Information Services and Subject Librarian Services - Sylvia Ashton-Warner Library - The University of Auckland Library

Information Services & Subject Librarian Services

Sylvia Ashton-Warner Library - Epsom

Sylvia Ashton-Warner Library  | Administration  | Flexible servicesLending Services | Information Services | Subject Guides


Services

Information Services staff at the Epsom Library offer a range of information and instructional services, including

Subject Librarian Services
Quick reference
Tours and tutorials
Services for Faculty of Education flexible learning students
Displays and promotions

Staff

Chris Moselen Chris Moselen
Library Manager, Education
Ext 48973
c.moselen@auckland.ac.nz
Liz Wilkinson Liz Wilkinson
Subject Librarian
Ext 48612
e.wilkinson@auckland.ac.nz

Tricia Bingham
Tricia Bingham
Subject Librarian
Ext 48611
t.bingham@auckland.ac.nz
helen Helen O'Carroll
Subject Librarian
Ext 48943
h.ocarroll@auckland.ac.nz
vanessa

Vanessa Newton-Wade
Subject Librarian
Ext 48123
v.newton-wade@auckland.ac.nz

   

Subject Librarian Services

Subject Librarians are assigned to specific academic areas to support the research, study and teaching of academic staff, researchers and students.

Contact your Subject Librarian for:

  • Research consultations
    Individual consultations to assist with designing search strategies, identifying appropriate databases for a topic; effective access and use of print and electronic resources and guidance in management of citations with EndNote.
  • Current awareness
    Assistance with creating automatic updates so you receive regular updates of new citations for on-going research interests
  • Course-related tutorials
    Planning and delivery of workshops and tutorials on particular topics to meet the needs of specific groups of students
  • Web resources pages
    Assistance with developing pages of links to information sources related to specific courses, including electronic and Internet resources
  • Collection management
    We encourage you to recommend purchase of resources for the Library’s collections and we can assist with identifying resources to ensure the collections fully support your teaching and research.

    You can recommend a purchase electronically.
  • Course revision and development
    Advice on library and information aspects of developing new or revising existing courses.
Top of page

Contact your Subject Librarian

School

Subject Librarian(s)
     
Arts, Languages & Literacies

Liz Wilkinson

 

     

Counselling, Human Services & Social Work

Tricia Bingham

 
     
Critical Studies in Education Chris Moselen  
     
Pasifika Chris Moselen  
     
Science, Maths & Technology

Tricia Bingham

 

     
Teacher Education Practice Chris Moselen  
     
Teaching, Learning & Development  

Helen O'Carroll

 

     
Team Solutions Chris Moselen  
     
Te Puna Wananga

Liz Wilkinson

 

Top of page

Quick Reference

Information Desk
Staff are available at the Information Desk on the Ground Floor to assist with queries about services, how to begin searching for particular information and the location and availability of resources.
You can also access this service during opening hours by phoning 623 8899 ext. 48354 or email us.

If you need in-depth assistance we may ask you to schedule a time for a consultation with a member of staff.

Ask a Librarian - an electronic information service allowing you to make an online request for assistance.

Top of page

Tours and Tutorials

We provide tours and tutorials, particularly at the beginning of semesters but throughout the academic year.

Booking tutorials
Tutorials for all staff and students are advertised on the Library website under Book a Library Workshop. Select Epsom Campus to select and book a session.
View the current timetable for Espom Library workshops.

If you are unable to attend any of the advertised sessions, contact us to discuss other possible times.

Courses include:

Orientation Tours
A tour of the Epsom Library and overview of services and how to use them. Find out about the Short Loan Collection, laptops, and study spaces in the Library.

Uni IT Essentials
An introduction to University IT facilities, NetAccount and NetID, Cecil, Webmail, Wireless and other electronic resources.

Finding Books, Journals & Course Materials
Find out how to locate books, journals and course materials recommended in reading lists using the Catalogue.  Learn how to manage your library account, renew books online and check for recalled items.
How to Find Books Handout.

Finding Articles
Quickly find articles on a topic in core databases for Education and Social Work.
How to Find Articles Handout.

APA Referencing
Find out how to create a reference list and format your references so that you cite them correctly when writing assignments. You will learn how to use APA, the appropriate style for Education and Social Work students. You will visit Referencite, the University of Auckland's academic referencing resource.

EndNote tutorials
Learn how to use EndNote, a software programme where you can store and organise references for your assignments and research. EndNote can also automatically format your citations and complete your reference list in Word.

View information about EndNote on the Library website.

Top of page

Displays and Promotions

New books
A selection of new resources added to the Epsom collections is displayed near the Sylvia Ashton-Warner Room on the Ground Floor.

The display is changed every Friday. The resources are not available for borrowing while on display. They can be recalled using the Recall / Intercampus button in the Catalogue so you may borrow them when they are taken off display.

View lists of new resources added to the Epsom Library.

New periodicals
Latest issues of periodicals are displayed upstairs in the Periodical collection.

Themed displays
Resources from the collections on topical issues, particular aspects of instruction, particular authors or elements of the school curriculum are displayed. In most instances these resources are available to be borrowed.

Top of page


 

updated: July 9, 2010

Contact: epsom.library@auckland.ac.nz