E N G I N E E R I N G

Biometrics Vital Research Tools



Research Resources for Biometrics:

Databases on Library website

Books/Journals/DVDs/ Videos held by the Library

e-books

e-journals

Web Resources

 

Standards & Patents

Researching, evaluating, writing, referencing

Dissertations and Theses

Statistics search for your topic in NZ Sources and OFFSTATS

 


Databases on Library website Top of page


Books/Journals on Voyager for Biometrics Top of page

E-books Top of page

Those purchased by the University of Auckland Library can be searched for in the Catalogue ( Refine the Results to Books, then eBooks) or Voyager ( use the quick limit box and set it to e-books).  

E-Books from different providers can also be found at Library Home Page/ E-Books,.  The collections  CRCnetBASE, Ebrary, Knovel, Referex, Ebsco, Safari Tech Books OnlineSpringerLink, & Synthesis contain books useful to this area.  Information of using these e-books is available from Library Home Page/ e-books and from Library Home Page/ Study & Research Help / online tutorials & handouts/ e-books . 

Other online books are accessible directly from the Internet, remember to be critical of everything you read on the Internet.  Some can be found using Google Books by searching for the specific aspect of biometrics you need, University of Pennsylvania online books listing http://onlinebooks.library.upenn.edu/subjects.html or Digital Book Index http://97.107.129.173/logina.htm


E-journals  Top of page
As for e-books, those subscribed to by the University of Auckland Library are catalogued on, and available through the Library Catalogue. These are also listed and can be searched for on the Library website E- journals .

However, many others are available free (or mostly free) on the Internet. They can be searched for at "the Directory of Open Access Journals. This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals."

Examples include:

SORT : Statistics and operations research transactions http://www.idescat.cat/sort : Statistics and Operations Research Transactions is published twice yearly, in English, by the Statistical Institute of Catalonia (Idescat). It covers methods and applications in statistics, operations research, official statistics and biometrics. The journal is peer reviewed and full text articles can be downloaded free as PDF files. Print subscriptions are available.

International Journal of Biometrics and Bioinformatics (IJBB) http://www.cscjournals.org/csc/description.php?JCode=IJBB brings together both of these aspects of biology and creates a platform for exploration and progress of these, relatively new disiplines by facilitating the exchange of information in the fields of comuptational molecular biology and post-genome bioinformatics and the role of statistics and mathematics in the biological sciences.

Journal of Biometrics & Biostatistics http://www.omicsonline.org/AboutJBMBS.php a broad-based journal was founded on two key tenets: To publish the most exciting researches with respect to the subjects of Biometrics & Biostatistics. Secondly, to provide a rapid turn-around time possible for reviewing and publishing, and to disseminate the articles freely for research, teaching and reference purposes.


Standards & Patents Top of page

Information on both standards and patents can be found at Engineering Library page \subjects\eng\resources\patstandinf.htm

Some Standards are held by the Library, and can be searched for on the Library Catalogue.

New Zealand Standards can be obtained from the database New Zealand Standards Online.


Web Resources Top of page

NZ Government & other websites:

Overseas sites:

  • The Biometrics Institure, Australia. http://www.biometricsinstitute.org/index.cfm
  • GovernmentIDNews http://www.governmentidnews.com/2010/02/19/new-zealand-conference-to-cover-immigration-and-biometrics NZ news is also inlcuded on this site.
  • The International Biometric Society http://www.tibs.org/Interior.aspx is an international society promoting the development and application of statistical and mathematical theory and methods in the biosciences, including agriculture, biomedical science and public health, ecology, environmental sciences, forestry, and allied disciplines.
  • The International Biometric Industry Association (IBIA) http://www.ibia.org/association/ is a trade association founded in September 1998 in Washington, D.C. to advance the collective international interests of the biometric industry. IBIA is impartially dedicated to serve all biometric technologies in all applications.
  • American Statistical Association Biometrics Section http://www.bio.ri.ccf.org/Biometrics/ . The principal interests of the Biometrics Section are: The development and application of statistical methods. The formulation of mathematical models, whether deterministic or stochastic, to describe and explain underlying mechanisms and modes of action of fundamental processes. The interpretation of quantitative data in the biological sciences, including agriculture, biology, health, medicine, and related fields.
  • Intellect Association for Biometrics http://www.intellectuk.org/content/view/2531/47/ was formed in 2007 to address the influential and growing Biometrics sector. The group represents Intellect members companies from across this area, seeking to ensure that policymakers and the industry are fully informed and able to address this growing market in a cohesive and consultative way.

Researching, evaluating, writing, referencing Top of page

Engineering Library home | Engineering resources | Engineering databases | Engineering web resources

Guides | Engineering Library services | Part 4 & Geothermal reports | Faculty of Engineering


File last updated : November 3, 2010

This page is part of the Engineering Library website. Suggestions to: Susan Brookes