Social Work

Sylvia Ashton-Warner Library | Information Services | Education Subject Guides


Contents

Databases
Websites
Library Newsletters
Evidence Based Social Work

 

Other Education Subject Guides

Health & Physical Education
Maori Education
Pasifika Education
Special Education
Teaching
Youth Studies

Other Links

Faculty of Education
 

Subject Librarian

Tricia Bingham
Subject Librarian
6238899 Ext 48611
t.bingham@auckland.ac.nz
   

This guide is an introduction to key electronic resources.
Contact your Subject Librarian for further advice.


Databases
New Zealand

Index New Zealand
Index New Zealand indexes nearly 300 journals and newspapers. It is the key New Zealand database for social sciences, arts, humanities and general interest material, and indexes some South Pacific journals.

International

FAMILY: Australian Family and Society Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts material relating to the legal, sociological, economic and demographic situation of Australian children and adults.

Proquest Social Science Journals
A collection of 183 social science journals, with full text for some titles. Disciplines covered include: Addiction studies, Corrections, Criminology, Family studies, Gender studies, Gerontology, Minority Studies, Policy sciences, Psychology, Public welfare, Social work.

Social Care Online
An extensive database of UK social care information. Includes research briefings, to reports, government documents, journal articles, and websites.

Social Services Abstracts
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.

Social Work Abstracts Plus
Sponsored by the (U.S.) National Association of Social Workers. it covers more than 450 journals from 1977 to the present in all areas of human services, including theory and practice, social issues, welfare, social problems. Updated quarterly.

For additional databases related to social work click here

Top of page

Websites
New Zealand

Aotearoa New Zealand Association of Social Workers
ANZASW is he governing body for New Zealand social workers.

Child Youth and Family
CYF promotes the well-being and safety of children and supporting positive parenting.

Mental Health Foundation 
The Mental Health Foundation of New Zealand works in the promotion of mental health, prevention of mental illness and the awareness of mental health promotion.

Ministry of Social Development
The Ministry of Social Development provides strategic social policy advice to the New Zealand Government and provides social services to more than one million New Zealanders.

National Association of Social Workers
The NASW is an organization of professional social workers and works to enhance the professional growth and development of its members, to create and maintain professional standards, and to advance sound social policies.

New Zealand Family Violence Clearinghouse
This website was the outcome of "Te Rito: New Zealand Family Violence Prevention Strategy" developed by the Family Violence Focus Group in 2002  to reduce and eliminate family violence in Aotearoa New Zealand. It includes links to research, publications and a best practice database.

The Social Workers Registration Board
The Board is responsible for establishing the criteria for registration of New Zealand and overseas qualified Social Workers, developing a code of conduct, establishing the policies and procedures for complaints and discipline, and setting up the registration database.

Te Awatea Violence Research Centre 
Community resource offering information, research and education to professionals, practitioners, groups and communities interested in violence reduction, prevention, and intervention.

International

Australian Association of Social Work 
The AASW is the professional representative body of social workers in Australia.

British Association of Social Workers
BASW is the professional association representing social work and social workers in the UK.

Social Work Search
Online portal for the international  Social Work community. Provides information and links to other websites of interest to social workers and other helping professionals.

Top of page

Library Newsletters


September 2011
March 2011
October 2010
March 2010
August 2009
February 2009

July 2008
March 2008
 

Top of page

Evidence Based Social Work Practice

Library skills for social work: Finding the evidence

Top of page


File last updated : 27 September, 2011
All comments and suggestions to: Tricia Bingham