Introduction to Research in Computer Science 
(Library Resources and Links)


Liz Hardley
Subject Librarian: Computer Science

Science Information Services
Room M15, Level M.
General Library
University Of Auckland
Ph 3737 599 ext 87587
l.hardley@auckland.ac.nz


Selecting Computer Science Resources to search


Database Search Skills


Peer Review


Referencing Styles

Learning the conventions of citing sources of information is an important academic skill. Direct quotations, facts and figures as well as ideas and theories, from both published and unpublished works must be referenced.  The key purposes of referencing are: 

  • To acknowledge that author(s) from which the information was taken and thus avoid plagiarism. 
  • To enable readers (academic staff, fellow students) to locate the literature cited for further reading or to verify quotations. 
  • Supply evidence for any statements, arguments and conclusions made.

Take down the full bibliographical details including the page number(s) from which the information is taken.

Type of reference Books Journal Articles Electronic media and URLs 
(e.g. www sites, Email, ListServ, FTP, CD-ROM)
Sources of bibliographic information
  • Title page
  • Imprint page
    (back of the title page)
  • Journal Cover
  • Table of contents page
  • First page of articles
  • Along top or bottom of article
  • byline or signature tag
  • header of email
  • listserv and newsgroup message
  • URL
Essential bibliographic elements
  • Author(s)/Editor(s)
  • Year of publication
  • Title of book
  • Edition
  • Place of publication
  • Publisher
  • Title and pages of chapter (if appropriate)
  • Series
  • Author(s)
  • Year of publication
  • Title of article
  • Title of journal
  • Volume
  • Issue or number
  • Pages of article
  • Author(s)
  • Title of document
  • Title of complete work 
    (if appropriate)
  • Version or file number 
    (if appropriate) 
  • Document date or date of last revision
  • Protocol/site/path/file
 

Citation Management Tools

  • "EndNote is a specialised database program for storing and managing bibliographic references. It allows you to import references from Library catalogues or other electronic databases into EndNote libraries using filters. You may also connect directly to some remote databases and search them using EndNote, saving the retrieved references directly to your EndNote library. References in EndNote libraries can be sorted and searched, and incorporated automatically into papers for publication." 

- taken from /endnote/endnote.htm

(Includes links to help sheets for using Endnote with Library databases, information on obtaining the software, how to use the Endnote software, formatting your references using Endnote and links to software vendor sites).


Intellectual Property


Contact: l.hardley@auckland.ac.nz
File Last updated: 17 June, 2011