C O M P U T E R   S C I E N C E

ACCESS DATABASES : arranged by relevance
Campus INSPEC
Provides access to international scientific and technical literature in Computer Science, Information Technology, Engineering, and Physics. Topics covered include: all aspects of computer hardware and software, artificial intelligence, robotics and automatic control, computer applications and security, systems and control theory, numerical analysis and theoretical computer topics, computer graphics, communications.
Campus IEEE XPLORE
Contains the full-text of all IEEE and IEE publications including IEEE & IEE journal articles, conference papers, and technical standards.
Campus ACM Digital Library
Contains the full text for articles published in Association for Computing Machinery journals and conference proceedings. Most articles are available in PDF, some are available in other formats including HTML, postscript, and LaTeX.
Campus ProQuest Computing
Features a selection of trade, technical and newsstand computing journals in the Science, Business and Finance subject areas. Coverage includes product announcements, software and hardware evaluations, product reviews, new developments, technical advice, buyer's guides and company profiles. Most articles are in pdf format.
Campus Current Contents
Current Awareness database that provides information in the fields of science, technology, social science, and arts and humanities. Indexes approximately 7,000 journals. Topics covered include: artificial intelligence, robotics & automatic control, computer hardware and architecture, computer software, software engineering and design, computer graphics, programming languages, theoretical computing, computing methodologies, etc.
Campus 

Web of Science
Multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information, comprising Science Citation Index (1990-) Social Sciences Citation Index (1995-) and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1995-). Records include the article's cited reference list or bibliography.
Campus

MathSciNet
Provides summaries of articles, books and proceedings that contain new contributions to mathematical research. Topics covered include: computing methodologies and applications, theory of computing, software, metatheory, automata, discrete mathematics in relation to computer science, artificial intelligence, algorithms, concurrent and distributed computing etc.

Campus

CiteSeerX
A freely available search engine focusing primarily on the literature in computer and information science. 'CiteSeerX has developed new methods and algorithms to index PostScript and PDF research articles on the Web'.

Campus
Zentralblatt MATH
Reviews and indexes articles from about 2,000 serials -- as well as books, conference proceedings, research papers etc.
Campus Computing Reviews
Computing Reviews online is a joint effort of the ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) and reviews.com, a Silicon Valley-based publisher of reviews focusing on academic and professional content. It is based on the 40 year old paper version published by the ACM. It provides reviews of computing literature prepared by a community of experts in their related fields.
Campu ITKnowledgeBase
An online collection of 278 fulltext monographs on information technology, from Auerbach Publications and CRC Press. Subject categories include Computing Engineering, Database, Intelligent Systems, Internet and Web-based Computing, IT Managment, Microprocessors & Microelectronics, Operating Systems, Operations Management, Programming Languages, Security and Auditing, Software Engineering and Systems Development, Systems and Computer Architecture. The Auerbach Information Management Service (AIMS) is also included.
Campus Computer Source
Computer Source provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database offers full text for more than 300 publications, covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics and software. In addition, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 400 publications.
Campus

Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
A full-text collection on the EBSCOhost platform focusing on research and development in computing and applied sciences, and the social implications of new technology. CASC provides indexing and abstracts for about 2,000 academic journals and professional publications, with full-text content from 920 periodical titles.

Campus Computer Database
Full text, bibliographic references and abstracts for computer-related articles from newsstand and trade publications. Publications include computer-related product introductions, news, and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.
Campus

Lecture Notes in Computer Science
Includes its subseries Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence (LNAI) and Lecture Notes in BioInformatics (LNBI). It is a medium for the publication of new developments in computer science and information technology research and teaching. The LNCS series, reports the latest results from all areas of computer science and information technology research, development, and education.

Campus

SpringerLink
SpringerLink is one of the world's leading interactive databases for high-quality Science, Technology and Medical (STM) journals, book series, books, reference works and the Online Archives Collection. It covers 1,584 Journals. 719 Book Series, 14,998 Books, and 68 Reference Works including Computer Science.

Campus COMPUTERSCIENCEnetBASE
A collection of full-text handbooks and monographs covering most areas of computer science.
Campus Gartner Group IntraWeb
Provides research and analysis on topics relating to the use of information technology.
Campus Digital Dissertations
Digital Dissertations provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from all subject areas (Humanities & Social Sciences and Sciences & Engineering) for doctoral dissertations and masters' theses completed at over 1000 accredited colleges and universities worldwide.
Campus Interdisciplinary Resources
Dissertation Abstracts, UnCover etc

Campus

Ebsco
is an Internet-based  library of  scholarly, reference, and professional electronic books (e-books) open 7 days a week, 24 hours a day.  You are able to browse and check out books after you have created an account.  There is a link to this function on the homepage.  In order to view the 73 computer science titles that are available to you please go to advanced search and in the subject field type "computer" this will bring up a list of all related titles. 
Campus SCOPUS
Provides citations, abstracts and references covering 14,000 peer-reviewed titles from 4,000 publishers. It includes approximately 27 million abstracts. Subjects covered are Computer Science; Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences; and General Science.

Comments to Liz Hardley Last updated  May 31, 2010