Ancient Texts and Primary Sources
Secondary Sources
Journal Indexes
Websites
Egyptology
|
ANCIENT TEXTS and PRIMARY SOURCES
Major collections of ancient texts
- Lacus Curtius
A selection of ancient texts and modern reference works in the public domain.
- Perseus Digital Library
Primary and secondary texts for the study of the Greek and Roman world, and papyrology.
Other collections
- The Beazley Archive
Photographs, notes, drawings, books and impressions from engraved gems from this most important archive of classical art. Includes databases of pottery, gems, sculpture, antiquaria, and inscriptions.
- CDLI Cuneiform Digital Library Initiative
CDLI represents the efforts of an international group of Assyriologists, museum curators and historians of science to make available through the internet the form and content of cuneiform tablets dating from the beginning of writing, ca. 3350 B.C., until the end of the pre-Christian era. We estimate the number of these documents currently kept in public and private collections to exceed 500,000 exemplars, of which now more than 125,000 have been catalogued in electronic form by the CDLI.
- Corpus Scriptorum Latinorum
CSL is a collaborative project among scholars from a variety of disciplines with the main purpose of creating a digital library of Latin literature, spanning from the earliest epigraphic remains to the Neo-Latinists of the eighteenth century.
- Database of Neo-Sumerian Texts (BDTNS)
The aim of the project has been the creation of an open database able to manage more than 88,000 administrative cuneiform tablets written in the Sumerian language (c. 74,000 published, and 14,000 unpublished). These tablets belong to the Neo-Sumerian period (c. 2100-2000 BC), coming basically from five southern cities of Ancient Mesopotamia -Ur, Nippur, Drehem, Girsu and Umma-, and to a minor extent from some other urban settlements of the Neo-Sumerian period.
- Electronic Text Corpus of Sumerian Literature (ETCSL)
More than 350 literary works composed in the Sumerian language during the late third and early second millennia BCE. The corpus comprises Sumerian texts in transliteration, English prose translations and bibliographical information for each composition.
- ETANA Core Texts
Electronic Tools and Ancient Near Eastern Archives.
- Inscriptions from the Land of Israel
All of the previously published inscriptions (and their English translations) from the Land of Israel from the Persian period through the Islamic conquest (ca. 500 BCE - 640 CE). There are about 15,000 of these inscriptions, written primarily in Hebrew, Aramaic, Greek and Latin, by Jews, Christians, and pagans.
- Internet Ancient History Sourcebook
Has an emphasis on access to primary source texts, the site includes links to visual and aural material. Sections on Egypt, and Greek / Roman civilizations.
- The Internet Classics Archive
Award-winning, searchable collection of 441 works of classical literature by 59 different authors are available in fulltext from this site, including some user-driven commentaries. Mainly Greco-Roman works, all in English translation.
- LATO Library of Ancient Texts Online
A catalogue of online copies of ancient Greek texts, both in Greek and in translation.
- Online Medieval and Classical Library
OMACL is a collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization.
- The Roman Law Library
- TLG® Canon of Authors and Works
A database and a bibliographic guide to the authors and works included in the TLG Digital Library.
- Vindolanda Tablets Online
Online edition of the Vindolanda writing tablets, excavated from the Roman fort at Vindolanda in northern England.
- Virgil.org
Texts, translations, and secondary works.
|
SECONDARY SOURCES
|
JOURNAL INDEXES
|
WEBSITES
- ABZU
A guide to information related to the study of the Ancient Near East on the Web, including ETANA Core Texts.
- Ancient World Mapping Center
AWMC promotes cartography and geographic information science as
essential disciplines within the field of ancient studies.
- APIS:
Advanced Papyrological Information System
APIS is a collections-based repository hosting information about and
images of papyrological materials (e.g. papyri, ostraca, wood tablets,
etc) located in collections around the world. It contains physical
descriptions and bibliographic information about the papyri and other
written materials, as well as digital images and English translations
of many of these texts.
- ArchAtlas
The ArchAtlas project uses the emerging technologies of satellite
imaging and electronic mapping to understand how and why early farming
and urban communities developed where they did and how they spread
across the world.
- ArchNet:
WWW Virtual Library of Archeology
Links to thousands of web presentations devoted to archaeology, ancient sites, and artifact studies.
- British Museum Collection Database
A catalogue of objects and inscriptions from Greece, Rome, and the Middle East.
- BUBL LINK
Catalogue of Internet Resources. Select the links for: Ancient History, Greek History, Roman History, Egyptian History.
- Classical Language Instruction Project (CLIP)
This site contains samples of Greek and Latin prose and poetry texts, read by various scholars and in different styles including Erasmian, reconstructed, and
modern Greek. It is designed to help students of the classical languages to acquaint themselves with the sound of Greek and Latin and to practice with their own reading skills.
- Classical Myth
A companion for Barry P. Powell, Classical Myth (2nd and 3rd eds.) Includes a chapter by chapter analysis, with references to Internet materials relating to ancient sources for classical myths, texts of classical authors, and ancient art & archaeology.
- Classical
Myth: the Ancient Sources
From the University of Victoria, Canada,
this site provides links to images and texts dealing with the 15 major
deities of the Olympian pantheon. A Helpful Information section
includes a time line of Greek history and literature, attributes in
iconography for each deity, and a page of links.
- Classics Resources Links
From the Victoria University of Wellington website. Includes
links to Associations and Individuals; Classics Resources; Egypt and the
Near East; Essential Links; Etruscans; Hellas; Miscellaneous; Periodicals; Texts and Bibliographies; and The Roman World.
- Corpus Inscriptionum Latinarum (CIL)
The database "Archivum Corporis Electronicum" allows access to the collection of squeezes, photographs and bibliographical references maintained by the CIL research centre, sorted by inscription-number.
- De
Imperatoribus Romanis: An Online Encyclopedia of Roman Emperors
A peer-reviewed and award-winning online encyclopedia including:
Index of all rulers of Roman Empire from 27 BC to 1453 AD; Biographies
of major figures; History of imperial dynasties; Index of significant
battles; Maps of the changing Empire.
- Digital
Roman Forum
A digital model of the Roman Forum as it appeared in late antiquity,
created by the UCLA Cultural Virtual Reality Laboratory (CVR Lab).
- Electronic
Resources for Classicists: The Second Generation
A meta-site with a vast collection of links to other internet
resources.
- Encyclopedia
Mythica
Myths, legends and folklore information.
Contains over 5700 articles divided into several areas (mythology,
folklore, bestiary, heroes, image gallery and genealogy tables).
- Exploring Ancient World Cultures: an introduction to ancient world cultures on the World-Wide Web
EAWC has introductory essays and primary source texts on Greece, Rome,
the Near East, India, China, Islam, and Medieval Europe.
- Greek Grammar on the Web
The electronic gateway to the study of Ancient Greek.
- Greek Mythology Link
Biographies, articles, definitions, maps and images relating to Greek mythology.
- The House of Ptolemy
An aid in the study of the Ptolemaic (Macedonian-based Greek), Roman Imperial (Greco-Roman), and Byzantine rulers of Egypt based in Alexandria, this annotated information portal concentrates on the Ptolemies and their world, from 331 - 30 BCE.
- Interactive Ancient Mediterranean
IAM is an on-line atlas of the ancient Mediterranean world designed to serve the needs and interests of students and teachers in high school, community college and university courses in classics, ancient history, geography, archaeology and related fields.
- Leuven Database of Ancient Books
Basic information on all ancient literary texts, as opposed to documents. It includes items dating from the fourth century B.C. to A.D. 800. Text editions by classical philologists and patristic scholars are usually based upon medieval manuscripts, dating many centuries after the work in question was first written down and transmitted by copies from copies from copies. Here the user will find the oldest preserved copies of each text.
- The Metropolitan Museum of Art
Includes collections of Egyptian, Greek, Roman, and Near Eastern art.
- Okeanos: Ancient Near Eastern Studies
Links to resources for the study of the Ancient, Biblical, Classical, and Late Antique Near East.
- Packard Humanities Institute
Searchable Greek Inscriptions.
- Papyrology Websites
Oxyrhynchus Papyri; Reception of Greek Literature 300 BC-AD 800; Herculaneum site.
- PARTHIA.COM
Provides information about the Parthians, who ruled in ancient Persia from 247 B.C. to A.D 228. Includes sections on their History, Geography, Coins, Art and Culture, as well as Resources (ancient authors, annotated Parthia bibliography, catalogues and collections of Parthian coins, Internet mail lists and newsgroups, on-line texts, web links and search engines).
- Society for the Oral Reading of Greek and Latin Literature (SORGLL)
Greek and Latin literature was created with the intention of being orally performed and aurally experienced by a group of listeners, large or small, and was not intended to be read silently with the eyes alone. SORGLL encourages students and teachers to listen to and to reproduce the sounds of Greek and Latin literature as a means for achieving maximum authenticity and esthetic pleasure in the reading of Greek and Latin literary works.
- The Stoa
A Consortium for Electronic Publication
in the Humanities, which aims to disseminate and archive electronic
material with a special focus on the ancient world and the classical
tradition. Visit the 'Projects' link - includes Trajan's Column,
Demos: Classical Athenian Democracy, Suetonius' Lives of the
Caesars, and Diotima (materials for the study of women and gender
in the ancient world, with links to images and a bibliography).
- Virtual
Religion Index
A guide to websites covering many religious topics. Includes
Greco-Roman Studies and the Ancient Near East.
|
EGYPTOLOGY
- Aigyptos
A database for Egyptological literature. A project of the Institute of Egyptology , University of Munich, in cooperation with the Department of Egyptology, University of Heidelberg.
- Center for Computer-aided Egyptological Research (CCER)
The CCER specialises in matters related to the application of computers in Egyptology. This site includes Egyptological lists and databases, and links to other Egyptological websites.
- Database of Early Egyptian Inscriptions
All available Early Dynastic inscriptions, covering the first attestations of writing discovered in tomb U-j (Naqada IIIA1, ca. 3250 BC) until the earliest known continuous written text in the reign of Netjerikhet–more commonly known as Djoser (ca. 2700 BC).
- Digital Egypt for Universities
A teaching resource based on the collections of the Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology.
- Egyptology Resources
Set up with assistance from the Fitzwilliam Museum Cambridge, this site includes links to essential resources, institutions, museums, digs, publishers & booksellers, journals & magazines, organisations & societies, and other sites relating to Egypt and Egyptology, as well as the email addresses of Egyptologists.
- The Giza Archives Project
An online repository for all archaeological activity at the Giza Necropolis, beginning with the Harvard University-Boston Museum of Fine Arts excavations.
- Papyrology Home Page
Institutions with papyrology collections, Images, Coptic, Scholarly literature, Other papyrological resources, Related web resources.
- Theban Mapping Project
Since its inception in 1978, the Theban Mapping Project (TMP, now based at the American University in Cairo) has been working to prepare a comprehensive archaeological database of Thebes.
- Topographical Bibliography of Ancient Egyptian Hieroglyphic Texts, Statues, Reliefs and Paintings
From the Griffith Institute, Ashmolean Museum, Oxford, this is an as yet incomplete database of Objects of Provenance Not Known: Statues (volume 8 of the printed Topographical Bibliography.
|
|
File last updated: 8 July, 2011
File location : classicsmeta.html
Comments and suggestions to : p.abela@auckland.ac.nz |