
|
Welcome to the Engineering Science resources site. If you have any problems using the
ESc resources, including databases, Internet resources, online journals, you are welcome to contact Dahlia Han, the departmental Subject Librarian to arrange a tutorial.
Phone: 64-9-3737599 ext. 86997
Fax: 64-9-3737044
Email: d.han@auckland.ac.nz |
Engineering Science Databases
- ACM Digital Library
(full text: 1991 - current; abstract: 1985 - current) Contains bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full-text for articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since 1985. From 1991, full-text is available for most articles, full-text is not yet available for every proceeding article.
- ASCE Journals
Searchable online access to all journals published by the American Society of Civil Engineers on the ASCE Library platform.
- ASME Conference Proceedings Archive
ASME Conference Proceedings published 2002 through 2007 by the American Society for Mechanical Engineers.
- ASME Ebooks
A searchable collection of over 90 books published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers from 1998 to date.
- Biological Abstracts (1969 - current, updated weekly) An international database on biology, clinical and experimental medicine, biochemistry and biotechnology. It indexes and abstracts articles in 6,500 serials from over 100 countries and is produced in the United States by
BIOSIS.
- China Academic Journals
A full-text collection of Chinese language journals published by CNKI (China National Knowledge Infrastructure). The Library's licence provides full-text access to 10 series including Industrial technology and engineering, architecture; Chemistry, metallurgy, environment and Mathematics, physics, mechanics, astronomy.
- Compendex
(1884 - current, updated weekly) Covers about 5000 engineering journals, conference proceedings and reports all over the world. It is the most important database for engineers.
- CRCnetBASE
A searchable online database containing over 3,000 scientific and technical handbooks, reference works and other texts published by Taylor & Francis.
- Derwent Innovations Index
A searchable online database on the Web of
Knowledge platform, providing worldwide patent information, with English
language abstracts. Derwent covers over 11 million inventions from 42
patent-issuing authorities and can be searched via text or chemical structures.
- Embase
A major biomedical and pharmaceutical database with a European perspective.
- Energy Citations Database
(1948 - current, free public access) Contains citations of reports, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). Please see online help additional search information.
- Energy & Power Source
A searchable online collection offering indexing and extensive full-text coverage from over 1,000 publications relating to the energy and power industries- petroleum, natural gas, electric power, coal, nuclear power, renewable energy, and others.
- Engineering Village
(1884 - current, updated weekly) Over 16,000 engineering web sites; access to technical databases and engineering libraries, a full text engineering management journal, engineering library Internet projects, technical catalogs and Compendex.
- ENGINE - Australian Engineering Database
ENGINE is produced by the Institution of Engineers Australia and provides access to Australian engineering information, and in particular to publications of the Institution since 1980. It covers all branches of engineering, including agricultural, aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, coastal, computer, electrical, electronic, mechanical, military, structural, transport and water.
- Engineering Collection (Informit)
A searchable full-text collection of Australasian engineering journals, conference papers and technical reports on the Informit platform. Title list.
- Geobase
(1980 - current, updated quarterly) An international bibliographic database for physical and human geography, geology, mineralogy, ecology and development studies. Indexes and abstracts over 1,700 primary journals in addition to books, monographs, reports, and theses. Interdisciplinary coverage makes it an ideal file for searching environmental and green issues.
- Geofacets
A searchable database of georeferenced geological maps designed to help geoscientists assess a region or basin's geologic characteristics.
- Georef
(1785 - current, updated quarterly) Covers the world's literature in geology and the geosciences. Indexes and abstracts over 3,000 journals, as well as books, maps, and reports and most U.S. Geological Survey publications and U.S. and Canadian master's theses and doctoral dissertations.
- Henry Stewart Talks - Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection New!
A searchable collection of audio-visual presentations on topics in biomedicine and the life sciences.Especially commissioned by Henry Stewart Talks, the lectures are organised into series covering both the fundamentals of a subject area and the latest advances.
- IEEExplore
(1988 - current, some from 1950, updated daily) Full-text of all IEEE and IEE transactions, journal articles, conference papers, and all current IEEE standards.
- IGA Geothermal Conference Papers Database
A searchable online collection of conference papers on geothermal
science produced by the International Geothermal Association.
- Ingenta (free public access)
Is a global research gateway providing a free online search service of published content from reliable research sources. It offers access to nearly 6,000 electronic full-text titles and millions of articles from the world's
leading scholarly and professional publications.
- INSPEC
(1969 - current, updated weekly) Covers four main subject areas: Physics, Electrical Engineering & Electronics, Computers and Control, and Information Technology. It abstracts and indexes over 4,000 journals and 2,000 published conference proceedings, as well as numerous books, reports and dissertations.
- MathSciNet
(1940 - current, updated daily or monthly) is the electronic version of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications which indexes bibliographic data for recent and forthcoming publications. Most items are later reviewed in Mathematical Reviews.
- Medline
(1966 - current, updated monthly) is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature. It encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology. More than 4,600 journals
are indexed and abstracted.
- MIT
CogNet
An electronic community for scholarly research
in the cognitive and brain sciences provided by MIT Press. It
includes a library of journals, books, reference works and
conference proceedings.
- OnePetro
A searchable full-text database from the Society of Petroleum Engineers offering a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry.
- Project
Euclid
An online collection of mathematics and statistics
journals digitized by the Cornell University Library.
- PubMed
It is a free-access database provided by the National Library of Medicine. It provides access to over 16 million citations from 4,600+ health and life science journals. PubMed also contains very recently published articles which have not yet been indexed with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).
- RefWorks
RefWorks software allows you to create your own web-based database of references.
- Safari Tech Books Online
A collection of books on information technology from a range
of publishers, including O'Reilly, Microsoft Press, Addison Wesley,
Prentice Hall, and Cisco Press.
- Science Direct
(mostly 1994- current but some titles from the first issue published) Covers the full text of more than 2500 mostly Elsevier Science journals in the engineering, physical, technical, medical, life and social sciences. Science
Direct also includes abstracts of journal articles from the other publishers.
- Scirus
Scirus is a search engine for scientific content. It searches both the open web and subscription databases. It currently covers the web, ScienceDirect, MEDLINE on BioMedNet, Beilstein on ChemWeb, Neuroscion, BioMed Central and Patents from the USPTO. Searches can be restricted by discipline. Scirus is provided by Elsevier.
- Scitopia
A freely available internet resource providing federated searching across a range of scientific and technical society publisher collections and government sites. It covers over 3.5 million documents, including peer-reviewed journal content, conference papers, patents, and government publications.
- Scopus
It indexes Elsevier publications (including conference proceedings) and covers over 16,000 peer-reviewed journals from 4,000 publishers. . Has many full text links to Science Direct-hosted articles, and uses the Scirus search engine for each standard search (results presented separately). Subjects include engineering, chemistry, physics, maths, life-health science, psychology, economics, biological/environmental, and general science. Full cited reference information from 1996.
- SIAM Reference Collection
A searchable online collection of over 300 books published by the
Society of Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM).
- SPIE Digital Library - Ebooks
searchable online collection of textbooks, field guides and reference works published by the Society of Photo-optical Instrumentation Engineers on the SPIE Digital Library platform.
- SpringerLink
SpringerLink gives full-text access to over 1800 journals published by Springer, Birkhauser, Karger, and others. It also gives full-text access to some 10,000 books. Apart from complete coverage from 1997 onwards of the Lecture Notes in Computer Science (approx. 3300 books in 139,000 chapters); most books are only available full-text AFTER 2004.
- SpringerMaterials
A searchable online collection of materials science data published by Springer Verlag, based on the Landolt-Börnstein new series, the DDBST database (Dortmund Data Bank Software & Separation Technology), the Linus Pauling Files (on inorganic solid phases) and other sources.
- Springer Protocols
A searchable online database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the life and biomedical sciences published by Springer Verlag. The protocols offer instructions for the design and implementation of experiments that include equipment specifications, safety procedures, statistical methods, reporting and troubleshooting standards.
- Synthesis
(Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science)
An online collection of searchable compact e-books or 'lectures'
published by Morgan & Claypool. Arranged in a hierarchical
structure of disciplines and series, each 50-100 page lecture covers
an important research or development topic, and is written by a
prominent contributor to the field.
- Web of Knowledge
Web of Knowledge is the web interface for ISI group of products
including Web of Science, Journal Citation Reports, ISI proceedings, Current Contents
and Web Citation Index. You must have a personalised login to Web of
Knowledge if you wish to save searches from either of these
databases -- especially if you wish to create an email alert.
- Web of Science (updated weekly)
Consists of three citation databases: Science Citation Index (1900 - current), Social Sciences Citation Index(1956 - current), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - current) which are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information indexed so that you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. You can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. This mutlidisciplinary database lists 39 million items from some 8700 journals.
- Zentralblatt
MATH database
A key mathematical resource
containing some material not in MathSciNet. The coverage is
from 1931 onwards, but the text of older reviews may be unavailable
online. Zentralblatt classifies all its items under the MSC
2000 codes.
Engineering Science Related Databases
- ABI/INFORM
(1970 -current, updated monthly) A worldwide management, business and information technology database indexing and abstracting over 1,400 business and economics journals, magazines and trade publications. 50% full-text articles.
- Academic Search Premier
A scholarly, interdisciplinary database indexing more than 8,000 journals.
- Australian Digital Theses Program
"The aim of the ADT project is to create a national collaborative distributed database of digitised theses produced at Australian Universities.The ADT database provides access to PhD and Masters by Research theses only." Their Digital Theses Collections page is also useful.
- Current Contents
(1998 -current, updated daiy) ISI's online version of the well known Current Contents journals, is produced in the United States by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI). Further information can be found at ISI.
- Digital Dissertations
(1861 -current, updated quarterly, formerly Dissertation Abstracts) Bibliographic citations and abstracts from all subject areas (Sciences & Engineering, Humanities & Social Sciences) for doctoral dissertations and masters' theses completed at over 1000 accredited colleges and universities worldwide. Abstracts are included from 1980. The full text of theses is
available in PDF format for more than 100,000 titles from 1996.
- Emerald
(1994 -current but varying from title to title, updated monthly) Provides access to over 100 full-text property and engineering journals published by MCB University Press.
- Expanded Academic
(1980 -current, updated daily) Indexes 2984 titles of academic journals, magazines and newspapers from all academic disciplines, with 1780 publications (about 60%) available in full-text.
- History of Science, Technology and Medicine
An indexing and abstracting service on the FirstSearch platform covering journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields.
- Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
(1999 -current, updated annually) Covers journals in the areas of science and technology. Each annual database contains the previous year’s publication data, accumulating and tabulating citation and article counts in order to answer some fundamental questions, such as: What journals are most frequently used? What journals have the highest impact? etc.
- NASA Technical Report Server (NTRS)
(free public access) allows users to search the many different abstract and technical report servers maintained by various NASA centers and programs. Specifically, it is a unified interface to many separate WAIS servers.
- Patent Databases
(free public access)An annotated bibliography and full-text of patent databases available on the Internet (both free and some fee-based) from international organizations such as WIOP (World Intellectual Property Organization) and major industrial countries.
- Proquest
(1971-current, full-text from 1987) An online serials database of 8,500 titles of which half are in full text in general science & technology, engineering, social science, medical, and
business. All are accessible through the ProQuest interface and can be searched individually or simultaneously with other Proquest databases (click on the Change Database link on the search screen and select databases).
- ResearcherID
It is a database for researchers to help them identify potential research collaborators or reviewers, and also to publicise their own papers (including automatically updated citation figures of those journal or conference papers that are indexed in Web of Science).
- ResearchResearch
A searchable online service providing national and international funding opportunities and a news service for researchers.
- ResearchSpace
It is an open access digital archive or institutional repository promoting the research outputs of the University of Auckland.
- Wiley Online Library
Covers the full text of Wiley journals in
Engineering, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth Science, Life and Medical
Sciences, Mathematics and Statistics, Physics, Psychology, Business, Finance & Management, Education and Law. It also covers some Wiley ebooks and reference tools. All licensed works are listed in the Catalogue.
New Zealand databases
- Auckland Regional Council Library Database
(1987 -current) Covers mainly books and journal articles held by the Auckland Regional Council held since 1987. (This database is only available to members of the University of Auckland with a NetID and password.). However, ARCADIA is freely available to the general public through the Web and offers information
about the Auckland region only.
- Index New Zealand: INNZ
(1987 -current, updated daily) Indexes nearly 300 NZ journals and newspapers. It is the key New Zealand database for social sciences, arts, humanities and general interest material, and also indexes some South Pacific journals.
- Kompass
(Current year only) Kompass is an international business directory. It contains information on a company's executives, brief financials, branches, localities, a list of products and services, and trade and brand names. Only available from a standalone workstation on Level M in the General Library.
- New Zealand Index
It is made up of eight indexes of New Zealand newspapers, magazines and journals. They can be searched together or separately.
- Newzindex
(1985 -current, updated daily) Indexes articles of interest to business from major daily NZ newspapers and business periodicals not included in the Newztext full-text database.
- New
Zealand Standards Online
A searchable online collection of all Standards New Zealand and AS/SNZ
standards, compiled by IHS Australia. The documents are in PDF
format and can be printed and downloaded.
- Newztext Plus
Newztext Plus contains both full text and indexes for many of New Zealand's key news and business publications and is updated daily.
- NZ Science
The database includes abstracts for all of the Royal Society of New Zealand Journals up until 1998 and will soon include all current abstracts. NZ Science also indexes records of CRI (Crown Research Institutes) publications.
- Te Puna
(updated daily) This includes the National Bibliographic Database with over 10 million records for New Zealand and overseas resources and lists of New Zealand holding libraries.
Encyclopedias and Handbooks 
- BIOSCIENCEnetBASE
An online collection of over 90 full-text handbooks and monographs in the biosciences, including biochemistry, bioinformatics, biomedical engineering, biostatistics, biotechnology, epidemiology, immunology, microbiology, neuroscience, pharmacology, and toxicology.
- Comprehensive Biomaterials
A searchable online handbook on the ScienceDirect platform. It describes the current status of most biomaterials
- Comprehensive Biotechnology (2nd ed.)
A searchable online handbook on the ScienceDirect platform, Comprehensive Biotechnology aiming to cover the essential elements of the field.
- COMPUTERSCIENCEnetBASE
A collection of full-text handbooks and monographs covering most areas of computer science.
- Encyclopedia of Agricultural, Food, and Biological Engineering
Online encyclopedia from Marcel Dekker covering the development and design of procedures, equipment, and systems utilized in the production and conversion of raw materials into food and nonfood consumer goods—emphasizing and illustrating the various engineering processes associated with the production of materials with agricultural origin.
- Encyclopedia of Aerospace Engineering
A searchable online encyclopedia on the Wiley platform, offering original contributions from expert authors in the fields of engineering science that support the study and development of aerospace technology and vehicle design.
- Encyclopedia of Applied Physics
A searchable online encyclopedia on the Wiley InterScience platform. covering areas such as optics, laser physics, solid state and semiconductor physics, atom and nuclear physics, and biophysics.
- Encyclopedia of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering
Online encyclopedia from Marcel Dekker surveying biomaterials and biomedical engineering technologies utilizing biomaterials- current lines of research as well as innovative applications in tissue engineering, prosthetics, drug delivery, biosensors, and medical devices.
- Encyclopedia of Geology
Online encyclopedia on the ScienceDirect platform. It Covers all aspects of geology.
- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
It contains more than 400 brand new articles that have been added to the site through monthly updates since the encyclopedia was originally launched in April, 2001. Hundreds of articles have also been revised, amended or expanded since publication.
- Encyclopedia of Mathematical Physics
A searchable online encyclopedia on the
ScienceDirect platform, providing articles on a wide range of
subjects in the field of mathematical physics.
- Encyclopedia of Molecular Cell Biology and Molecular Medicine
Online encyclopedia on the Wiley InterScience platform, comprising over 200 articles representing a detailed treatment of the molecular and cellular basis of life. The work was originally published in 6 vols in 2005.
- Encyclopedia of Soil Science
Online encyclopedia from Marcel Dekker covering the chemistry,
analysis, and evaluation of soils, with a focus on agriculture
development in the third world, particularly through research on
sustainable management of natural resources, soil productivity and
environmental quality. The work outlines the agricultural,
environmental, industrial, and cultural components that affect soil
productivity; advances the design of new control and purification
strategies for soils in a wide variety of environments; discusses
all branches of soil science, from mineralogy and physics to soil
management and restoration.
- Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences
It covers most aspects of the Statistical Sciences -- including
probability theory, biostatistics, quality control, and economics
with emphasis in applications of statistical methods in sociology,
engineering, computer science, biomedicine, psychology, survey
methodology, and a host of other client disciplines.
- Encyclopedia of Statistics in Quality and Reliability
An
online encyclopedia on the Wiley InterScience platform focusing on
statistical techniques in quality engineering. It provides in-depth
coverage of a wide variety of topics, including six sigma, data
mining, process capability and measurement systems analysis. It
includes a large selection of case studies and practical
suggestions, and is designed for academics and professionals
applying statistical methods in industry.
- ENGnetBASE
Online collection of engineering handbooks published by CRC Press.
- Handbook of Statistical Genetics
Online handbook published by Wiley, designed as a reference resource for statisticians interested in genetic applications, and geneticists seeking a deeper knowledge of statistical methods in their field.
- InfoSECURITYnetBASE
Online collection of handbooks on computer security published by CRC Press.
- ITKnowledgeBASE
An online collection of 278 fulltext monographs on information technology, from Auerbach Publications and CRC Press.
- MATHnetBASE
Online collection of handbooks and applied mathematics texts published by CRC Press.
- PHYSICSnetBASE
Online collection of books on physics published by Taylor & Francis.
- SIAM Reference Collection
A searchable online collection of
over 300 books published by the Society of Industrial and Applied
Mathematics (SIAM).
- STATSnetBASE
Online collection of handbooks and other
statistical texts published by CRC Press. Covers statistical theory & methods in all areas, including Bayesian approaches, computer
applications, environmental statistics, medical statistics and
biostatistics.
- Wiley
Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering
An online encyclopedia on the Wiley InterScience platform containing
over 350 peer reviewed articles in areas such as biochemical
engineering, biomedical education, biomedical devices and
instrumentation, human performance and reverse engineering,
rehabilitation and orthopedic engineering. It is designed to meet the
needs of readers ranging from undergraduate students to research
scientists.
- Wiley Encyclopedia of Operations Research and Management Science
A searchable online encyclopedia on the Wiley Online Library platform providing broad coverage of mathematical theory, algorithms, modeling, and application issues in operations research and management science. The work has an internatonal focus, and features articles from a diverse range of contributors, from academia, industry, business, government, and the military.
E-books 
- BIOSCIENCEnetBASE
An online collection of over 90 full-text handbooks and monographs in the biosciences, including biochemistry, bioinformatics, biomedical engineering, biostatistics, biotechnology, epidemiology, immunology, microbiology, neuroscience, pharmacology, and toxicology.
- COMPUTERSCIENCEnetBASE
A collection of full-text handbooks and monographs covering most areas of computer science.
- CRCnetBASE
A searchable online database containing over 3,000 scientific and technical handbooks, reference works and other texts published by Taylor & Francis.
- EBSCO eBook Collection
A searchable collection of over 10,000 scholarly, reference and professional electronic books on all subjects.
This collection was formerly known as 'NetLibrary'.
- Ebrary
More than 21,000 recently published books on all subjects.
- ENGnetBASE
Engineering handbooks.
- Knovel
Engineering and scientific books from a wide range of publishers.
- Industrial Press E-Book Collection
A searchable online collection of technical books published by Industrial Press.
- InfoSECURITYnetBASEOnline collection of handbooks on computer security published by CRC Press.
- ITKnowledgeBASE
An online collection of 278 fulltext monographs on information technology, from Auerbach Publications and CRC Press.
- PHYSICSnetBASE
Online collection of books on physics published by Taylor & Francis.
- Referex
Comprises over 300 fully searchable e-books in three subject collections: chemical, petrochemical and process engineering; mechanical and materials engineering; electronics & electrical engineering. Each collection includes handbooks of engineering fundamentals, titles focused on technique and practice and specialized scholarly monographs.
- Safari Tech Books Online
A collection of books on information technology from a range
of publishers, including O'Reilly, Microsoft Press, Addison Wesley,
Prentice Hall, and Cisco Press. The Library's licence covers 183
titles -- click on Library to retrieve a list of titles available
for reading. Titles are searchable via Voyage.
- SIAM Reference Collection
A searchable online collection of over 300 books published by the
Society of Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM).
- SPIE Digital Library - Ebooks
A searchable online collection of textbooks, field guides and reference works published by the Society of Photo-optical Instrumentation Engineers on the SPIE Digital Library platform.
- SpringerLink
SpringerLink gives full-text access to over 1800
journals published by Springer, Birkhauser, Karger, and others: some
2.87 M articles.
It also give full-text access to some 10,000 books.
Apart from complete coverage from 1997 onwards of the Lecture
Notes in Computer Science (approx. 3300 books in 139,000
chapters); most books are only available full-text AFTER 2004.
- STATSnetBASE
Online collection of handbooks and other statistical texts published by CRC Press. Covers statistical theory & methods in all areas, including Bayesian approaches, computer applications, environmental statistics, medical statistics and biostatistics. - Synthesis (Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science)
An online collection of searchable compact e-books or 'lectures'
published by Morgan & Claypool. Arranged in a hierarchical structure
of disciplines and series, each 50-100 page lecture covers an
important research or development topic, and is written by a
prominent contributor to the field.
|