Health and Physical Education

Sylvia Ashton-Warner Library | Information Services | Education Subject Guides


Contents

Databases
Websites

 

Other Education Subject Guides

Health & Physical Education
Maori Education
Pasifika Education
Special Education
Teaching
Youth Studies

Other Links

Faculty of Education
Resources for Medical and Health Sciences
Resources for Sport and Exercise Science

Subject Librarian

Chris Moselen
Subject Librarian
6238899 Ext 48973
c.moselen@auckland.ac.nz
   

This guide is an introduction to key electronic resources.
Contact the Subject Librarian for further advice.


Databases
New Zealand

INNZ - Index New Zealand
INNZ is an index with abstracts from selected New Zealand serial publications, including newspapers and journals about New Zealand and the South Pacific.

International

AUSPORT - Australian Sport Database
Australian Sport Database, coverage includes sport administration, coaching, nutrition, history, facilities, physiology, psychology of sport. Some New Zealand coverage. The majority of the resources indexed in this database are contained within Sport Discus. Only worth searching if you cannot search Sport Discus. Coverage: 1989 - present (updated three times a year)

AUSPORTMED
AusportMed, produced by the National Sport Information Centre, Australian Sports Commission, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on all aspects of medical and health issues in Australian sport

ERIC
References to education topics in a wide range of international material.

Health and Medical Complete
More than 400 titles, with nearly 350 in full text. Over 200 key MEDLINE titles covering all medical specialties, while many additional titles provide information for the nonspecialist. Health and Wellness Resource Centre and Alternative Health Module Magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and other information on health issues.

Medline
Indexes more than 4,600 medical journals. Coverage includes sports injuries, rehabilitation, sports medicine, physical education and training, exercise therapy and nutrition. Coverage : 1966 - present (updated weekly)

ProQuest Education
Information on hundreds of educational topics, from leading journals in the field.

SPORT Discus
References to international information on all areas of sport science.

For more databases related to Health and Physical education click here

Top of page

Websites
New Zealand

HealthEd
This website provides a search function for teachers of health to access more than 350 health resources from the Ministry of Health.

Health Promoting Schools
The Health Promoting School is a place where all members of the school community work together to provide students with integrated and positive experiences and structures, which promote and protect their health. This site provides resources and discussion forums open to anyone interested in Health Promoting Schools.

The Ministry of Health
The Ministry of Health is the Government's principal agent and advisor on health and disability.

No Bully
An anti-bullying website created by Telecom and the NZ Police. Contains information about bullying aimed at children, parents and teachers. Also contains Kia Kaha, a whole school approach to eliminate bullying.

Physical Education New Zealand
PENZ Te Reo Kori Aotearoa is a professional non-profit organisation and incorporated society for people interested in promoting quality physical education.

Safekids New Zealand
Safekids New Zealand is the injury prevention service of Starship Children’s Health and also a member of SAFE KIDS Worldwide. SAfekids works  "to reduce the incidence and severity of unintentional injury to New Zealand children aged 0 - 14 years".

SPARC Publications
This page provides access to resources from SPARC including Fundamental Skills, Kiwidex, Push play, Sport leader, and running sport.

Urge - Whakamanawa
This website designed for young people covers a range of health issues including drugs, sex, stress, fitness, and legal rights and responsibilities.

YES: The New Zealand Police Youth Education Service
The YES programmes have been developed by the New Zealand Police to be taught  in conjunction with the Ministry of Education's Curriculum, in particular the Social Sciences and Health and Physical Well Being Curriculum strands. The following themes are included: Crime Prevention and Social Responsibility, Drug Abuse Resistance Programme (D.A.R.E), School Road Safety Education, and Violence Prevention.

Top of page

Curriculum Resources

Health and Physical Education Online
A TKI resource providing access resources relating to the Health and Physical Education in the New Zealand Curriculum

Health and Physical Education in the New Zealand Curriculum
This is the online version of Health and Physical Education in the New Zealand Curriculum published by Learning Media, 1999.

International

Children's Health Development Foundation
This Australian web site includes information about physical activity and nutrition for children, and suggestions for health promoting schools.

PE Central
This web site for health and physical education teachers, parents, and students, provides resources, research articles, reviewed lesson plans, teaching suggestions, student's work, and links to physical education providers.

Top of page

 

All comments and suggestions to: Sue Bradley
File last updated: 12 October 2010