CHEMICAL & MATERIALS ENGINEERING

Internet Resources

Engineering Library home | Engineering resources | Engineering databases | Engineering web resources

Guides | Engineering Library services | Part 4 & Geothermal reports | Faculty of Engineering


About.com. Chemical Engineering
A Web guide on chemical engineering and related disciplines. Resources are organized by subject, such as chemicals, environment safety, process economics, and thermodynamics.
American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications
ACS Publications is a division of the American Chemical Society. ACS was chartered by the U.S. Congress in 1876 and is the world's largest scientific society with more than 163,000 members. The site includes information in all ACS magazines or journals, directories and buy guides as well as other publications. Over 30 ACS magazines or journals are searchable from the site.
American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE)
The site includes information on the institute and how it operates as well as tails of membership. A newsroom has news related to government, industry, the institute and members. Links to related sites are provided. The site can be searched by keyword. Chemical Engineering Progress, the institute's newsletter, provides technical and professional information and has an archive back to 1987. Job Vacancies are listed.
American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM)
ASM International (previously American Society for Metals)
CCD(ChemExper Chemical Directory)
CCD is a free database of chemical compounds accessible over Internet. Its powerful search engine allows you to find a chemical by its molecular formula, IUPAC name, common name, CAS number, catalog number, substructure or physical characteristics via internet. CCD contains actually over 40,000 chemical structures, 16,000 MSDS and more than 70,000 products with bp, mp.
CFD Online
An online center for Computational Fluid Dynamics.
Chemical Science and Technology Laboratory
As part of the Technology Administration of the U.S. Department of Commerce, established in 1901,the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) works to promote U.S. economic growth by working with industry to develop and apply technology, measurements, and standards. The Chemical Science and Technology Laboratory (CSTL) is one of seven Laboratories at NIST. CSTL is composed of five divisions: Analytical Chemistry, Biotechnology,Physical and Chemical Properties,Process Measurements,Surface and Microanalysis Science.
Cement Forum: Cementing the Cement World
Various web resources related to cement are grouped together, covering technological and industrial aspects such as new technology, chemistry of cement, industrial surveys and statistics. Free registration is needed for full access.
Chemical Engineering
A subject catalogue lists information resources relevant to chemical and process engineering.
ChemIndustry.com
Provides links to over 50,000 web resources on chemical technology, industry, organizations, equipment and software. A search engine is available with filters to help users to focus their search.
Chemical Scorecard
Locate polluting companies in your neighborhood, find information about the type of chemicals being released, and learn the health risks associated with those pollutants at this Environmental Defense Fund sponsored site.
Dairy Network.com
Dairy Network.com is designed to make it easier for you to find the products, services, and industry news you rely on every day. The navigation bar at the top of each page will give you constant access to the key areas of the site including Buy Online, Sell Online, Services, and News & Community.
Energy Citations Database
Energy Citations Database (1948 - Present) contains bibliographic records literature in disciplines of chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, computer science and related disciplines. It includes citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). The Database provides access to DOE publicly available citations from 1948 through the present, with continued growth through regular updates.
Food Explorer
Providers links to sites of Food Engineering, Packexpo.com, Dairy Foods, Prepare Foods, Food Master, Packaging Digest, NUTRA Solution.com, FEI, etc.
IPENZ Publications
Publications from The Institution of Professional Engineers New Zealand (IPENZ), the professional body which represents professional engineers from all disciplines in New Zealand.
Manufacturing.net
Manufacturing.net is a website designed for today's busy manufacturing executives. It features daily updates covering the latest news from around the globe on key topics for manufacturers - regulations, industrial trends, plant openings and closings, supply chain updates, distribution and trade issues, prices, employment, finance, economic forecasts, world events and more.
Materials Research Related Sites:
Material Science and Engineering Laboratory (MSEL)
As part of the Technology Administration of the U.S. Department of Commerce, established in 1901,the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) works to promote U.S. economic growth by working with industry to develop and apply technology, measurements, and standards. Material Science and Engineeting Laboratory (MSEL) is one of seven Laboratories at NIST.
NASA Technical Report Server (NTRS)
NTRS allows users to search the many different abstract and technical report servers maintained by various NASA centers and programs. Specifically, it is a unified interface to many separate WAIS servers.
Nickel  Institute
"The Nickel Institute is a nonprofit organization that represents the interests of 26 companies which together produce more than 75% of the world’s annual nickel output. We promote on behalf of our members the production, use and re-use (through recycling) of nickel in a socially and environmentally responsible manner". It was established on January 1, 2004, through the merger of the Nickel Development Institute (NiDI) and the Nickel Producers Environmental Research Association (NiPERA).  Technical literature answering technical questions on nickel and nickel-containing materials is available on the website. Technical papers are available free of charge in PDF format. A series of training modules and technical guides are available on the site.
Pictorial Periodic Table
The growing database, searchable by text or property: Lynx friendly yet modern browser enhanced and it's fun, too. http://chemlab.pc.maricopa.edu/periodic/periodic.html
PSIgate (Physical Sciences Information Gateway)
PSIgate is a free service that offers access to high quality Web resources in the physical sciences; there are currently 9003 resources in astronomy, chemistry, earth sciences, materials sciences, physics, and science history and policy
Professional Societies
Pulp and Paper Online
Pulp and Paper Online has a new design to make it easier for you to find the products, services, and industry news in the area of Pulp and Paper that you reply on everyday. The navigation bar at the top of each page will give you constant access to the key areas of the site including Buy Online, Sell Online, Services, and News & Community.
Rural Industries Research and Development Corporation (RIRDC)
RIRDC is a statutory Corporation formed in July 1990 under the Primary Industries and Energy Research and Development (PIERD) Act 1989. It was set up by the Commonwealth Government to work closely with Australian rural industries on the organisation and funding of their R&D needs. RIRDC has many short reports on Industry R&D Strategic Plans. These reports are listed on the website.
SubsTech 
SubsTech is a free and open knowledge source on Materials Engineering. It contains a wide range of illustrated articles on metals, ceramics, polymers, composites and lubricants including their properties, applications and technologies for their manufacture.Each article includes a list of useful links related to the article content.

Users can create their own Expert page, edit the site content, add new articles and contribute to discussions.

Technical Association of the Pulp and Paper Industry (TAPPI)
TAPPI-is the leading technical association for the worldwide pulp, paper, and converting industry.
ThomasNet.com
You can search for industrial products and services, product catalogues and CAD drawings on this site. Industrial suppliers, products, services and featured guides are available to browse by subject categories.
Vacuum Technology and Vacuum Coating Forum
Forum about vacuum physics, vacuum system, evaperation coating, sputtering coating, coating system, coating measurement.
Worldwatch Institute:
"The Worldwatch Institute offers a unique blend of interdisciplinary research, global focus, and accessible writing that has made it a leading source of information on the interactions among key environmental, social, and economic trends."

Engineering Library home | Engineering resources | Engineering databases | Engineering web resources

Guides | Engineering Library services | Part 4 & Geothermal reports | Faculty of Engineering


File last updated: 19 January, 2012

This page is part of the Engineering Library website. Suggestions to: Dahlia Han