I N T E R N E T G A T E W A Y : C O M P U T E R S C I E N C E
Computer Science - Select an Internet Category... ------------------------------------------- Databases Reference Selected Web Sites, Datasets & Internet Resources People & Organisations Internet Gateway (other subjects)
S E L E C T E D W E B R E S O U R C E S
AARNET's FTP Archive Archive of open source software including: SimTel.Net, Linux, FreeBSD, NetBSD, TUCOWS, CPAN/Perl, Gutenberg, Apache, Netscape, CTAN/TeX, GNU, GNU Win32, 3D Files, The GIMP, RTFM, SunFreeware, X11, Novell, Unreal, idGames2, MySQL, KDE, XFree86, GamesDomain, Povray, Apple II, Info Mac, IETF/RFCs.
ACM Digital Library A large resource of bibliographic information, citations, and full-text articles. Access to full-text is by subscription only. Search and bibliographic database resources are free to all visitors.
The Ada Project Internet resources of interest to women in computer science.
AI on the Web Links to AI programs, online Lisp and Prolog reference books and texts, online resources for Lisp and Prolog, recommended Lisp and Prolog programming textbooks.
AIAI Technical Reports and Project Reports Coverage begins with 1984 (Technical Reports) and 1990 (Project Reports) Contents : Technical Reports: papers that have been presented at a conference, published in a journal or submitted for publication, and which have been authored, or co-authored, by staff of AIAI (Artficial Intelligence Aoolications Institute). Project Reports: written either by AIAI staff concerning study reports and major projects, or by visitors concerning their project work undertaken while at the Institute.
AmbySoft Inc. White Papers Collection of white papers on software development, including OO, Java standards, process patterns, user interfaces.
Analysys Telecoms Virtual Library Comprehensive collection of telecommunication related links.
Annotated Computer Vision Bibliography An annotated bibliography of computer vision, with image processing and related topics arranged by topic.
The Art of Assembly Language Programming This is an in-depth tutorial on assembly language programming in PDF format. Access to the 25 chapters and three appendices is provided by a thorough table of contents and index.
Asia BizTech Technology business information in Japan and Asia.
Cetus Links - Object Orientation Thousands of links on Objects & Components.
CG Impact Task Force Report: Application Challenges to Computational Geometry This report assesses the opportunities and challenges for the field of computational geometry in the years ahead.
CIO An online resource for information executives. Links to CIO Magazine Online, CIO Web Business and CIO Enterprise amongst other links related to information technology and commerce such as data warehousing, electronic commerce, intranets, remote computing, etc.
CiteSeer x (beta) A searchable index of scientific literature, with a focus on literature in Computer and information science. Originally developed as ResearchIndex by the NEC Research Institute, presently maintained at the College of Information Sciences and Technology at Pennsylvania State University.
CITR Technical Report Series Coverage begins with CITR-TR-1 1997.
CODE Visual Parallel Programming System Computationally Oriented Display Environment (CODE) is a visual parallel program that allows users to change a sequential program into a parallel one. The software must be downloaded and installed on a UNIX system.
CogPrints - Subject: Computer Science An electronic archive containing pre-refereed preprints and published papers that are pertinent to the study of cognition.
Collected Algorithms (CALGO) Contains software associated with papers published in the ACM Transactions on compematical Software, as well as other ACM journals. This software is refereed for originality, accuracy, robustness, completeness, portability, and lasting value.
The Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies A collection of bibliographies of scientific literature in computer science from various sources, covering most aspects of computer science. Contains about 1200 bibliographies indexing over a million references. Bibliographies are updated monthly from their original locations.
Commercial Hardware and Software Vendors National HPCC Software Exchange.
Computational Geometry Pages Directory of computational geometry resources both on and off the Internet.
Computer and Communication Information relating to computer communication. Links to organisations, companies, publications, standards, programs and projects, usenet groups and FAQ's.
Computer Museum History Center A non-profit entity dedicated to the preservation of computing history.
Computer-Mediated Communications Studies Centre, USA. Site developed to serve the needs of researchers, students, teachers, and practitioners interested in the study of human communication via computers.
Computer Science Technical Reports Fulltext of 45720 reports, keyword searchable.
Computer Vision Handbook The purpose of the handbook is to outline important ideas and techniques used in computer vision and to furnish references to books, papers and websites containing additional information.
The Computer Vision Homepage Links to computer vision research groups, hardware research systems, commercial hardware products, software (research code, image processing toolkits, display tools, synthetic data generators, comp toolkits), demos, test images, conferences, publications (references, papers, proceedings, books, tutorials, journals), newsgroups, FAQ's, archives.
Computing Languages List The languages listed here either have usenet groups, FAQs, or WWW home pages.
Coronado Enterprises Tutorials Collection of shareware tutorials on Ada, C/C++, Pascal, and various programming techniques such as arrays, pointers, memory diagrams, dynamic allocation, parameter passing.
CPU Info Center. News and technical data about CPU's, including an archive of release documents back to 1994.
CryptoGram Newsletter Monthly e-mail newsletter on cryptography by Bruce Schneier.
CVonline: The Evolving, Distributed, Non-Proprietary, On-Line Compendium of Computer Vision Intended to be a clear summary of methods and applications of computer vision, organized into sections covering the main topics of practice and research.
Daily Aaadvark Daily online Internet news publication.
Designing and Building Parallel Programs This is the online version of the Addison Wesley text Designing and Building Parallel Programs by Ian Foster.
DIMACS Technical Reports Centre for Discrete Mathematics and Theoretical Computer Science. Table of contents, abstracts. Some reports are full-text. Coverage begins with Vol. 1989.
EDUCAUSE The mission of EDUCAUSE is to help shape and enable transformational change in higher education through the introduction, use, and management of information resources and technologies in teaching, learning, scholarship, research, and institutional management. The EDUCAUSE Information Resources Library is an international repository for information about managing and using information resources in higher education. Its resources include campus documents, such as policies, RFPs, and strategic plans, conference papers, articles from EDUCAUSE publications, and useful Web resources. Many items are available electronically.
Electronic Colloquium on Computational Complexity Research reports, surveys and books in computational complexity.
The Electronic Commerce Page of the WWW Virtual Library Project Links to resources, news, organisations and standards, publications, events and education related to electronic commerce.
The Enterprise Resource Center at CIO Examines the current state and future directions of conducting commerce on the Net.
European Commission: Europa - Information Society The Information Society portal provides a unique entry point for all European Commission policies and activities related to the Information Society, irrespective of the internal Commission department ("Directorate General") responsible for them. The Fortran Library The Fortran Library contains a collection of general purpose Fortran 90 routines that can be used to simplify the development of programs with a batch-style input/output interface. Most of the routines can be used to perform standard non-numeric coding tasks.
Fundamentals of Image Processing Tutorial on the basics of image processing.
The Genetic Programming Notebook A collection of links to information on genetic programming, genetic algorithms, artificial intelligence, evolutionary computation, and robotics.
A Gentle Introduction to Haskell The goal of this tutorial is to provide an introduction to the haskell programming language for a programmer who has experience with at least one other functional language.
The GP Tutorial A basic tutorial on genetic programming.
Graduate Assistantship Directory (U.S.) This edition of the ACM Graduate Assistantship Directory (GAD) covers the academic year 1999-2000. Listed by name of institution and geographic region.
HCS Virtual Computer History Museum
HCI Bibliography A free-access online bibliography on human-computer interaction.
HCI Sites Comprehensive list of resources on human-computer interaction. Contains links to many categories of HCI sites catalogued in the HCI bibliography.
Help-Site Computer Manuals Help-Site contains links to computer-related support documents and sites, including FAQ lists, tutorials, manuals, and official or unofficial support sites.
IDG Products: New Zealand Access to Computerworld and PC World, news and events.
Index of Cryptography Papers Online A research tool for the cryptography community. See also the Crypto-Gram Newsletter. Internetnews.com Daily online computer industry news.
Java at Sun - The Source for Java Technology.
The Language List An attempt to enumerate all known programming languages.
Learn C / C+ + Today After furnishing some background and tools required for C and C + +, this site lists several tutorials available on the web.
Linux Documentation Project The Linux Documentation Project (LDP) is working on developing good, reliable documentation for the Linux operating system. The overall goal of the LDP is to collaborate in taking care of all of the issues of Linux documentation, ranging from online documentation to printed manuals covering topics such as installing, using, and running Linux. Links to other Linux related projects and information.
Macsurfer News News from various online Macintosh related sources.
Mathematical Morphology Digest An electronic newsletter which is sent out approximately every six weeks. It contains fast and up-to-date information on compematical morphology, stochastic geometry, random set theory, image algebra, etc. Back issues to no.1 1993.
Micro Design Resources Microprocessor information resource. Technical advances, industry developments, events, publications.
MIT CSAIL Lab Publications Access to the Publications and Digital Archive of the MIT Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory (CSAIL).
Modeling and Simulation Resources Includes general resources, societies and organisations, journal websites and a bibliography.
MSDN Online Microsoft Developers Network provides a bounty of technical information, sample code, documentation, technical articles, and reference guides for developers using Microsoft tools, products, and technologies. It also contains standards and release information, as well as samples, downloads, and tutorials.
National HPCC Software Exchange (NHSE) A distributed collection of software, documents, data, and information of interest to the high performance and parallel computing community. The NHSE seeks to actively promote software sharing and reuse within and across the HPCC agency programs on a sustainable basis.
Net Guide Web Homepage of the New Zealand NetGuide magazine. Links to the magazine, news, isps, designers, competitions.
Networked Computer Science Technical Reference Library An international collection of computer science research reports and papers made available for non-commercial use from a number of participating institutions and archives. Some of the documents in NCSTRL are part of the technical report collections of participating institutions. For the most part, NCSTRL institutions are universities that grant PhDs in Computer Science or Engineering, with some industrial or government research laboratories. Browse and search facilities.
Neuron AI Directory: Artificial Intelligence resources. Searchable directory providing access to resources on AI and related areas. Includes general information, publications and conference sites.
New Zealand Digital Library Waikato University. Computer Science bibliographies, Computer Science German technical reports (MeDoc), Computer Science technical reports.
New Zealand Infotech New Zealand's leading national technology news.
On-line Computer Science Techreports Approximately 395 sites, mostly websites with some FTP and gopher.
Overview of Recent Supercomputers An overview of parallel and vector computers which are currently available or will become available within a short time frame from vendors; no attempt is made to list all machines that are still in the research phase. The machines are described according to their architectural class.
Parascope - from IEEE's Computer Society A list of parallel computing sites. Renaissance Web Covers topics such as software reengineering, software maintenance, software evolution, reverse engineering, software understanding and BPR. Includes information from the ESPRIT RENAISSANCE software reengineering project.
Resources for Programming Language Research A collection of links to resources for research in programming language theory, design, implementation, and related areas.
The Retrocomputing Museum. A site dedicated to the "freaks, jokes, and fossils of computing history".
Robots.net Hosted by the Networks Cybernetics Corporation. Provides links to general resources on Artificial Intelligence and robotics.
Ronald L Rivest : Cryptography and Security A collection of cryptography and security related links (Rivest is a professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at MIT).
Rosenfeld Vision Bibliography 1984-1994 Scientific Computing FAQ: S. C., Numerical Analysis, and Associated Fields Resource Guide This metasite lists and links to resources, such as electronic resources and software catalogues for numerical analysis and related fields in scientific computing.
SEI Publications Technical reports, special reports, maturity models, and handbooks from the Software Engineering Institute at Carnegie Mellon University. Many of these documents are available for download.
SHERPA RoMEO This site summarises permissions that are normally given as part of each publisher's copyright transfer agreement.
SIGART SIGART is the ACM Special Interest Group on Artificial Intelligence. The EIS serves as a repository for AI related resources and information.
Smithsonian Computer History
Software Engineering Resources A collection of print and electronic resources.
SPACENET: European Qualitative Spatial Reasoning Network SPACENET is an European Union funded Human Capital Mobility network that links the major European Qualitative Spatial Reasoning research centres. Around 100 scientists from 11 sites in 8 European countries are currently involved in the network.
The Stony Brook Algorithm Repository A collection of algorithm implementations for more than 70 of the most fundamental problems in combinatorial algorithms.
Strategic Directions in Computational Geometry Working Group Report Outlines the evolution of computational geometry, discusses strategic research directions, and proposes a framework for interaction between computational geometry and related applied fields.
TechEncyclopedia Searchable index of computer technology terms.
Theoretical Computer Science on the Web This site contains links to papers and sites of interest to the theory community; it includes organizations, journals, conferences, bibliographies, lecture notes, software, repositories, newsgroups, and mailing lists.
TINA Algorithm Development Libraries The TINA algorithm development libraries have been developed to simplify the task of vision algorithm development and evaluation. They have been developed over the past 10 years by members of the University of Sheffield at both the Artificial Intelligence Vision Research Unit (AIVRU) and the Electronic Systems Group (ESG).
Top 500 Supercomputing Sites Lists the sites that have the 500 most powerful computer systems installed. The best Linpack benchmark performance achieved is used as a performance measure in ranking the computers. This list has been updated twice a year since June 1993.
Unified Computer Science TR Index (UCSTRI) Searchable index of technical reports from various sources.
UNIX - Basic UNIX Survival Guide Provides a basic introduction to UNIX and descriptions of some essential UNIX commands.
Virtual Computer History Museum
Virtual Shareware Library
Web Developer's Virtual library: Web Development Tutorials and Resources Collection of tutorials, examples, and links to resources relevant to web development.
Visual Basic Web Directory Aims to locate, catalog, and provide users with the most comprehensive directory of Visual Basic resources and information gathered from the Internet. The site features thousands of programming resources for Visual Basic developers (with new resources added every day), free listings for Visual Basic developers' products and services, and news, product anouncements, and press releases.
VLSI (MRC Institute, University of Idaho) Collection of links related to very large scale integration.
WWW Computer Architecture Home Page
Subject Librarian: Computer Science - Liz Hardley
File last updated : 21 June, 2011 File location : compmeta.htm Comments and suggestions to : Liz Hardley