Engineering Electronic Databases by Department

Engineering Library home | Engineering resources | Engineering databases | Engineering web resources

Guides | Engineering Library services | Part 4 & Geothermal reports | Faculty of Engineering


Major Engineering Databases

Civil & Environmental Engineering Databases
Engineering related databases

Electrical & Computer Engineering Databases

New Zealand databases

Engineering Science Databases

Chemical & Materials Engineering Databases

Mechanical Engineering Databases

Major Engineering Databases

  1. Academic Search Premier
    A scholarly, interdisciplinary database indexing more than 8,000 journals.
  2. ASME Conference Proceedings Archive
    ASME Conference Proceedings published 2002 through 2007 by the American Society for Mechanical Engineers.
  3. ASTM Digital Library
    A searchable online collection of technical reports, symposia proceedings, manuals, and journal articles published by the American Society for Testing and Materials.
  4. ASTM Standards
    A searchable online collection of standards from the American Society for Testing and Materials.
  5. China Academic Journals
    A full-text collection of Chinese language journals published by CNKI (China National Knowledge Infrastructure). The Library's licence provides full-text access to 10 series including Industrial technology and engineering, architecture; Chemistry, metallurgy, environment and Mathematics, physics, mechanics, astronomy.
  6. CINDAS
    It provides critically evaluated materials properties databases for thermal, mechanical, electrical, physical and other properties of various materials, including aerospace alloys.
  7. Compendex (1884 - current, updated weekly)
    Covers about 5000 engineering journals, conference proceedings and reports all over the world. It is the most important database for engineers.
  8. CRCnetBASE
    A searchable online database containing over 3,000 scientific and technical handbooks, reference works and other texts published by Taylor & Francis.
  9. Derwent Innovations Index  
    A searchable online database on the Web of Knowledge platform, providing worldwide patent information, with English language abstracts. Derwent covers over 11 million inventions from 42 patent-issuing authorities and can be searched via text or chemical structures.
  10. Energy Citations Database
    Contains citations of reports, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). Please see online help additional search information.
  11. Energy & Power Source
    A searchable online collection offering indexing and extensive full-text coverage from over 1,000 publications relating to the energy and power industries- petroleum, natural gas, electric power, coal, nuclear power, renewable energy, and others.
  12. ENGINE - Australian Engineering Database
    ENGINE is produced by the Institution of Engineers Australia and provides access to Australian engineering information, and in particular to publications of the Institution since 1980. It covers all branches of engineering, including agricultural, aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, coastal, computer, electrical, electronic, mechanical, military, structural, transport and water. 
  13. Engineering Collection (Informit)
    A searchable full-text collection of Australasian engineering journals, conference papers and technical reports on the Informit platform. Title list.
  14. Engineering Village (1884 - current, updated weekly)
    Includes Compendex, Geobase and the Referex ebook collections, and over 16,000 engineering web sites; access to technical databases and engineering libraries.
  15. History of Science, Technology and Medicine
    An indexing and abstracting service on the FirstSearch platform covering journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields.
  16. IGA Geothermal Conference Papers Database
    A searchable online collection of conference papers on geothermal science produced by the International Geothermal Association.
  17. Industrial Press E-Book Collection
    A searchable online collection of technical books published by Industrial Press.
  18. Ingenta ( free public access)
    A global research gateway providing a free online search service of published content from reliable research sources. It offers access to nearly 6,000 electronic full-text titles and millions of articles from the world's leading scholarly and professional publications.
  19. NTIS(free public access)
    The largest, central resource for US government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information currently available. It provides free searching of 450,000 abstracted publications and a portal to online purchasing.
  20. New Zealand Standards Online
    A searchable online collection of all Standards New Zealand and AS/SNZ standards, compiled by IHS Australia. The documents are in PDF format and can be printed and downloaded.
  21. Patent Databases (free public access)
    An annotated bibliography and full-text of patent databases available on the Internet (both free and some fee-based) from international organizations such as WIOP (World Intellectual Property Organization), major industrial countries.
  22. RefWorks
    RefWorks software allows you to create your own web-based database of references.
  23. Science Direct (mostly 1994- current but some titles from the first issue published)
    Covers the full text of more than 2500 mostly Elsevier Science journals in the engineering, physical, technical, medical, life and social sciences. Science Direct also includes abstracts of journal articles from the other publishers.
  24. Scopus
    It indexes Elsevier publications (including conference proceedings) and covers over 16,000 peer-reviewed journals from 4,000 publishers. . Has many full text links to Science Direct-hosted articles, and uses the Scirus search engine for each standard search (results presented separately). Subjects include engineering, chemistry, physics, maths, life-health science, psychology, economics, biological/environmental, and general science. Full cited reference information from 1996.
  25. SpringerLink
    Gives full-text access to over 1800 journals published by Springer, Birkhauser, Karger, and others. It also gives full-text access to some 10,000 books. Apart from complete coverage from 1997 onwards of the Lecture Notes in Computer Science (approx. 3300 books in 139,000 chapters); most books are only available full-text AFTER 2004. 
  26. Synthesis (Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science)
    An online collection of searchable compact e-books or 'lectures' published by Morgan & Claypool. Arranged in a hierarchical structure of disciplines and series, each 50-100 page lecture covers an important research or development topic, and is written by a prominent contributor to the field.
  27. Web of Knowledge
    Web of Knowledge is the web interface for ISI group of products including Web of Science, Journal Citation Reports, ISI proceedings, Current Contents and Web Citation Index.  You must have a personalised login to Web of Knowledge if you wish to save searches from either of these databases -- especially if you wish to create an email alert.
  28. Web of Science (updated weekly)
    Consists of three citation databases: Science Citation Index (1900 - current), Social Sciences Citation Index(1956 - current), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - current) which are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information indexed so that you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. You can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. This mutlidisciplinary database lists 39 million items from some 8700 journals.
  29. Wiley Online Library
    Covers the full text of Wiley journals in Engineering, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth Science, Life and Medical Sciences, Mathematics and Statistics, Physics, Psychology, Business, Finance & Management, Education and Law. It also covers some Wiley ebooks and reference tools. All licensed works are listed in the Catalogue.

Top of page

Chemical and Materials Engineering Databases Top of page

  1. Aluminium Industry Abstracts ( 1972 -current),
    Formerly World Aluminum Abstracts (WAA), provides comprehensive coverage of the world's technical literature on aluminum, production processes, products, applications, and business developments. The Aluminium Industry Abstract database includes information abstracted from approximately 2,3000 scientific and technical journals, government reports, conference proceedings, dissertations, books and patents.
  2. American Chemical Society Journals
    A site licence providing online access to the online edition of around 50 journals and magazines published by the ACS.
  3. ASTM Digital Library
    A searchable online collection of technical reports, symposia proceedings, manuals, and journal articles published by the American Society for Testing and Materials.
  4. ASTM Standards
    A searchable online collection of standards from the American Society for Testing and Materials.
  5. ATSDR's toxicological profiles
    A searchable collection of toxicological profiles from the U.S. The profiles cover the effects of hazardous substances, chemicals, and compounds and contain over 40,000 pages of data from the printed version, including information on mitigation of health effects, data gaps, and all available health data.
  6. CCD(ChemExper Chemical Directory)
    CCD is a free database of chemical compounds accessible over Internet. Its powerful search engine allows you to find a chemical by its molecular formula, IUPAC name, common name, CAS number, catalog number, substructure or physical characteristics via Internet. CCD contains actually over 40,000 chemical structures, 16,000 MSDS and more than 70,000 products with bp, mp.
  7. CCOHS Academic Support Program
  8. A cross-searchable suite of material safety databases from the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety, providing safety information on chemicals and other hazardous substances. The Library's subscription to the CCOHS Academic Support Program provides access to the following datasets: MSDS plus CHEMINFO, RTECS, OSH References, CHEMpendium.
  9. Ceramic Abstracts / World Ceramics Abstracts (1975-current, updated monthly)
    One of the CSA Illumina Databases. A comprehensive database for the ceramics industry, providing international coverage on the manufacture, processing, applications, properties and testing of traditional and advanced ceramics. Over 300 journals.
  10. Chemgold II
    Provides a wide range of safety as well as chemical and physical information for approximately 100,000 chemicals and hazardous substances. It is tailored to Australian and New Zealand regulatory requirements.
  11. Chemical Engineering Plant Cost Index An online version of the Plant Cost Index published in the journal Chemical Engineering since 1963. CEPCI is used by chemical process engineers and managers to adjust plant construction costs from one period to another.
  12. ChemNetBase
    A collection of online chemical dictionaries and reference works comprising the Dictionary of commonly cited compounds; Handbook of chemistry & physics; Polymers, a property database; Properties of organic compounds. Includes the Combined chemical dictionary (CCD online) which incorporates the contents of the Dictionary of organic compounds; Dictionary of natural products; Dictionary of inorganic and organometallic compounds; Dictionary of pharmacological agents; Dictionary of analytical reagents; Dictionary of drugs. Latest editions.
  13. CHERUB - CHemical Engineering Reference User Bibliography
    It is a complete bibliographic reference source to the chemical engineering literature, including general and specialist topics, taken from 49 of the most important journals in the field.
  14. CINDAS
    It provides critically evaluated materials properties databases for thermal, mechanical, electrical, physical and other properties of various materials, including aerospace alloys.
  15. Comprehensive Natural Products II
    A searchable online handbook on the ScienceDirect platform focusing on trends in natural products research. This is a dynamic field at the intersection of chemistry and biology, concerned with the isolation, identification, structure elucidation, and chemical characteristics of naturally occurring compounds such as pheromones, carbohydrates, nucleic acids, and enzymes.
  16. Corrosion Abstracts (1980 - current, updated bimonthly) Top of page
    One of the CSA Illumina Databases. International sources of literature are scanned and abstracted in the areas of general corrosion, testing, corrosion characteristics, preventive measures, materials construction and performance, and equipment for many industries. It provides the world's most complete source of bibliographic information in the area of corrosion science and engineering.
  17. CSA Illumina
    Bibliographic databases: Engineered Materials Abstract, Metadex and Materials Business File on non-metallic engineering materials; metals and alloys; metals and materials industries news.
  18. Energy Citations Database
    Contains citations of reports, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). Please see online help additional search information.
  19. Engineered Materials Abstracts (1986 - current, update monthly).
    One of the CSA Illumina Databases. Citations of the research, manufacturing practices, properties and applications of polymers, ceramics, and composites materials have been taken from 1,600 journals, technical reports, patents, dissertations, conference proceedings, and books indexed by expert editors from Materials Information.
  20. FSTA (1969 - current, updated quarterly)
    Covers every aspect of food science, food products, and food processing including biotechnology, economics, manufacturing, legislation, and commodity packaging. Topics include additives, beverages, bakery products, cereals, dairy products, fish, fruits and vegetables, meat, and sugars.
  21. FOODnetBASE
    An online food research reference collection from CRC Press.
  22. Food Standards Code
    A collection of individual food standards developed by Food Standards Australia New Zealand (formerly ANZFA).
  23. Genetic Engineering News Biotechnology Database
    An international directory of biotechnology companies published by Mary Ann Liebert. Includes a glossary of biotechnology terms and selected articles from Genetic Engineering News.
  24. Henry Stewart Talks - Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection New!
    A searchable collection of audio-visual presentations on topics in biomedicine and the life sciences.Especially commissioned by Henry Stewart Talks, the lectures are organised into series covering both the fundamentals of a subject area and the latest advances.
  25. IChemE Journal Archive 
    A searchable online collection of over 4,000 articles published by the Institution of Chemical Engineers (IChemE) 1923-1996.
  26. International Wine Marketing Database
    An online bibliographic resource produced by the University of South Australia. The International Wine Marketing Database indexes and abstracts articles from published material on all aspects of the global wine industry, and includes full-text for around 500 articles.
  27. Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
    A comprehensive reference work on applied chemical science. It features more than 800 articles including analytical techniques, biochemistry, forensic chemistry, materials science, polymers and plastics, and wine.
  28. Materials Business File (1985 - current, updated monthly) Top of page
    Citations for this database are pulled from 2,000 journals, plus patents, dissertations, government reports, conference proceedings, and books. It focuses on industry news, international trade data, government regulations and management issues related to the metals and materials industries.
  29. Merck Index
    The Merck Index online is the electronic counterpart of the printed Merck Index co-published by Merck & Co., Inc. and CambridgeSoft. It is an encyclopaedia of organic and inorganic chemicals, including naturally-occurring substances, laboratory reagents, pharmaceuticals and drugs
  30. METADEX (1966 - current, updated monthly)
    One of the CSA Illumina Databases. A comprehensive source for information on metals and alloys: their properties, manufacturing, applications, and development. It indexes and abstracts from over 2,000 journals, plus patents, dissertations, government reports, conference proceedings, and books.
  31. Momentum Press E-Book Collection
    A searchable online collection of around 30 books published 2009-2010 by Momentum Press on the IG Publishing platform. The focus is on mechanical engineering, manufacturing processes, and materials science.
  32. OnePetro
    A searchable full-text database from the Society of Petroleum Engineers offering a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry.
  33. ScienceCinema
    A searchable video collection describing research and development sponsored by the United States Department of Energy.
  34. Scientific.Net
    This site provides online access to a collection of journals on materials science and engineering from Trans Tech Publications.
  35. SciFinder (1907 - current, updated daily)
    It provides online access to CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) databases. Sources include journals, patents (more than 5.2 million), books, reviews, meeting abstracts, dissertations, conference proceedings and technical reports. It also provides access to 20 million different chemical substances, including organic compounds, coordination compounds, polymers, biosequences, stereoisomers, and alloys.
  36. TOXINZ
    Is an Internet database containing information regarding toxic compounds and the management of poisoned patients. Though it does have a subscription option (two levels of subscriptions are available) its free option allows you to search for information on some 60,000 listed chemical products, pharmaceuticals, plants and hazardous creatures.
  37. Wiley Database of Polymer Properties
    The Wiley Database of Polymer Properties is a comprehensive source of physical property data for polymers commercially available, with experimentally determined and selected data for over 2,500 polymers. The initial content is derived from the Polymer Handbook.

    Top of page

Civil & Environmental Engineering Databases Top of page

  1. Australian Transport Index 
    Produced by ARRB Transport Research Ltd, the Australian Transport Index (ATRI) provides up-to-date information on transport and road related material.
  2. Conference Papers Index (1982 - current, updated bimonthly)
    One of the CSA Illumina  Databases. Citations to major scientific conference papers in life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences since 1995, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science.
  3. Earthquake Engineering Online Archive
    Online collection from the Earthquake Engineering Research Center at the University of California, Berkeley. 'A database of significant, publicly-funded research and development literature, photographs, data, and software in earthquake, structural, and geotechnical engineering'.
  4. EVA - Environmental Abstracts
    EVA (formerly EPIC), produced by the EPA Victoria Library, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles on the environment and related fields. Subject coverage includes air pollution and quality, environmental protection and management, hazardous wastes, recycling, waste management and disposal, water pollution, environmental assessment, and pollution control.
  5. Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management (1967 - current, updated monthly)
    One of the CSA Illumina  Databases. A multidisciplinary database, provides unparalleled and comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 4000 scientific journals and thousands of other sources including conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
    Subfiles include: ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality (1990-Current), Environmental Engineering Abstracts (1990-Current), Pollution Abstracts (1981-Current), Water Resources Abstracts (1967-Current), etc.
  6. Geobase (1980 - current, updated quarterly)
    An international bibliographic database for physical and human geography, geology, mineralogy, ecology and development studies. Indexes and abstracts over 2,000 primary journals in addition to books, monographs, reports, and theses. Interdisciplinary coverage makes it an ideal file for searching environmental and green issues.
  7. Georef (1785- current, updated quarterly)
    Covers the world's literature in geology and the geosciences. Indexes and abstracts over 3,000 journals, as well as books, maps, and reports and most U.S. Geological Survey publications and U.S. and Canadian master's theses and doctoral dissertations.
  8. ICE Virtual Library - Ebooks (Institution of Civil Engineers)
    A searchable online collection of over 300 books published by the Institution of Civil Engineers in the UK. The collection includes reference manuals, technical and historical works, and conference proceedings.
  9. Iconda (1976 - current)
    Covers worldwide literature in building construction, construction engineering, architecture, city planning and property.
  10. International Civil Engineering Abstracts - ICEA (1976 - current, updated monthly)
    Covers the major civil engineering subjects including: construction management, environmental, structural and hydraulic engineering. Abstracts are taken from 150 of the world's best civil engineering journal titles.
  11. International Stormwater Best Management Practices (BMP) Database (free public access)
    This features technical documents, software and database developed over the past decade. The overall purpose of the project is to provide scientifically sound information to improve the design, selection and performance of BMPs.
  12. Water Resources Routenet
    Available via the Cambridge Scientific Databases. A path to water-related websites on the Internet.

    Top of page

Electrical & Computer Engineering Databases Top of page

  1. ACM Digital Library (full text: 1991 - current; abstract: 1985 --current)
    Contains bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full-text for articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since 1985. From 1991, full-text is available for most articles, full-text is not yet available for all conference proceedings.
  2. Biological Abstracts (1969 - current, updated weekly)
    An international database on biology, clinical and experimental medicine, biochemistry and biotechnology. It indexes and abstracts articles in 6,500 serials from over 100 countries and is produced in the United States by BIOSIS. 
  3. IEEE Xplore (1988 - current, some from 1950, updated daily)
    Full-text of all IEEE and IEE transactions, journal articles, conference papers, and all current IEEE standards. 
  4. INSPEC (1969 - current, updated weekly)
    Covers four main subject areas: Physics, Electrical Engineering & Electronics, Computers and Control, and Information Technology. It abstracts and indexes over 4,000 journals and 2,000 published conference proceedings, as well as numerous books, reports and dissertations.
  5. Medline (1966 - current, updated monthly)
    Widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature and indexes and abstracts from more than 4,600 journals. It encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology. 
  6. NASA Technical Report Server (NTRS) (free public access)
    Allows users to search the many different abstract and technical report servers maintained by various NASA centers and programs. Specifically, it is a unified interface to many separate WAIS servers.
  7. Telecommunications (1986 - current, updated daily)
    A full-text / citation database for top telecommunications industry publications. It includes the latest information that is published in magazines, journals and newsletters in this fast changing industry.

Top of page

Engineering Science Databases Top of page

  1. ACM Digital Library (full text: 1991 - current; abstract: 1985 - current)
    Contains bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full-text for articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since 1985. From 1991, full-text is available for most articles, full-text is not yet available for every proceeding article.
  2. Biological Abstracts (1969 - current, updated weekly)
    An international database on biology, clinical and experimental medicine, biochemistry and biotechnology. It indexes and abstracts articles in 6,500 serials from over 100 countries and is produced in the United States by BIOSIS. I
  3. Geobase (1980 - current, updated quarterly)
    An international bibliographic database for physical and human geography, geology, mineralogy, ecology and development studies. Indexes and abstracts over 2,000 primary journals in addition to books, monographs, reports, and theses. Interdisciplinary coverage makes it an ideal file for searching environmental and green issues.
  4. Geofacets
    A searchable database of georeferenced geological maps designed to help geoscientists assess a region or basin's geologic characteristics.
  5. Georef (1785 - current, updated quarterly)
    Covers the world's literature in geology and the geosciences. Indexes and abstracts over 3,000 journals, as well as books, maps, and reports and most U.S. Geological Survey publications and U.S. and Canadian master's theses and doctoral dissertations.
  6. Henry Stewart Talks - Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection New!
    A searchable collection of audio-visual presentations on topics in biomedicine and the life sciences.Especially commissioned by Henry Stewart Talks, the lectures are organised into series covering both the fundamentals of a subject area and the latest advances.
  7. IEEE Xplore (1988 - current, some from 1950, updated daily)
    Full-text of all IEEE and IEE transactions, journal articles, conference papers, and all current IEEE standards. 
  8. INSPEC (1969 - current, updated weekly)
    Covers four main subject areas: Physics, Electrical Engineering & Electronics, Computers and Control, and Information Technology. It abstracts and indexes over 4,000 journals and 2,000 published conference proceedings, as well as numerous books, reports and dissertations.
  9. JSTOR (Journal Storage Project)
    An archive of scholarly journal literature, with over 230 digitised full-text journals.
    Subject areas include: Anthropology, Asian Studies, Botany, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, General Science, History, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology and Statistics.
  10. MathSciNet (1940 - current, updated daily or monthly)
    The electronic version of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications which indexes bibliographic data for recent and forthcoming publications. Most items are later reviewed in Mathematical Reviews.
  11. Medline (1966 - current, updated monthly)
    Widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature. It encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology. More than 4,600 journals are indexed and abstracted.
  12. OnePetro
    A searchable full-text database from the Society of Petroleum Engineers offering a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry.
  13. SIAM Reference Collection
    A searchable online collection of over 300 books published by the Society of Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM).
  14. SpringerMaterials
    A searchable online collection of materials science data published by Springer Verlag, based on the Landolt-Börnstein new series, the DDBST database (Dortmund Data Bank Software & Separation Technology), the Linus Pauling Files (on inorganic solid phases) and other sources.
  15. Springer Protocols
    A searchable online database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the life and biomedical sciences published by Springer Verlag. The protocols offer instructions for the design and implementation of experiments that include equipment specifications, safety procedures, statistical methods, reporting and troubleshooting standards.
  16. Zentralblatt MATH database 
    A key mathematical resource containing some material not in MathSciNet.  The coverage is from 1931 onwards, but the text of older reviews may be unavailable online.  Zentralblatt classifies all its items under the MSC 2000 codes. Top of page

Mechanical Engineering Databases Top of page

  1. ACM Digital Library (full text: 1991 -current; abstract: 1985 -current)
    Contains bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full-text for articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since 1985. From 1991, full-text is available for most articles, full-text is not yet available for every proceeding article.
  2. CSA Illumina
    Bibliographic databases: Engineered Materials Abstract, Metadex and Materials Business File on non-metallic engineering materials; metals and alloys; metals and materials industries news.
  3. IEEE Xplore (1988 - current, some from 1950, updated daily)
    Full-text of all IEEE and IEE transactions, journal articles, conference papers, and all current IEEE standards.
  4. INSPEC (1969 -current, updated monthly)
    Covers four main subject areas: Physics, Electrical Engineering & Electronics, computers and Control, and information technology. It abstracts and indexes over 4,000 journals and 2,000 published conference proceedings, as well as numerous books, reports and dissertations. 
  5. MathSciNet (1940 -current, updated daily or monthly)
    The electronic version of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications which indexes bibliographic data for recent and forthcoming publications. Most items are later reviewed in Mathematical Reviews.
  6. Momentum Press E-Book Collection
    A searchable online collection of around 30 books published 2009-2010 by Momentum Press on the IG Publishing platform. The focus is on mechanical engineering, manufacturing processes, and materials science.
  7. NASA Technical Report Server (NTRS) (free public access)
    Allows users to search the many different abstract and technical report servers maintained by various NASA centers and programs. Specifically, it is a unified interface to many separate WAIS servers.
  8. SAE Technical Papers (1995 -2003)
    Full-text technical papers of the US Society of Automotive Engineers, stand-alone CD-ROM in Engineering Library. (Engineering Library only). Note: Previous years held in microfiche format only.
  9. SAE Digital Library - Technical Papers
    Provides online full-text access to more than 18,000 technical papers published by the Society of Automotive Engineers from 1998 to date. Incorporates the Global Mobility Database, comprising over 130,000 bibliographic citations and document summaries of books, standards, journal articles, conference papers, etc on mobility research worldwide
  10. SciFinder (1907 -current, updated daily)
    It provides online access to CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) databases. Sources include journals, patents (more than 5.2 million), books, reviews, meeting abstracts, dissertations, conference proceedings and technical reports. It also provides access to 20 million different chemical substances, including organic compounds, coordination compounds, polymers, biosequences, stereoisomers, and alloys.Top of page

Engineering Related Databases Top of page

  1. ABI/INFORM (1970 -current, updated monthly)
    A worldwide management, business and information technology database indexing and abstracting over 1,400 business and economics journals, magazines and trade publications. 50% full-text articles.
  2. IREL - Australian Industrial Relations Database
    Australian Industrial Relations Database (IREL), produced by the Library of the Queensland University of Technology (QUT), is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts published and unpublished material on industrial relations and related topics from 1983 - 31 October 2000.
  3. NUS Theses Collection
    A list of theses submitted to the National University of Singapore and its predecessor institutions, covering the period from 1947 to the present. All theses listed are deposited at the NUS Library.
  4. Australian Digital Theses Program
    "The aim of the ADT project is to create a national collaborative distributed database of digitised theses produced at Australian Universities.The ADT database provides access to PhD and Masters by Research theses only. " Their Digital Theses Collections page is also useful.
  5. Current Contents (1998 -current, updated daily)
    ISI's online version of the well known Current Contents journals, is produced in the United States by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI). Further information can be found at ISI including information on the specific subsets.
  6. Digital Dissertations (1861 -current, updated quarterly, formerly Dissertation Abstracts)
    Bibliographic citations and abstracts from all subject areas (Sciences & Engineering, Humanities & Social Sciences) for doctoral dissertations and masters' theses completed at over 1000 accredited colleges and universities worldwide. Abstracts are included from 1980. The full text of theses is available in PDF format for more than 100,000 titles from 1996.
  7. Emerald (1994 -current but varying from title to title, updated monthly)
    Provides access to over 100 full-text property and engineering journals published by MCB University Press.
  8. Expanded Academic (1980 -current, updated daily)
    Indexes 2984 titles of academic journals, magazines and newspapers from all academic disciplines, with 1780 publications (about 60%) available in full-text.
  9. Index to Theses
    A comprehensive listing of theses with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in Great Britain and Ireland. 500,000 theses entries in total, with 15,000 new theses added every year.
  10. Journal Citation Reports (JCR) (1999 -current, updated annually)
    Covers journals in the areas of science and technology. Each annual database contains the previous year’s publication data, accumulating and tabulating citation and article counts in order to answer some fundamental questions, such as: What journals are most frequently used? What journals have the highest impact? etc.
  11. Proquest (1971-current, full-text from 1987)
    An online serials database of 8,500 titles of which half are in full text in general science & technology, engineering, social science, medical, and business. All are accessible through the ProQuest interface and can be searched individually or simultaneously with other Proquest databases (click on the Change Database link on the search screen and select databases).
  12. OECD iLibrary (1998 onwards) 
    Offers full text access to 17 thematic collections, OECD periodicals and OECD statistics.
Top of page

New Zealand databases Top of page

  1. Auckland Regional Council Library Database (1987 -current)
    Covers mainly books and journal articles held by the Auckland Regional Council held since 1987. (This database is only available to members of the University of Auckland with a NetID and password.). However,ARCADIA is freely available to the general public through the Web and offers information about the Auckland region only.
  2. Index New Zealand: INNZ (1987 -current, updated daily)
    Indexes nearly 300 NZ journals and newspapers. It is the key New Zealand database for social sciences, arts, humanities and general interest material, and also indexes some South Pacific journals.
  3. Kompass (Current year only)
    Kompass is an international business directory. It contains information on a company's executives, brief financials, branches, localities, a list of products and services, and trade and brand names. Only available from a standalone workstation on Level M in the General Library.
  4. New Zealand Index
    It is made up of eight indexes of New Zealand newspapers, magazines and journals. They can be searched together or separately.
  5. Newzindex (1985 -current, updated daily)
    Indexes articles of interest to business from major daily NZ newspapers and business periodicals not included in the Newztext full-text database.
  6. Newztext Plus
    Newztext Plus contains both full text and indexes for many of New Zealand's key news and business publications and is updated daily.
  7. NZ Science
    The database includes abstracts for all of the Royal Society of New Zealand Journals up until 1998 and will soon include all current abstracts. NZ Science also indexes records of CRI (Crown Research Institutes) publications.
  8. Te Puna (updated daily)
    This includes the National Bibliographic Database with over 10 million records for New Zealand and overseas resources and lists of New Zealand holding libraries.
Top of page

For further information contact the departmental subject librarians in the Engineering Library:
Auckland Bioengineering Institute   Dahlia Han ext. 86997; email: d.han@auckland.ac.nz
Chemical & Materials Engineering:   Dahlia Han ext. 86997; email: d.han@auckland.ac.nz
Civil & Environmental Engineering:   Patsy Hulse ext. 88129; email: p.hulse@auckland.ac.nz
Electrical & Computer Engineering:   Susan Brookes ext. 84995; email: s.brookes@auckland.ac.nz
Engineering Science:   Dahlia Han ext. 86997; email: d.han@auckland.ac.nz
Mechanical Engineering:   Emil Melnichenko ext. 87200; email: e.melnichenko@auckland.ac.nz

Top of page

Engineering Library home | Engineering resources | Engineering databases | Engineering web resources

Guides | Engineering Library services | Part 4 & Geothermal reports | Faculty of Engineering


 

File last updated : 11 November, 2011

This page is part of the Engineering Library website. Suggestions to: Dahlia Han