Arts Education

Sylvia Ashton-Warner Library | Information Services | Education Subject Guides


Contents

Databases
Websites

 

Other Education Subject Guides


Maori Education
Pasifika Education
Teaching

 

Other Links

Faculty of Education
Fine Arts Subject Guide
Dance Subject Guide
Music Subject Guide

Subject Librarian

Liz Wilkinson
Subject Librarian
6238899 Ext 48612
e.wilkinson@auckland.ac.nz

 

This guide is an introduction to key electronic resources.
Contact the Subject Librarian/s for further advice.


Databases
New Zealand

Art History Image Database
Images from the slide collection of the Art History department of the University of Auckland.

Index New Zealand
Index New Zealand indexes nearly 300 journals and newspapers. It is the key New Zealand database for social sciences, arts, humanities and general interest material, and indexes some South Pacific journals.

International

ERIC
References to education topics in a wide range of international material.

Grove Dictionary of Art
Covers all forms of artistic disciplines, including contemporary art and multimedia. Also contains biographies of artists and historical references.

Naxos Music Library
Online database comprising the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Da Capo catalogues of over 75,000 tracks, including classical music, historical recordings, jazz, world, folk and Chinese music.

ProQuest Education
Information on hundreds of educational topics, from leading journals in the field.

A+ Education & AEI - Australian Education Index
Australian databases; A+ includes full text of many journal articles.

Professional Development Collection
A specialized collection of full text journals, magazines, and pamphlets relating to education.

Top of page

Websites
New Zealand

Dance Aotearoa New Zealand (DANZ)
DANZ is the national arts, education and service agency for dance in New Zealand.

Curriculum Resources

Te Kete Ipurangi - The Arts
This TKI site provides resources that have been developed to assist teaching and learning in dance, drama, music and the visual arts in the New Zealand Curriculum.

International

Art History Resources on the Web
This site provides a large amount of links to online art history resources from prehistoric to 21st century art.

Artcyclopedia
The Artcyclopedia is an index to where paintings, sculptures and other great works of fine art can be viewed online, at hundreds of art museum sites and image archives worldwide.

Council for Dance Education and Training (CDET)
Promotes excellence in dance education, offering a comprehensive information service about dance education and training in the United Kingdom.

Dance Education Web
This is an interactive American website aimed at dance educators for all age groups and contexts.

Music at School
This site is for secondary school students and teachers. Free PDF versions of worksheets and schemes of work as well as online lessons and interactive quizzes.

SOUNZ Centre for New Zealand Music
SOUNZ is a music information centre promoting the music of New Zealand through a range of services, projects and activities.

Drama New Zealand
The official web site of the New Zealand Association for Drama in Education.

Top of page


File last updated : September 14, 2010
All comments and suggestions to: Liz Wilkinson