Science Education

Sylvia Ashton-Warner Library | Information Services | Education Subject Guides


Contents

Databases
Websites
Newsletters

Other Education Subject Guides

Maori Education
Mathematics Education
Pasifika Education
Science Education
Teaching
Technology Education
 

Other Links

Faculty of Education
Science Subject Guides

Subject Librarian

Josie Wirjapranata
Subject Librarian
6238899 Ext 48611
j.wirjapranata@auckland.ac.nz

This guide is an introduction to key electronic resources.
Contact the Subject Librarian for further advice.


Databases
New Zealand

Index New Zealand
Index New Zealand indexes nearly 300 journals and newspapers. It is the key New Zealand database for social sciences, arts, humanities and general interest material, and indexes some South Pacific journals.

International

ERIC
References to education topics in a wide range of international material.

ProQuest Education
Information on hundreds of educational topics, from leading journals in the field.

A+ Education & AEI - Australian Education Index
Australian databases; A+ includes full text of many journal articles.

Professional Development Collection
A specialized collection of full text journals, magazines, and pamphlets relating to education.

Top of page

Websites
New Zealand

Department of Conservation: For Schools
The schools section of the DOC website. This section provides information and resources to support conservation education programmes in New Zealand schools.

TuiTime
A website developed by the New Zealand Ecological Society (NZES).

Curriculum Resources

Te Kete Ipurangi - Science
Information, links and material relevant to the teaching and learning of science in New Zealand.

The New Zealand Association of Science Educators (NZASE)
The New Zealand Association of Science Educators  represents the interests of New Zealand teachers of science

The New Zealand Teachers' Science Helpline (University of Otago)
New Zealand teachers can ask for information on science. Use an email address which identifies you as a teacher. Free.

NIWA Science: Education and Training
Activities and classroom resources, initiatives for schools for students in the areas of water and atmosphere.

The Royal Society of New Zealand - Education
Education is seen by the Royal Society as being of critical importance in developing a scientifically and technologically literate community. The Society is involved in the development of a variety of initiatives in this area

Starfish: Student and Teacher Resource
A Ministry of Fisheries resource for students and teachers that focuses on New Zealand fisheries

International

AskERIC Lesson Plans : Science
Prepared lesson plans in science related subject areas submitted by educators from around the United States.

The Association for Science Education (ASE) - UK
The ASE is the professional association for teachers of science in the UK and membership includes primary and secondary teachers, technicians, those involved in Initial Teacher Education, and students. The ASE exists to improve the teaching of science.

Top of page
 

Newsletters

March 2011
September 2009
March 2009

October 2008


File last updated : September 25, 2010
All comments and suggestions to : Josie Wirjapranata