CURRENT INFORMATION SOURCES: Education
This is a selective guide to sources on education. All locations and call numbers refer to the General Library, unless otherwise indicated. To locate other works, please consult
The Catalogue. This bibliography is adapted from the Lehman Library's home page. | Guides to the Literature| Dictionaries, Directories, Encyclopaedias| Handbooks| Indexes and Abstracts| Bibliographies| Statistics|
Electronic Reference sources:
- Altenbaugh, R. J. (1999). Historical dictionary of American education. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press.
- Eisenmann, L. (1998). Historical dictionary of women's education in the United States. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press.
- Fagan, T., Warden, P. G. (1996). Historical encyclopedia of school psychology. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press.
- Grant, C. A., Ladson-Billings, G. (1997). Dictionary of multicultural education. Phoenix, Ariz.: Oryx Press.
- Guthrie, J. W. (2003). Encyclopedia of education (2nd ed.). New York: Macmillan Reference USA.
- Mitchell, B. M., Salsbury, R. E. (1999). Encyclopedia of multicultural education. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press.
- Raffel, J. A. (1998). Historical dictionary of school segregation and desegregation the American experience. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press.
- Smith, Mark K., Michele Erina Doyle and Tony Jeffs. (1995). The Encyclopedia of Informal Education. London: Infed.org.
see also Xreferplus; Oxford Reference Online
GUIDES TO THE LITERATURE
DICTIONARIES, DIRECTORIES, ENCYCLOPEDIAS
- Chambliss, J. J. (1996). Philosophy of education : an encyclopedia. New York: Garland
Pub.
- Clark, B. R., & Neave, G. R. (1992). The Encyclopedia of higher education (1st
ed.). Oxford, England ; Tarrytown, N.Y.: Pergamon Press.
- DiStefano, A., Rudestam, K. E. &Silverman, R. J. (2004).Encyclopedia of distributed learning. Thousand Oaks: Sage.
- Guthrie, J. W. (2003). Encyclopedia of education (2nd ed.). New York: Macmillan
Reference USA.
- Husén, T., & Postlethwaite, T. N. (1994). The International encyclopedia of education (2nd ed.). Oxford: Pergamon.
- McBrien, J. L., Brandt, R. S., & Cole, R. W. (1997). The language of learning : a guide to education terms. Alexandria, Va.: Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development.
- Sills, D. D., & Merton, R. K. (1968). International encyclopedia of the Social sciences. [New York]: Macmillan.
- Tuijnman, A. (1996). International encyclopedia of adult education and training (2nd
ed.). Tarrytown, N.Y.: Pergamon.
HANDBOOKS
There are handbooks published which cover specialized areas in education. They may be located
by searching
The Catalogue, using the word handbook and the subject.
Use the symbol
* to extend the search. Some examples are:
- teach* handbook*
- learn* handbook*
- special education handbook*
- counsel* handbook*
You may also search by subject - type them into the catalogue. Some examples are :
- adult education handbooks
- culture handbooks
- environmental education handbooks
- health education handbooks
- learning psychology of handbooks
- occupational training handbooks
Subject-specific handbooks which might be located through such searches are the following, all located in the General Library. Please check
The Catalogue for call numbers and for additional titles in other subject areas.
INDEXES AND ABSTRACTS
- Australian education index.
Quarterly. (1978-) (Library Databases)
- British education index. Quarterly. (1958-) London : The Library Association. Gen Reference 016.3705 B86
- Education index. Monthly. (1929-) New York : H. W. Wilson Co. Off Campus Storage 016.37 E25 1929-2001, Education Complete 1986 - (Library
Databases)
- ERIC : Current index to journals in education (CIJE), Resources in education (RIE).
Monthly. (1966-) New York : OVID Technologies (Library
Databases)
- PsycInfo Quarterly. (1927-) New York : OVID Technologies
(Library Databases) & Gen Reference 150.5 P977
- Social sciences citation index.
(1990-) Philadelphia: Institute for Scientific Information.
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
- Review of educational research. Quarterly. Vol. 1 (Jan. 1931)- Washington : American Educational Research Association. Gen 370.5 R45 & from Education Complete.
There are specialized bibliographies for specific fields in
education. Search
The Catalogue
with your area of interest plus bibliography. Some examples are:
- adult education bibliography
- business education bibliography
- culture bibliography
- health and education bibliography
- learning bibliography
- learning and scholarship bibliography
- literacy bibliography
- occupational training bibliography
- socialization bibliography
- teaching bibliography
- vocational education bibliography
STATISTICS
- Demographic yearbook [United Nations]. Annual. (1948-) New York: United Nations. Gen Official Pubs S1/UNPOP
-
Education at a glance. (1992-) Paris : Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. SourceOECD
(Library Databases) & Gen Official Pubs S1/OECD EDUg
Top
Last revision: December 22, 2010
|