Auckland Bioengineering Institute (ABI) Resources
|
 |
Welcome to the Auckland Bioengineering Institute resources site. If you have any problems using the
ABI resources, including databases, ejournals and ebooks, you are welcome to contact Emil Melnichenko , the departmental Subject Librarian to arrange a tutorial.
Phone: 64-9-3737599 ext. 87200
Fax: 64-9-3737044
Email: e.melnichenko@auckland.ac.nz
|
Major Bioengineering Databases
- Medline (1966 - current, updated monthly)
It is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature. It encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology. More than 4,600 journals
are indexed and abstracted.
- PubMed
It is a free-access database provided by the National Library of Medicine. It provides access to over 16 million citations from 4,600+ health and life science journals. PubMed also contains very recently published articles which have not yet been indexed with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).
- Henry Stewart Talks - Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection
A searchable collection of audio-visual presentations on topics in biomedicine and the life sciences.Especially commissioned by Henry Stewart Talks, the lectures are organised into series covering both the fundamentals of a subject area and the latest advances.
- Embase
A major biomedical and pharmaceutical database with a European perspective.
- Biological Abstracts (1969 - current, updated weekly)
An international database on biology, clinical and experimental medicine, biochemistry and biotechnology. It indexes and abstracts articles in 6,500 serials from over 100 countries and is produced in the United States by
BIOSIS.
- BioModels Database
It is a data resource that allows biologists to store, search and retrieve published mathematical models of biological interests.
- Science Direct
(mostly 1994- current but some titles from the first issue published) Covers the full text of more than 2500 mostly Elsevier Science journals in the engineering, physical, technical, medical, life and social sciences. Science
Direct also includes abstracts of journal articles from the other publishers.
- Scopus
It indexes Elsevier publications (including conference proceedings) and covers over 16,000 peer-reviewed journals from 4,000 publishers. Has many full text links to Science Direct-hosted articles, and uses the Scirus search engine for each standard search (results presented separately). Subjects include engineering, chemistry, physics, maths, life-health science, psychology, economics, biological/environmental, and general science. Full cited reference information from 1996.
- Informit Database Collection
A suite of Australian bibliographic databases, including the Australasian Medical Index, APAIS-Health, Drug, Health & Society and The Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Bibliography (ATSIhealth).
- ACM Digital Library
(full text: 1991 - current; abstract: 1985 - current) Contains bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full-text for articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since 1985. From 1991, full-text is available for most articles, full-text is not yet available for every proceeding article.
- Web of Knowledge

Web of Knowledge is the web interface for ISI group of products
including Web of Science, Journal Citation Reports, Current Contents
and Web Citation Index.
- Web of Science (updated weekly)
Consists of three citation databases: Science Citation Index (1900 - current), Social Sciences Citation Index(1956 - current), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - current) which are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information indexed so that you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. You can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. This mutlidisciplinary database lists 39 million items from some 8700 journals.
- Compendex
(1884 - current, updated weekly) Covers about 5000 engineering journals, conference proceedings and reports all over the world. It is the most important database for engineers.
- Proquest
(1971-current, full-text from 1987) An online serials database of 8,500 titles of which half are in full text in general science & technology, engineering, social science, medical, and
business. All are accessible through the ProQuest interface and can be searched individually or simultaneously with other Proquest databases (click on the Change Database link on the search screen and select databases).
- Academic Search Premier
A scholarly, interdisciplinary database indexing more than 8,000 journals.
- Current Contents
(1998 -current, updated daiy) ISI's online version of the well known Current Contents journals, is produced in the United States by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI). Further information can be found at ISI.
- Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
(1999 -current, updated annually) Covers journals in the areas of science and technology. Each annual database contains the previous year’s publication data, accumulating and tabulating citation and article counts in order to answer some fundamental questions, such as: What journals are most frequently used? What journals have the highest impact? etc.
- ENGINE - Australian Engineering Database
ENGINE is produced by the Institution of Engineers Australia and provides access to Australian engineering information, and in particular to publications of the Institution since 1980. It covers all branches of engineering, including agricultural, aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, coastal, computer, electrical, electronic, mechanical, military, structural, transport and water.
- CRCnetBASE
A searchable online database containing over 3,000 scientific and technical handbooks, reference works and other texts published by Taylor & Francis.
- SpringerLink
SpringerLink gives full-text access to over 1800 journals published by Springer, Birkhauser, Karger, and others. It also gives full-text access to some 10,000 books. Apart from complete coverage from 1997 onwards of the Lecture Notes in Computer Science (approx. 3300 books in 139,000 chapters); most books are only available full-text AFTER 2004.
- Wiley Online Library
Covers the full text of Wiley journals in
Engineering, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth Science, Life and Medical
Sciences, Mathematics and Statistics, Physics, Psychology, Business, Finance & Management, Education and Law. It also covers some Wiley ebooks and reference tools. All licensed works are listed in the Catalogue.
- Derwent Innovations Index

A searchable online database on the Web of
Knowledge platform, providing worldwide patent information, with English
language abstracts. Derwent covers over 11 million inventions from 42
patent-issuing authorities and can be searched via text or chemical structures.
- British Standards Online
A searchable online database from the British Standards Institution providing access to the entire set of current British standards- over 55,000 documents. BSOL is updated daily.
- Ingenta (free public access)
Is a global research gateway providing a free online search service of published content from reliable research sources. It offers access to nearly 6,000 electronic full-text titles and millions of articles from the world's
leading scholarly and professional publications.
- History of Science, Technology and Medicine
An indexing and abstracting service on the FirstSearch platform covering journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields.
- MIT
CogNet
An electronic community for scholarly research
in the cognitive and brain sciences provided by MIT Press. It
includes a library of journals, books, reference works and
conference proceedings.
- Google Scholar
Search engine for scholarly literature. Has 'cited by' links.
- Scirus
Scirus is a search engine for scientific content. It searches both the open web and subscription databases. It currently covers the web, ScienceDirect, MEDLINE on BioMedNet, Beilstein on ChemWeb, Neuroscion, BioMed Central and Patents from the USPTO. Searches can be restricted by discipline. Scirus is provided by Elsevier.
- Scitopia
A freely available internet resource providing federated searching across a range of scientific and technical society publisher collections and government sites. It covers over 3.5 million documents, including peer-reviewed journal content, conference papers, patents, and government publications.
- RefWorks
RefWorks software allows you to create your own web-based database of references.
Bioinformatics Databases
- SPIE Digital Library - Ebooks
searchable online collection of textbooks, field guides and reference works published by the Society of Photo-optical Instrumentation Engineers on the SPIE Digital Library platform.
- Medline (1966 - current, updated monthly)
It is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature. It encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology. More than 4,600 journals
are indexed and abstracted.
- PubMed
It is a free-access database provided by the National Library of Medicine. It provides access to over 16 million citations from 4,600+ health and life science journals. PubMed also contains very recently published articles which have not yet been indexed with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).
- Embase
A major biomedical and pharmaceutical database with a European perspective.
- Biological Abstracts (1969 - current, updated weekly)
An international database on biology, clinical and experimental medicine, biochemistry and biotechnology. It indexes and abstracts articles in 6,500 serials from over 100 countries and is produced in the United States by
BIOSIS.
- Science Direct
(mostly 1994- current but some titles from the first issue published) Covers the full text of more than 1800 mostly Elsevier Science journals in the engineering, physical, technical, medical, life and social sciences. Science
Direct also includes abstracts of journal articles from the other publishers.
- Scopus
It indexes Elsevier publications (including conference proceedings) and covers over 15,000 peer-reviewed journals from 4,000 publishers. . Has many full text links to Science Direct-hosted articles, and uses the Scirus search engine for each standard search (results presented separately). Subjects include engineering, chemistry, physics, maths, life-health science, psychology, economics, biological/environmental, and general science. Full cited reference information from 1996.
- BioModels Database
It is a data resource that allows biologists to store, search and retrieve published mathematical models of biological interests.
- Web of Knowledge
Web of Knowledge is the web interface for ISI group of products
including Web of Science, Journal Citation Reports, Current Contents
and Web Citation Index.
- SpringerLink

SpringerLink gives full-text access to over 1800 journals published by Springer, Birkhauser, Karger, and others. It also gives full-text access to some 10,000 books. Apart from complete coverage from 1997 onwards of the Lecture Notes in Computer Science (approx. 3300 books in 139,000 chapters); most books are only available full-text AFTER 2004.
- Wiley Online Library
Covers the full text of Wiley journals in
Engineering, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth Science, Life and Medical
Sciences, Mathematics and Statistics, Physics, Psychology, Business, Finance & Management, Education and Law. It also covers some Wiley ebooks and reference tools. All licensed works are listed in the Catalogue.
- IEEExplore
(1988 - current, some from 1950, updated daily) Full-text of all IEEE and IEE transactions, journal articles, conference papers, and all current IEEE standards.
- MathSciNet
(1940 - current, updated daily or monthly) is the electronic version of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications which indexes bibliographic data for recent and forthcoming publications. Most items are later reviewed in Mathematical Reviews.
- SIAM Reference Collection
A searchable online collection of over 300 books published by the Society of Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM).
- Zentralblatt MATH database
A key mathematical resource containing some material not in MathSciNet. The coverage is from 1931 onwards, but the text of older reviews may be unavailable online. Zentralblatt classifies all its items under the MSC 2000 codes.
- Safari Tech Books Online
A collection of books on information technology from a range of publishers, including O'Reilly, Microsoft Press, Addison Wesley, Prentice Hall, and Cisco Press.
- BIOSCIENCEnetBASE
An online collection of over 90 full-text handbooks and monographs in the biosciences, including biochemistry, bioinformatics, biomedical engineering, biostatistics, biotechnology, epidemiology, immunology, microbiology, neuroscience, pharmacology, and toxicology.
- COMPUTERSCIENCEnetBASE
A collection of full-text handbooks and monographs covering most areas of computer science.
- AGRICULTUREnetBASE
An online collection of over 70 full-text handbooks and monographs on agriculture, crop science, and related subjects, including forestry, entomology, genetics, soil science.
- STATSnetBASE
Online collection of handbooks and other statistical texts published by CRC Press. Covers statistical theory & methods in all areas, including Bayesian approaches, computer applications, environmental statistics, medical statistics and biostatistics.
- MATHnetBASE
Online collection of handbooks and applied mathematics texts published by CRC Press.
Biomechanics databases
- Medline (1966 - current, updated monthly)
It is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature. It encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology. More than 4,600 journals
are indexed and abstracted.
- PubMed
It is a free-access database provided by the National Library of Medicine. It provides access to over 16 million citations from 4,600+ health and life science journals. PubMed also contains very recently published articles which have not yet been indexed with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).
- Embase
A major biomedical and pharmaceutical database with a European perspective.
- PsycINFO
Covers more than 1500 psychology journals as well as book chapters, books, technical reports and dissertations.
- Biological Abstracts (1969 - current, updated weekly)
An international database on biology, clinical and experimental medicine, biochemistry and biotechnology. It indexes and abstracts articles in 6,500 serials from over 100 countries and is produced in the United States by
BIOSIS.
- Science Direct
(mostly 1994- current but some titles from the first issue published) Covers the full text of more than 1800 mostly Elsevier Science journals in the engineering, physical, technical, medical, life and social sciences. Science
Direct also includes abstracts of journal articles from the other publishers.
- Scopus
It indexes Elsevier publications (including conference proceedings) and covers over 15,000 peer-reviewed journals from 4,000 publishers. . Has many full text links to Science Direct-hosted articles, and uses the Scirus search engine for each standard search (results presented separately). Subjects include engineering, chemistry, physics, maths, life-health science, psychology, economics, biological/environmental, and general science. Full cited reference information from 1996.
- Web of Knowledge

Web of Knowledge is the web interface for ISI group of products
including Web of Science, Journal Citation Reports, Current Contents
and Web Citation Index.
- SpringerLink
SpringerLink gives full-text access to over 1800 journals published by Springer, Birkhauser, Karger, and others. It also gives full-text access to some 10,000 books. Apart from complete coverage from 1997 onwards of the Lecture Notes in Computer Science (approx. 3300 books in 139,000 chapters); most books are only available full-text AFTER 2004.
- Wiley Online Library
Covers the full text of Wiley journals in
Engineering, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth Science, Life and Medical
Sciences, Mathematics and Statistics, Physics, Psychology, Business, Finance & Management, Education and Law. It also covers some Wiley ebooks and reference tools. All licensed works are listed in the Catalogue.
- IEEExplore
(1988 - current, some from 1950, updated daily) Full-text of all IEEE and IEE transactions, journal articles, conference papers, and all current IEEE standards.
- PHYSICSnetBASE
Online collection of books on physics published by Taylor & Francis.
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete (some from 1965-) A full-text collection on the EbscoHost platform focusing on research and development in computing and applied sciences, and the social implications of new technology.
- Computing Reviews (11 year backfile)
Provides reviews of computing literature from articles, books, proceedings papers, conference proceedings, & whole journals prepared by experts in their fields.
- ProQuest Computing (1986-, updated daily)
Mostly full-text. Covers a selection of computing journals in the science, business & finance subject areas, includes product reviews, & articles on topics of interest
- MathSciNet
(1940 - current, updated daily or monthly) is the electronic version of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications which indexes bibliographic data for recent and forthcoming publications. Most items are later reviewed in Mathematical Reviews.
- SIAM Reference Collection
A searchable online collection of over 300 books published by the Society of Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM).
- Zentralblatt MATH database
A key mathematical resource containing some material not in MathSciNet. The coverage is from 1931 onwards, but the text of older reviews may be unavailable online. Zentralblatt classifies all its items under the MSC 2000 codes.
Modelling and Computational Fluid Mechanics databases 
- Science Direct
(mostly 1994- current but some titles from the first issue published) Covers the full text of more than 1800 mostly Elsevier Science journals in the engineering, physical, technical, medical, life and social sciences. Science
Direct also includes abstracts of journal articles from the other publishers.
- Scopus
It indexes Elsevier publications (including conference proceedings) and covers over 15,000 peer-reviewed journals from 4,000 publishers. . Has many full text links to Science Direct-hosted articles, and uses the Scirus search engine for each standard search (results presented separately). Subjects include engineering, chemistry, physics, maths, life-health science, psychology, economics, biological/environmental, and general science. Full cited reference information from 1996.
- BioModels Database
It is a data resource that allows biologists to store, search and retrieve published mathematical models of biological interests.
- Compendex
(1884 - current, updated weekly) Covers about 5000 engineering journals, conference proceedings and reports all over the world. It is the most important database for engineers.
- MathSciNet
(1940 - current, updated daily or monthly) is the electronic version of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications which indexes bibliographic data for recent and forthcoming publications. Most items are later reviewed in Mathematical Reviews.
- SIAM Reference Collection

A searchable online collection of over 300 books published by the Society of Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM).
- Zentralblatt MATH database
A key mathematical resource containing some material not in MathSciNet. The coverage is from 1931 onwards, but the text of older reviews may be unavailable online. Zentralblatt classifies all its items under the MSC 2000 codes.
- Safari Tech Books Online
A collection of books on information technology from a range of publishers, including O'Reilly, Microsoft Press, Addison Wesley, Prentice.
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete (some from 1965-) A full-text collection on the EbscoHost platform focusing on research and development in computing and applied sciences, and the social implications of new technology.
- Computing Reviews (11 year backfile)
Provides reviews of computing literature from articles, books, proceedings papers, conference proceedings, & whole journals prepared by experts in their fields.
- ProQuest Computing (1986-, updated daily)
Mostly full-text. Covers a selection of computing journals in the science, business & finance subject areas, includes product reviews, & articles on topics of interest
- IEEExplore
(1988 - current, some from 1950, updated daily) Full-text of all IEEE and IEE transactions, journal articles, conference papers, and all current IEEE standards.
- Wiley Online Library
Covers the full text of Wiley journals in
Engineering, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth Science, Life and Medical
Sciences, Mathematics and Statistics, Physics, Psychology, Business, Finance & Management, Education and Law. It also covers some Wiley ebooks and reference tools. All licensed works are listed in the Catalogue.
ABI related databases 
- Digital Dissertations
(1861 -current, updated quarterly, formerly Dissertation Abstracts) Bibliographic citations and abstracts from all subject areas (Sciences & Engineering, Humanities & Social Sciences) for doctoral dissertations and masters' theses completed at over 1000 accredited colleges and universities worldwide. Abstracts are included from 1980. The full text of theses is available in PDF format for more than 100,000 titles from 1996.
- PsycINFO
Covers more than 1500 psychology journals as well as book chapters, books, technical reports and dissertations.
- ResearcherID
ResearcherID is a database for researchers to help them identify potential research collaborators or reviewers, and also to publicise their own papers (including automatically updated citation figures of those journal or conference papers that are indexed in Web of Science). It also helps resolve the problem of author misidentification.
- ResearchResearch
A searchable online service providing national and international funding opportunities and a news service for researchers
- ResearchSpace
It is an open access digital archive or institutional repository promoting the research outputs of the University of Auckland.
- Theses databases
New Zealand databases 
- Index New Zealand: INNZ
(1987 -current, updated daily) Indexes nearly 300 NZ journals and newspapers. It is the key New Zealand database for social sciences, arts, humanities and general interest material, and also indexes some South Pacific journals.
- National Business Review
A searchable online version of the National Business Review, including subscriber-only content not available in the weekly print edition or in the version of the NBR on Newztext Plus.
- New Zealand Index
It is made up of eight indexes of New Zealand newspapers, magazines and journals. They can be searched together or separately.
- Newzindex
(1985 -current, updated daily) Indexes articles of interest to business from major daily NZ newspapers and business periodicals not included in the Newztext full-text database.
- New
Zealand Standards Online
A searchable online collection of all Standards New Zealand and AS/SNZ
standards, compiled by IHS Australia. The documents are in PDF
format and can be printed and downloaded.
- Newztext Plus
Newztext Plus contains both full text and indexes for many of New Zealand's key news and business publications and is updated daily.
- NZ Science
The database includes abstracts for all of the Royal Society of New Zealand Journals up until 1998 and will soon include all current abstracts. NZ Science also indexes records of CRI (Crown Research Institutes) publications.
- HEHA Knowledge Library
New Zealand research and evaluation on nutrition, physical activity, obesity, exercise science, physical recreation and sport, from the year 2000 onwards from the Ministry of Health’s Healthy Eating – Healthy Action (HEHA) strateg.
- MIMS Online
A quick reference source of all New Zealand medicines, searchable by therapeutic class, generic name and brand name. Includes MIMS DrugAlert - an evidence-based drug interactions database.
- Te Puna
(updated daily) This includes the National Bibliographic Database with over 10 million records for New Zealand and overseas resources and lists of New Zealand holding libraries.
Bioengineering Core Journals 
- Acta biotechnologica. (View details)
- The Anatomical record. (View details)
- Annual review of biophysics and bioengineering. (View details)
- Annual review of biophysics and biophysical chemistry. (View details)
- Annals of biomedical engineering. (View details)
- Avicenna journal of medical biotechnology. (View details)
- Bioinformatics journals
- Bio-medical materials and engineering. (View details)
- Biosensors. (View details)
- Biotechnology progress. (View details)
- Cardiovascular ultrasound (View details)
- Cellular and molecular bioengineering (View details)
- Circulation research: a journal of the American Heart Association. (View details)
- Critical reviews in biomedical engineering. (View details)
- Engineering in life sciences (View details)
- Experimental physiology. (View details)
- INFORMS Ejournals
- The Internet journal of bioengineering (View details)
- International journal of bifurcation and chaos in applied sciences and engineering. (View details)
- International journal of biological and medical sciences IJBMS. (View details)
- Journal of bioscience and bioengineering. (View details)
- Journal of biological engineering (View details)
- Journal of biomedical engineering. (View details)

- Journal of biomedical optics. (View details)
- Journal of biomedicine & biotechnology. (View details)
- Journal of biomechanical engineering. (View details)
- Journal of biotechnology (View details)
- Journal of cardiovascular magnetic resonance: official journal of the Society for Cardiovascular Magnetic Resonance. (View details)
- The Journal of physiology. (View details)
- Physiology. (View details)
- Medical & biological engineering. (View details)
- Medical engineering & physics (View details)
- Medical & biological engineering & computing. (View details)
- Medical electronics & biological engineering. (View details)
- National Business Review
- Recent patents on biomedical engineering
- Recent patents on DNA & gene sequences
- SIAM Ejournals
- Skin research and technology: official journal of International Society for Bioengineering and the Skin (ISBS) [and] International Society for Digital Imaging of Skin (ISDIS) [and] International Society for Skin Imaging (ISSI). (View details)
Encyclopedias and Handbooks 
- Encyclopedia of Agricultural, Food, and Biological Engineering
Online encyclopedia from Marcel Dekker covering the development and design of procedures, equipment, and systems utilized in the production and conversion of raw materials into food and nonfood consumer goods—emphasizing and illustrating the various engineering processes associated with the production of materials with agricultural origin
- Encyclopedia of Applied Physics
A searchable online encyclopedia on the Wiley InterScience platform. covering areas such as optics, laser physics, solid state and semiconductor physics, atom and nuclear physics, and biophysics.
- Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology
An online encyclopedia on the ScienceDirect platform, the Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology encompasses applications of psychological knowledge and procedures in all areas of psychology.
- Encyclopedia of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering
Online encyclopedia from Marcel Dekker surveying biomaterials and biomedical engineering technologies utilizing biomaterials- current lines of research as well as innovative applications in tissue engineering, prosthetics, drug delivery, biosensors, and medical devices.
- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
It contains more than 400 brand new articles that have been added to the site through monthly updates since the encyclopedia was originally launched in April, 2001. Hundreds of articles have also been revised, amended or expanded since publication.
- Encyclopedia of Mathematical Physics
A searchable online encyclopedia on the
ScienceDirect platform, providing articles on a wide range of
subjects in the field of mathematical physics.
- Encyclopedia of Molecular Cell Biology and Molecular Medicine
Online encyclopedia on the Wiley InterScience platform, comprising over 200 articles representing a detailed treatment of the molecular and cellular basis of life. The work was originally published in 6 vols in 2005.
- Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences
It covers most aspects of the Statistical Sciences -- including
probability theory, biostatistics, quality control, and economics
with emphasis in applications of statistical methods in sociology,
engineering, computer science, biomedicine, psychology, survey
methodology, and a host of other client disciplines.
- Encyclopedia of Statistics in Quality and Reliability

An
online encyclopedia on the Wiley InterScience platform focusing on
statistical techniques in quality engineering. It provides in-depth
coverage of a wide variety of topics, including six sigma, data
mining, process capability and measurement systems analysis. It
includes a large selection of case studies and practical
suggestions, and is designed for academics and professionals
applying statistical methods in industry.
- ENGnetBASE
Online collection of engineering handbooks published by CRC Press.
- Handbook of Statistical Genetics
Online handbook published by Wiley, designed as a reference resource for statisticians interested in genetic applications, and geneticists seeking a deeper knowledge of statistical methods in their field.
- InfoSECURITYnetBAS
Online collection of handbooks on computer security published by CRC Press.
- ITKnowledgeBASE
An online collection of 278 fulltext monographs on information technology, from Auerbach Publications and CRC Press.
- MATHnetBASE
Online collection of handbooks and applied mathematics texts published by CRC Press.
- PHYSICSnetBASE
Online collection of books on physics published by Taylor & Francis.
- SIAM Reference Collection
A searchable online collection of
over 300 books published by the Society of Industrial and Applied
Mathematics (SIAM).
- STATSnetBASE
Online collection of handbooks and other
statistical texts published by CRC Press. Covers statistical theory & methods in all areas, including Bayesian approaches, computer
applications, environmental statistics, medical statistics and
biostatistics.
- Wiley
Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering
An online encyclopedia on the Wiley InterScience platform containing
over 350 peer reviewed articles in areas such as biochemical
engineering, biomedical education, biomedical devices and
instrumentation, human performance and reverse engineering,
rehabilitation and orthopedic engineering. It is designed to meet the
needs of readers ranging from undergraduate students to research
scientists.
- Wiley Encyclopedia of Operations Research and Management Science
A searchable online encyclopedia on the Wiley Online Library platform providing broad coverage of mathematical theory, algorithms, modeling, and application issues in operations research and management science. The work has an internatonal focus, and features articles from a diverse range of contributors, from academia, industry, business, government, and the military.
E-books 
- BIOSCIENCEnetBASE
An online collection of over 90 full-text handbooks and monographs in the biosciences, including biochemistry, bioinformatics, biomedical engineering, biostatistics, biotechnology, epidemiology, immunology, microbiology, neuroscience, pharmacology, and toxicology.
- COMPUTERSCIENCEnetBASE
A collection of full-text handbooks and monographs covering most areas of computer science.
- CRCnetBASE
A searchable online database containing over 3,000 scientific and technical handbooks, reference works and other texts published by Taylor & Francis.
- Ebrary
More than 21,000 recently published books on all subjects.
- ENGnetBASE
Engineering handbooks.
- Knovel
Engineering and scientific books from a wide range of publishers.
- Industrial Press E-Book Collection
A searchable online collection of technical books published by Industrial Press.
- InfoSECURITYnetBASEOnline collection of handbooks on computer security published by CRC Press.
- ITKnowledgeBASE
An online collection of 278 fulltext monographs on information technology, from Auerbach Publications and CRC Press.
- Ebsco
Major collection of books on all subjects.
- PHYSICSnetBASE
Online collection of books on physics published by Taylor & Francis.
- Referex

Comprises over 300 fully searchable e-books in three subject collections: chemical, petrochemical and process engineering; mechanical and materials engineering; electronics & electrical engineering. Each collection includes handbooks of engineering fundamentals, titles focused on technique and practice and specialized scholarly monographs.
- Safari Tech Books Online
A collection of books on information technology from a range
of publishers, including O'Reilly, Microsoft Press, Addison Wesley,
Prentice Hall, and Cisco Press. The Library's licence covers 183
titles -- click on Library to retrieve a list of titles available
for reading. Titles are searchable via Voyage.
- SIAM Reference Collection
A searchable online collection of over 300 books published by the
Society of Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM).
- SPIE Digital Library - Ebooks
A searchable online collection of textbooks, field guides and reference works published by the Society of Photo-optical Instrumentation Engineers on the SPIE Digital Library platform.
- SpringerLink
SpringerLink gives full-text access to over 1800
journals published by Springer, Birkhauser, Karger, and others. It also gives full-text access to some 10,000 books.
Apart from complete coverage from 1997 onwards of the Lecture
Notes in Computer Science (approx. 3300 books in 139,000
chapters); most books are only available full-text AFTER 2004.
- STATSnetBASE
Online collection of handbooks and other statistical texts published by CRC Press. Covers statistical theory & methods in all areas, including Bayesian approaches, computer applications, environmental statistics, medical statistics and biostatistics. - Synthesis (Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science)
An online collection of searchable compact e-books or 'lectures'
published by Morgan & Claypool. Arranged in a hierarchical structure
of disciplines and series, each 50-100 page lecture covers an
important research or development topic, and is written by a
prominent contributor to the field.
ABI Web Resouces 
- BIOCARTA - Interactive Graphic Models of Molecular and Cellular Pathways
- BioModels.net
- caBIG - Cancer Biomedical Informatics Grid of the National Cancer Institute in U.S.
- The CellML project
- Cell Signaling Technology
- Databases at the EBI
- DOQCS - Database of Quantitative Cellular Signaling
- E-Cell Project
- ENZYME - Enzyme nomenclature database
- Enzyme Nomenclature
- Gepasi -biochemical Kinetics Simulator
- GOBO- Global Open Biology Ontologies
- HUPO - Human proteome Organisation
- IUBMB -International Union of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
- MCP - Molecular & Cellular Proteomics
- MGED ontology working group
- NCBI - National Center for Biotechnology Information
- NSR Physiome Project
- Open Biological and Biomedical Ontologies
- Peptide Hormine Nomenclature
- Physiome Project of the International Union of Physiological Sciences
- PROSITE - Database of Protein families and domains
- The Renal Pelvis
- SBML.org
- SCOP - Structural Classification of Proteins
- Science Signaling - The Signal Transduction Knowledge Environment
- UCSD Nature Signaling Gateway Molecule Pages
- Virtual Cell
- Whole Brain Atlas

|