I N T E R N E T   G A T E W A Y   :   C H E M I S T R Y 

e R E F E R E N C E


This page contains links to online reference material that will be of interest to Chemists.


Advances in Polymer Science
Book series from Springer.

Bailey's Industrial Oil and Fat Products
Online version of the 6th edition of Bailey's Industrial Oil and Fat Products, a standard reference on the chemistry and processing technology of edible oils and fats as well as industrial and nonedible derivative products. It features seventy-five articles that synthesize and present the latest information available on products, processing and equipment, technology and by-products.

Beilstein German-English Dictionary
For users of the Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry. Reproduced by Stanford University Libraries with permission.

James D. Watson, The Biological Properties of X-Ray Inactivated Bacteriophage, PhD Thesis at Indiana University, 1950.

Caltech has seven older Chemistry titles available for viewing, written by Caltech authors:

 

CHEMLIBnetBASE
Online collection of over 180 full-text handbooks and monographs on chemistry. Areas of chemistry include: analytical, industrial and applied, inorganic, materials, medicinal, organic, physical, polymer, and surface & colloid. Also covers electrochemistry, geochemistry, fuels and petrochemicals, photochemistry, separation science/chromatography, and spectroscopy.

CHEMnetBASE - a collection of online chemical dictionaries and reference works.

Comprehensive Coordination Chemistry II
Elsevier, 2004. A nine volume work. Editors-in-Chief: J. A. McCleverty and T. J. Meyer.

Comprehensive Glycoscience
Elsevier, 2007. A four volume work. Editor-in-Chief: J. P. Kammerling.

Comprehensive Heterocyclic Chemistry III
An online version of CHC-III (published 2008) on the ScienceDirect platform. CHC-III aims to present a comprehensive account of fundamental heterocyclic chemistry. 'The emphasis is on basic principles and, whenever possible, on the unifying correlations in the properties, chemistry, and synthesis of different heterocyclic systems and the analogous carbocyclic structures.' (Introduction)

John B. Taylor and David J. Triggle (eds.). Comprehensive Medicinal Chemistry II. Ebook from ScienceDirect, 2007.

Comprehensive Organic Functional Group Transformations II
An online database on the ScienceDirect platform, COFGT-II provides a point of entry to the literature for all scientists interested in chemical transformations. Organised by the functional group formed, COFGT-II comprises 144 specialist reviews, written by leading scientists who will evaluate and summarise the methods available for each functional group transformation.

Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry III
Elsevier, 2007. A 12 volume work. Editors-in-Chief: R. H. Crabtree and D. M. P. Mingos.

Colour Index International
The definitive guide to the technical details of dyes and pigments and to the companies which manufacture and distribute these products.

Dictionary of Chemical Elements and Compounds : Index of Topics
This dictionary lists many scientific terms of general interest, and has sublists for chemical elements and compounds.

Encyclopedia of Agricultural, Food, and Biological Engineering

Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry

Encyclopedia of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering

Encyclopedia of Cancer
'Clinical and research information with respect to cancer is expanding at an extraordinary rate. Keeping abreast of information relative to one's field, whether a clinician, researcher, student, or patient, is an increasing challenge ... The encyclopedia will be a source of great assistance to general practitioners, cancer specialists, and researchers'. (Preface)
Online version of the Encyclopedia of Cancer, 2nd ed., on the ScienceDirect platform. The work was originally published in 4 vols. by Academic Press, 2002. 'Clinical and research information with respect to cancer is expanding at an extraordinary rate. Keeping abreast of information relative to one's field, whether a clinician, researcher, student, or patient, is an increasing challenge ... The encyclopedia will be a source of great assistance to general practitioners, cancer specialists, and researchers'. (Preface)

Encyclopedia of Catalysis

Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing

Encyclopedia of Dairy Sciences

Encyclopedia of Environmental Microbiology

Encyclopedia of Food Sciences and Nutrition

Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences

Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences

Encyclopedia of Molecular Cell Biology and Molecular Medicine

Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences

Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology

Encyclopedia of Separation Science
A comprehensive online reference source on the theory, techniques, and applications of separation science.

Encyclopedia of Smart Materials

Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectometry

Encyclopedia of Supramolecular Chemistry
Online encyclopaedia covering the latest supramolecular advancements and methods in the areas of chemistry, biochemistry, biology, environmental and materials science and engineering, physics, computer science, and applied mathematics.

Encyclopedia of Surface and Colloid Science

IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Technology - The Gold Book
"The Compendium is popularly referred to as the "Gold Book", in recognition of the contribution of the late Victor Gold, who initiated work on the first edition. It is one of the series of IUPAC "Colour Books" on chemical nomenclature, terminology, symbols and units and collects together terminology definitions from IUPAC recommendations already published in Pure and Applied Chemistry and in the other Colour Books."

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
A comprehensive reference work on applied chemical science. It features more than 800 articles including analytical techniques, biochemistry, forensic chemistry, materials science, polymers and plastics, and wine. Searching can be conducted in both query-driven and menu-driven modes e.g. by trade name, chemical name, CAS registry numbers, DOI. Detailed descriptions of health effects, toxicity data and uses are given for individual chemicals. A bibliography and list of Cited References are given at the end of each article.

Merck Index
The Merck Index online is the electronic counterpart of the printed Merck Index co-published by Merck & Co., Inc. and CambridgeSoft. It is an encyclopaedia of organic and inorganic chemicals, including naturally-occurring substances, laboratory reagents, pharmaceuticals and drugs.

Oxford Dictionary of Chemistry

Patty's Industrial Hygiene & Toxicology

Wiley Database of Polymer Properties
The Wiley Database of Polymer Properties is a comprehensive source of physical property data for polymers commercially available, with experimentally determined and selected data for over 2,500 polymers. The initial content is derived from the Polymer Handbook. The online product is updated quarterly with the most current information available. Search features include the ability to search for polymers matching specific properties or ranges of properties, the ability to create custom tables for all the properties of a specific polymer, and the ability to access the full-text html for references to the primary literature via CrossRef.


Chemistry Subject Librarian with related programmes:
Food Science, Forensic Science, Polymers and Coatings Science, and Wine Science - Sonya Donoghue


File last updated : March 20, 2011.
File location : chemref.htm
Comments and suggestions to : Sonya Donoghue