Youth Studies

Sylvia Ashton-Warner Library | Information Services | Education Subject Guides


Contents

Databases
Websites
Newsletters
 

Other Education Subject Guides

Health & Physical Education
Maori Education
Pasifika Education
Social Work
Special Education
Teaching
 

Other Links

Faculty of Education
 

Subject Librarian

Tricia Bingham
Subject Librarian
6238899 Ext 48611
t.bingham@auckland.ac.nz
   

This guide is an introduction to key electronic resources.
Contact your Subject Librarian/s for further advice.


Databases
New Zealand

INNZ - Index New Zealand
INNZ is an index with abstracts from selected New Zealand serial publications, including newspapers and journals about New Zealand and the South Pacific.

International

ERIC
ERIC is a leading international database covering the field of education. It provides references  to articles in over 750 journals. It also covers papers presented at conferences, research reports, surveys, descriptions and evaluations of programmes, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, position papers and resource materials.

Informit Database Collection
A collection of databases with a range of information including education (AEI) and social work (Family and Society) in Australian publications.

Proquest Social Sciences
A collection of 183 social science journals, with full text for some titles. Disciplines covered include: Addiction studies, Corrections, Criminology, Family studies, Gender studies, Gerontology, Minority Studies, Policy sciences, Psychology, Public welfare, Social work.

Social Care Online
An extensive database of UK social care information. Includes research briefings, to reports, government documents, journal articles, and websites.

Social Services Abstracts
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.

Social Work Abstracts
Sponsored by the (U.S.) National Association of Social Workers. it covers more than 450 journals from 1977 to the present in all areas of human services, including theory and practice, social issues, welfare, social problems. Updated quarterly

.Top of page

Websites
New Zealand

Action for Children and Youth Aotearoa (ACYA)
The main purpose of the ACYA is to promote the wellbeing of children and youth.

Child Youth and Family
CYF promotes the well-being and safety of children and supporting positive parenting.

Ministry of Youth Development
This website provides access to the policies, programmes, legislation and services that concern young people in New Zealand.

Project K: Maximising Youth Resources 
A youth development organisation that endeavours to instil in young people a sense of purpose and increased self worth through wilderness adventures, community challenges, and mentor partnerships.

Suicide Prevention Information New Zealand - SPINZ 
SPINZ's purpose is to provide advice to the community on prevention of youth suicide.

United Nations Youth Association of New Zealand 
This is the website of the United Nations Youth Association of New Zealand (UNYANZ), a youth based non-governmental organisation dedicated to promoting the United Nations and its ideals to a New Zealand youth audience.

Urge - Whakamanawa 
This website designed for young people covers a range of health issues including drugs, sex, stress, fitness, and legal rights and responsibilities.

Youth Court of New Zealand 
This website tells about the Youth Court of New Zealand and how it works.

Youth Law - Tino Rangatiratanga Taitamariki 
This website provides information on New Zealand law which affects youth.

Youthline
Youthline provides development opportunities and confidential support for young people from all walks of life all over New Zealand.

International

Australian Clearinghouse for Youth Studies
Information and fact sheets about issues facing youth today.

International Youth Foundation
Links to initiatives and programmes around the world which promote positive youth development.

Youth at the United Nations
Links to international Youth websites provided by the United Nations

National Youth Agency

UK based website which has information on over 1000 youth related information topics, ranging from education to health.

Top of page

Newsletters


September 2011
March 2011
October 2010
March 2010
August 2009
February 2009
July 2008
March 2008
 

Top of page


File last updated : 27 September, 2011
All comments and suggestions to: Tricia Bingham