|
S
Y N T H E T I C C H E M I S T R Y
: I N T E R N E T R E S
O U R C E S
This page contains a combined list of links to datasets, web sites,
and resources on the internet concerned with Synthetic Chemistry.
Advanced Chemistry Development, Inc. with permission of the IUPAC, IUPAC
Nomenclature of Organic Chemistry
AutoDock
"a suite of automated docking tools. It is designed to predict how small molecules, such as substrates or drug candidates, bind to a receptor of known 3D structure. AutoDock actually consists of two main programs: AutoDock performs the docking of the ligand to a set of grids describing the target protein; AutoGrid pre-calculates these grids."
C. Davis, Nomenclature
Lite: A Guide to Naming and Indexing Chemical Compounds
Chemistryguide.org
CHEMnetBASE
A collection of online chemical dictionaries and reference works
comprising the Dictionary of commonly cited compounds; Handbook of
chemistry & physics; Polymers, a property database; Properties of
organic compounds. Includes the Combined chemical dictionary (CCD
online) which incorporates the contents of the Dictionary of organic
compounds; Dictionary of natural products; Dictionary of inorganic and
organometallic compounds; Dictionary of pharmacological agents;
Dictionary of analytical reagents; Dictionary of drugs.
(University of Auckland staff and student access)
Comprehensive Medicinal Chemistry II
ScienceDirect; New York.
"An authoritative and comprehensive reference text on contemporary medicinal chemistry and drug research, covering major therapeutic classes and targets, research strategy and organisation, high-throughput technologies, computer-assisted design, ADME and selected case histories."
Comprehensive Natural Products II
ScienceDirect, New York.
"A searchable online handbook on the ScienceDirect platform focusing on trends in natural products research. This is a dynamic field at the intersection of chemistry and biology, concerned with isolation, identification, structure elucidation, and chemical characteristics of naturally occurring compounds such as pheromones, carbohydrates, nucleic acids, and enzymes."
Encyclopedia
of reagents for organic synthesis (e-EROS)
Contains a database of over 48000 reactions and around 3500 of the most
frequently consulted reagents. e-EROS is fully searchable by structure
and substructure, reagent, reaction type, and experimental conditions,
and allows sophisticated full-text searches.
(University of Auckland staff and student access)
International Union of
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (IUBMB) Nomenclature Home
Page
Recommendations on Biochemical & Organic Nomenclature, Symbols &
Terminology etc. World Wide Web material prepared by G. P. Moss,
Department of Chemistry, Queen Mary, University of London.
MAOS Home
Page
The MAOS Websites were created in 2000 as a
general web resource guide for scientists working in the broad area of
"microwave chemistry". These pages are here to provide chemists with an
overview of microwave-assisted chemistry. The use of Microwaves in
Organic Synthesis (MAOS) has experienced an exponential growth rate,
both in industry and academia, but large numbers of scientists are still
unaware of its benefits. Information on current literature, upcoming
conferences, workshops and exhibitions is collected and updated
regularly on these pages. Links to the websites of instrument vendors
and other MAOS related organizations are also provided.
Methods
in organic synthesis
A text-searchable web version of Methods in Organic Synthesis (MOS). This is an alerting service for the synthetic organic chemist, providing informative reaction schemes and covering new reactions and new methods. The print version published by the Royal Society of Chemistry is held
at the University of Auckland General Library, Level M, Serials section.
Organic Chemistry Resources Worldwide
Maintained by Dr Koen Van Aken, a site "designed for the
specific needs of organic chemists, was created (February, 1996). Its
mission consist in collecting and independently annotating all useful
organic chemistry sites and to present them in an intuitive way.
Furthermore, this low-graphics, quick-loading guide has no access
restriction as it available for a worldwide audience and no registration
or user fee are required".
Organic
Reactions Database
An online fully searchable database of important synthetic reactions,
together with a critical discussion of the reaction and tables that
organize all published examples of the topic reactions.
Organic Syntheses Online
Since 1921, Organic Syntheses has provided the chemistry
community with annual collections of detailed, reliable, and carefully
checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds. Some
procedures describe practical methods for the preparation of specific
compounds of interest, while other procedures illustrate important
synthetic methods with general utility.
PubChemProject
With search capabilities, PubChem provides information on the
biological activities of small molecules. It is a component of NIH's
Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative.
Reaxys Database
A web-based service for chemists from Elsevier providing information on compounds and related data, reactions, original journal articles and patents. Reaxys covers organic, inorganic and organometallic chemistry.
Science
of Synthesis and Houben-Weyl
Science of Synthesis currently contains approximately 2,000
generally applicable synthetic methods in organometallic and
heterocyclic chemistry covering 18,000 reactions with roughly 80,000
structures. The Library's licence also covers the classic reference work
Houben-Weyl in a separate file. The Houben-Weyl series provides
immediate access to 146,000 product specific experimental procedures,
580,000 structures, and 700,000 references in all fields of synthetic
organic chemistry, dating back to the early 1800s.
(University of Auckland staff and student access)
SciFinder
Check the following page for system requirements. SciFinder Scholar
provides online access to CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) databases
containing documents. Sources include journals, patents,
books, reviews, meeting abstracts, dissertations, conference proceedings
and technical reports.
(Current University of Auckland staff and student access)
Synthesis
Reviews Database
A database of 17,221 English review articles (from journals and books)
of interest to synthetic organic chemists. It includes the previous
version (which covered literature between 1970 and 2002) plus an update
containing articles until the end of 2003.
WWW Chemistry Guide A collection of links for chemists and researchers involved in the different fields of chemistry research
NAMED REACTIONS
Browse
Organic Name Reactions (from Merck)
Classic
Organic Reactions (from the University of Liverpool)
Classic
Organic Reactions images - using ChemPen software
Named
Reaction List by Marcus Brakeen ; MonomerChem Inc

Chemistry : Internet Resources
Chemistry Subject Librarian with related programmes:
Food Science, Forensic Science, Polymers and Coatings Science, and Wine Science - Sonya Donoghue
File last updated :
August 3, 2011
.
Comments and suggestions to : Sonya Donoghue
|