E N G I N E E R I N G

Power Engineering & Power Systems Vital Research Tools



Research Resources for Power:

Databases on Library website

Books/Journals/DVDs on Voyager

Encyclopedias/ Handbooks/ Manuals on Voyager

e-books

e-journals

Web Resources

Energy - Vital Research Tools

Energy Industry Guide: Information sources including statistics

Standards and Patents

Dissertations and Theses

Researching, evaluating, writing, referencing

The Research Process

 


Databases on Library website  Top of page  

IEEExplore

INSPEC

Compendex

Scopus

Web of Science

Energy Citations Database

Energy and Power Source

ENGINE - Australian Engineering Database

 

Index New Zealand: INNZ

Newzindex

NewzText

NZ Science

Proquest

SourceOECD

Derwent Innovations Index


Books/Journals/DVDs on Voyager Top of page

 


E-books Top of page

Those purchased by the University of Auckland Library can be searched for in the Catalogue ( Refine the Results to Books, then eBooks) or Voyager ( use the quick limit box and set it to e-books).  

E-Books from different providers can also be found at Library Home Page/ E-Books,.  The collections  CRCnetBASE, Ebrary, Knovel, Referex, Ebsco, Safari Tech Books OnlineSpringerLink, & Synthesis contain books useful to power.  Information of using these e-books is available from Library Home Page/ e-books and from Library Home Page/ Study & Research Help / online tutorials & handouts/ e-books . . 

Other online books are accessible directly from the Internet, remember to be critical of everything you read on the Internet.  Some can be found using Google Books by searching for the specific aspect of power you need, or try the University of Pennsylvania online books listing at http://onlinebooks.library.upenn.edu/subjects.html or Digital Book Index http://www.digitalbookindex.com/search001a.htm . Other examples are given below:

Power Quality and Integration of Wind Farms in Weak Grids in India http://www.risoe.dk/rispubl/VEA/veapdf/ris-r-1172.pdf   

Switch-mode Power Supply  http://services.eng.uts.edu.au/~venkat/pe_html/pe07_nc8.htm


E-journals Top of page

As for e-books, those subscribed to by the University of Auckland Library are catalogued on, and available through the Library Catalogue. These are also listed and can be searched for on the Library page E- journals .

However, many others are available free (or mostly free) on the Internet. They can be searched for at "the Directory of Open Access Journals. This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals."

Examples include:

International Journal of Emerging Electric Power Systems http://www.bepress.com/ijeeps/

Wind Power Monthly News Magazine  http://windpower-monthly.com/


Standards & Patents Top of page

Information on both standards and patents can be found at Engineering Library page www.library.auckland.ac.nz/subject-guides/eng/resources/patstandinf.htm

Some Standards are held by the Library, and can be searched for on the Library Catalogue or Voyager. New Zealand Standards can be obtained from the database New Zealand Standards Online.


Web Resources Top of page

NZ Government & other electricity/energy websites:

Overseas sites:

 


Researching, evaluating, writing, referencing Top of page

Engineering Library home | Engineering resources | Engineering databases | Engineering web resources

Guides | Engineering Library services | Part 4 & Geothermal reports | Faculty of Engineering


File last updated : November 24, 2011

This page is part of the Engineering Library website. Suggestions to: Susan Brookes