C H E M I S T R Y

ACCESS DATABASES
Campus

SciFinder
Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases, covering biotechnology, medicine agricultural chemistry, toxicology, environmental science, and food science.
Coverage of the database is 1907 to the present.

Wagner, A. Ben (2011). Tips from the Experts: Searching Inorganic Substances in SciFinder. Issues in Science and Technology Librarianship, 64.

Wagner, A. Ben (2011). Tips from the Experts: Searching Coordination and Organometallic Compounds in SciFinder. Issues in Science and Technology Librarianship, 67.


Campus

CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool
A freely available online resource from Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), the publisher of SciFinder. The CAS Source Index (CASSI) is designed to help researchers and librarians identify journals and other publications indexed by CAS since 1907.

Campus Web of Science
Multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information, comprising 
Science Citation Index (1990-) 
Social Sciences Citation Index (1995-) and 
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1995-). 
Records include an article's cited reference list or bibliography.
Web of Science - Online Tutorials and Support Material
Campus
SCOPUS Includes reliable links to the full text of most articles
Provides citations, abstracts and references covering 14,000 peer-reviewed titles from 4,000 publishers. It includes approximately 27 million abstracts. Subjects covered are Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences; and General Science.
Campus Reaxys
Reaxys gives immediate access to compounds and related data, reactions, original journal articles and patents, and authoritative reference works on synthetic methodologies - all from a single entry point. Selected content includes CrossFire Beilstein and CrossFire Gmelin
The Beilstein component includes literature from 1881.
The Gmelin component includes literature from 1772 to date.

 

Campus ScienceDirect Full Text
provides full- text access to over 6000 journals, mostly in the sciences, from the publisher Elsevier. An alert service is available and the full text is searchable.
Campus Analytical Abstracts
Abstracting service designed specifically to meet analytical chemistry information needs. It provides comprehensive coverage of new techiques and applications.
Campus

Chemgold II
Chemgold II gives safety information for approximately 100,000 chemicals and hazardous substances. Each Material Safety Data sheet provides safety advice, chemical and physical properties, risks, toxicities, emergency response, workplace exposure levels and disposal.
Instructions for Accessing and Using ChemGold II.

 

Campus ChemNetBase Full Text
A collection of online chemical dictionaries and reference works comprising the Dictionary of commonly cited compounds; Handbook of chemistry & physics; Polymers, a property database; Properties of organic compounds. Includes the Combined chemical dictionary (CCD online) which incorporates the contents of the Dictionary of organic compounds; Dictionary of natural products; Dictionary of inorganic and organometallic compounds; Dictionary of pharmacological agents; Dictionary of analytical reagents; Dictionary of drugs.
Campus   ASTM Standards
A searchable online collection of standards from the American Society for Testing and Materials.
Campus
Biological Abstracts
Covers biology, clinical and experimental medicine, biochemistry and biotechnology.
Coverage dates from 1969, updated weekly.
Library Only SPECTRUM
This CDROM collection of science and technology databases from former DSIR Divisions, Research Associations and the Royal Society of New Zealand also includes abstracts of RSNZ and DSIR journals from 1918-1993.
Campus NZ Science
A comprehensive index of New Zealand Science, provided by The Crown Research Institutes. Searches can be restricted to all or any of the following: NIWA, Landcare, HortResearch, Institute of Geological and Nuclear Sciences (GNS) and the Forest Bibliography.
Campus Interdisciplinary Resources
Dissertation Abstracts, UnCover etc.
INTERNET RESOURCES
NOT Library
Internet Gateway - Chemistry
Internet resources selected by Library staff.  Not available in the Library

Comments to Sonya Donoghue Last updated: December 20, 2011