E D U C A T I O N      D A T A B A S E S.

 
  DATABASE
   
Education Databases New Zealand Databases
Related Databases For Use in the Classroom
   
Education Databases

ERIC
Major educational database covering international literature. Provides access to references and abstracts from over 750 journals, as well as documents produced by the Education Resources Information Centre and conference papers and reports. The ERIC database now includes the full text of ERIC documents. An Alternative version is also available via CSA Illumina
 
    Education SAGE
Includes the full text of 19 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 22 years, and encompasses over 5,000 articles. It covers such subjects as adult and continuing education, assessment, multilingual education, curriculum, early childhood education, educational policy and administration, educational psychology, primary and secondary education, higher and vocational education, international education, leadership, philosophy of education, professional development, research methods and evaluation, school administration and services, special education and gifted education, standards, teaching, technology, and theory of education.
 
    Education Research Complete
A full text collection on the EbscoHost platform covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. It provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, and full text content for approximately 1,300 titles.
 
    Index New Zealand
Core interdisciplinary database for New Zealand scholarly literature. Provides references and abstracts from 300 New Zealand journals, some newspaper articles, reports, conference papers, and education resources.
 
    A+ Education
Contains full text coverage of Australian and some New Zealand journal articles, monographs, research reports, theses, conference papers, legislation, parliamentary debates, newspaper articles, tests and the Internet. Subject coverage includes curriculum, educational research,  teaching and training.
 
ProQuest Education Journals
Primarily full text database covering over 550 Education journals. Coverage tends to have a North American focus.
 
    AEI - Australian Education Index
Provides references and abstracts from published and unpublished material at all levels of education and related fields. Coverage includes curriculum, educational research, teaching and training. Information is sourced from journal articles, monographs, research reports, theses, conference papers, legislation, parliamentary debates, newspaper articles and tests. Articles and research by Australian authors or about Australian education published in overseas sources are also included, as is some New Zealand material.
 
    Top of page
Related Databases

Expanded Academic
Multidisciplinary full text database of academic journals, magazines and newspapers from around the world.
 
    Google Scholar
A search engine for scholarly literature.  Results are ranked by "how often cited". 
 
PsycINFO
Abstracts over 2,000 psychology journals as well as book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports published internationally.
 
  Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Full text of 500 titles, mostly peer-reviewed journals, published internationally. Some duplication with titles indexed in PsycInfo. 
 
    Web of Science
Combines Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index and Science Citation Index.
    Top of page
New Zealand Databases

Index New Zealand
Core interdisciplinary database for New Zealand scholarly literature. Provides references and abstracts from 300 New Zealand journals, some newspaper articles, reports, conference papers, and education resources.
 
NewzText Plus
Full text of many New Zealand newspapers and  key New Zealand  business publications. Includes Newzindex which provides references and abstracts of additional titles.
 
    Australia/New Zealand reference Centre
A full-text collection from Ebsco Publishing, combining content from Australian, New Zealand and overseas magazines, newspapers, newswires, reference books and company information.
 
    ResearchSpace
an open access digital archive of research from the University of Auckland.
    Top of page
    For Use In the Classroom
   
TKI - Te Kete Ipurangi
TKI is a Ministry of education initiative which acts as a bilingual portal to provide educational material for teachers, school managers, and others in the education community in New Zealand.
 
    Journal Surf
Online catalogue of the School Journal and other resources, published by Learning Media.
 
    Literature Resource Centre
Online database on the InfoTrac platform providing access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more the 120,000 authors from every age and genre.
 
    Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
An InfoTrac database providing information on social issues. Comprises topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles published internationally.
 
    What do I Read Next?
Online database on the InfoTrac platform providing book recommendations, plot summaries, and awards information to help school students extend their reading. Supports searching by genre, subject, author, title, series, etc.
 
    Encyclopaedia Britannica
The Encyclopędia Britannica, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Quotations and Encyclopaedia Britannica World Atlas.
    Top of page
Other databases from some subjects relevant to education :
Applied social sciences, Art, Dance, Health, HistoryLanguage & LiteratureMaori, Maths, Music, Psychology Sport.
    Other Interdisciplinary Resources
 Current Contents, Factiva, OECD Online, PapersInvited

File last updated : November 19, 2010  
Comments and suggestions to Tricia Bingham