ENGINEERING    DATABASES

A to Z



Databases A-Z A-B C D EF G-H I J K-L M N-O P-R S T U-V W X-Z
   

ABI/INFORM
Indexes over 1,400 business and economics periodicals and provides 50% full text articles.

    Academic Search Premier
A scholarly, interdisciplinary database indexing more than 8,000 journals.
   

ACM Digital Library
Full text journals and conference proceedings from the Association for Computing Machinery.

   

ACS Symposium Series
A searchable online collection of high-quality, peer-reviewed books developed from the American Chemical Society technical divisions' symposia.

   

Aluminium Industry Abstracts
Comprehensive coverage of the world's technical literature on aluminum, production processes, products, applications, and business developments.

    American Chemical Society Journals
A site licence providing online access to the online edition of around 50 journals and magazines published by the ACS.
ASCE Journals
Searchable online access to all journals published by the American Society of Civil Engineers on the ASCE Library platform.
ASM Handbooks Online
Online version of all current ASM handbooks, plus 2 ASM desk editions.
ASME Conference Proceedings Archive
ASME Conference Proceedings published 2002 through 2007 by the American Society for Mechanical Engineers.
ASME Ebooks
A searchable collection of over 90 books published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers from 1998 to date.
ASTM Digital Library
A searchable online collection of technical reports, symposia proceedings, manuals, and journal articles published by the American Society for Testing and Materials.
ASTM Standards
A searchable online collection of standards from the American Society for Testing and Materials.
   

Auckland Regional Council Library Database
Covers mainly books and journal articles held by the Auckland Regional Council held since 1987.

Internet

 

Australian Digital Theses
This is a national collaborative distributed database of digitised theses produced at Australian Universities.The ADT database provides access to PhD and Masters by Research theses only.

    Australian Transport Index 
Produced by ARRB Transport Research Ltd, the Australian Transport Index (ATRI) provides up-to-date information on transport and road related material.
    ATSDR's toxicological profiles
A searchable collection of toxicological profiles from the U.S. The profiles cover the effects of hazardous substances, chemicals, and compounds and contain over 40,000 pages of data from the printed version, including information on mitigation of health effects, data gaps, and all available health data.

Internet

 

Bibliography on Cold Regions Science and Technology
The Bibliography included references to scientific and engineering research related to material and operations in a winter battlefield, the nature and impact of cold on facilities and activities, cold-related environmental problems, and the impact of human activity on cold environments.

   

Biological Abstracts
Covers biology, clinical and experimental medicine, biochemistry and biotechnology.

Internet

 

CCD(ChemExper Chemical Directory)
CCD is a free database of chemical compounds accessible over Internet. Its powerful search engine allows you to find a chemical by its molecular formula, IUPAC name, common name, CAS number, catalog number, substructure or physical characteristics via Internet.

    CCOHS Academic Support Program
A cross-searchable suite of material safety databases from the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety, providing safety information on chemicals and other hazardous substances. The Library's subscription to the CCOHS Academic Support Program provides access to the following datasets: MSDS plus CHEMINFO, RTECS, OSH References, CHEMpendium.
   

Ceramic Abstracts / World Ceramics Abstracts
A comprehensive database for the ceramics industry, providing international coverage on the manufacture, processing, applications, properties and testing of traditional and advanced ceramics.

    Credo Reference
An online quick reference collection containing more than 1,000,000 entries and 5,000 images. It comprises dictionaries, directories and encyclopaedias from publishers such as Bloomsbury, Harper Collins, Penguin, Routledge, and Thames & Hudson. The works cover a wide range of subjects, including art history, political studies, philosophy, history, linguistics, and religious studies.
Characterization of Materials
Online reference work from Wiley, providing comprehensive up-to-date coverage of materials characterization techniques, including computational and theoretical methods as well as crystallography, mechanical testing, thermal analysis, optical imaging and spectroscopy, and more.
Chemical Engineering Plant Cost Index
An online version of the Plant Cost Index published in the journal Chemical Engineering since 1963. CEPCI is used by chemical process engineers and managers to adjust plant construction costs from one period to another.

 

  ChemNetBase

A collection of online chemical dictionaries and reference works comprising the Dictionary of commonly cited compounds; Handbook of chemistry & physics; Polymers, a property database; Properties of organic compounds.

Top of page

 

ChemWeb Gold
Provides a wide range of safety as well as chemical and physical information for approximately 100,000 chemicals and hazardous substances. It is tailored to Australian and New Zealand regulatory requirements.

    CHERUB - CHemical Engineering Reference User Bibliography
It is a complete bibliographic reference source to the chemical engineering literature, including general and specialist topics, taken from 49 of the most important journals in the field.
    China Academic Journals
A full-text collection of Chinese language journals published by CNKI (China National Knowledge Infrastructure). The Library's licence provides full-text access to 10 series including Industrial technology and engineering, architecture; Chemistry, metallurgy, environment and Mathematics, physics, mechanics, astronomy.
   

CINDAS

It provides critically evaluated materials properties databases for thermal, mechanical, electrical, physical and other properties of various materials, including aerospace alloys.

Internet   CiteSeerX
It is a scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science.
   

Compendex
Indexes about 5000 journals, conference proceedings and reports in all branches of engineering.

    Comprehensive Biomaterials
A searchable online handbook on the ScienceDirect platform.
    Comprehensive Biotechnology (2nd ed.)
A searchable online handbook on the ScienceDirect platform, Comprehensive Biotechnology aiming to cover the essential elements of the field.
    Comprehensive Nanoscience and Technology
A searchable online handbook on the ScienceDirect platform. It focuses on the major classes of nanomaterials in terms of their synthesis, structure, and applications, reviewing nanomaterials and their respective technologies in well-structured and comprehensive articles with extensive cross-references.
    Comprehensive Natural Products II
A searchable online handbook on the ScienceDirect platform focusing on trends in natural products research.
    Comprehensive Semiconductor Science and Technology
A searchable online reference work on the ScienceDirect platform. It provides extensive coverage of both the fundamental physics and the technology of semiconductors.

see Connect page

 

Conference Papers Index
One of the CSA Illumina Databases. Citations to major scientific conference papers in life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences.

   

Corrosion Abstracts
One of the Cambridge Scientific Databases. The world's most complete source of bibliographic information in the area of corrosion science and engineering.

    CRCnetBASE
A searchable online database containing over 3,000 scientific and technical handbooks, reference works and other texts published by Taylor & Francis
    CSA Illumina
Access to Engineered Materials Abstracts, METADEX, Corrosion Abstracts, Materials Business File, Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management, Conference Papers Index, Environmental RouteNet, Water Resources Routenet, etc..
   

Current Contents
ISI's online version of the well known Current Contents journals, is produced in the United States by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI).

   

Derwent Innovations Index  
A searchable online database on the Web of Knowledge platform, providing worldwide patent information, with English language abstracts. Derwent covers over 11 million inventions from 42 patent-issuing authorities and can be searched via text or chemical structures.

Internet Directory of Published Proceedings
A free & searchable listing of over 50,000 published conference proceedings. It offers keyword drop-downs to locate a subject. You can also locate a proceedings by the sponsor and publisher, country, State/Province and year the event took place.

Campus

 

Digital Dissertations (formerly Dissertation Abstracts)
Doctoral dissertations and master's theses at over 1000 universities worldwide.

    Earthquake Engineering Online Archive
Online collection from the Earthquake Engineering Research Center at the University of California, Berkeley. 'A database of significant, publicly-funded research and development literature, photographs, data, and software in earthquake, structural, and geotechnical engineering'.
    Ebrary
More than 21,000 recently published books on all subjects.
Top of page EBSCO eBook Collection
A searchable collection of over 10,000 scholarly, reference and professional electronic books on all subjects. This collection was formerly known as 'NetLibrary'.
  Embase
A major biomedical and pharmaceutical database with a European perspective.
   

Emerald
Provides access to over a 100 fulltext journals published by MCB University Press. Topics covered include property and engineering.

    Encyclopedia of Aerospace Engineering
A searchable online encyclopedia on the Wiley platform, offering original contributions from expert authors in the fields of engineering science that support the study and development of aerospace technology and vehicle design.
    Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry
Online encyclopedia published by Elsevier on its ScienceDirect platform. It comprises more than 500 entries encompassing all aspects of biochemistry, as well as the extensions of this subject into the related fields of molecular biology, cell biology, genetics and biophysics. It is based on the 2nd print edition, published 2004.
    Encyclopedia of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering
Online encyclopedia from Marcel Dekker surveying biomaterials and biomedical engineering technologies utilizing biomaterials- current lines of research as well as innovative applications in tissue engineering, prosthetics, drug delivery, biosensors, and medical devices.
    Encyclopedia of Catalysis
A definitive A-to-Z reference work covering the most significant aspects of homogeneous, heterogeneous, asymmetric, biomimetic, and biological catalysis.
    Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing 
Online encyclopedia from Marcel Dekker, comprising some 350 articles on design, engineering and manufacturing practices.
    Encyclopedia of Dairy Science
The encyclopedia addresses main topics of milk production and dairy technology, with due recognition accorded to nutritional and public health issues, as well as to dairy industry economics, including aspects of trade in milk and dairy products. Its aim is to provide a complete resource for researchers, students and practitioners involved in all aspects of dairy sciences.' (Preface)
    Encyclopedia of Dairy Sciences (2nd Edition)
A searchable online encyclopedia on the ScienceDirect platform designed as a resource for researchers, students, and practitioners, and those involved with economic and nutritional policy. The second (2011) edition updates the original version published in 2003, incorporating some 120 new articles and many revisions.
   

Encyclopedia of Energy
All forms of energy are thoroughly covered, as well as the interplay between energy use and the environment and the effect of energy on history and society. Many special features such as an extensive glossary of energy terms and a chronology of important energy-related events from earliest times to the present are included.

    Encyclopedia of Environmental Microbiology
Comprehensive coverage of the various fields within environmental microbiology: aeromicrobiology, aquatic, freshwater, marine, subsurface, soil, extreme environments, biodegredation, public health, drinking water, wastewater, biofilms, biotechnology, methodology.

Top of page

 

Encyclopedia of Food Sciences and Nutrition
Based on the revised 2003 print edition of the Encyclopaedia of Food Sciences and Nutrition. Covers all aspects of the field, including many new topics of interest, such as functional foods, genetically modified foods, and food security.

    Encyclopedia of Genetics
One of the most comprehensive reference works in the field of genetics. Includes over 1700 entries, covering all aspects of the field.
    Encyclopedia of Geology
Online encyclopedia on the ScienceDirect platform. It Covers all aspects of geology.
    Encyclopedia of Hydrological Sciences
Online encyclopedia on the Wiley InterScience platform. Written and edited by international authorities in the field, and comprising approximately 200 substantial articles, the Encyclopedia provides detailed, expert coverage. Organized into 17 themed parts for the reader’s convenience, it offers up-to-date, scientifically rigorous information on all key aspects of the subject, from sub-catchment to the global scale.
    Encyclopedia of Information Systems
An online encyclopedia on the ScienceDirect platform based on the 4 volume work originally published by Academic Press in 2003. Provides both both general and technical information about major elements, issues, and opinions on information technology.
    Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry
A searchable and browsable online encyclopedia from John Wiley, based on the 2nd print edition published 2005 in 10 volumes. Coverage is extensive, including main group elements; transition metals and coordination chemistry; organometallic chemistry; bioinorganic chemistry; solid state, materials, nanomaterials and catalysis; general inorganic chemistry, theoretical and computational methods.
    Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
It features more than 4,000 specially commissioned and peer-reviewed articles, making it an essential read for life scientists and a valuable resource for teaching. Aimed at researchers, students and teachers, articles provide comprehensive and authoritative coverage, written by leaders in the field.
    Encyclopedia of Mathematical Physics
A searchable online encyclopedia on the ScienceDirect platform, providing articles on a wide range of subjects in the field of mathematical physics.
    Encyclopedia of Molecular Cell Biology and Molecular Medicine
Online encyclopedia on the Wiley InterScience platform, comprising over 200 articles representing a detailed treatment of the molecular and cellular basis of life. The work was originally published in 6 vols in 2005.
    Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences
It covers the physical processes that drive the oceans and the chemical, biological, and geological regimes. All methods of studying the oceans, from ship-based systems to satellite remote sensing are covered, as are ancillary topics such as the law of the oceans, use of the oceans for food and energy, and the impact of pollution and climate change.
   

Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology
Online reference work from Wiley, covering all areas of polymer science, including nanotechnology, new imaging and analytical techniques, new methods of controlled polymer architecture, biomimetics, and more.

Top of page

 

Encyclopedia of Smart Materials

Online encyclopedia from Wiley, designed for material scientists, chemists, chemical engineers, process engineers, consultants, patent attorneys and students. Addresses commercial applications as well as sophisticated units designed to operate in space, underwater, underground, and within the human body.

    Encyclopedia of Soil Science
Online encyclopedia from Marcel Dekker covering the chemistry, analysis, and evaluation of soils, with a focus on agriculture development in the third world, particularly through research on sustainable management of natural resources, soil productivity and environmental quality. The work outlines the agricultural, environmental, industrial, and cultural components that affect soil productivity; advances the design of new control and purification strategies for soils in a wide variety of environments; discusses all branches of soil science, from mineralogy and physics to soil management and restoration.
Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry
All aspects of spectroscopy, and of mass spectrometry and scattering phenomena, are covered in this comprehensive work, which is intended for those using spectroscopical techniques for their research or professional practice. Theoretical background, details of instrumentation and technology, and current applications, are included for each area of spectroscopy, together with the history of important areas.
   

Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences

It covers most aspects of the Statistical Sciences -- including probability theory, biostatistics, quality control, and economics with emphasis in applications of statistical methods in sociology, engineering, computer science, biomedicine, psychology, survey methodology, and a host of other client disciplines.

    Encyclopedia of Supramolecular Chemistry
Online encyclopaedia covering the latest supramolecular advancements and methods in the areas of chemistry, biochemistry, biology, environmental and materials science and engineering, physics, computer science, and applied mathematics.
Encyclopedia of Surface and Colloid Science
Online encyclopedia from Marcel Dekker, comprising over 400 entries and more than 11,000 illustrations (equations, tables, drawings, photographs). Coverage includes recent developments in drug delivery, enzyme behavior, and protein adsorption; the current utilization of colloids, emulsions, foams, gels, and fine particles; chemical behavior at electrochemical, fluid-fluid, polymer, soil, mineral, and atmospheric boundaries; mechanisms of catalysis, transport, and adsorption; characterization of fatty acids and lipids; commercial uses for membranes.

Internet

 

Encyclopedia of Telecommunications
Provides a broad overview of the fundamentals of telecommunications and recent advances in the field. Topics include optical communications, modulation and demodulation, coding and decoding, communication networks, antennas. Includes more than 300 articles.

    Encyclopedic Dictionary of Genetics, Genomics and Proteomics
25,000 entries describing terms and concepts in cell and developmental biology, immunology, hereditary diseases, and molecular evolution, as well as the state of the art in genomics and proteomics.

Internet

 

Energy Citations Database
Includes citations to reports, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents for energy and energy-related information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC).

    Energy & Power Source
A searchable online collection offering indexing and extensive full-text coverage from over 1,000 publications relating to the energy and power industries- petroleum, natural gas, electric power, coal, nuclear power, renewable energy, and others.

Top of page

  ENGINE - Australian Engineering Database
ENGINE is produced by the Institution of Engineers Australia and provides access to Australian engineering information, and in particular to publications of the Institution since 1980. It covers all branches of engineering, including agricultural, aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, coastal, computer, electrical, electronic, mechanical, military, structural, transport and water. 
   

Engineered Materials Abstracts
One of the Cambridge Scientific Databases. Citations to the research, manufacturing practices, properties and applications of polymers, ceramics, and composites materials.

    Engineering Collection (Informit)
A searchable full-text collection of Australasian engineering journals, conference papers and technical reports on the Informit platform. Title list.

see Connect page

 

Engineering Village
Over 16,000 engineering web sites; access to technical databases and engineering libraries, a full text engineering management journal, engineering library Internet projects, technical catalogs and Compendex.

   

ENGnetBASE
Online collection of engineering handbooks published by CRC Press.

   

ENVIROnetBASE
Online collection of 140 environmental handbooks published by CRC Press. Broad categories covered include ecology, environmental modelling and systems analysis, environmental and ecological risk assessment, environmental and occupational health and safety, environmental chemistry and toxicology, environmental engineering, environmental law, landscape ecology, remote sensing - GIS - mapping, resource management and sustainability, turfgrass science and engineering, water science - technology and engineering.

    EVA - Environmental Abstracts
EVA (formerly EPIC), produced by the EPA Victoria Library, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles on the environment and related fields. Subject coverage includes air pollution and quality, environmental protection and management, hazardous wastes, recycling, waste management and disposal, water pollution, environmental assessment, and pollution control.
   

Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management
One of the Cambridge Scientific Databases. A multidisciplinary database, provides unparalleled and comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences.

   

Expanded Academic
Multidisciplinary fulltext database of academic journals, magazines and newspapers.

Top of page

 

FOODnetBASE
An online food research reference collection from CRC Press.

   

FSTA (Food Science and Technology Abstracts)
Indexes and abstracts international literature on food science, technology, and human nutrition.

Internet

 

Food Standards Code
A collection of individual food standards developed by Food Standards Australia New Zealand (formerly ANZFA).

    Genetic Engineering News Biotechnology Database
An international directory of biotechnology companies published by Mary Ann Liebert. Includes a glossary of biotechnology terms and selected articles from Genetic Engineering News.
   

Geobase
A bibliographic database for physical and human geography, geology, mineralogy, ecology and development studies.

    Geofacets
A searchable database of georeferenced geological maps designed to help geoscientists assess a region or basin's geologic characteristics.
   

Georef
Covers 3,000 journals in geology and the geosciences.

    Handbook of Chemicals and Gases for the Semiconductor Industry
Online reference work from Wiley, providing a comprehensive guide to the chemicals and gases used in semiconductor manufacturing. The fabrication of semiconductor devices involves a series of complex chemical processes such as photolithography, etching, cleaning, thin film deposition, and polishing. The Handbook offers a convenient source of information on the properties, applications, and health and safety considerations of the chemicals used in these processes.
Top of page   Handbook of Plant Technology 
Online handbook published by Wiley providing extensive coverage of the field, including articles on plant genetic modification; applications of plant biotechnology to crop improvement in agriculture, production systems for pharmaceutical proteins, ethics and safety issues, public perception and public relations; scale-up, and testing and legislation.
    Handbook of Statistical Genetics
Online handbook published by Wiley, designed as a reference resource for statisticians interested in genetic applications, and geneticists seeking a deeper knowledge of statistical methods in their field.
    Henry Stewart Talks - Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection New!
A searchable collection of audio-visual presentations on topics in biomedicine and the life sciences.Especially commissioned by Henry Stewart Talks, the lectures are organised into series covering both the fundamentals of a subject area and the latest advances.
    History of Science, Technology and Medicine
An indexing and abstracting service on the FirstSearch platform covering journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields.
    ICE Virtual Library - Ebooks (Institution of Civil Engineers)
A searchable online collection of over 300 books published by the Institution of Civil Engineers in the UK. The collection includes reference manuals, technical and historical works, and conference proceedings.
   

IEEExplore
Full-text of all IEEE and IEE publications including journal articles, conference papers, and technical standards.

    IGA Geothermal Conference Papers Database
A searchable online collection of conference papers on geothermal science produced by the International Geothermal Association.
   

Index New Zealand: INNZ
Indexes general NZ material in over 300 newspapers and journals.

    Index to Theses
A comprehensive listing of theses with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in Great Britain and Ireland. 500,000 theses entries in total, with 15,000 new theses added every year.
    Industrial Press E-Book Collection
A searchable online collection of technical books published by Industrial Press.

 

 

Iconda
Covers worldwide literature in building construction, construction engineering, architecture, city planning and property.

 

 

IngentaConnect
It provides libraries and researchers with access to the most comprehensive collection of academic and professional content available online from over 260 academic and professional publishers. 13 million articles from more than 6,000 online publications.

    International Tables for Crystallography
A searchable online version of the classic series sponsored by the International Union of Crystallography. The wide range of articles and the numerous tables of data assist in the use of crystallographic methods in all sciences concerned with the structure and properties of materials.
    IREL - Australian Industrial Relations Database
Australian Industrial Relations Database (IREL), produced by the Library of the Queensland University of Technology (QUT), is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts published and unpublished material on industrial relations and related topics from 1983 - 31 October 2000.
   

Inspec
Produced by the Institution of Electrical Engineers. Covered topics include electrical and electronic engineering, physics, information technology and computer and control systems.

   

International Civil Engineering Abstracts - ICEA
Covers the major civil engineering subjects including: construction management, environmental, structural and hydraulic engineering from 150 of the world's best civil engineering journals.

Internet International Stormwater Best Management Practices (BMP) Database
This features technical documents, software and database developed over the past decade. The overall purpose of the project is to provide scientifically sound information to improve the design, selection and performance of BMPs.
    International Wine Marketing & Wine Tourism Database
An online bibliographic resource produced by the University of South Australia. The International Wine Marketing Database indexes and abstracts articles from published material on all aspects of the global wine industry, and includes full-text for around 500 articles.

Top of page

 

Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
Is a unique database for journal evaluation and comparison, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 scholarly and technical journals worldwide. Each annual database contains the previous year’s publication data, accumulating and tabulating citation and article counts in order to answer some fundamental questions, such as: What journals are most frequently used? What journals have the highest impact? etc.

   

JSTOR (Journal Storage Project)
Journal Storage Project is a fulltext archive of scholarly journal literature. Subject areas include: Business, Education, General Science, Mathematics, Statistics etc .

   

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
A comprehensive reference work on applied chemical science. It features more than 800 articles including analytical techniques, biochemistry, forensic chemistry, materials science, polymers and plastics, and wine.

Knovel
An online collection of over 600 engineering and science books from a wide range of publishers. Subject areas include: adhesives, coatings, sealants & inks; aerospace & radar technology; biochemistry & biotechnology; ceramics & ceramic engineering; chemical engineering; construction materials & engineering; electrical & power engineering, environmental engineering; food science; mechanics & mechanical engineering; metals & metallurgy; pharmaceuticals; plastics & rubber; semiconductors & electronics; general engineering reference.

Library Only

 

Kompass
Kompass is an international business directory. It contains information on a company's executives, brief financials, branches, localities, a list of products and services, and trade and brand names. Only available from a standalone workstation on Level M in the General Library.

   

Materials Business File
One of the CSA Illumina Databases. Citations of industry news, international trade data, government regulations and management issues related to the metals and materials industries.

see Connect page

 

MathSciNet
Mathematics database produced by the American Mathematical Society, it indexed existing and forthcoming publications, and includes operations research and computer science.

   

Medline
Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, the Medline database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature from over 4,600 journals.

    Merck Index
The Merck Index online is the electronic counterpart of the printed Merck Index co-published by Merck & Co., Inc. and CambridgeSoft. It is an encyclopaedia of organic and inorganic chemicals, including naturally-occurring substances, laboratory reagents, pharmaceuticals and drugs
   

METADEX
One of the CSA Illumina Databases. A comprehensive source for information on metals and alloys: their properties, manufacturing, applications, and development.

    New Zealand Index
It is made up of eight indexes of New Zealand newspapers, magazines and journals. They can be searched together or separately.

Top of page

 

New Zealand Standards Online
A searchable online collection of all Standards New Zealand and AS/SNZ standards, compiled by IHS Australia. The documents are in PDF format and can be printed and downloaded.

NewzIndex
Indexes articles of interest to business from major daily NZ newspapers and business periodicals.
   

Newztext Plus
Newztext Plus contains both full text and indexes for many of New Zealand's key news and business publications and is updated daily.

Internet

 

NTIS (free public access)
NTIS - National Technical Information Service is the largest, central resource for US government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information currently available. It provides free searching of 450,000 abstracted publications and a portal to online purchasing.

Internet   NUS Theses Collection
A list of theses submitted to the National University of Singapore and its predecessor institutions, covering the period from 1947 to the present. All theses listed are deposited at the NUS Library.
   

NZ Science
NZ Science is a comprehensive index of New Zealand Science, provided by The Crown Research Institutes (CRIs previously the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research, DSIR) and the Royal Society of New Zealand.

    OECD iLibrary
Offers full text access to 17 thematic collections, OECD periodicals and OECD statistics.
PapersInvited
The database offers an extensive list of calls for papers in all areas of specialization.
   

Proquest
An online serials database of more than 8,500 titles of which 50% is in full text in general science & technology, engineering, social science, medical, news and business. All are accessible through the ProQuest interface and can be searched individually or simultaneously.

    Reaxys
A web-based service for chemists from Elsevier providing information on compounds and related data, reactions, original journal articles and patents. Reaxys covers organic, inorganic and organometallic chemistry.
Referex
Comprises over fully searchable 300 texts in three subject collections: chemical, petrochemical and process engineering, mechanical and materials engineering, and electronics & electrical engineering. Each collection includes handbooks of engineering fundamentals, titles focused on technique and practice, specialized scholarly monographs.
RefWorks
RefWorks software allows you to create your own web-based database of references.

ResearcherID
It is a database for researchers to help them identify potential research collaborators or reviewers, and also to publicise their own papers (including automatically updated citation figures of those journal or conference papers that are indexed in Web of Science).

ResearchResearch
A searchable online service providing national and international funding opportunities and a news service for researchers.

ResearchSpace
It is an open access digital archive or institutional repository promoting the research outputs of the University of Auckland.

    RSC Ebook Collection
A fully searchable online collection of over 700 books in most areas of chemical science, published by the Royal Society of Chemistry

Top of page

 

SAE Digital Library - Technical Papers

Provides online full-text access to more than 18,000 technical papers published by the Society of Automotive Engineers from 1998 to date. Incorporates the Global Mobility Database, comprising over 130,000 bibliographic citations and document summaries of books, standards, journal articles, conference papers, etc on mobility research worldwide

Library Only

 

SAE Technical Papers on CD-ROM
Full-text images of technical papers published by the Society of Automotive Engineers (U.S.) from 1995. It is a stand-alone CD-ROM database can be only accessed from the Engineering Library.

 

 

Safari
A collection of books on information technology from a range of publishers, including O'Reilly, Microsoft Press, Addison Wesley, Prentice Hall, and Cisco Press. The Library's licence covers 87 titles- click the 'Bookshelf' button to retrieve a list of titles available for reading.

Internet   ScienceCinema
A searchable video collection describing research and development sponsored by the United States Department of Energy.

see Connect page

 

Science Direct
Contains the full text of 2500 Elsevier Science journals in the Engineering, Physical, Medical, Technical, and Social Sciences.

    Scientific.Net
This site provides online access to a collection of journals on materials science and engineering from Trans Tech Publications.

Library Only

 

SciFinder
Chemical databases from CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service), including journals, patents, books, reviews, meeting abstracts, dissertations, conference proceedings and technical reports from 150 countries.

Internet   Scitopia
A freely available internet resource providing federated searching across a range of scientific and technical society publisher collections and government sites. It covers over 3.5 million documents, including peer-reviewed journal content, conference papers, patents, and government publications.
    Scopus
Covers over 16,000 peer-reviewed journals from 4,000 publishers.
    SIAM Reference Collection
A searchable online collection of over 300 books published by the Society of Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM).
Top of page SourceOECD (1998 onwards)
Comprises full text access to 20 Book collections by theme and periodicals including the OECD Economic outlook, Main economic outlook, Quarterly labour force statistics and Monthly statistics of international trade.
    SPE eLibrary( 1958-) 
Searchable full-text database from the Society of Petroleum Engineers, comprising more than 35,000 technical papers presented at SPE conferences or published in the Society's peer-reviewed journals.
    SpringerLink
Gives full-text access to over 1800 journals published by Springer, Birkhauser, Karger, and others. It also gives full-text access to some 10,000 books. Apart from complete coverage from 1997 onwards of the Lecture Notes in Computer Science (approx. 3300 books in 139,000 chapters); most books are only available full-text AFTER 2004.
    SpringerMaterials
A searchable online collection of materials science data published by Springer Verlag.
    Springer Protocols
A searchable online database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the life and biomedical sciences published by Springer Verlag.
    Standard Methods for the Examination of Water & Wastewater
A searchable online version of Standard Methods, describing hundreds of analytical techniques for the determination of water quality.
Synthesis (Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science)
An online collection of searchable compact e-books or 'lectures' published by Morgan & Claypool. Arranged in a hierarchical structure of disciplines and series, each 50-100 page lecture covers an important research or development topic, and is written by a prominent contributor to the field.
   

Te Puna
Over 10 million records for New Zealand and overseas resources, with links to New Zealand holding libraries.

   

Telecommunications
A full-text / citation database for top telecommunications industry publications.

Internet

 

TOXINZ
An Internet database containing information regarding toxic compounds and the management of poisoned patients.

Internet

 

UnCover Plus (Ingenta)
Tables of contents for over 17,000 journals in most disciplines.

Top of page

 

Water Resources Routenet
One of the Cambridge Scientific Databases. A path to water-related websites on the Internet.

   

Web of Knowledge
Web of Knowledge is the web interface for ISI group of products including Web of Science, Journal Citation Reports, ISI proceedings, Current Contents and Web Citation Index. You must have a personalised login to Web of Knowledge if you wish to save searches from either of these databases -- especially if you wish to create an email alert.

   

Web of Science
Consists of three citation databases: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. These are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information indexed so that you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. You can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.

Wiley Database of Polymer Properties
The Wiley Database of Polymer Properties is a comprehensive source of physical property data for polymers commercially available, with experimentally determined and selected data for over 2,500 polymers. The initial content is derived from the Polymer Handbook.

Wiley Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering 
An online encyclopedia on the Wiley InterScience platform containing over 350 peer reviewed articles in areas such as biochemical  engineering,   biomedical education, biomedical devices and instrumentation, human performance and reverse engineering, rehabilitation and orthopedic engineering. It is designed to meet the needs of readers ranging from undergraduate students to research scientists.
   

Wiley Online Library
Covers the full text of Wiley journals in Engineering, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth Science, Life and Medical Sciences, Mathematics and Statistics, Physics, Psychology, Business, Finance & Management, Education and Law. It also covers some Wiley ebooks and reference tools. All licensed works are listed in the Catalogue.

Top of page   Zentralblatt MATH database 
A key mathematical resource containing some material not in MathSciNet.  The coverage is from 1931 onwards, but the text of older reviews may be unavailable online.  Zentralblatt classifies all its items under the MSC 2000 codes.

 

Engineering Library home | Engineering resources | Engineering databases | Engineering web resources

 

Guides | Engineering Library services | Part 4 & Geothermal reports | Faculty of Engineering


File last updated: 19 January, 2012
This page is part of the Engineering Library website. Suggestions to: Dahlia Han