Science Information Skills for Chemistry

Subject Guides - Chemistry

 


Knowledge level Library links Non-library links
Introductory    
Know the location and layout of the General Library, Kate Edger Information Commons, Tamaki and Other Libraries

Library maps and floorplans

Information Commons

Campus map
Abide by library regulations

Library statute

 

Be familiar with Library home page and library resources

Library & Resources Overview (workshop) (choose from dropdown menu)  
Know where to find help

Enquiry Desk
Level G
General Library
Ask A Librarian

Student Learning

English Language Enrichment

Understand how to use NetAccount Uni IT Essentials (workshop) (choose from dropdown menu);
NetAccount - Services
 
Learn how to access Library resources - The Catalogue, Course Materials, Short Loan, Inter-Campus Library Delivery Services

Find Course Readings (workshop) (choose from dropdown menu)

Course Material Search

ICLDS

 
Be familiar with photocopying, printing & computer facilities Copy & Print Services  
Be able to identify the components of a reference

Interpreting References

 
Be able to find past exam papers Readings & Exams  
2 - Basic Research (core databases, referencing, EndNote, accessing literature) Library links Non-library links

Know how to contact your subject librarian

Library Liaison Officers

Science Subject Librarian Service

LLOs

 
Know your core databases, be familier with their efficient & effective use and output format (PDF, HTML) ; Complete a comprehensive subject search Chemistry databases ChemSpider
Know how to search the Catalogue Library Search  
Evaluation of information resources - Use of resources, extraction of relevant material; introduction to publication cycle --> peer review Research and Writing Hints - Biological Sciences  
Identify the CAS Registry Number® of compounds.
SciFinder CAS Registry
Analysis of a reference, DOI, Journal Abbreviations

CASSI

Interpretation of a Journal Reference

Quickcite

Digital Object Identifiers

Reference styles and referencing Referencing Styles Recommended by Science Departments Referencite
Citation management (e.g. EndNote)

EndNote

EndNote with Library Databases: Science (workshop) (choose from dropdown menu)

RefWorks

 
Plagiarism   Referencite > Plagiarism
    Turnitin for students (includes videos)
Access to resources not at the University of Auckland - material not immediately accessible (ILL, non-subscribed resources) Interlibrary Loan Requesting Service  
3 - Intermediate research Library links Non-library links
Citation tracking - understand journal rankings and the importance of citation data

Citation Impact

Scopus

Scopus helpsheet

Web of Science

 
Theses - finding, using - University requirements Theses and Dissertations  
Publishing - format of name, impact factors, open-access, IP, copyright Publishing your research work  
Chemical Drawing Packages SciFinder Chemdraw (University site licence - ask at Department)
Spartan (Ask at Department)
Gaussian (Ask at Department)
Be familiar with compilations of official methods of analysis and standards

AOAC ;AACC; AOCS; ASTM Standards

Standard methods for the examination of water and wastewater

 
Efficiently locate chemical and physical properties of substances, including their spectra.

SciFinder

Spectra

 
Chemical nomenclature   IUPAC Nomenclature and Symbols
Be familiar with safety practices and databases, MSDS etc.

Chemgold II

Safety databases

 
4 - Advanced Research (postgraduate information, bibliometrics) Library links Non-library links
Awareness and selection of non-core and specialized databases e.g. Crystallography ICSD (Inorganic Crystal Structure Database

WebCDS (Cambridge Structural Database)

 
Theses - binding, embargoes, copyright, writing

Theses and Dissertations

Thesis Binding

 
Funding Sources Research Support  

Publishing - know how to submit items to ResearchSpace

ResearchSpace  
Bibliometrics - understand journal rankings and the importance of citation data

Metrics

Measuring and Evaluating Science Research (handout)

 

Know the importance of patents and be able to search for patents on a subject.

Derwent Innovations Index

SciFinder

Scopus

Patents and Standards Information

 
Literature of discipline

 

Information Competencies for Chemistry Undergraduates: the elements of information literacy (Special Libraries Association Chemistry Division)

ACS Guidelines and Evaluation Procedures for Bachelor's Degree Programs (2008)

Open Access Resources Guide to Open Access Information  
Research collaboration ResearcherID  
Research+   Research Outputs (Academic profile) (staff intranet - requires login)

Become familiar with the PBRF (Performance Based Research Fund) process

  Performance Based Research Fund
Funding  

Marsden Fund

Ministry of Science and Innovation - Current Funding

Career planning   Career development
Exploring and sharing teaching Resources   Xcitr - online repos


File last updated : 27 February, 2012
Comments and suggestions (including potential additions) to : Bevan Shortridge