GUIDES, TUTORIALS & FAQS for Engineering

Engineering Library home | Engineering resources | Engineering databases | Engineering web resources

Guides | Engineering Library services | Part 4 & Geothermal reports | Faculty of Engineering



Contents

Library PBRF
Databases Patents and Standards FAQs
Tutorials Web searching
Endnote Study & Research Help
Theses Cecil

 


Library

Frequently asked questions about the Engineering Library

Floor plans of the Engineering Library

Databases

Database searching chart
A comparison chart of major engineering databases: subject coverage, search operators, truncation signs, phrase search, field search, and special features such as: email alert, save / print / email your search results, endnote filter, etc..

Searching for Your Citations and Journal Impact Factors - A Quick Guide (New!)- A quick guide created by the Engineering Library of the University of Auckland to search for your citations in the Scopus and Web of Science database and journal impact factors in the Journal Citation Report database.

Tutorials

Subject Librarians
Please contact your Subject Librarian if you want to arrange an individual or group tutorial on choosing and using the best Library and electronic resources for your research.
Examples of what the tutorial might cover include:
  • Voyager (online library catalogue): Searching for books, journals, conference proceedings etc & how to check your own patron record, recall/request books and renew your loans. How to find your way around the Engineering Library.
  • Databases: Using engineering citation databases effectively, such as Compendex, Current Contents, SciFinder Scholar, INSPEC, Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, Environmental Abstracts; and full text databases, such as IEEEXplore, Science Direct and SAE Technical Papers; and 50% full text databases, such as ProQuest, Expanded Academic, etc.
  • Internet: Finding authoritative information using search engines, directories, specific Internet engineering resources, company information, patents and standards, engineering jobs, etc.
Voyager online tutorial
Learn how to use Voyager, the Library's online catalogue, at your own pace.

Endnote
EndNote is a reference management database, allowing you to store, manage, and search for bibliographic references in your private database or library. EndNote is also a bibliography maker -- it builds lists of cited works automatically in a Word document.
If you want to import references from a database, you need a specific EndNote filter for that database. If you want to search a database from EndNote, you need a specific connection file for that database. Some EndNote filters and some EndNote connection files are available to be downloaded here .

Guide to Endnote with Engineering databases
Information on direct exporting, filters and connections files for the Engineering databases.

Web searching

The Seven Commandments of Highly Effective Web Searching “The Seven Commandments of Highly Effective Web Searching” by Cindy Carlson published 17 June 2002, is a useful, short, and humorous, guide to Internet searching. It is aimed at lawyers, but the principles apply to all disciplines.


Engineering Library home | Engineering resources | Engineering databases | Engineering web resources

Guides | Engineering Library services | Part 4 & Geothermal reports | Faculty of Engineering


File last updated: 10 November, 2009

This page is part of the Engineering Library website. Suggestions to: Dahlia Han