Language and Languages Education

Sylvia Ashton-Warner Library | Information Services | Education Subject Guides


Contents

Databases
Websites

 

Other Education Subject Guides


Maori Education
Pasifika Education
Teaching
 

Other Links

Faculty of Education
English Language & Literature Subject Guide
European Languages & Literatures Subject Guide

Subject Librarian

Liz Wilkinson
Subject Librarian
6238899 Ext 48612
e.wilkinson@auckland.ac.nz

 

This guide is an introduction to key electronic resources.
Contact the Subject Librarian/s for further advice.


Databases
New Zealand

Index New Zealand
Index New Zealand indexes nearly 300 journals and newspapers. It is the key New Zealand database for social sciences, arts, humanities and general interest material, and indexes some South Pacific journals.

Journal Surf
Online catalogue of the School Journal and other resources, published by Learning Media.

International

ERIC
References to education topics in a wide range of international material.

ProQuest Education
Information on hundreds of educational topics, from leading journals in the field.

A+ Education & AEI - Australian Education Index
Australian databases; A+ includes full text of many journal articles.

Professional Development Collection
A specialized collection of full text journals, magazines, and pamphlets relating to education.

Top of page

Websites
New Zealand

The New Zealand Association of Language Teachers - NZALT
A professional association providing a nationwide network of committed and enthusiastic language teachers, other than English or Maori, from the primary, secondary and tertiary sectors.

New Zealand Association for the Teaching of English
NZATE endeavours to promote the teaching of English at all levels of the education system and to act as a forum where all teachers of English can share ideas and experience.

New Zealand Book Council
The New Zealand Book Council was established in 1972 in response to UNESCO's International Book Year. It is an independent, non-profit body dedicated to promoting and celebrating the love of books and reading.

Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages Aotearoa New Zealand - TESOLANZ
TESOLANZ is for anyone involved in teaching ESOL (English for Speakers of Other Languages). This includes all levels from preschool to tertiary, and all teachers including specialist ESOL teachers, home tutors and subject teachers with some NESB (non English speaking background) students. 

Curriculum Resources

Te Kete Ipurangi The Online Learning Centre - Learning Languages
A TKI resource providing access resources relating to languages in the New Zealand Curriculum.

English Online
English Online is part of an ongoing English professional development contract between Unitec and the New Zealand Ministry of Education. The website includes online units of learning to support delivery of the New Zealand English curriculum.

International

Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages - TESOL
The global education association, TESOL, has approximately 14,000 members in over 120 countries, and is recognized as a non-governmental organization (NGO) of the United Nations Department of Public Information. Its mission is to ensure excellence in English language teaching to speakers of other languages.

Top of page


File last updated : September 14, 2010
All comments and suggestions to: Liz Wilkinson