E N G I N E E R I N G

Embedded Systems Vital Research Tools



Research Resources for Embedded Systems:

Databases on Library website

Books/Journals/DVDs on Voyager

e-books

e-journals

Web Resources

 

Standards & Patents

Dissertations and Theses

Researching, evaluating, writing, referencing

The Research Process

 


Databases on the Library Home Page Top of page  

IEEExplore

INSPEC

Compendex

Scopus

Web of Science

ENGINE - Australian Engineering Database

Derwent Innovations Index

NZ Science

Proquest Computing

ACM Digital Library

Computer Database

Computing Reviews

CIA - Computer Index Australasia

SpringerLink

Newzindex

NewzText

 


Books/Journals on Voyager Top of page

 


E-books    Top of page

Those purchased by the University of Auckland Library can be searched for in the Catalogue ( Refine the Results to Books, then eBooks) or Voyager ( use the quick limit box and set it to e-books).  

E-Books from different providers can also be found at Library Home Page/ E-Books,.  The collections  CRCnetBASE, Ebrary, Knovel, Referex, Ebsco, Safari Tech Books OnlineSpringerLink, & Synthesis contain books useful to embedded systems.  Information of using these e-books is available from Library Home Page/ e-books and from Library Home Page/ Study & Research Help / online tutorials & handouts/ e-books . 

Other online books are accessible directly from the Internet, remember to be critical of everything you read on the Internet.  Some can be found using Google Books by searching for the specific aspect of embedded systems you need, University of Pennsylvania online books listing http://onlinebooks.library.upenn.edu/subjects.html or Digital Book Index http://www.digitalbookindex.com/search001a.htm

E-journals  Top of page
As for e-books, those subscribed to by the University of Auckland Library are catalogued on, and available through the Library Catalogue. These are also listed and can be searched for on the Library Home Page E- journals link.

However, many others are available free (or mostly free) on the Internet. They can be searched for at "the Directory of Open Access Journals. This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals."

Examples include:

  • Journal of Software http://www.academypublisher.com/jsw/ "a scholarly peer-reviewed international scientific journal focusing on theories, methods, and applications in software".
  • Journal of Computers http://www.academypublisher.com/jcp/ "a scholarly peer-reviewed international scientific journal published monthly for researchers, developers, technical managers, and educators in the computer field".
  • E-Zine of Computer Controlled Systems http://www.controlled.com/ covers four main systems: Stackable PC/104 embedded control modules; ISA bus controlled systems, the traditional PC bus used in millions of machines globally; STD bus controlled systems, the open control system bus for harsh and rugged industrial applications; and VXI bus instrumentation systems, specifically designed for use with high-performance instruments and test equipment.
  • Circuit cellar http://www.circellar.com/ "is the only publication that provides intensive, exploratory articles about hardware and software methods for embedded-control systems."
  • RTC Magazine http://www.rtcmagazine.com/ "spotlights trends and breakthroughs in the design, development and technology of embedded computers. The publication offers broad based technical, product and market-coverage of the embedded computer arena to industry decision makers."

Standards & Patents Top of page

If you need information on standards or patents for embedded systems, then information can be found at Engineering Library page Patents & Standards Information

Some Standards are held by the Library, and can be searched for on the Library Catalogue. New Zealand Standards can be obtained from the database New Zealand Standards Online.


Web Resources Top of page

NZ Academic, Government & other robot websites:

  • The Universities of New Zealand all do some work on Embedded Systems.
  • New Zealand ICT, "an industry association made up of over 80 leading New Zealand ICT companies. It was founded to provide a single unified voice to address issues facing the industry as a whole." http://www.ict.org.nz/
  • NZ companies. A search for 'embedded' in the database Kompass finds NZ companies,etc. Use the Business & Economics Library pages to find more information on companies under Industry/ Company Guides.

Overseas sites: There are too many of these to list; the following is just a start:


Researching, evaluating, writing, referencing Top of page

Engineering Library home | Engineering resources | Engineering databases | Engineering web resources

Guides | Engineering Library services | Part 4 & Geothermal reports | Faculty of Engineering


File last updated : 30 August, 2011

This page is part of the Engineering Library website. Suggestions to: Susan Brookes