TOPIC GUIDE : CORPORATE GOVERNANCE
Business & Economics Information Services (BEIS)
|
BEIS home | BEIS Subject Guides | BEIS Subject Librarians | Business School | Ask a librarian
|
| Contents
Definitions and glossaries
Electronic publications
World Institutes and Corporate
Governance Centres
New Zealand organisations
Serials
Theses and Dissertations
Recent University of Auckland theses
Company
information
Law and regulation, NZ, USA, International
Corporate governance ratings and rankings
Databases and journal articles
Conferences and symposia
Library information |
See also:
New Zealand Governance Centre
Accounting
and Finance Subject page
University
of Auckland Library
University of Auckland
Business School |
Definitions
and glossaries for Corporate governance  |
Electronic publications  |
Journal articles
|
World Institutes and Corporate Governance Centres  |
|
USA
Canada
|
|
New Zealand organisations
 |
Corporate social responsibility is concerned with the social
and ethical performance of companies (employees, charity,
environment, corporate governance, ethical consumers, social
accounting and auditing, etc)
Social
and environmental accounting includes environmental audits, social accounting , triple bottom line,
disclosure, physical, social and natural capital
|
|
Serials  |
| Some corporate governance journal titles electronically available from
the University of Auckland library: |
|
- International corporate governance publications - a
worldwide list from Change Leaders (US)
- Global Proxy Watch - tracks shareowner activism across
borders and initiatives by companies, governments and stock
exchanges to reform or block corporate governance
- Directorship Magazine - the leading magazine for today's
corporate officers and board directors, as well as the various
constituencies that support them. Directorship magazine provides the most up to date
insights into corporate governance and identifies the latest in
committee best practices, regulatory changes, board and
management relations, enterprise risk management, and
compensation strategy - on a level that is appreciated and
understood by
- Governance Publishing - an UK monthly newsletter on issues of corporate
governance, boardroom performance and shareholder activism
|
|
Theses and dissertations  |
|
Recent University of Auckland theses on corporate
governance:  |
| Mohamad Ariff, Akmalia (2011). The value relevance of voluntary disclosure of intangibles: evidence from East Asia. Thesis
(PhD-Accounting) University of Auckland. Available online in Researchspace. |
| Liu, Yubo. (2010). Private benefits of control: an international convergence. Thesis (MCom-Finance) University of Auckland. Available online. Thesis 11-144. |
| Arora, Srimaye Kudmula. (2010). The nexus of governance and leadership in knowledge-intensive firms: a case study of a New Zealand based architectural practice. Thesis (MCom-Management & International Business) University of Auckland. Thesis 10-391 |
| Chan, Winson. (2009). Board governance and acquirer's returns : a study of Australian acquisitions. Thesis (MCom -Finance) University of Auckland. Thesis 10-224 |
| Feng, Yisheng (2009) An empirical investigation of the association between corporate governance effectiveness and earnings quality. Thesis (MCom-Accounting & Finance) University of Auckland. |
| Overall, Joanna. (2009) Governance and family firms: an exploratory study. Thesis (MCom-Management & International Business) University of Auckland. Thesis 09-376. |
| Abdul Wahab, Effiezal
Aswadi. (2008) Corporate governance reform in Malaysia
: compliance, institutional investors and firm
performance. Thesis
(PhD--Accounting)--University of Auckland.
Thesis 08-093 |
Company information  |
| There are company guides listing links and library
resources for New Zealand Companies, and also International Companies |
| Sources for full text Annual reports |
- NZX Company Research
Database by the New Zealand Stock
Exchange. Information on listed companies and NZX prices and
sectors. Includes stock exchange announcements by company or keyword,
major shareholders, financial profiles, prices, capital events,
indices, company history, and a research area which includes NZX
prices and indices
- NZX Annual reports contains full text annual reports now go back to
1998 and includes some Australian companies, and
New Zealand companies listed in Australia
- Mergent Online
Company information, detailed information from annual reports,
including financials, and news are available back to 15 years and more
for most listed US and International companies including New
Zealand listed companies. It is possible to compare companies'
data using a variety of settings and formats. The reports can
then be customised and exported into software applications such
as Microsoft Word, Excel or Adobe Acrobat Reader.
- US - EDGAR, Securities
Exchange Commission Filings and forms database for US companies.
- International Company Annual
Reports Online (CAROL) you need to register, but it has worldwide
company annual reports.
- SCORE is a collection of printed company annual report collections for the UK.
|
Law and regulation  |
| New Zealand
International
|
Corporate
governance rankings and filings  |
| Ratings are weightings calculated
to show corporate effectiveness. There are commercial sources for this,
but this site is now free.Yahoo!
Finance - ISSD Corporate Governance Quotient (CGQ). To
find the CGQ find the company by ticker symbol and click to links to
Company profile. |
Databases and journal
articles  |
Lists of databases relevant to
corporate governance research, with brief
descriptions of content, are linked below. Also use international search engines Google Scholar and OAIster for open access
full text publications.
Note: to access the electronic
resources you must be a member of the Library and have a NetID and NetPassword. For more information click on the
Library's Membership Policy. Library databases are listed on the
Business Databases page. Check
the Interdisciplinary databases list too.
A
selection of the best includes:
- ABI/INFORM
Indexes over 1,400 business and economics periodicals and
provides full text articles for nearly half of these. It has
full text page images of New Zealand management, NZ journal of
industrial relations and the NZ manufacturer. ABI Inform
includes the titles Business ethics, Business ethics
quarterly, Business and society, Journal of business ethics,
Journal of business strategy, Corporate social responsibility
and environmental management, Business renaissance quarterly
- Business Source Premier
Indexes 2,630 business journals with full text for nearly 2,080.
Covers management, economics, finance, accounting and
international business. Includes the full text and page images
for the Harvard Business Review, Country Monitor and Industry
Yearbook Reports from WEFA, and EIU Country monitor and Country
profile reports.Business Source Premier includes such titles as
: Harvard business review, Corporate communications :an
international journal
- ScienceDirect
Mostly full text database including coverage of economics,
business and management science. ScienceDirect database includes
the journals Accounting organizations and society, Auditing
and accounting journal, Accounting forum, Ethics and the
environment and British accounting review
- Scopus is a multidisciplinary navigational tool across
scientific information, and is a good source for environmental
science. The Scopus database includes titles like Corporate
environmental strategy, Journal of business ethics, Business
strategy and the environment, Corporate governance, Corporate
social responsibility, Corporate social responsibility and
environmental management, and Journal of ethics
- Emerald
Over 100 full text journals covering marketing, human
resources, quality management, operations, production &
economics and general management. Articles have an academic
focus. The
Emerald database includes journals like Society and business
review, Corporate governance, and Social responsibility
journal.
- Google
Scholar provides a search of scholarly literature across
many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts
and articles. Many of the results are available in full text.
|
| New Zealand
databases |
- Factiva
Australian newspaper and journal article database plus company information and
financials, includes New Zealand companies.
- Newztext Plus
A collection of the fulltext articles from many of New Zealand's
key business publications (National Business Review, NZ
Business, the Independent) and newspapers including the NZ
Herald.User guides for Newztext Plus are available on the
Database connect page.
- Newzindex
Newzindex indexes articles of interest to business from major
daily New Zealand newspapers and business periodicals. See Finding NZ business magazines and newspapers to locate the
articles.
- Index New Zealand (INNZ)
Indexes New Zealand content journals. More academic in
orientation than Newztext or Newzindex but no full text content.
INNZ indexes the Chartered Accountants journal of New Zealand.
To find articles in their full text, simply check on Voyager
where the journal is in the library or on another database.
|
Conferences and symposia  |
|
Library information  |
|
Comments and suggestions to: Julie Sibthorpe
Last updated:
17 June, 2011
|