
|
Welcome to the C&M resources site. If you have any problems using the
C&M resources, including databases, Internet resources, online journals, you are welcome to contact Dahlia Han, the departmental Subject Librarian to arrange a tutorial.
Phone: 64-9-3737599 ext.
86997
Fax: 64-9-3737044
Email: d.han@auckland.ac.nz
|
C&M databases
- ACS Symposium Series
A searchable online collection of high-quality, peer-reviewed books developed from the American Chemical Society technical divisions' symposia. The series covers a broad range of topics including agricultural and food chemistry, cellulose and renewable materials, chemical education, organic chemistry, polymer chemistry, materials, and many others. The collection includes all volumes of the Advances in chemistry series, published 1950-1998.
- Aluminium Industry Abstracts ( 1972 -current),
Formerly World Aluminum Abstracts (WAA), provides comprehensive coverage of the world's technical literature on aluminum, production processes, products, applications, and business developments. The Aluminium Industry Abstract database includes information abstracted from approximately 2,3000 scientific and technical journals, government reports, conference proceedings, dissertations, books and patents.
- American Chemical Society Journals
A site licence providing online access to the online edition of around 50
journals and magazines published by the ACS.
- ASCE Journals
Searchable online access to all journals published by the American Society of Civil Engineers on the ASCE Library platform.
- ASME Conference Proceedings Archive
ASME Conference Proceedings published 2002 through 2007 by the American Society for Mechanical Engineers.
- ASME Ebooks
A searchable collection of over 90 books published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers from 1998 to date.
- ASTM Digital Library
A searchable online collection of technical reports, symposia proceedings, manuals, and journal articles published by the American Society for Testing and Materials.
- ASTM Standards
A searchable online collection of standards from the American Society for Testing and Materials.
- ATSDR's toxicological profiles
A searchable collection of toxicological profiles from the U.S. The profiles cover the effects of hazardous substances, chemicals, and compounds and contain over 40,000 pages of data from the printed version, including information on mitigation of health effects, data gaps, and all available health data.
- British Standards Online
A searchable online database from the British Standards Institution providing access to the entire set of current British standards- over 55,000 documents. BSOL is updated daily.
- CCD(ChemExper
Chemical Directory)
CCD is a
free database of chemical compounds accessible over Internet. Its powerful
search engine allows you to find a chemical by its molecular formula, IUPAC
name, common name, CAS number, catalog number, substructure or physical
characteristics via Internet. CCD contains actually over 40,000 chemical
structures, 16,000 MSDS and more than 70,000 products with bp, mp.
- CCOHS Academic Support Program
A cross-searchable suite of material safety databases from the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety, providing safety information on chemicals and other hazardous substances. The Library's subscription to the CCOHS Academic Support Program provides access to the following datasets: MSDS plus CHEMINFO, RTECS, OSH References, CHEMpendium.
- Ceramic
Abstracts / World Ceramics Abstracts (1975-current,
updated monthly)
One of the CSA Illumina Databases. A comprehensive
database for the ceramics industry, providing international coverage on the
manufacture, processing, applications, properties and testing of traditional and
advanced ceramics. Over 300 journals
- Chemgold II
Provides a wide range of safety as well as chemical and physical
information for approximately 100,000 chemicals and hazardous substances. It is
tailored to Australian and New Zealand regulatory requirements.
- Chemical Engineering Plant Cost Index
An online version of the Plant Cost Index published in the journal Chemical Engineering since 1963. CEPCI is used by chemical process engineers and managers to adjust plant construction costs from one period to another.
- CHERUB -CHemical
Engineering Reference User Bibliography
A complete bibliographic
reference source to the chemical engineering literature, including general
and specialist topics, taken from 49 of the most important journals in the
field.
- China Academic Journals
A full-text collection of Chinese language journals published by CNKI (China National Knowledge Infrastructure). The Library's licence provides full-text access to 10 series including Industrial technology and engineering, architecture; Chemistry, metallurgy, environment and Mathematics, physics, mechanics, astronomy.
- CINDAS
It provides critically evaluated materials properties databases for thermal, mechanical, electrical, physical and other properties of various materials, including aerospace alloys.
- Compendex (1884 - current, updated weekly)

Covers about 5000 engineering journals, conference proceedings and reports
all over the world. It is the most important database for engineers.
- Comprehensive Natural Products II
A searchable online handbook on the ScienceDirect platform focusing on trends in natural products research. This is a dynamic field at the intersection of chemistry and biology, concerned with the isolation, identification, structure elucidation, and chemical characteristics of naturally occurring compounds such as pheromones, carbohydrates, nucleic acids, and enzymes.
- Corrosion Abstracts 1980 - current, updated bimonthly)
One of the CSA Illumina Databases. International sources of literature are scanned
and abstracted in the areas of general corrosion, testing, corrosion
characteristics, preventive measures, materials construction and performance,
and equipment for many industries. It provides the world's most complete source
of bibliographic information in the area of corrosion science and engineering.
- CRCnetBASE
A searchable online database containing over 3,000 scientific and technical handbooks, reference works and other texts published by Taylor & Francis.
- CSA Illumina
Bibliographic databases: Engineered Materials Abstract, Metadex and Materials Business File on non-metallic engineering materials; metals and alloys; metals and materials industries news.
- Derwent Innovations Index
A searchable online database on the Web of
Knowledge platform, providing worldwide patent information, with English
language abstracts. Derwent covers over 11 million inventions from 42
patent-issuing authorities and can be searched via text or chemical structures.
- Energy Citations Database
Contains
citations of reports, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations,
and patents for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information
from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy
Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy
Commission (AEC). Please see online
help additional search information.
- Energy & Power Source
A searchable online collection offering indexing and extensive full-text coverage from over 1,000 publications relating to the energy and power industries- petroleum, natural gas, electric power, coal, nuclear power, renewable energy, and others.
- ENGINE - Australian Engineering Database
ENGINE is produced by the Institution of Engineers Australia and provides access to Australian engineering information, and in particular to publications of the Institution since 1980. It covers all branches of engineering, including agricultural, aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, coastal, computer, electrical, electronic, mechanical, military, structural, transport and water.
- Engineered
Materials Abstracts (1986 - current, update monthly).
One of the CSA Illumina Databases. Citations of the research, manufacturing
practices, properties and applications of polymers, ceramics, and composites
materials have been taken from 1,600 journals, technical reports, patents,
dissertations, conference proceedings, and books indexed by expert editors from
Materials Information.
- Engineering Collection (Informit)
A searchable full-text collection of Australasian engineering journals, conference papers and technical reports on the Informit platform. Title list.
- FSTA - (1969 - current, updated quarterly)
Covers every aspect of food science,
food products, and food processing including biotechnology, economics,
manufacturing, legislation, and commodity packaging. Topics include additives,
beverages, bakery products, cereals, dairy products, fish, fruits and
vegetables, meat, and sugars.
- FOODnetBASE
An online food
research reference collection from CRC Press.
- Food
Standards Code
A
collection of individual food standards developed by Food Standards Australia
New Zealand (formerly ANZFA).
- Genetic Engineering News Biotechnology Database
An international
directory of biotechnology companies published by Mary Ann Liebert. Includes
a glossary of biotechnology terms and selected articles from Genetic
Engineering News.
- Henry Stewart Talks - Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection New!
A searchable collection of audio-visual presentations on topics in biomedicine and the life sciences.Especially commissioned by Henry Stewart Talks, the lectures are organised into series covering both the fundamentals of a subject area and the latest advances.
- IChemE
Journal Archive
A searchable online collection of over 4,000 articles published by the
Institution of Chemical Engineers (IChemE) 1923-1996.
- Industrial Press E-Book Collection
A searchable online collection of technical books published by Industrial Press.
- Ingenta (free public access)
Is
a global research gateway providing a free online search service of
published content from reliable research sources. It offers
access to nearly 6,000 electronic full-text titles and millions of articles from
the world's leading scholarly and professional publications.
- International Tables for Crystallography
A searchable online version of the classic series sponsored by the International Union of Crystallography. The wide range of articles and the numerous tables of data assist in the use of crystallographic methods in all sciences concerned with the structure and properties of materials.
- Kirk-Othmer
Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology

A comprehensive reference work on
applied chemical science. It features more than 800 articles including
analytical techniques, biochemistry, forensic chemistry, materials science,
polymers and plastics, and wine.
- Materials
Business File (1966
- current, updated monthly)
One of the CSA Illumina Databases. A
comprehensive source for information on metals and alloys: their properties,
manufacturing, applications, and development. It indexes and abstracts from over
2,000 journals, plus patents, dissertations, government reports, conference
proceedings, and books.
- Merck Index
The Merck Index online is the electronic counterpart
of the printed Merck Index co-published by Merck & Co., Inc. and
CambridgeSoft. It is an encyclopaedia of organic and inorganic
chemicals, including naturally-occurring substances, laboratory reagents,
pharmaceuticals and drugs
- METADEX (1966- current, updated monthly)
One of the CSA Illumina Databases. A
comprehensive source for information on metals and alloys: their properties,
manufacturing, applications, and development. It indexes and abstracts from over
2,000 journals, plus patents, dissertations, government reports, conference
proceedings, and books.
- Momentum Press E-Book Collection
A searchable online collection of around 30 books published 2009-2010 by Momentum Press on the IG Publishing platform. The focus is on mechanical engineering, manufacturing processes, and materials science.
- New
Zealand Standards Online
A searchable online collection of all Standards New Zealand and AS/SNZ standards,
compiled by IHS Australia. The documents are in PDF format and can be printed
and downloaded.
- OnePetro
A searchable full-text database from the Society of Petroleum Engineers offering a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry.
- Patty's Industrial Hygiene
A searchable version of the current edition of Patty's Industrial Hygiene in the Wiley Online Library. This is a classic handbook providing information on the recognition and evaluation of chemical agents, physical agents, and biohazards in the workplace, as well as engineering control of exposure and personal protection.
- RefWorks
RefWorks software allows you to create your own web-based database of references.
- ScienceCinema
A searchable video collection describing research and development sponsored by the United States Department of Energy.
- Science
Direct (mostly 1994-
current but some titles
from the first issue published)
Covers the full text of more than 2500 mostly Elsevier Science
journals in the engineering, physical, technical, medical, life and social
sciences. Science Direct also includes abstracts of journal articles from the
other publishers.
- Scientific.Net
This site provides online access to a collection of journals on materials
science and engineering from Trans Tech Publications.
- SciFinder (1907
- current, updated daily)
It provides online access to CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) databases. Sources include journals, patents (more than 5.2 million), books, reviews, meeting abstracts, dissertations, conference proceedings and technical reports. It also provides access to 20 million different chemical substances, including organic compounds, coordination compounds, polymers, biosequences, stereoisomers, and alloys.
- Scirus
Scirus is a search engine for scientific content. It searches both the open web and subscription databases. It currently covers the web, ScienceDirect, MEDLINE on BioMedNet, Beilstein on ChemWeb, Neuroscion, BioMed Central and Patents from the USPTO. Searches can be restricted by discipline. Scirus is provided by Elsevier.
- Scitopia
A freely available internet resource providing federated searching across a range of scientific and technical society publisher collections and government sites. It covers over 3.5 million documents, including peer-reviewed journal content, conference papers, patents, and government publications.
- Scopus
It indexes Elsevier publications (including conference proceedings) and covers over 16,000 peer-reviewed journals from 4,000 publishers. . Has many full text links to Science Direct-hosted articles, and uses the Scirus search engine for each standard search (results presented separately). Subjects include engineering, chemistry, physics, maths, life-health science, psychology, economics, biological/environmental, and general science. Full cited reference information from 1996.
- SpringerLink
SpringerLink gives full-text access to over 1800 journals published by Springer, Birkhauser, Karger, and others. It also gives full-text access to some 10,000 books. Apart from complete coverage from 1997 onwards of the Lecture Notes in Computer Science (approx. 3300 books in 139,000 chapters); most books are only available full-text AFTER 2004.
- SpringerMaterials
A searchable online collection of materials science data published by Springer Verlag, based on the Landolt-Börnstein new series, the DDBST database (Dortmund Data Bank Software & Separation Technology), the Linus Pauling Files (on inorganic solid phases) and other sources.
- Standard Methods for the Examination of Water & Wastewater
A searchable online version of Standard Methods, describing hundreds of analytical techniques for the determination of water quality.
- Synthesis
(Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science)

An online
collection of searchable compact e-books or 'lectures' published by Morgan
& Claypool. Arranged in a hierarchical structure of disciplines and
series, each 50-100 page lecture covers an important research or development
topic, and is written by a prominent contributor to the field.
- TOXINZ
Is
an Internet database containing information regarding toxic compounds and the
management of poisoned patients. Though it does have a subscription option (two
levels of subscriptions are available) its free option allows you to search for
information on some 60,000 listed chemical products, pharmaceuticals, plants and
hazardous creatures.
- Web of Knowledge
Web of Knowledge is the web interface for ISI group of products
including Web of Science, Journal Citation Reports, ISI proceedings, Current Contents
and Web Citation Index. You must have a personalised login to Web of Knowledge if
you wish to save searches from either of these databases -- especially if
you wish to create an email alert.
- Web of Science (updated
weekly)
Consists of three citation databases: Science Citation Index (1900 - current), Social Sciences Citation Index(1956 - current), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - current) which are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information indexed so that you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. You can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. This mutlidisciplinary database lists 39 million items from some 8700 journals.
- Wiley Database of Polymer Properties
The Wiley Database of Polymer Properties is a comprehensive source of physical property data for polymers commercially available, with experimentally determined and selected data for over 2,500 polymers. The initial content is derived from the Polymer Handbook.
- Wiley Online Library
Covers the full text of Wiley journals in
Engineering, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth Science, Life and Medical
Sciences, Mathematics and Statistics, Physics, Psychology, Business, Finance & Management, Education and Law. It also covers some Wiley ebooks and reference tools. All licensed works are listed in the Catalogue.
C&M Related Databases 
- ABI/INFORM (1970 -current, updated monthly)
A worldwide management, business and
information technology database indexing and abstracting over 1,400 business and
economics journals, magazines and trade publications. 50% full-text
articles.
- Academic Search Premier
A scholarly, interdisciplinary database indexing more than 8,000 journals.
- Australian
Digital Theses Program "
The
aim of the ADT project is to create a national collaborative distributed
database of digitised theses produced at Australian Universities.The ADT
database provides access to PhD and Masters by Research theses only." Their Digital Theses Collections page is also useful.
- Current
Contents (1998-current, updated daily)
ISI's online version of the well known
Current Contents journals, is produced in the United States by the Institute for
Scientific Information (ISI). Further information can be found at ISI.
- Digital
Dissertations (1861 -current, updated quarterly, formerly Dissertation Abstracts)
Bibliographic citations and abstracts from all subject areas (Sciences &
Engineering, Humanities & Social Sciences) for doctoral dissertations and
masters' theses completed at over 1000 accredited colleges and universities
worldwide. Abstracts are included from 1980. The full text of theses is
available in PDF format for more than 100,000 titles from 1996.
- Emerald (1994 -current but varying from title to title, updated monthly)
Provides
access to over 100 full-text property and engineering journals published by MCB
University Press.
- Engineering
Village (1884 - current, updated weekly)
Over 16,000 engineering web
sites; access to technical databases and engineering libraries, a full text
engineering management journal, engineering library Internet projects, technical
catalogs and Compendex.
- Expanded
Academic (1980 -current, updated daily)
Indexes 2984 titles of
academic journals, magazines and newspapers from all academic disciplines, with
1780 publications (about 60%) available in full-text.
- History of Science, Technology and Medicine
An indexing and abstracting service on the FirstSearch platform covering journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields.
- IEEExplore (1988 - current, some from 1950, updated daily).
Full-text of all IEEE and
IEE transactions, journal articles, conference papers, and all current IEEE
standards.
- International Wine Marketing Database
An online bibliographic
resource produced by the University of South Australia. The International
Wine Marketing Database indexes and abstracts articles from published
material on all aspects of the global wine industry, and includes full-text
for around 500 articles.
- Journal
Citation Reports (JCR) (1999 -current, updated annually)
Covers journals
in the areas of science and technology. Each annual database contains the
previous year’s publication data, accumulating and tabulating citation and
article counts in order to answer some fundamental questions, such as: What
journals are most frequently used? What journals have the highest impact? etc.
- NASA Technical
Report Server (NTRS) (free public access)
Allows users to search the
many different abstract and technical report servers maintained by various NASA
centers and programs. Specifically, it is a unified interface to many separate
WAIS servers.
- Reaxys
A web-based service for chemists from Elsevier providing information on compounds and related data, reactions, original journal articles and patents. Reaxys covers organic, inorganic and organometallic chemistry.
- Patent Databases (free public access)
An
annotated bibliography and full-text of patent databases available on the
Internet (both free and some fee-based) from international organizations such as
WIOP (World Intellectual Property Organization) and major industrial countries.
- Proquest (1971-current,
full-text from 1987)
An online serials database of 8,500 titles of which
half are in full text in general science & technology, engineering,
social science, medical, and business. All are accessible through the ProQuest
interface and can be searched individually or simultaneously with other
Proquest databases (click on the Change Database link on the search screen and
select databases).
- ResearcherID
It is a database for researchers to help them identify potential research collaborators or reviewers, and also to publicise their own papers (including automatically updated citation figures of those journal or conference papers that are indexed in Web of Science).
- ResearchResearch
A searchable online service providing national and international funding opportunities and a news service for researchers.
- ResearchSpace
It is an open access digital archive or institutional repository promoting the research outputs of the University of Auckland.
- OECD iLibrary (1998 onwards)
Offers full text access to 17 thematic collections, OECD periodicals and OECD statistics.

New Zealand databases 
- Auckland
Regional Council Library Database (1987 -current)
Covers mainly books and journal articles held by the
Auckland Regional Council held since 1987. (This database is only available to
members of the University of Auckland with a NetID and password.). However, ARCADIA is freely available to the general public through the Web and offers information
about the Auckland region only.
- Index
New Zealand: INNZ (1987 -current, updated daily)
Indexes nearly 300 NZ
journals and newspapers. It is the key New Zealand database for social sciences,
arts, humanities and general interest material, and also indexes some South
Pacific journals.
- Kompass (Current year only)
Kompass is an international business directory. It contains
information on a company's executives, brief financials, branches, localities, a
list of products and services, and trade and brand names. Only available from a
standalone workstation on Level M in the General Library.
- New Zealand Index
It is made up of eight indexes of New Zealand newspapers, magazines and journals. They can be searched together or separately.
- Newzindex (1985
-current, updated daily)
Indexes articles of interest to business from major
daily NZ newspapers and business periodicals not
included in the Newztext full-text database.
- Newztext Plus
Newztext Plus contains both full text and indexes for many of New Zealand's key news and business publications and is updated daily.
- NZ
Science
The
database includes abstracts for all of the Royal Society of New Zealand Journals
up until 1998 and will soon include all current abstracts. NZ Science also
indexes records of CRI (Crown Research Institutes) publications.
- Te
Puna (updated
daily)
This includes the National Bibliographic Database with over 10 million
records for New Zealand and overseas resources and lists of New Zealand holding
libraries.

Encyclopedias and Handbooks 
- AGRICULTUREnetBASE
An online collection of over 70 full-text handbooks and monographs on agriculture, crop science, and related subjects, including forestry, entomology, genetics, soil science.
- ASM Handbooks Online
Online version of all current ASM handbooks, plus 2 ASM desk editions.
- BIOSCIENCEnetBASE
An online collection of over 90 full-text handbooks and monographs in the biosciences, including biochemistry, bioinformatics, biomedical engineering, biostatistics, biotechnology, epidemiology, immunology, microbiology, neuroscience, pharmacology, and toxicology.
- Characterization of Materials
Online reference work from Wiley, providing comprehensive up-to-date coverage of materials characterization techniques, including computational and theoretical methods as well as crystallography, mechanical testing, thermal analysis, optical imaging and spectroscopy, and more.
- CHEMnetBASE
A collection of online chemical dictionaries and reference works comprising the Dictionary of commonly cited compounds; Handbook of chemistry & physics; Polymers, a property database; Properties of organic compounds.
- CLEANTECHnetBASE
A collection of full-text handbooks and monographs focusing on renewable energy, clean and novel technologies, bio-energy, and eco-friendly agricultural practice.
- Comprehensive Biomaterials
A searchable online handbook on the ScienceDirect platform. It describes the current status of most biomaterials
- Comprehensive Biotechnology (2nd ed.)
A searchable online handbook on the ScienceDirect platform, Comprehensive Biotechnology aiming to cover the essential elements of the field.
- Comprehensive Composite Materials
A searchable online encyclopedia on the ScienceDirect platform covering all aspects of composites, from theory to practical applications.
- Comprehensive Coordination Chemistry II
Online version of the second edition of Comprehensive Coordination Chemistry.
- Comprehensive Membrane Science and Engineering
An online reference work on the ScienceDirect platform covering all aspects of membrane science and technology.
- Comprehensive Nanoscience and Technology
A searchable online handbook on the ScienceDirect platform. It focuses on the major classes of nanomaterials in terms of their synthesis, structure, and applications, reviewing nanomaterials and their respective technologies in well-structured and comprehensive articles with extensive cross-references.
- Comprehensive Natural Products II
A searchable online handbook on the ScienceDirect platform focusing on trends in natural products research.
- Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry III
Searchable online version of the third edition of Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry (COMC-III) originally published in 13 volumes, November 2006.
- Comprehensive Semiconductor Science and Technology
A searchable online reference work on the ScienceDirect platform. It provides extensive coverage of both the fundamental physics and the technology of semiconductors.
- CRCnetBASE
A searchable online database containing over 3,000 scientific and technical handbooks, reference works and other texts published by Taylor & Francis.
- Encyclopedia
of Agricultural, Food, and Biological Engineering
Online encyclopedia from Marcel Dekker covering the
development and design of procedures, equipment, and systems utilized in the
production and conversion of raw materials into food and nonfood consumer
goods—emphasizing and illustrating the various engineering processes
associated with the production of materials with agricultural origin.
- Encyclopedia of Aerospace Engineering
A searchable online encyclopedia on the Wiley platform, offering original contributions from expert authors in the fields of engineering science that support the study and development of aerospace technology and vehicle design.
- Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry
Online encyclopedia published by Elsevier on its ScienceDirect platform.
It comprises more than 500 entries encompassing all aspects of biochemistry,
as well as the extensions of this subject into the related fields of
molecular biology, cell biology, genetics and biophysics. It is based on the
2nd print edition, published 2004.
- Encyclopedia
of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering
Online encyclopedia from Marcel Dekker surveying
biomaterials and biomedical engineering technologies utilizing biomaterials-
current lines of research as well as innovative applications in tissue
engineering, prosthetics, drug delivery, biosensors, and medical devices.
- Encyclopedia of Catalysis
A definitive A-to-Z reference work covering the
most significant aspects of homogeneous, heterogeneous, asymmetric,
biomimetic, and biological catalysis.
- Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing
Online encyclopedia from Marcel Dekker, comprising some 350 articles on design, engineering and manufacturing practices.
- Encyclopedia
of Dairy Science
The encyclopedia addresses main topics of milk
production and dairy technology, with due recognition accorded to
nutritional and public health issues, as well as to dairy industry
economics, including aspects of trade in milk and dairy products. Its aim is
to provide a complete resource for researchers, students and practitioners
involved in all aspects of dairy sciences.' (Preface)
- Encyclopedia of Electrochemical Power Sources
A searchable online encyclopaedia on the ScienceDirect platform with a focus on the environmental and economic impact of electrochemical power sources, including batteries, fuel cells, electrolyzers, supercapacitors, and photo-electrochemical cells.
- Encyclopedia
of Energy
This work represents first major scholarly study of an
issue that affects the modern world in every avenue of life, consisting of a
total of 380 overview articles in 20 discrete subject areas, written by
authors representing 40 different nations. All forms of energy are
thoroughly covered, as well as the interplay between energy use and the
environment and the effect of energy on history and society.
- Encyclopedia
of Environmental Microbiology
Comprehensive coverage of the various fields within
environmental microbiology: aeromicrobiology, aquatic, freshwater, marine,
subsurface, soil, extreme environments, biodegredation, public health,
drinking water, wastewater, biofilms, biotechnology, methodology.
- Encyclopedia of Food Microbiology
It comprises 400 articles, each approximately 4000 words in length and contains tables, line drawings, black-and-white photographs, or electron micrographs.
- Encyclopedia
of Food Sciences and Nutrition
Based on the revised 2003 print edition of the
Encyclopaedia of Food Sciences and Nutrition. Covers all aspects of the
field, including many new topics of interest, such as functional foods,
genetically modified foods, and food security.
- Encyclopedia of Forest Sciences
A searchable online encyclopedia on the ScienceDirect platform covering many aspects of forest science: including the relevant biology and ecology, different types of forestry (e.g. tropical forestry and dryland forestry), scientific names of trees and shrubs, the applied, economic, and social aspects of forest management, recent advances in forest science techniques.
- Encyclopedia of Genetics

One of the most comprehensive reference
works in the field of genetics. Includes over 1700 entries, covering all
aspects of the field.
- Encyclopedia of Industrial Biotechnology
A searchable online encyclopedia on the Wiley InterScience platform, offering extensive coverage of industrial biotechnology in an A-Z format. The focus is on industrial biological processes, techniques, equipment, products, as well as ethical and regulatory issues.
- Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry
A searchable and browsable online
encyclopedia from John Wiley, based on the 2nd print edition published 2005
in 10 volumes. Coverage is extensive, including main group elements;
transition metals and coordination chemistry; organometallic chemistry;
bioinorganic chemistry; solid state, materials, nanomaterials and catalysis;
general inorganic chemistry, theoretical and computational methods.
- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
It features
more than 4,000 specially commissioned and peer-reviewed articles, making it
an essential read for life scientists and a valuable resource for teaching.
Aimed at researchers, students and teachers, articles provide comprehensive
and authoritative coverage, written by leaders in the field.
- Encyclopedia of Molecular Cell Biology and Molecular Medicine
Online
encyclopedia on the Wiley InterScience platform, comprising over 200
articles representing a detailed treatment of the molecular and cellular
basis of life. The work was originally published in 6 vols in 2005.
- Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences
It covers the physical processes that
drive the oceans and the chemical, biological, and geological regimes. All
methods of studying the oceans, from ship-based systems to satellite remote
sensing are covered, as are ancillary topics such as the law of the oceans,
use of the oceans for food and energy, and the impact of pollution and
climate change.
- Encyclopedia
of Polymer Science and Technology
Online reference work from Wiley, covering all areas
of polymer science, including nanotechnology, new imaging and analytical
techniques, new methods of controlled polymer architecture, biomimetics, and
more.
- Encyclopedia
of Smart Materials
Online encyclopedia from Wiley, designed for material
scientists, chemists, chemical engineers, process engineers, consultants,
patent attorneys and students. Addresses commercial applications as well as
sophisticated units designed to operate in space, underwater, underground,
and within the human body.
- Encyclopedia
of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry
All aspects of spectroscopy, and of mass spectrometry
and scattering phenomena, are covered in this comprehensive work, which is
intended for those using spectroscopical techniques for their research or
professional practice. Theoretical background, details of instrumentation
and technology, and current applications, are included for each area of
spectroscopy, together with the history of important areas.
- Encyclopedia of Supramolecular Chemistry
Online encyclopaedia
covering the latest supramolecular advancements and methods in the areas of
chemistry, biochemistry, biology, environmental and materials science and
engineering, physics, computer science, and applied mathematics.
- Encyclopedia
of Surface and Colloid Science
Online encyclopedia from Marcel Dekker, comprising
over 400 entries and more than 11,000 illustrations (equations, tables,
drawings, photographs). Coverage includes recent developments in drug
delivery, enzyme behavior, and protein adsorption; the current utilization
of colloids, emulsions, foams, gels, and fine particles; chemical behavior
at electrochemical, fluid-fluid, polymer, soil, mineral, and atmospheric
boundaries; mechanisms of catalysis, transport, and adsorption;
characterization of fatty acids and lipids; commercial uses for membranes.
- Encyclopedic Dictionary of Genetics, Genomics and Proteomics

25,000
entries describing terms and concepts in cell and developmental biology,
immunology, hereditary diseases, and molecular evolution, as well as the
state of the art in genomics and proteomics.
- ENGnetBASE
Online collection of engineering handbooks published by CRC Press.
- ERGONOMICSnetBASE
A collection of full-text handbooks and monographs covering most areas of ergonomics.
- FOODnetBASE
An online food research reference collection from CRC Press.
- Kirk-Othmer:
Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
The Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology is
a comprehensive reference work on applied chemical science. It features more
than 800 articles including analytical techniques, biochemistry, forensic
chemistry, materials science, polymers and plastics, and wine.
- Handbook of Biosensors and Biochips
An online reference work on the Wiley InterScience platform describing many of the applications used in medical diagnostics, environmental control and pharmaceutical and food industries.
- Handbook of Chemicals and Gases for the Semiconductor Industry
Online reference work from Wiley, providing a comprehensive guide to the chemicals and gases used in semiconductor manufacturing. The fabrication of semiconductor devices involves a series of complex chemical processes such as photolithography, etching, cleaning, thin film deposition, and polishing. The Handbook offers a convenient source of information on the properties, applications, and health and safety considerations of the chemicals used in these processes.
- Handbook of Combustion
A searchable online reference work on the Wiley platform, providing in-depth coverage of fundamentals of gas, liquid, and solid combustion, emerging technologies, and combustion diagnostics and safety. Over 100 academic and industry specialists have contributed to the work, under the editorship of Avanash Kumar Agarwal, Maximilian Lackner, and Franz Winter.
- Handbook of Plant Technology
Online handbook published by Wiley providing extensive coverage of the field, including articles on plant genetic modification; applications of plant biotechnology to crop improvement in agriculture, production systems for pharmaceutical proteins, ethics and safety issues, public perception and public relations; scale-up, and testing and legislation.
- Handbook of Statistical Genetics
Online handbook published by Wiley, designed as a reference resource for statisticians interested in genetic applications, and geneticists seeking a deeper knowledge of statistical methods in their field.
- IndustrialnetBASE
A searchable online collection of monographs and handbooks on manufacturing and industrial engineering from Taylor & Francis. The focus is on technical issues, quality and standards, and sales, marketing, and service.
- MATERIALSnetBASE
Online collection of handbooks on materials science
published by CRC Press.
- Merck Index
The Merck Index online is the electronic counterpart of the printed Merck Index co-published by Merck & Co., Inc. and CambridgeSoft. It is an encyclopaedia of organic and inorganic chemicals, including naturally-occurring substances, laboratory reagents, pharmaceuticals and drugs.
- NANOnetBASE
Online collection of handbooks on nanoscience and
nanotechnology published by CRC Press.
- Nanotechnology
A searchable online version of a major handbook published in 9 volumes by Wiley-VCH in 2009. It provides a comprehensive overview of nanotechnology and nanoscience using a cross-disciplinary approach. Fundamentals and applications are covered in almost a hundred contributions by leading professionals in this field.
- NUTRITIONnetBASE
Online collection of over 70 handbooks and monographs on food and nutrition science from Taylor & Francis.
- OCCUP-HEALTHandSAFETYnetBASE
A collection of full-text handbooks and monographs covering most areas of occupational health and safety.
- POLYMERSnetBASE
A full-text product providing online access to the Polymer Materials Encyclopedia; Polymers, a property database, as well as a collection of books on polymer science published by Taylor & Francis.
- Protein Science Encyclopedia
A continuously updated online
reference work on the Wiley InterScience platform, focusing on the function
of proteins, analytical methods, the engineering of proteins, and medical
aspects. The encyclopedia comprises 160 articles in 14 subject areas.
- TEXTILEnetBASE
An online collection of monographs and handbooks from Taylor & Francis, covering a broad range of materials and applications, from conventional textiles to smart fabrics and wearable electronics. It provides information on the use of textiles in automotive engineering, sports, and biomedicine and includes several CRC handbooks with up-to-date information on weaving, design, and high-performance fibers.
- WATERnetBASE
An online collection of monographs and handbooks from Taylor & Francis on water science and engineering. Coverage is multidisciplinary, and the collection offers reference works on drinking water, ground water, hydrogeology, hydrology, storm water, surface water, waste water, water pollution and wetlands.
- Wiley Database of Polymer Properties
The Wiley Database of Polymer Properties is a comprehensive source of physical property data for polymers commercially available, with experimentally determined and selected data for over 2,500 polymers. The initial content is derived from the Polymer Handbook. The online product will be updated quarterly with the most current information available.
- Wiley Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering
An online encyclopedia on the Wiley InterScience platform containing over 350 peer reviewed articles in areas such as biochemical engineering, biomedical education, biomedical devices and instrumentation, human performance and reverse engineering, rehabilitation and orthopedic engineering. It is designed to meet the needs of readers ranging from undergraduate students to research scientists.
- Wiley Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology
A searchable continuously updated online reference work devoted to the cross-disciplinary field of chemical biology.

E-books 
- AGRICULTUREnetBASE
An online collection of over 70 full-text handbooks and monographs on agriculture, crop science, and related subjects, including forestry, entomology, genetics, soil science.
- ASME Ebooks
A searchable collection of over 90 books published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers from 1998 to date.
- BIOSCIENCEnetBASE
An online collection of over 90 full-text handbooks and monographs in the biosciences, including biochemistry, bioinformatics, biomedical engineering, biostatistics, biotechnology, epidemiology, immunology, microbiology, neuroscience, pharmacology, and toxicology.
- CRCnetBASE
A searchable online database containing over 3,000 scientific and technical handbooks, reference works and other texts published by Taylor & Francis.
- CHEMnetBASE
Collection of chemical dictionaries and reference works.
- CLEANTECHnetBASE
A collection of full-text handbooks and monographs focusing on renewable energy, clean and novel technologies, bio-energy, and eco-friendly agricultural practice.
- EBSCO eBook Collection
A searchable collection of over 10,000 scholarly, reference and professional electronic books on all subjects.
This collection was formerly known as 'NetLibrary'.
- Ebrary
More than 21,000 recently published books on all
subjects.
- ENGnetBASE
Engineering handbooks.
- ERGONOMICSnetBASE
A collection of full-text handbooks and monographs covering most areas of ergonomics.
- FOODnetBASE
Food Science reference works.
- IndustrialnetBASE
A searchable online collection of monographs and handbooks on manufacturing and industrial engineering from Taylor & Francis. The focus is on technical issues, quality and standards, and sales, marketing, and service.
- Industrial Press E-Book Collection
A searchable online collection of technical books published by Industrial Press.
- Knovel
Engineering and scientific books from a wide range of
publishers.
- MATERIALSnetBASE
Materials Science handbooks.
- Momentum Press E-Book Collection
A searchable online collection of around 30 books published 2009-2010 by Momentum Press on the IG Publishing platform and focused on mechanical engineering, manufacturing processes, and materials science.
- NANOnetBASE
Handbooks on Nanoscience and Nanotechnology.
- NUTRITIONnetBASE
Online collection of over 70 handbooks and monographs on food and nutrition science from Taylor & Francis.
- OCCUP-HEALTHandSAFETYnetBASE
A collection of full-text handbooks and monographs covering most areas of occupational health and safety.
- POLYMERSnetBASE
A full-text product providing online access to the Polymer Materials Encyclopedia; Polymers, a property database, as well as a collection of books on polymer science published by Taylor & Francis.
- Referex
Comprises over 300 fully searchable e-books in three
subject collections: chemical, petrochemical and process engineering;
mechanical and materials engineering; electronics & electrical
engineering. Each collection includes handbooks of engineering fundamentals,
titles focused on technique and practice and specialized scholarly
monographs.
- RSC Ebook Collection
A fully searchable online collection of over 700 books in most areas of
chemical science, published by the Royal Society of Chemistry
- SPIE Digital Library - Ebooks
A searchable online collection of textbooks, field guides and reference works published by the Society of Photo-optical Instrumentation Engineers on the SPIE Digital Library platform.
- SpringerLink
SpringerLink gives full-text access to over 1800
journals published by Springer, Birkhauser, Karger, and others: some 2.87 M
articles.
It also give full-text access to some 10,000 books. Apart from
complete coverage from 1997 onwards of the Lecture Notes in Computer
Science (approx. 3300 books in 139,000 chapters); most books are only
available full-text AFTER 2004.
- Synthesis (Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science)
An
online collection of searchable compact e-books or 'lectures' published by
Morgan & Claypool. Arranged in a hierarchical structure of disciplines and
series, each 50-100 page lecture covers an important research or development
topic, and is written by a prominent contributor to the field.
- TEXTILEnetBASE
An online collection of monographs and handbooks from Taylor & Francis, covering a broad range of materials and applications, from conventional textiles to smart fabrics and wearable electronics. It provides information on the use of textiles in automotive engineering, sports, and biomedicine and includes several CRC handbooks with up-to-date information on weaving, design, and high-performance fibers.
- WATERnetBASE
An online collection of monographs and handbooks from Taylor & Francis on water science and engineering. Coverage is multidisciplinary, and the collection offers reference works on drinking water, ground water, hydrogeology, hydrology, storm water, surface water, waste water, water pollution and wetlands.
File last updated :
4 May, 2012
This page is part of the Engineering Library website.
Suggestions to: Dahlia Han |