Analysing & writing case studies - web links 
Collections of case studies 
New Zealand
- University
of Auckland Business Case Centre
- Case studies: New Zealand businesses in Australia New Zealand Trade
and Enterprise.
(freely available)
- CANZ (Competitive Advantage New Zealand) University of Victoria. Several New Zealand company case
histories, freely available
- Case studies on New Zealand businesses that are using the Internet and e-commerce N.Z. Ministry
of Economic Development Ecommerce Guide for Business. (freely available)
- New
Zealand Business Case Research Centre Otago University (cases forthcoming)
- Investment NZ scroll down page to locate case studies on bioscience, creative industries, ICT & food & beverage
- I-Start New Zealand
ICT e-business portal has a number of freely available N.Z. business cases
- Business Case Studies Immigration New Zealand. Freely available case studies that showcase successful N.Z. businesses
- Case Studies, Workplace Productivity in Practice New Zealand Department of Labour (freely available)
- Case Studies, work Life Balance in New Zealand New Zealand Department of Labour (freely available)
- Case Studies, Partnership Resource Centre New Zealand Department of Labour (cases on NZ companies, freely available)
- Case Studies Australia & New Zealand School of Government, Topical case studies for public sector management development, available to members.
- Sustainable Tourism Case Studies New Zealand Ministry of the Environment, (5 freely available)
- Australian Business Case Studies includes New Zealand cases and
learning activities (freely available)
International
Business case study journals 
Links are to journal web sites or access via the Library catalogue. Access to library journals require Netaccount log in.
Finding
New Zealand business case
study information
In New Zealand business databases
Newztext is a useful database for finding New Zealand companies scenarios and mini case studies. Search in the newspaper or magazine fields by name of company to retrieve news items and articles on New Zealand businesses.
In the University of Auckland Library
Use a Guided Keyword Search in the Library catalogue. Search for case studies as a phrase, combine with additional search
terms in the second search box such as Management, New Zealand etc.
Use these preset subject headings searches to locate for case study materials in the Library catalogue. These terms listed below can be used in a subject field search in the library catalogue:
Selected titles on New Zealand case studies held in the Library
Bartol, T. Tein, M. Matthews M & Martin, D. (Eds.), Management: A Pacific Rim Focus (4th ed.) North Ryde: McGraw Hill.
Batley T. (Ed.), Business Case Studies in Operations Management. Auckland: Prentice Hall.
Clark, D. (2001) Strategic management cases, Auckland, N.Z. : Prentice Hall.
Dunn W. & Hunter, I. (2008) Managing in an international context : New Zealand case series, a McGraw-Hill Custom publication prepared for the University of Auckland Business Case Centre .North Ryde, NSW : McGraw-Hill Australia.
Enderwick, P & Akoorie, M. (1996) Fast forward : New Zealand business in world markets Auckland, N.Z. : Longman Paul.
Elkin G. (Ed.), Human resource management in action. Contemporary New Zealand cases-Vol 2. (pp. 30-32). Palmerston North: Dunmore Press Limited.
Elkin G. (Ed.), Organisational behaviour in action: Contemporary New Zealand case studies and learning materials for management education and training. University of Otago, Dunedin: Centre for Management Cases.
Frederick, H. Kuratko D. & Hodgetts, R. (Eds.), Entrepreneurship. Theory, process & practice. Asia-Pacific Edition Melbourne:Thomson. Hill, C. Cronk, T. & Wickramasekera, R. (Eds.), Global business today: An Asia-Pacific perspective. Melbourne, Australia: McGraw-Hill Education.
Hooper,V. (2007) New Zealand case studies in information systems Auckland, N.Z. : Pearson Education New Zealand.
Inkson K. & Kolb, D. (2002) Management: perspectives for New Zealand. Auckland, N.Z. : Pearson Education.
Jackson B. & Parry K. (2001) The hero manager: learning from New Zealand’s top chief executives Auckland: Penguin.
Lewis et al. (1996) Cases in strategic management: Australia and New Zealand Edition: 2nd ed. Sydney [N.S.W.] : Prentice Hall.
Millar S. & Theunissen, C. (2008) Managing organisations in New Zealand Edition: 3rd ed.North Shore, N.Z. : Pearson Education.
Mulholland, M. (with the assistance of Te Au Rangahau) (2006) He wairere pakihi : Māori business case studies. Palmerston North, N.Z. : Massey University, College of Business Studies.
Page, D. J. & Zorn, T.E. (2007) Management communication : New Zealand and Australian case studies Auckland, N.Z. : Pearson Prentice Hall
Poulin, B. Mills, B. & Spiller, D. (1998) Strategy and management : a New Zealand casebook Auckland, N.Z. : Longman.
Ramburuth, P. & Welch, C. (Eds.), Casebook in international business. Australian and Asia-Pacific Perspectives, Frenchs Forest, Australia: Pearson Education Australia.
Smollan, R. Sisley, R & Le Fevre, M.(200) Applied management : New Zealand case studies Palmerston North, N.Z. Dunmore Press.
Smyth, N. , Norman L. & Ikin, M. (2008) Taking care of business : indigenous business case studies : sharing our vision, determining our future, impacting our world. Te Kuiti, N.Z. : Aotahi, 2008.
.Wilson, M.(Ed.) (2005) Case in point : best cases from the 2005 International Conference on Case Study Teaching and Learning Auckland, N.Z. : GSE Publications, 2005.
Winsley,P. Gilbertson, D. & Couchman, P. (2001) Managing innovation in New Zealand : case studies. Volumes I, II & III. Palmerston North, N.Z. : Dunmore Press.
Finding international case studies in the Library business databases 
- Most business databases allow you combine "case study" as a subject term with other subject terms and keywords
- Limit your results to academic or scholarly material only
Harvard Business Review case studies in Business Source Premier
The Harvard Business Review publishes a case study (usually
fictional) in each issue. These can be located in Business Source Premier database by combining Harvard Business Review in the Publication Name field with case studies in the Subject Terms field:

Or enter Harvard Business Review in the Publication Name field and scroll down to the Document Type box and select Case Study:

- Business
and Management Practices Database - select case studies as a document type in a search
- Datamonitor case studies - search the Library catalogue for the Datamonitor case study series. Enter keywords datamonitor case study to retrieve the series.
- Emerald Management Xtra database
- select Advanced search feature to be able to limit searches to article types and select case study
- Factiva - use "case study" in the headline and lead paragraph,
then combine with terms from company, subject, industry or region pull-down menus
- Google Scholar - search Google Scholar for cases combining "case studies" with other keywords and phrases
International case study clearing houses for cases for teaching 
- Access is through individual purchase
- Case studies may be purchased as class sets for teaching purposes. These are organised through the academic department and not through the library
- Abstracts are often available from these collections, but most require payment for the full text
of each case
- There are some New Zealand cases in these collections
Business case clearing houses
|