E N G I N E E R I N G

Radio & Telecommunications Vital Research Tools



Research Resources for Radio & Telecommunications:

Databases on Library website

Books/Journals on Voyager

e-books

e-journals

Web Resources

 

Standards & Patents

Researching, evaluating, writing, referencing

Dissertations and Theses

Statistics search for your topic in NZ Sources and OFFSTATS

 


Databases on Library website Top of page  


Books/Journals on Voyager for Telecommunications & Radio Top of page

E-books    Top of page
 

Those purchased by the University of Auckland Library can be searched for in the Catalogue ( Refine the Results to Books, then eBooks) or Voyager ( use the quick limit box and set it to e-books).  

E-Books from different providers can also be found at Library Home Page/ E-Books,.  The collections  CRCnetBASE, Ebrary, Knovel, Referex, Ebsco, Safari Tech Books OnlineSpringerLink, & Synthesis contain books useful to this area.  Information of using these e-books is available from Library Home Page/ e-books and from Library Home Page/ Study & Research Help / online tutorials & handouts/ e-books . 

Other online books are accessible directly from the Internet, remember to be critical of everything you read on the Internet.  Some can be found using Google Books by searching for the specific aspect of radio systems you need, University of Pennsylvania online books listing http://onlinebooks.library.upenn.edu/subjects.html or Digital Book Index http://www.digitalbookindex.com/search001a.htm


E-journals  Top of page
As for e-books, those subscribed to by the University of Auckland Library are catalogued on, and available through the Library Catalogue. These are also listed and can be searched for on the Library website E- journals .

However, many others are available free (or mostly free) on the Internet. They can be searched for at "the Directory of Open Access Journals. This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals."

Examples include:

BBC RD Reports from the 1960s-1996 http://www.bbc.co.uk/rd/pubs/reports/

ETRI Journal.     http://etrij.etri.re.kr/ 

Telecommunications Magazine     http://www.telecommagazine.com/ 

Wavelet Digest     http://www.wavelet.org/wavelet/index.html 


Standards & Patents Top of page

Information on both standards and patents can be found at Engineering Library page /subject-guides/eng/resources/patstandinf.htm

Some Standards are held by the Library, and can be searched for on the Library Catalogue.

New Zealand Standards can be obtained from the database New Zealand Standards Online.


Web Resources Top of page

NZ Government & other websites:

Overseas sites:

 


Researching, evaluating, writing, referencing Top of page

Engineering Library home | Engineering resources | Engineering databases | Engineering web resources

Guides | Engineering Library services | Part 4 & Geothermal reports | Faculty of Engineering


File last updated : November 24, 2011

This page is part of the Engineering Library website. Suggestions to: Susan Brookes