Finding NZ Business Magazines and Newspapers

Business & Economics Information Services (BEIS)

BEIS home  |  Subject Guides Course Pages  |  Business Librarians   |  Business School  |  Business Blog | Ask a Librarian


NZ business magazines and newspapers

What if the magazine I want isn't full text online?
Background What is microfilm and where can I access it?
What are the main fulltext databases to use for NZ magazines and newspapers? Why use the library databases when the articles are on the publisher's website?
What does full text online mean? What does 'At Bindery 'mean on a catalogue record?


The following is a list of the major NZ newspapers and business magazines, with a link to the catalogue record and notes about full text and print access. The focus is on current magazines so those which are no longer published are generally not included.

Please check Voyager (the older interface to the catalogue) or the Library search for any serial not listed and for fuller holdings details and up-to-date information on formats and access points.

If a title is not available full text online you can search the catalogue or Voyager under serial title to locate our print holdings.

The full text databases mentioned in this listing are: ABI/Inform; ANZ Reference Centre; Business Source Premier; Factiva; and Newztext Plus.


Title Recommended access - check catalogue for more detail
Ad/Media

Full text on ANZ Reference Centre and Business Source Premier.

Bright

In print in NZ+P (382.60995 E966) from 2003-2009 (ceased publication)
Chartered Accountants Journal of New Zealand Full text on Business Source Premier from 2003. Indexed from 1997. Also available in print from May 1994. (Previous name The Accountants' Journal )
CIO In print in NZ+P (658.4038 C57) from 2003.
Computerworld New Zealand Last 2 years only held in print NZ+P (651.2605 C736). Tamaki holds 2002 onwards. Fulltext on Factiva for the last 3 months.
Consumer In print in NZ+P (339.4207 C75) from 2000. Current unbound issues at Short Loan. 1960-1999 in storage.

The Dominion Post
and previously
The Dominion

Full text on ANZ Reference Centre from 1995. Also on Newztext Plus and Factiva from 1995. Library holds on microfilm from 1907-1959 and 1979 onwards.

Employment Today In print NZ+P (658.30995 E55) from 1996. Also held at Epsom and Architecture libraries.
FMCG In print in NZ+P (658.878 R43) from 2002.
Franchise New Zealand In print in NZ+P F (658.8708 F816) from 1998
Grocers' Review In print in NZ+P (658.87 G87 ) from 1986-2008 (ceased publication).
The Headliner In print in NZ+P (330.995 H43) from 1987.

Her magazine
and previously
HER Business

In print in NZ+P (658.05 H53) from 1997.

Humanresources

In print in NZ+P ( 658.3005 H91) from 1996.
The Independent Financial Review Full text on Newztext Plus from 1993 - July 2010 (ceased publication) and Factiva from 1996-2010 . In print in NZ+P (658.05 I38) from 1993-2010.
Inwood magazine

Full text on ANZ Reference Centre from 2005.
In print in NZ+P (634.90995 N543) from 2005. Previously New Zealand Forest Industries

Istart In print in NZ+P (658.054678 I87) from 2003. Also held Tamaki.
Listener Full text on publisher's website, recent issues not available; 2 month embargo. Full text on Factiva from May 2005, 2 month embargo. In print in NZ+P (791.405 N53 ) from 1939 (previous name New Zealand Listener).
Marketing Magazine

Full text on ANZ Reference Centre from 1998. Full text on Newztext Plus from 1993-1999. In print in NZ+P (658.805 M34 ) from 2006. 1984-2005 in storage.

Metro

Full text on ANZ Reference Centre from 2002. In print in NZ+P (052 A89 ) from 1987. (Previous title was Auckland Metro: held 1981-1987).

MG Business In print in NZ+P (330.995 M55 ) from 2002.
National Business Review

Full text on website via library subscription from Nov 2009. Full text on Newztext Plus from 1993-2009. Full text on Factiva from 1988.
In print in NZ+P (658.05 N27 ) from 1993. Current unbound issues ( 2 months) in Short Loan Collection. 1970-2002 in Storage.

New Zealand Business Full text on ANZ Reference Centre and Business Source Premier from May 1996. In print in NZ+P (658.05 B56) from Nov 1987.
New Zealand Dairy Exporter Full text on ANZ Reference Centre from July 2005. Full text on Newztext Plus from Jan 2005 - March 2009. Science Serials (Level M) has current 3 year file.
New Zealand Herald

Full text on ANZ Reference Centre from Dec 2001. Full text on Newztext Plus from Nov 1998. . Full text on Factiva from Aug 1986. From Nov. 1863 available on microfilm in the Library. Some material on publisher's website. Recent print issues in Short Loan.
NOTE : Search Factiva to get non syndicated content from the weekly pullout "The Business" . (This is not included in Newztext or the ANZ Reference Centre and may be patchy on the Herald website)

New Zealand Journal of Employment Relations

Full text on Business Source Premier from 2004. Full text on ABI/Inform from 1997-2006, full text on publisher's website from 2003.
In print in NZ+P (331.10995 N53T) to 2005. Previous name New Zealand Journal of Industrial Relations

New Zealand Local Government In print in Architecture Library from 1965, Davis Law Library from 1981, and NZ+P (352.095 N532) from 2000. In storage 1965-1999.
New Zealand Management
and previously
Management

Full text on Business Source Premier from 1998 and on ABI/Inform from 1997. Full text (no graphics) on Newztext Plus from May 1998 - May 2009.
In print in NZ+P (658.05 M267) from May 1998.

Australia and New Zealand Property Journal
and previously
Australian and New Zealand Property Journal
and
New Zealand Property Journal

In print in NZ+P (333.332 N353 and 333.332 N535) from Mar 2001.

New Zealand Property Investor
and previously
New Zealand Property Magazine

In print in NZ+P(332.632 N53) from Oct. 2003.
New Zealand Retail In print in NZ+P (658.87 M55) from 2000. !997-1999 in storage.
North & South

Full text on ANZ Reference Centre from Jan. 2003. In print in NZ+P (052 N86) from 2000. Current unbound issues in Short Loan.1987-1999 in storage.

Otago Daily Times Full text on Factiva from Aug 2002. From Nov 1861 available on microfilm (but not recent issues).
The Press

Full text on ANZ Reference Centre. Also on Newxtext Plus and Factiva from 1996. From May 1861- available on microfilm.

Hub
and previously
RE : the real estate authority

In print in NZ+P(333.33 N53) from Feb 2005
Seafood New Zealand In print in NZ+P(639.220995 N532) from 2000. In storage from 1993-1999.
Sunday Star Times Full text ANZ Reference Centre and Newztext Plus from 1995. On Factiva from 1996. Current year in NZ+P (079.95 S96) . (Ask at desk.) Also available on microfilm from 1994.
Tourism News In print in NZ+P(338.479195 N531nl) from 1993.
University of Auckland Business Review

Full text on Business Source Premier from Aug 2003. In print in NZ+P (650.05 U58) from 1999-2008. Available on publisher's website from 1999.

Unlimited In print in NZ+P(658.05 U54 ) from Dec 1998. Current unbound issues at Short Loan. Some articles may be on the publisher's website.

Background

The University of Auckland Library subscribes to all the major NZ daily and weekly newspapers as well as the core business journals and magazines. However it is not alway easy to locate these in the Library or to obtain the specific article you want:

  • some magazines are only in print format while some are available in both print and electronic format
  • a magazine or newspaper may be full text in an online database but some sections of the publication are not included in the full text database
  • the online version is often text only with no graphics included
  • current print issues may be held in the Short Loan Collection in the Information Commons whereas others go straight to the shelves in the New Zealand and Pacific Collection
  • recent unbound copies may be at the Bindery or in Short Loan
  • the library may hold back copies of some newspapers but only on microfilm
  • the journal or magazine may have had a change of name

Top

 


What does full text online mean?

Full text online can vary from almost every article from every issue being included in the database to just key articles being available. NZ newspapers often publish syndicated material in their print version and in this case they will not be able to make these articles available on the full text database. If the newspaper does not own the copyright to an article, or if they are uncertain about ownership, they do not supply it electronically. Full text can mean articles are available in pdf format but in the case of NZ databases it often means html format without graphics, charts or illustrations.

Top

 


What is microfilm and where can I access it?

Back copies of some NZ newspapers are purchased by the library in microfilm format. Microfilm comes in reels and needs to be read on a microfilm reader in the Microtexts Room on Level 1 of the General Library. In this format the entire newspaper (including sharemarket tables, advertisements, classifieds) can be read cover to cover and copies of articles can be taken.

Top

 


What are the main databases I should use to find full text NZ newspapers and magazines?

The main full text NZ databases are ANZ Reference Centre and Newztext Plus. There is also quite a lot of full text NZ material on Factiva.

Top

 


What if the magazine I want isn't available full text online?

Only some of the magazines/papers on this listing are available full text online and, as noted, online coverage does not necessarily mean that every article from evey issue is included. You may need to consult the print version of the magazine. It is also worth carrying out subject searches of the New Zealand indexing databases, Newzindex or Index New Zealand to pick up references not included in the full text databases. The indexing databases will not pick up every article in each issue as they index selectively but they are useful search tools for locating material on a particular topic or by a specific author.

Top

 


Why use the library databases when the articles are on the publisher's website?

Newspaper and magazine publishers often make a selection of their current articles available on their website but these may only remain on the site for a few weeks or months before disappearing. The subscription databases mostly retain the articles for ever. You are also able to carry out sophisticated subject searches of the subscription databases whereas the search facility on publisher websites is often quite limited.

Top

 


What does 'At Bindery' mean on a catalogue record?

The Library binds many of its journals and magazines once the entire year's issues have been received. This doesn't normally take very long but if you do need an article from a magazine which is labelled 'At Bindery' you can ask at the Serials Department on Floor 1 of the General Library and they may be able to retrieve the magazine issue or article for you.

Top

 


Copyright©The University of Auckland Library
Comments and suggestions to: Margaret Tibbles
 Last updated: 11 May, 2011