E N G I N E E R I N G

Speech & Language Processing Vital Research Tools



Research Resources for Speech & Language Processing:

Databases on Library website

Books/Journals/DVDs/Encyclopedias/ Handbooks/ Manuals in the Library

e-books

e-journals

 

Web Resources

Standards and Patents

Dissertations and Theses

Researching, evaluating, writing, referencing

The Research Process


Databases on Library website  Top of page  

IEEExplore

INSPEC

Compendex

Scopus

Web of Science

ENGINE - Australian Engineering Database

Derwent Innovations Index

Index New Zealand: INNZ

Newzindex

NewzText

NZ Science

Proquest

 

Speech Science resources


Books/Journals/DVDs Speech & Language Processing held by the Library Top of page

 


E-books Top of page

Those purchased by the University of Auckland Library can be searched for in the Catalogue ( Refine the Results to Books, then eBooks) or Voyager ( use the quick limit box and set it to e-books).  

E-Books from different providers can also be found at Library Home Page/ E-Books.  The collections  CRCnetBASE, Ebrary, Knovel, Referex, Ebsco, Safari Tech Books OnlineSpringerLink, & Synthesis contain books useful to Speech & Language Processing.
Information of using these e-books is available from Library Home Page/ e-books and from Library Home Page/ Study & Research Help / online tutorials & handouts/ e-books . 

Other online books are accessible directly from the Internet, but remember to be critical of everything you read on the Internet.  Some can be found using Google Books by searching for the specific aspect of Speech & Language Processing you need, or try the University of Pennsylvania online books listing at http://onlinebooks.library.upenn.edu/subjects.html or Digital Book Index http://www.digitalbookindex.com/search001a.htm. Other examples are given below:

Data-Intensive Linguistics, 2004. http://www.ling.ohio-state.edu/~cbrew/2005/spring/684.02/notes/dilbook.pdf

Multi-Lingual Interoperability in Speech Technology, 2000. http://www.rta.nato.int/Pubs/RDP.asp?RDP=RTO-MP-028


E-journals Top of page

As for e-books, those subscribed to by the University of Auckland Library are catalogued on, and available through the Library Catalogue. These are also listed and can be searched for on the Library page E- journals .

However, many others are available free (or mostly free) on the Internet. They can be searched for at "the Directory of Open Access Journals. This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals."

Examples include:

Journal of Interesting Negative Results in Natural Language Processing and Machine Learning http://www.jinr.org/

Inteligencia Artificial Ibero-American Journal of Artificial Intelligence http://erevista.aepia.org/index.php/ia

International Journal of Computer Processing Of Languages http://www.worldscinet.com/ijcpol/ijcpol.shtml


Standards & Patents Top of page

Information on both standards and patents can be found at Engineering Library page www.library.auckland.ac.nz/subject-guides/eng/resources/patstandinf.htm

Some Standards are held by the Library, and can be searched for onthe Library Catalogue or Voyager. New Zealand Standards can be obtained from the database New Zealand Standards Online.


Web Resources Top of page

 


Researching, evaluating, writing, referencing Top of page

Engineering Library home | Engineering resources | Engineering databases | Engineering web resources

Guides | Engineering Library services | Part 4 & Geothermal reports | Faculty of Engineering


File last updated : September 10, 2010

This page is part of the Engineering Library website. Suggestions to: Susan Brookes