Information Services and Subject Librarian Services - Tai Tokerau Library - Sylvia Ashton-Warner Library - The University of Auckland Library

Information Services & Subject Librarian Services

Sylvia Ashton-Warner Library - Tai Tokerau

Sylvia Ashton-Warner Library  | Administration  | Flexible servicesLending Services | Information Services | Subject Guides


Services

Staff at the Tai Tokerau Library offer a range of information and instructional services, including

Subject Librarian Services
Research consultations and other services for staff and students are available between 8am and 4:30pm, Monday to Friday.
Quick reference
Tours and tutorials
Services for Faculty of Education flexible learning students
Displays and promotions

Staff

cherie Cherie Tautolo
Librarian
Ext. 47013
c.tautolo@auckland.ac.nz
bernd

Bernd Martin

Library and IC Client Service Consultant

Ext 47013

b.martin@auckland.ac.nz


jennie

Jennie Pita
Library Assistant
Ext. 47013
j.pita@auckland.ac.nz


Top of page

Subject Librarian Services

Subject Librarians are assigned to specific academic areas to support the research, study and teaching of academic staff, researchers and students.

Contact Cherie Tautolo

  • Research consultations
    Individual consultations to assist with designing search strategies, identifying appropriate databases for a topic; effective access and use of print and electronic resources and guidance in management of citations with Endnote.
  • Current awareness
    Assistance with creating automatic updates so you receive regular updates of new citations for on-going research interests
  • Course-related tutorials
    Planning and delivery of workshops and tutorials on particular topics to meet the needs of specific groups of students
  • Web resources pages
    Assistance with developing pages of links to information sources related to specific courses, including electronic and Internet resources
  • Collection management
    We encourage you to recommend purchase of resources for the Library’s collections and we can assist with identifying resources to ensure the collections fully support your teaching and research.

    You can recommend a purchase electronically.

  • Course revision and development
    Advice on library and information aspects of developing new or revising existing courses.
Top of page

Quick Reference

Staff are available at the Desk to assist with queries about services, how to begin searching for particular information and the location and availability of resources.
You can also access this service during opening hours by telephoning (09) 470 1013 or email us.

If you need in-depth assistance we may ask you to schedule a time for a consultation with a member of staff.

Ask a Librarian - an electronic information service allowing you to make an online request for assistance.

Top of page

Tours and Tutorials

We provide tours and tutorials, particularly at the beginning of semesters but throughout the academic year.

Courses include:

Tours
A tour of the Tai Tokerau Library and overview of services and how to use them.

Catalogue tutorials
In addition to the best methods of searching for resources, the hands-on tutorials cover how to request resources currently in use and access your library record to renew items.

The University of Auckland Library website
An introduction to the University of Auckland Library website which provides access to a wide range of library services, databases, electronic resources and selected internet resources.

Database tutorials
Hands-on instruction in searching databases for articles on specific topics, including designing search strategies, selecting appropriate databases, managing search results and locating articles.

Endnote tutorials
Hands-on instruction in the use of Endnote software to create databases of references or citations and generate bibliographies.

View information about Endnote on The University of Auckland Library website.

Top of page

Displays and Promotions

New books
A selection of new resources added to the Tai Tokerau collections is displayed near the main entrance.

View lists of new resources added to the Epsom and Tai Tokerau Libraries.

New periodicals
Latest issues of periodicals are displayed to the left of main door as you enter.

Themed displays
Resources from the collections on topical issues, particular aspects of instruction, particular authors or elements of the school curriculum are displayed. In most instances these resources are available to be borrowed.

Website of the week
Details of websites relating to aspects of the Faculty’s teaching and research are displayed in the library.

Suggestions for displays and promotions are welcomed.
Top of page



Contact: Tai Tokerau Library