TOPIC GUIDE : ENTREPRENEURSHIP

Business & Economics Information Services (BEIS)

BEIS home  |  Subject Guides BEIS Subject Librarians  |  Business School  |  Ask a librarian


Entrepreneurship introduction

Library resources including:
Book and journals

Business plans
Case studies
Databases

Journal titles
Statistics
Theses and dissertations
for entrepreneurship

Entrepreneurship organisations and selected Internet resources
Research commercialisation

Aspects of Entrepreneurship :

Family based business

Maori entrepreneurship

Research commercialisation :

Business incubators
Innovation and startup enterprises
Patents
Venture capital

Library resources and links to:
SPARK entrepreneurship and website

The ICEHOUSE and website

New Zealand Leadership Institute website

Business Case Studies, Business Case Centre website and Champions trophy competition

 

 

 

Links to:
University of Auckland Business School and the Business School's Centre for Entrepreneural Learning business ecosystem

BEIS home


BEIS Subject Guides


BEIS subject librarians

 

Current University of Auckland courses of study in Innovation and Entrepreneurship and aligned courses
(The active links are current courses)

BUSADMIN 772
Marketing for growth
BUSADMIN 780
Managing business growth
BUSADMIN 782
Entrepreneurship and innovation
COMENT 701, 702, 703, 704, 705 Master of commercialisation
INTBUS 705
Advanced entrepreneurship
MGMT 726 Organisational change and innovation
SCIENT 705
Research commercialisation
SCIENT 706 Commercialisation project
SCIENT 722
Current issues in bioscience enterprise
SCIENT 794 Master of bioscience enterprise thesis
Entrepreneurship - introduction

The links are to research information which is freely available through websites and the University of Auckland library catalogue

Associate members of the University Library can refer to the Flexible and Offcampus Services for access to the Off Campus Services .

Non-members may wish to become Associate members or an Alumni member to access the services available

Books and other resources on entrepreneurship
The Library catalogue lists all resources held in the University's Library system. To find titles on Entrepreneurship, select the Subject Heading Search and use the term 'Entrepreneurship' or try the suggested subject headings listed below; all of which can be used in other library catalogues, databases and journal indices:

  • Business incubators
  • Business planning
  • Creative ability in business
  • Entrepreneurship
  • New business enterprises
  • New products
  • New product marketing
  • Success in business

If you are searching for electronic resources, search the Library catalogue for all electronic resources by setting Quick limits as 'all e-resources'. to access electronic resources you must use your NetID and Net Password. For more information check on becoming an Associate member

Journal titles for entrepreneurship Journal titles
The following is a selection of relevant journal titles listed below that are available through the Library's databases. The University's journal multi-database search facility searches across many databases that contain full text publications including journal articles, books, conference proceedings or technical reports, using the suggested subject headings listed above
For more journals, check the Business and Economics databases.

Advances in entrepreneurship, firm emergence and growth  
Asian business management Journal of Consumer Marketing
Asia Pacific journal of management Journal of Enterprising communities
B innovative Journal of Developmental Entrepreneurship
Bright Journal of Consumer Research
Business Ethics Quarterly Journal of Developmental Entrepreneurship
Business Week Journal of International Marketing & Marketing Research
Creativity & Innovation Management Journal of Marketing
Economics of Innovation & New Technology Journal of Marketing Research
Entrepreneur Journal of Product Innovation Management
Entrepreneurship, Innovation and Change Journal of Small Business Management
Entrepreneurship Theory and Practice Management Magazine (NZ)
European Venture Capital Journal Market Intelligence
FSB: Fortune Small Business Marketing Magazine (NZ)
Harvard Business Review Marketing News
Harvard Management Update Marketing Research
Industry & Innovation National Business Review
Infotech Weekly New Zealand Management (NZ)
International Journal of Entrepreneurship and Innovation Management NZ Business (NZ)
International Journal of Innovation Management New Zealand journal of applied business research
International Journal of Research in Marketing Small Business Monitor
Journal of Advertising Research Technovation
Journal of Business Venturing University of Auckland Business Review
Journal of business research Unlimited (NZ)

 

Business plans

Creating a business plan is the first step to turning innovation into a business proposition. Preparing a good business plan includes researching your market, presenting financial information and creating a persuasive case for proceeding to grow the business. Link to the SPARK business plans for useful information

Library catalogue
Check the Library catalogue using a Subject Heading Search, and ther suggested subject headings listed below, all of which can be used in other library catalogues, databases and journal indices. to access electronic resources.

To access some resources you must use your NetID and Net Password. For more information check on becoming an Associate member

  • business planning
  • creative ability in business
  • economic development
  • entrepreneurship
  • new business enterprises
  • new product marketing
  • new products
  • strategic planning
  • success in business
  • technological innovations

Case Studies Theses

See the guide on Case studies for hints on how to search the Library catalogue and journal databases.
Case studies can also be found on the following websites:


Databases Theses

The following is a short list of databases useful for this subject. For a full list, check: Business and Economics databases.

To access the Library database resources you must have your NetID and NetPassword. For more information click on NetAccount

ABI/Inform | Helpsheet (ProQuest)
Indexes over 2,700 business and economics periodicals and provides full text articles for nearly half of these. It has full text page images of New Zealand management, NZ journal of industrial relations and the NZ manufacturer.

Business Source Premier | Helpsheet (Ebsco)
Indexes 2,150 business journals with full text for nearly 1,140. It also contains company profiles, country and industry reports, market research reports and SWOT analyses. It offers information in nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, accounting and international business including EIU Country monitor and Country profile reports.

Emerald management xtra | Helpsheet
Emerald Management Xtra to access more than 50,000 full text articles, 185,000 reviews from the world's leading management journals, case studies, literature reviews, book reviews, conference information, interviews, profiles and 'How to...' guides.

Global Market Information Database (Euromonitor)
Euromonitor provides information and data on consumer lifestyles, consumer market sizes, companies and brands, major market profiles, country data and market analysis. Information is provided in the form of statistics, profiles, forecasts and commentary

Index New Zealand : INNZ New Zealand database for social sciences, arts, humanities and general interest material, with some Pacific material.

Market Information Digest (Library only)
Using information mostly sourced from ACNielsen SCANTRACK, this database provides New Zealand general retail trade and product category data.

Newztext Plus
Newztext Plus contains both full text and indexes for many of New Zealand's key news and business publications and is updated daily. Content from the New Zealand Herald goes online within 24 hours

ScienceDirect | Helpsheet
An excellent source of full text academic articles for business and management.


Statistics Theses

The Statistics page provides information about databases and internet sites for building and downloading tables of data; locating international data archives; locating data on specific topics, and information about the University of Auckland Library's collections. Business statistics are available under subject categories for New Zealand and International data


Entrepreneurship organisations and internet resources Theses

Organisations



  Theses and dissertations Theses

Library Theses and dissertations Use the search box to find theses from the University of Auckland. Also lists databases which cover other Universities around the world including ProQuest Theses & Dissertations. Digital Dissertations is now available on the ProQuest platform. Index of 2.5 million doctoral dissertations and masters' theses from universities worldwide, especially from North America. Indexed from 1861, abstracts from 1980, and 750,000 full-text theses from 1996.Link from here to the Researchspace@Auckland thesis repository.

 


Aspects of entrepreneurship

 


Family based business

Library catalogue
Check the Library catalogue using a Subject Heading Search, and the suggested subject headings listed below, all of which can be used in other library catalogues, databases and journal indices. to access electronic resources:

  • Family-owned business enterprises

To access some resources you must use your NetID and Net Password. For more information check on becoming an Associate member

Selected institutes and reports


 

Māori entrepreneurship

Library catalogue
Check the Library catalogue using a Subject Heading Search, and ther suggested subject headings listed below, all of which can be used in other library catalogues, databases and journal indices. to access electronic resources:

  • Maori business

To access some resources you must use your NetID and Net Password. For more information check on becoming an Associate member

Selected articles on Maori entrepreneurship:

There are also links to Maori business research : information and resources and Subject Guides - Maori and Foundation for Research, Science and Technology Maori innovation



Copyright©The University of Auckland Library
Comments and suggestions to: Gillian Ralph
 Last updated: 2 February, 2012