Collections - Tai Tokerau Campus - Sylvia Ashton-Warner Library - The University of Auckland Library

Collections

Sylvia Ashton-Warner Library - Tai Tokerau Campus

Sylvia Ashton-Warner Library  | Administration  | Flexible servicesLending Services | Information Services | Subject Guides


Accessing collections
Electronic Resources

Print collections
New items and Displays

Accessing Collections

You can use The Catalogue to find out what we hold and in what format.

You can limit your search results to Tai Tokerau holdings:
From your results list go to the column on the right 'Refine My Results'. Find 'Location' and select Tai Tokerau Library to view items held at the Tai Tokerau Library.

Tai Tokerau students can access items from other University of Auckland Libraries
Using The Catalogue, you can recall items or request them from other University of Auckland libraries, including Epsom, using the Inter Campus Library Delivery service.

Top of page

Electronic Resources

A range of electronic resources including databases, e-journals and e-books are also available on-line from the library websites.

Top of page

Print Collections

Tai Tokerau print collections support Faculty of Education programmes and research.

Our collections are located in the following areas:

Non Fiction
Professional reading for students and staff supporting programmes taught at Tai Tokerau.

Junior Collection
Junior non-fiction including readers, junior picture books, sophisticated picture books, junior fiction, young adult fiction, school journals, posters, picture books and large format books.

Maori and Pacific Island Collection
Our Maori collection encompasses all of the above categories and is relatively extensive. We have a small Pacific Island collection including non-fiction and junior items to support the Pasifika programmes taught at Tai Tokerau.

Reference
A small collection of works with a focus on education, language, literature and the arts; and New Zealand biography, history and geography. Items in this collection remain in the library.

Short Loan
Contains items placed by lecturers which are in high demand. Short loan items can be borrowed for two hours during the day, or overnight or over the weekend. A booking slip is provided with each item and two items can be booked by each person for the day required. The items may be borrowed from the library after 3:30pm and must be returned by 8:30am.

Formats
CDs, DVDs, videos, older periodicals and kitsets are all shelved with the books. The latest editions of periodicals are located on a rack to the left of the main door. Audio cassettes are shelved together on the rear wall. Posters are in three racks on the wall. Large format books are presently located in the non-fiction area and picture sets are located in the junior area unless they are in the Maori collection. The latest editions of the Herald and the Northern Advocate are located on stands near the main door.

Top of page

New Items and Displays

A selection of new items is displayed each fortnight in the library. You can also view a list of new titles at Tai Tokerau. Choose ‘Tai Tokerau Library’ and a date range from the drop-down menus available and click on Search.

 


 

Contact: Tai Tokerau Library

File last updated: June 27, 2010