TOPIC GUIDE : ANTI-CONSUMPTION

Business & Economics Information Services (BEIS)


BEIS home | BEIS Subject Guides | BEIS Subject Librarians | Business School | Ask a librarian



Books

Voyager, the Library catalogue, lists all resources held in the Library system. Find the titles on consumer behaviour by conducting a Subject Heading search with the term 'consumer behavior'. Useful subject headings are listed in the table below. Also use keywords like 'anti-consumption' and do a Keyword Relevance or Keyword Boolean search to find more resources.

Te Puna the National Bibliographic Database produced by the National Library of New Zealand, has records of about 10 million books and journals. Individual library holdings are given, a useful source for possible interlibrary loans.

The subject headings listed below link to the Library catalogue. Also use these terms when searching the databases that contain full text journals in order to find journal articles on the subject.

 


E-books

Search Voyager for e-books

Selected e-books titles:

Smart, B. (2010). Consumer society critical issues and environmental consequences. London: Sage.

Mansvelt, J. (2010). Green consumerism an A-to-Z guide. Thousand Oaks, California: Sage.

Devinney, T., Auger, M., & Eckhardt, G.M. (2010). The myth of the ethical consumer. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.

Outka, E. (2009). Consuming traditions modernity, modernism, and the commodified authentic. Oxford: Oxford University Press.

Littler, J. (2009). Radical consumption shopping for change in contemporary. Berkshire: Open University.

Shove, E., Trentmann, F., & Wilk, R. R. (2009). Time, consumption and everyday life practice, materiality and culture. Oxford: Berg.

Neve, G de. (2008). Hidden hands in the market ethnographies of fair trade, ethical consumption and corporate social responsibility. Bingley: Emerald JAI.


Journals

See also International Centre for Anti-Consumption Rearch site Reading material for articles and publications

Selected journal titles:

Advances in Consumer Research
Journal of Consumer Marketing
Journal of Consumer Research
Journal of Consumer Satisfaction, Dissatisfaction and Complaining Behaviour
Journal of Public Policy and Marketing
Journal of Marketing
Marketing Theory
Psychology & Marketing


Databases

Databases to search: Business and Economics databases. See also the list of databases specifically for marketing.

ABI/INFORM: a mixture of citations/abstracts and full text articles. Includes a large number of economics journals.

Business Source Premier: a major business database that includes many journals.

Datamonitor360 Explorer : a database providing access to company and industry profiles, historical and forecasted socio-economic and demographic data for 215 countries, plus market data for over 25 industries globally.

EconLit: indexes the international economics literature including books, journals, theses, working papers and conferences from 1969 onwards.

Emerald: U.K. focus. Over 100 peer-reviewed journals with a suite of 25 plus full-text marketing journals.

Expanded Academic: large collection of academic journals, magazines and newspapers. Includes over 60 marketing publications and 10 advertising titles.
Index New Zealand: general index to NZ newspapers and journals.

ScienceDirect: includes a good archival package of economics and econometrics journals.

Scopus: A multidisciplinary navigational tool. 80 marketing titles and a handful of advertising journals.

 


Theses and disserations


  • Theses and dissertations: use the search box to find theses from the University of Auckland. Also lists databases which cover other Universities around the world including ProQuest Dissertations and Theses.
     
  • Te Puna the National Bibliographic Database, produced by the National Library of New Zealand, has both New Zealand and some international theses. In an ADVANCED search you can construct searches similar to those described above eg. thesis economics canterbury, (make the search KEYWORD ANYWHERE not TITLE)

Organisations

Eartheasy – ideas for environmentally sustainable living (Canada)

Never Enough Anti Consumerism Campaign : a critical look at consumerism, poverty and the planet
. (UK)

Adbusters Magazine
(Canada)

Buy Nothing Christmas

Ethical consumer (UK)

Friends of the Earth

The Simple Living Network

Yahoo site Australian and NZ Anti-consumerism

Sustainable advertising

Creative Gallery on Sustainability Communications
United Nations Environment Program.

Australia

Australian Conservation Foundation

The Australia Institute


Consumption Research Network (RMIT)

New Zealand

Fair Trade Association of Australia and New Zealand

Consumers' Institute of New Zealand

Consumer magazine New Zealand (covers topics such as sustainable housing and ethical purchasing.)

New Zealand Business Council for Sustainable Development


Copyright© The University of Auckland Library
Comments and suggestions to: Justene McNeice

 Last updated: August 24, 2011