| Construction
Management
|
American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)
A major website for civil engineers which includes access to their ASCE journals online, new publications and the latest American civil engineering news. |
Auckland Council
Contains information on environmental, community, housing, and transport in the Auckland area. The Council's plans, policies, reports and services, plus what's on in the region. |
Building and Fire Research Laboratory
As part of the Technology Administration of the U.S. Department of Commerce, established in 1901, the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) works to promote U.S. economic growth by working with industry to develop and apply technology, measurements, and standards. The Building and Fire Research Laboratory(BFRL) is one of seven Laboratories at NIST. |
The Civil Engineer's Mega Bookmark - the Civil Engineering Library at Lund University (Sweden)
A collection of over 1,000 online resources, some annotated. There are nine categories that include Research/Education, Subject-Based Resources, Civil Engineering Journals, Organizations/Institutes, Discussion Forums, Biographies, and others. There is also a section for Building Codes/Standards that covers fifteen countries. |
Construction Weblinks
A comprehensive guide to architecture, engineering and construction resources. Includes sites for building codes and industry standards, licensing information, research resources at colleges and universities, job and career information and professional organisations for engineers, among many others. |
Department of Building and Housing
Here you will find information and guidance on building law and compliance, services including weathertight homes, and advice for tenants and landlords.
|
How Stuff Works
A comprehensive website containing information about everything from How engines work to How rainforests work to How Stinger missiles work. There is an alphabetical list of all the articles on the site. Once you find the article you want the page also displays a drop down box with other related articles on that topic. |
Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE)
A British web site which includes information on its publications, access to online journals and the latest civil engineering news. |
The Internet for Civil Engineers
Provides a wealth of information for the civil engineering industry. The site is divided into civil engineering headline news, feature of the week, links to popular websites a web directory, job vacancies, discussion groups and industry leaders, to name just a few. |
International Federation of Consulting Engineers
Based in Geneva Switzerland, the FIDIC website contains information on contracts and business practices, training, ethics, policies and statues, environmental management and sustainability. |
New Zealand Institute of Architects
A user-friendly site with information on the NZIA, continuing professional development, membership benefits, jobs, and news relating to the Architectural industry. |
Project Management
Institute
Enables anyone working as a Project Management Professional (or
aspiring to be one), to search a range of publications and
information resources, from professional development and careers
to professional practices. |
|
| Environmental
Engineering
|
American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)
A major website for civil engineers which includes access to their ASCE journals online, new publications and the latest American civil engineering news. |
Association of Ground Water Scientists and Engineers (AGWSE)
This organization is a division of the National Groundwater Association and is for those actively involved in the industry. The website lists job opportunities, relevant conferences, tables of contents for their 'Journal of Groundwater" and their other publications. |
Auckland Council
Contains information on environmental, community, housing, and transport in the Auckland area. The Council's plans, policies, reports and services, plus what's on in the region. |
The Civil Engineer's Mega Bookmark - the Civil Engineering Library at Lund University (Sweden)
A collection of over 1,000 online resources, some annotated. There are nine categories that include Research/Education, Subject-Based Resources, Civil Engineering Journals, Organizations/Institutes, Discussion Forums, Biographies, and others. There is also a section for Building Codes/Standards that covers fifteen countries. |
EECA
EECA works to bring about voluntary changes of behaviour to implement Government strategies for energy efficiency, conservation and renewable energy in both the private and public sectors in New Zealand. |
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
Protects human health and safeguards the natural environment. The website includes the latest news, laws and actions connected with protecting the environment. |
Free patents online
"provides fast, easy-to-use access to millions of patents ... We have over 100 gigabytes of data which includes the full text of US patents from number 4000000 to 6901606 (most patents before 4,000,000 exist only as images, not searchable text). As more patents are published by the US Patent Office, we add them. We also have over 2 terabytes (a terabyte is 1000 gigabytes) of images so that you can view the illustration from the patents." |
How Stuff Works
A comprehensive website containing information about everything from How engines work to How rainforests work to How Stinger missiles work. There is an alphabetical list of all the articles on the site. Once you find the article you want the page also displays a drop down box with other related articles on that topic. |
Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE)
A British web site which includes information on its publications, access to online journals and the latest civil engineering news. |
Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS)
A database of human health effects that may result from exposure to various substances found in the environment. |
The Internet for Civil Engineers
Provides a wealth of information for the civil engineering industry. The site is divided into civil engineering headline news, feature of the week, links to popular websites a web directory, job vacancies, discussion groups and industry leaders, to name just a few. |
International Association of Hydraulic Engineering and Research
Features an extensive e-library with up to date journals, conference proceedings and reports associated with Hydraulic Engineering. Also includes a news web containing articles, discussion lists and job opportunities for Water Scientists and Engineers. |
International Federation of Consulting Engineers
Based in Geneva Switzerland, the FIDIC website contains information on contracts and business practices, training, ethics, policies and statues, environmental management and sustainability. |
International Institute of Sustainable Development
Provides the latest news and research in all aspects of Sustainable Development including climate change, economic development, energy, natural resources, knowledge networks and communities and livelihoods. Also features an extensive sustainable development library and database, and links to major environment and development negotiations and conferences. |
International Water Association
Features the latest research and practice across the drinking water, wastewater and stormwater disciplines. |
Land Information New Zealand
(LINZ)
LINZ holds authoritative information about land surveys and ownership, topographic maps and nautical charts. |
The Low Impact Development Center
The Low Impact Development Center is a non-profit organization balancing growth and environmental integrity and dedicated to the advancement of their technology. It is a new, comprehensive land planning and engineering design approach with a goal of maintaining and enhancing the pre-development hydrologic regime of urban and developing watersheds. |
National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research (NIWA)
A New Zealand crown institute site, NIWA helps with sustainable management of atmospheric, marine and freshwater systems. Includes databases on climate, water resources, fish and marine biology. |
Society of Mining, Metallurgy, and Exploration, Inc (SME)
The website is for the benefit of professionals in the minerals industry. Lists publications and links to other resources including AIME (American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical Engineering and Petroleum Engineering) and AusIMM (Australian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy). |
Stormwater Directory of New Zealand
The Stormwater Directory of New Zealand aims to provide a central source of stormwater management information. It was developed by NZWERF and Landcare Research and completed in May 2004. |
United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)
UNEP provides leadership and encourage partnership in caring for the environment by inspiring, informing, and enabling nations and peoples to improve their quality of life without compromising that of future generations. |
US Army Corps of Engineers(USACE)
A detailed web page for the world's largest public engineering, design and construction management agency, who are trained and ready to provide engineering support any time, anywhere. Resources cover a wide variety of types of engineering, but particularly structural, environmental and geotechnical engineering. |
Water Environment Federation
An international organization of over 40,000 water experts providing the latest information on wastewater treatment and water quality. Includes their online library, discussion groups and conference information.
|
Water Use in the United States
A U.S. Geological Survey website which includes a comprehensive coverage of water-use data, publications and sources of water information.
|
|
| Geotechnical
Engineering
|
American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)
A major website for civil engineers which includes access to their ASCE journals online, new publications and the latest American civil engineering news. |
Auckland Council
Contains information on environmental, community, housing, and transport in the Auckland area. The Council's plans, policies, reports and services, plus what's on in the region. |
The Civil Engineer's Mega Bookmark - the Civil Engineering Library at Lund University (Sweden)
A collection of over 1,000 online resources, some annotated. There are nine categories that include Research/Education, Subject-Based Resources, Civil Engineering Journals, Organizations/Institutes, Discussion Forums, Biographies, and others. There is also a section for Building Codes/Standards that covers fifteen countries. |
The
Earthquake Engineering Online Archive Full text to many
reports on earthquake engineering that came from Berkeley and
California (Personal subscription required for some reports. |
Earthquake Engineering Research Institute (Oakland)
The objective of this institute is to reduce earthquake risk. Produces slides and video tapes of earthquakes, organises the annual world conference of earthquake engineering, seminars and publication lists. |
Earthquake Engineering Research Laboratory - Caltech
Home page includes access to EERL Library catalogue and general earthquake information. |
Geonet
GeoNet is a project to build and operate a modern geological hazard monitoring system in New Zealand. When complete, GeoNet will comprise a network of geophysical instruments, automated software applications and skilled staff to detect, analyse and respond to earthquakes, volcanic activity, large landslides, tsunami, and the slow deformation that precedes large earthquakes. |
How Stuff Works
A comprehensive website containing information about everything from How engines work to How rainforests work to How Stinger missiles work. There is an alphabetical list of all the articles on the site. Once you find the article you want the page also displays a drop down box with other related articles on that topic. |
Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE)
A British web site which includes information on its publications, access to online journals and the latest civil engineering news. |
| The
Internet Archive
Access to very old and influential
texts, contribution from US Libraries. In addition to their
“Archive the internet project” (Way back machine), which aims to
archive everything published on the internet.
|
The Internet for Civil Engineers
Provides a wealth of information for the civil engineering industry. The site is divided into civil engineering headline news, feature of the week, links to popular websites a web directory, job vacancies, discussion groups and industry leaders, to name just a few. |
Japan CiNii (NII Scholarly
and Academic Information Navigator)
A useful Japanese database that offer free full text access to 1000s
of journals published in Japan. Particularly useful for us are the
Research Bulletins of Japanese universities. |
Multidisciplinary Center for Earthquake Engineering Research (MCEER)
National Center of excellence in developing and applying advanced technologies to reduce earthquake losses. Offers an information service and also lists frequently-asked questions about earthquakes. |
Multidisciplinary Center for Earthquake Engineering Research (MCEER) - QUAKELINE
The "Quakeline" database which covers earthquake engineering journals, conference papers and technical reports. |
National Information Service for Earthquake Engineering
Contains earthquake engineering abstracts, selected papers on recent earthquakes around the world and a structural engineering slide library. |
New Zealand Society for Earthquake Engineering
Features articles relating to all aspects of earthquake
engineering in New Zealand plus a link to other abstracts from
overseas publications. Practical tips on preparing technical reports
and other useful links to earthquake engineering, educational and
location websites. |
Pacific Earthquake Engineering Research Centre
Contains information about the organisation, also extensive publications including reports and the latest earthquake news from around the world including the latest research news. |
Pressdisplay
Access to newspapers as printed around the world. Very useful for
grabbing articles for powerpoints presentation. It has a great
back-dated search facility. But only limited access is available to
non-subscribers. |
US Army Corps of Engineers(USACE)
A detailed web page for the world's largest public engineering, design and construction management agency, who are trained and ready to provide engineering support any time, anywhere. Resources cover a wide variety of types of engineering, but particularly structural, environmental and geotechnical engineering. |
US Geological Survey (USGS)
Includes the organization's plans, an index of USGS websites and "Ask-a-geologist". |
|
| Structural
Engineering
|
American Concrete International(ACI)
For professionals in the fields of concrete design, construction and materials. The website includes lists of publications, latest information on their journals, conference lists and membership lists. |
American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)
A major website for civil engineers which includes access to their ASCE journals online, new publications and the latest American civil engineering news. |
Auckland Council
Contains information on environmental, community, housing, and transport in the Auckland area. The Council's plans, policies, reports and services, plus what's on in the region. |
Cement and Concrete Association of New Zealand
Search for concrete related news, information, products and services. Free bulletin to download. Useful links to other sites. |
The Civil Engineer's Mega Bookmark - the Civil Engineering Library at Lund University (Sweden)
A collection of over 1,000 online resources, some annotated. There are nine categories that include Research/Education, Subject-Based Resources, Civil Engineering Journals, Organizations/Institutes, Discussion Forums, Biographies, and others. There is also a section for Building Codes/Standards that covers fifteen countries. |
The Concrete Society (UK)
The website of this Society which acts a a forum and meeting place for engineers to make valuable contacts and works to develop and promote excellence in communication. |
How Stuff Works
A comprehensive website containing information about everything from How engines work to How rainforests work to How Stinger missiles work. There is an alphabetical list of all the articles on the site. Once you find the article you want the page also displays a drop down box with other related articles on that topic. |
Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE)
A British web site which includes information on its publications, access to online journals and the latest civil engineering news. |
The Internet for Civil Engineers
Provides a wealth of information for the civil engineering industry. The site is divided into civil engineering headline news, feature of the week, links to popular websites a web directory, job vacancies, discussion groups and industry leaders, to name just a few. |
New Zealand Society for Earthquake Engineering
Features articles relating to all aspects of earthquake
engineering in New Zealand plus a link to other abstracts from
overseas publications. Practical tips on preparing technical reports
and other useful links to earthquake engineering, educational and
location websites. |
Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute, USA (PCI)
Contains information about the Institute, its publications and latest news. |
Structural Engineering Society New Zealand
Website promotes the science, art and practice of structural engineering. Includes the SESOC publications, forum for discussions and the exchange of ideas and practical experience. Related links to other websites and job vacancies. |
|
| Transportation
Engineering
|
American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)
A major website for civil engineers which includes access to their ASCE journals online, new publications and the latest American civil engineering news. |
ARRB Road Information Ltd.
Incorporates ARRB and I nfo2000 Ltd, gives detailed information about state of the art Network surveys of roads.
|
ARRB Transport Research
Features navigation bars that make it easy to search the research, consulting and product information of the Australian Road Research Board. |
Auckland Council
Contains information on environmental, community, housing, and transport in the Auckland area. The Council's plans, policies, reports and services, plus what's on in the region. |
Canadian Transportation Research Gateway
Provides information to Canadian Transportation resources via a A-Z listing of publications, search by subject, search by resource type, or general search.
|
The Civil Engineer's Mega Bookmark - the Civil Engineering Library at Lund University (Sweden)
A collection of over 1,000 online resources, some annotated. There are nine categories that include Research/Education, Subject-Based Resources, Civil Engineering Journals, Organizations/Institutes, Discussion Forums, Biographies, and others. There is also a section for Building Codes/Standards that covers fifteen countries. |
How Stuff Works
A comprehensive website containing information about everything from How engines work to How rainforests work to How Stinger missiles work. There is an alphabetical list of all the articles on the site. Once you find the article you want the page also displays a drop down box with other related articles on that topic. |
Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE)
A British web site which includes information on its publications, access to online journals and the latest civil engineering news. |
The Internet for Civil Engineers
Provides a wealth of information for the civil engineering industry. The site is divided into civil engineering headline news, feature of the week, links to popular websites a web directory, job vacancies, discussion groups and industry leaders, to name just a few. |
Institute of Transportation Engineers
Contains information relating to planning, designing, implementing, operating and maintaining surface transportation systems worldwide. |
Land Transport New Zealand.
New site from merger of Transfund NZ and the Land Transport Safety Authority. Features media statements, news and features and Links to Transfund and LTSA. |
Ministry of Transport
Comprehensive site with links to numerous land, air and sea transportation sites. Up to date publications and newsletters, transport portfolio documents, speeches and press releases, transport facts and job vacancies. |
Transit New Zealand
Technical website for consultants, contractors, engineers and others working in roading. Links to other related sites around the world. Up to date road information including webcams on some of Auckland's busiest roads. Also contains forums, publications, news and project information.
|
Transportation Research Information Services
(TRIS)
The TRIS Database is the world largest and most comprehensive bibliographic resource on transportation information. TRIS contains almost a half million records of published and ongoing research on all modes and disciplines in the field of transportation. Each year over 20,000 new records are added.
|
|
File last updated:
24 January, 2012
This page is part of the Engineering Library website. Suggestions to: Patsy Hulse |