TOPIC GUIDE : RESEARCH COMMERCIALISATION

Business & Economics Information Services (BEIS)

BEIS home  |  Subject Guides BEIS Subject Librarians  |  Business School  |  Ask a librarian


Research commercialisation
Introduction

Library resources including:
Book and journals

Case studies
Databases

Journal titles
Statistics
Theses and dissertations


Aspects of Research Commercialisation

Research commercialisation organisations and selected Internet resources
Innovation and startup enterprises and Entrepreneurship
Business incubation : spin outs, startups, company formation
Starting your own business
Business networks
Patents
Licensing, Royalties and development
Marketing and Market research g
uidelines
Social responsibility
Freedom of information
Venture capital

 

 

 

Links to:


University of Auckland Business School and the Business School's Centre for Entrepreneural Learning business ecosystem

Uniservices

SPARK entrepreneurship and website

The ICEHOUSE and website

New Zealand Leadership Institute website

Business Case Studies, Business Case Centre website and

Champions trophy competition


BEIS home

BEIS Subject Guides
BEIS subject librarians

BEIS Business Information Skills Online

Research commercialisation - introduction

The links are to research information which is freely available through websites and the University of Auckland library catalogue

Associate members of the University Library can refer to the Flexible and Offcampus Services for access to the Off Campus Services .

Non-members may wish to become Associate members or Alumni members to access the services available

Research commercialisation or technology transfer is carried out by universities for the following reasons:

• to facilitate the commercialisation of research for the public good;
• to promote economic growth;
• to forge closer ties to industry;
• to reward, retain and recruit faculty and students; and
• to generate income.
All universities do it for the same five reasons; the mix is just different. And if you focus on the first four, you will get the fifth. If you focus on the fifth, you are likely to get nothing. (Louis Berneman in a tele-presentation to a Research Commercialisation Workshop for the Higher Education Review Secretariat, DEST, 1 August, 2002)

Research commercialisation includes such topics as: Research and development, Inventions, Intellecutal property protection, Marketing, Licensing, Products and services, Royalities and ongoing development. Such titles as University research commercialisation provides a background of research commercialisation in New Zealand by the Universities Commercialisation Office of New Zealand (UCONZ) enhance the working relationship

Books and other resources on research commercialisation
The Library catalogue lists all resources held in the University's Library system. To find titles on Entrepreneurship, select the Subject Heading Search and use the term 'Entrepreneurship' or try the suggested subject headings listed below; all of which can be used in other library catalogues, databases and journal indices:

  • Business incubators
  • Creative ability in business
  • Diffusion of innovation
  • High technology industries
  • Intellectual property
  • New product marketing
  • Technological innovations
  • Venture capital

If you are searching for electronic resources, search the Library catalogue for all electronic resources by setting Quick limits as 'all e-resources'. to access electronic resources you must use your NetID and Net Password. For more information check on becoming an Associate member

Journal titles for Research commercialisation Journal titles
The following is a selection of relevant journal titles listed below that are available through the Library's databases. The University's journal multi-database search facility searches across many databases that contain full text publications including journal articles, books, conference proceedings or technical reports, using the suggested subject headings listed above
For more journals, check the Business and Economics databases.

Advances in entrepreneurship, firm emergence and growth Journal of International Marketing & Marketing Research
Asian business management Journal of Marketing
Asia Pacific journal of management Journal of Marketing Research
B innovative Journal of Product Innovation Management
Bright Journal of Science and technology law
Business Ethics Quarterly Journal of Small business and enterprise development
Business Week Management Magazine (NZ)
Creativity & Innovation Management Management research news
Economics of Innovation & New Technology Market Intelligence
Entrepreneurship, Innovation and Change Marketing Magazine (NZ)
European Venture Capital Journal Marketing News
FSB: Fortune Small Business Marketing Research
Harvard Business Review National Business Review
Industry & Innovation New Zealand Management (NZ)
Infinite magazine NZ Business (NZ)
Infotech Weekly New Zealand journal of applied business research
International Journal of Entrepreneurship and Innovation Management Qualitative research in organizations and management
International Journal of Innovation Management Research policy
International Journal of Research in Marketing Small Business Monitor
International Journal of Technology Transfer and commercialisation Technovation
Journal of Business Research University of Auckland Business Review
Journal of Enterprising communities Unlimited (NZ)
Journal of Developmental Entrepreneurship Venture Capital
Journal of Consumer Research Venture Capital Journal
Journal of Developmental Entrepreneurship Zeromillion magazine

Case Studies Theses

See the guide on Case studies for hints on how to search the Library catalogue and journal databases.
Case studies can also be found on the following websites:


Databases Theses

The following is a short list of databases useful for this subject. For a full list, check: Business and Economics databases.

To access the Library database resources you must have your NetID and NetPassword. For more information click on NetAccount

ABI/Inform | Helpsheet (ProQuest)
Indexes over 2,700 business and economics periodicals and provides full text articles for nearly half of these. It has full text page images of New Zealand management, NZ journal of industrial relations and the NZ manufacturer.

Business Source Premier | Helpsheet (Ebsco)
Indexes 2,150 business journals with full text for nearly 1,140. It also contains company profiles, country and industry reports, market research reports and SWOT analyses. It offers information in nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, accounting and international business including EIU Country monitor and Country profile reports.

Datamonitor 360 explorer A searchable database providing access to company and industry profiles, historical and forecasted socio-economic and demographic data for 215 countries, plus market data for over 25 industries globally. Market Data Analytics contain information for a range of consumer products in 55 countries

Emerald management xtra | Helpsheet
Emerald Management Xtra to access more than 50,000 full text articles, 185,000 reviews from the world's leading management journals, case studies, literature reviews, book reviews, conference information, interviews, profiles and 'How to...' guides.

Global Market Information Database (GMID) (Euromonitor)
Euromonitor provides information and data on consumer lifestyles, consumer market sizes, companies and brands, major market profiles, country data and market analysis. Information is provided in the form of statistics, profiles, forecasts and commentary

Index New Zealand : INNZ New Zealand database for social sciences, arts, humanities and general interest material, with some Pacific material.

Market Information Digest (PC1 Business Information Centre (BIC) only)
Using information mostly sourced from ACNielsen SCANTRACK, this database provides New Zealand general retail trade and product category data.

Newztext Plus
Newztext Plus contains both full text and indexes for many of New Zealand's key news and business publications and is updated daily. Content from the New Zealand Herald goes online within 24 hours

ScienceDirect | Helpsheet
An excellent source of full text academic articles for business and management.


Statistics Theses

The Statistics page provides information about databases and internet sites for building and downloading tables of data; locating international data archives; locating data on specific topics, and information about the University of Auckland Library's collections. Business statistics are available under subject categories for New Zealand and International data


  Theses and dissertations Theses

Library Theses and dissertations Use the search box to find theses from the University of Auckland. Also lists databases which cover other Universities around the world including ProQuest Theses & Dissertations. Digital Dissertations is now available on the ProQuest platform. Index of 2.5 million doctoral dissertations and masters' theses from universities worldwide, especially from North America. Indexed from 1861, abstracts from 1980, and 750,000 full-text theses from 1996.Link from here to the Researchspace@Auckland thesis repository.


Research commercialisation organisations and internet resources Theses

Organisations


Aspects of research commercialisation

Ernst and Young publication 2011 Asia-Pacific R&D incentives

See also the headings below

Business Incubation

What is a business incubator?
"A facility that provides below market rents, shared services and technical assistance to new businesses. Tenants typically include manufacturing, service and technology firms. Sponsors may be private developers, CDCs, public agencies or universities". Wells Fargo

"Programs designed to accelerate the successful development of entrenpreurial companies through an array of business support resources and services, developed and orchestrated by incubator management and offered both in the incubator and through its network of contacts"
University of Michigan, NBIA, Ohio University and Southern Technology Council, Business Incubation Works. Athens, Ohio: National Business Incubation Association, 1997

Library catalogue subject headings Theses
Check the Library catalogue using a Subject Heading Search, and ther suggested subject headings listed below, all of which can be used in other library catalogues, databases and journal indices. to access electronic resources.

To access some resources you must use your NetID and Net Password. For more information check on becoming an Associate member

  • business incubators
  • industrial concentration
  • small business
  • new business enterprises management
  • entrepreneurship

Organisations for small businesses links:


Innovation and startup enterprises

"Innovation is the specific tool of entrepreneurs, the means by which they exploit change as an opportunity for a different business or a different service. It is capable of being presented as a discipline, capable of being learned, capable of being practised. Entrepreneurs need to search purposefully for the sources of innovation, the changes and their symptons that indicate opportunities for successful innovation. And they need to know and to apply the princples of successful innovation"
Peter F. Drucker (1985). Innovation and entrepreneurship : practices and principles. London : Butterworth-Heinemann, p. 17.

Library catalogue
Check the Library catalogue using a Subject Heading Search, and ther suggested subject headings listed below, all of which can be used in other library catalogues, databases and journal indices. to access electronic resources.

To access some resources you must use your NetID and Net Password. For more information check on becoming an Associate member

  • Creative ability in business
  • Entrepreneurship
  • New business enterprises New Zealand
  • New product marketings
  • New products
  • Success in business
  • Success in business New Zealand
  • Technological innovations

New Zealand reports about innovation

New Zealand business services for start-up companies

International websites for research innovation companies


Starting your own business

Starting your own business links

In Library Search: use "starting your own business" or "new business enterprises" in the search box to find books and articles about the topic Also check the various other links on this page


Business networks

Business networksNew Zealand Departments of Immigration and Economic Development provide links to business networks


Social reponsibility

Social responsibility survey of New Zealand SMEs 2011 BNI (Business Network International) report


Licensing, Royalties and Intellectual Property

Licensing, franchising and royalties New Zealand Department of Trade and Enterprise

Guide to royalties and license fees AJ Park Intellectual property lawyers and patent attorneys

Also check under 'Patents' listed below


Patents

Patents including legal information, and intellectual property are available via the following links:


Marketing and market research guidelines

Use Library search Catalogue and Articles and more use such terms as "marketing entrepreneurship" to locate relevant information in books and journals articles. Also check other links on this page


Freedom of information

Use Library Search Catalogue and Articles and more for such terms as 'freedom of information' and 'research commecialisation' to locate relevant information in books and journal articles. Also check other links on this page


Venture capital

Library catalogue
Check the Library catalogue using a Subject Heading Search, and ther suggested subject headings listed below, all of which can be used in other library catalogues, databases and journal indices. to access electronic resources:

  • Angels (Investors)
  • Entrepreneurship
  • International business enterprises
  • Technological innovations Economic aspects
  • Venture capital
  • Commercial loans New Zealand
  • High technology industries Capital Investments
  • New business enterprises Finance
  • Small business Finance

To access some resources you must use your NetID and Net Password. For more information check on becoming an Associate member

Links to venture capital organisations

New Zealand

International


Copyright©The University of Auckland Library
Comments and suggestions to: Gillian Ralph
 Last updated: 31 January, 2012