached to them in the listing.  Search under subsections of the Q or T classification symbols for EEE books.

Nanotechnology books
http://www.foresight.org/cms/resources/55   

Digital Book Index
http://www.digitalbookindex.org/search001a.htm
A list of e-books on engineering, some free, some not.  It is searchable by keyword and by subject group and there is some good material there.

E-Books for free online viewing and/or download
Electrical & Electronic Engineering books are listed at http://www.e-booksdirectory.com/listing.php?category=105 and are further divided into the categories Circuits, Semiconductors, Signal Processing.
Computers & Internet books are listed at http://www.e-booksdirectory.com/listing.php?category=9 and are divided into the categories Business & Culture, Certification Central, Computer Science, Databases, Digital Music, Graphic Design, Hardware, Home Computing, Microsoft, Networking, Operating Systems, Programming, Security & Encryption, Software, Web Development.

Information Theory, Inference, and Learning Algorithms
http://www.inference.phy.cam.ac.uk/mackay/itprnn/book.html
by David MacKay released June 2003, also published by Cambridge University Press.  It covers information theory, inference, error correcting codes, arithmetic coding, data compression, inference techniques, turbo codes etc.

Wikibooks
http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Main_Page  
"Wikibooks is a Wikimedia project, set up on July 10, 2003. Since then, volunteers have written around 11,388 book modules in a multitude of books."  This means it is a collection of free, open-source digital textbooks on any topic, in any language, available to anyone, anywhere. Try searching for 'engineering' and look under the Electrical Engineering heading, or search for more specific keywords.


Electrical & Electronic

All about circuits
http://www.allaboutcircuits.com/
"This site provides a series of online textbooks covering electricity and electronics. The information provided is great for both students and hobbyists who are looking to expand their knowledge in this field. These textbooks were written by Tony R. Kuphaldt and released under the Design Science License. "

Classical Electrodynamics
http://www.plasma.uu.se/CED/Book/  
This book by Bo Thide "On these pages we present a modern, high-quality on-line textbook on advanced electrodynamics, entitled Electromagnetic Field Theory, free for anybody to download and to contribute to. ... Intended for the advanced undergraduate or graduate student, Electromagnetic Field Theory is a textbook on the theory of electrodynamics, at roughly the same level as the well-known textbooks by Jackson and Panofsky&Phillips. The book is written mainly from a classical field theoretical point of view, emphasising fundamental and subtle properties of the EM field and includes a comprehensive appendix on the mathematical methods used. It treats relativistic covariance and the Lagrangian/Hamiltionan formulation of electromagnetic field theory, with an eye on modern ideas of duality and unification of theories, and includes a rigorous, comprehensive and detailed treatment of EM radiation phenomena"

Electricity and Magnetism
http://www.lightandmatter.com/area1book4.html
"Electricity and Magnetism' is an online physics textbook written by Benjamin Crowell, which includes descriptions, figures, tables and formulas. Topics covered include: electricity and the atom; the nucleus; circuits; fields of force; and electromagnetism. It can be browsed in HTML format or downloaded in PDF format. The book is part of 'Light and Matter Educational Materials for Physics and Astronomy."

Alternatives for Landmine Detection
http://www.rand.org/publications/MR/MR1608/
by Jacqueline MacDonald, J. R. Lockwood, John McFee, Thomas Altshuler, Thomas Broach, Lawrence Carin, Russell Harmon, Carey Rappaport, Waymond Scott, Richard Weaver.    (paperback, 350 pp.)  2003     ISBN: 0-8330-3301-8 


Computer & Software

The Art of Computer Game Design by Chris Crawford
http://www.vancouver.wsu.edu/fac/peabody/game-book/Coverpage.html  
This book, originally published in 1982, covers: What is a Game? ;  Why Do People Play Games? ;  A Taxonomy of Computer Games ;  The Computer as a Game Technology ;  The Game Design Sequence ;  Design Techniques and Ideals ;  The Future of Computer Games ;  Development of Excalibur ;  Reflections - Interview with Chris ;  The Education of a Game Designer, November 2003;


Power

As downloads from the Microhydro Web Portal 
http://microhydropower.net/index.php

Power Quality and Integration of Wind Farms in Weak Grids in India
http://www.risoe.dk/rispubl/VEA/veapdf/ris-r-1172.pdf   
"This is the final report of a joint Danish and Indian project "Power Quality and Integration of Wind Farms in Weak Grids". The power quality issues have been studied and analysed with the Indian conditions as a case. On the basis of meetings with Danish wind turbine industry, Indian electricity boards, nodal agencies, wind turbine industry and authorities, the critical power quality aspects in India have been identified. Measurements on selected wind farms and wind turbines have quantified the power quality, and analyses of power quality issues, especially reactive power compensation, have been performed. Based on measurements and analyses, preliminary recommendations for grid integration of wind turbines in weak grids have been formulated."  2000

Switch-mode Power Supply
http://services.eng.uts.edu.au/~venkat/pe_html/pe07_nc8.htm
"This chapter describes the basics, operation and design of switched-mode power supplies. The pages to follow contain: step-down/buck converter; ideal circuit step-down/buck converter; practical circuit step-up switch mode power supply/ideal boost converter; practical boost converter and unity-power factor rectifier"
 


Engineering Library home | Engineering resources  | Engineering databases  | Engineering web resources 

Guides  | Engineering Library services | Part 4 & Geothermal reports | Faculty of Engineering


File last updated : August 30, 2011

This page is part of the Engineering Library website. Suggestions to: Susan Brookes