| |
| Reference List |
|
In-text Citation |
| |
|
|
1. Items from library databases - general tips  |
|
| |
| Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year, month day - enter month day if available). Title of article. Title of Publication, Volume(issue number), xxx-xxx. Retrieved from [name of library database]. |
| |
- Give the complete name of the library database rather than the URL of the web page
- If the article has page numbers include them in the reference
- For citations with no author, begin with the title first
- Do not capitalize the article title - only the first word of the title, the first word of any subtitle and proper nouns
- Do not place quote marks around the title of the article
- The name of the publication (ie. journal) is capitalised
- Include the issue number if available
- Note the volume number is italicised, the issue number isn't
- Full stops are used at the end of each element and at the end of the citation
- The large international databases such as ABI/Inform and Business Source Premier have citation makers. Newztext Plus does not - you must carefully note all information required to make your citation
- 2010 6th ed update: Retrieval dates are only required for online sources which may change over time, such as wikis - library databases include 'stable' content therefore retrieval dates are not required
|
- For in-text citations where there are no page numbers use the the abbreviation para. or the ¶ symbol and include the paragraph number
|
Smith (2002, para.6) found that the key to student success was to "learn to cite correctly". or As Smith (2002,¶ 6), wisely stated, "learn to cite correctly". |
|
|
1.1 Newztext Plus  |
|
- A citation to a printed newspaper, such as the New Zealand Herald indexed in Newztext Plus, includes p. or pp in front of the page number(s). Eg p. A3 or pp. A1, A3 - made up of section eg A and page numbers 1 and 3
|
|
New Zealand Herald article from Newztext Plus:
Donovan, B. (2008, August 7). New childcare laws threaten gym crèches. New Zealand Herald, p. A3. Retrieved from Newztext Plus Database.
|
According to Donovan (2008) new child care laws will make it even harder for gyms. or
New child care laws are harming gym profits (Donovan, 2008). |
|
|
1.2 ABI Inform (Proquest) / Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost)  |
|
Anderson, J. (2005, September). The great chinese bank sale. Far Eastern Economic Review, 168(8),
7-12. Retrieved from ABI/Inform database.
|
|
Steverman, B. (2009, March 12). Where cautious consumers are causing chaos. Business Week Online, 13. Retrieved from Business Source Premier database.
|
The current recession is limiting the number of gym memberships (Steverman, 2009). |
No author example - begin with the article title first, followed by date:
The incredible shrinking funds. (2008, October 24). The Economist, 389(8603), 83-85. Retrieved from Business Source Premier database.
|
|
|
1.3 Global Market Information Database  |
|
| GMID provides market reports, comment and statistics. The reports can be global, country, industry or company. Using the description of form, in square brackets after the title, helps identify the type of material you have used from this database. Euromonitor International, the publisher of this database, is treated as corporate author. |
|
| Euromonitor International. (2007, October 3). The changing role of men: How this is affecting purchasing habits [Global report]. Retrieved from Global Market Information Database. |
|
| Euromonitor International. (2010, March 9). Beer in New Zealand [Country report]. Retrieved from Global Market Information Database. |
|
In this example the report has no date, the retrieval date is included as this information may change over time:
Euromonitor International. (n.d.) Alcoholic drinks in New Zealand [Industry report]. Retrieved April 4, 2011, from Global Market Information Database. |
|
| Euromonitor International. (2010, March 9). Lion Nathan Ltd in alcoholic drinks (New Zealand) [Company profile]. Retrieved from Global Market Information Database. |
|
| Euromonitor International. (2009, September 25). New product developments in beer: less is more [Comment]. Retrieved from Global Market Information Database. |
|
|
|
1.4 Academic articles and DOI's  |
|
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year, month day - enter month day if available). Title of article. Title of Publication, Volume(issue number), xxx-xxx. doi:
|
|
- As URL’s can potentially change, APA 6th ed. now recommends providing a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) to online scholarly journal articles
- A DOI is a unique alpha-numeric code assigned to individual online works
- You are not likely to see a DOI with a popular magazine or newspaper article
- For any article assigned a DOI, the database name or URL is not required
- No fullstop occurs after the DOI
Finding the article DOI
- If the DOI is not easily located within the database citation, you can enter the article details at this site to check if a DOI exists: CrossRef.org DOI Lookup
- You can also use a DOI to retrieve the fulltext of an article at this site: DOI resolver website. Enter the DOI ie 10.1016/j.jbusres.2008.06.019 in the Resolve a DOI Name search box
- TIPS:
- Since DOI numbers are complex, we suggest copying and pasting the DOI into the reference
- Follow the new APA DOI formats if you are instructed to do so in your written work. It may be acceptable to follow older formats if you have not been requested to make the change and note that many citing tools in the Library databases have not yet updated to the new DOI format
See also
|
|
This example is from the Emerald Management Xtra database:
Ruth, D. (2007). Management development in New Zealand. Journal of European Industrial Training, 31(1), 52-67. doi:10.1108/03090590710721736 |
Survey results indicate an increase in the number of managers in companies in New Zealand (Ruth, 2007) |
This example is from the ScienceDirect database:
Herington, C., Johnson, L. W., & Scott, D. (2009, November). Firm-employee relationship strength – A conceptual model. Journal of Business Research, 62(11), 1096-1107. doi:10.1016/j.jbusres.2008.06.019 |
|
|
1.5 Company reports |
|
Company reports may be accessed from library databases or from public domain websites, such as the company website, or read in print. The source you use determines the format of the citation.
- An annual report is treated as a book, place of publication and publisher are added to the citation.
- Note the word 'Author' is used as the publisher when the author and publisher are the same.
|
|
From the NZX Annual Reports library database:
Pumpkin Patch Limited. (2010). Annual Report 2010. Auckland: Author. Retrieved from NZX Annual Reports database. |
Pumpkin Patch Limited (2010) |
From the company website:
Pumpkin Patch Limited. (2010). Annual Report 2010. Auckland: Author. Retrieved from http://www.pumpkinpatch.biz/documents/238_PPL_2010_Annual_Report.pdf |
|
Read in print:
Pumpkin Patch Limited. (2010). Annual Report 2010. Auckland: Author. |
|
|
|
2. Websites - general tips  |
|
| |
|
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year, month day - enter month day if available). Title of article. Title of Publication. Retrieved [month day, year], from URL
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year, month day - enter month day if available). Title of article. Title of Publication. doi: |
|
| |
|
- Where the citation ends with an URL or DOI no full stop is placed at the end of the citation
- 2010 6th ed update: Retrieval dates are only required for online sources which may change over time, such as wikis
- If your reference continues to a second line, indent the second line 3 spaces (examples in sample reference list above)
- If the URL goes to another line, break it before a slash or before a stop
|
|
|
|
2.1 Online journal or magazine article  |
|
- An online article may be different to the print version of the article, with no page numbers, volume or issue number
- Include the year and month
|
|
Brown, R. (2003, October). God defend the All Black brand. Unlimited Magazine. Retrieved
from http://www.unlimited.co.nz/unlimited.nsf/UNID/13565E280545E3FACC256D
|
|
|
|
2.2 Online newspaper article  |
|
- A newspaper website eg The New Zealand Herald, is considered stable therefore retrieval dates are not required
- Online newspaper articles do not have page numbers, so page numbers are not included in the citation
- Provide the homepage URL (in case the internal website reference to the article does change)
|
|
New Zealand Herald article from publisher's website:
Hembry, O. (2008, June 25). Fonterra boosts Aussie presence. The New Zealand Herald. Retrieved from
www.nzherald.co.nz
|
Fonterra will be the third largest player in the yoghurt and dairy dessert business in Australia (Hembry, 2008). |
|
|
2.3 Online article 'in press'  |
|
- An online article in press is not yet formally published. A volume number and pages numbers are not assigned
- The description in press replaces the date information. Use a lower case ‘i’
- Full stops are used between the different elements of the citation
- The final version of the article will be assigned a volume number and page numbers.
- TIP: Doublecheck your reference before submitting your assignment in case the citation has altered to the final version
|
|
In press
Herington, C., Johnson, L. W., & Scott, D. (in press). Firm-employee relationship strength – A conceptual model. Journal of Business Research. doi:10.1016/j.jbusres.2008.06.019
|
|
Final version
Herington, C., Johnson, L. W., & Scott, D. (2009, November). Firm-employee relationship strength – A conceptual model. Journal of Business Research, 62(11), 1096-1107. doi:10.1016/j.jbusres.2008.06.019
|
|
|
|
2.4 Website - corporate author see also 2.9 |
|
- Company and government websites - where no individual name is attributed to the material, add the institution as the author
- Press releases are good examples of citations where the work is attributed to the organisation
- Do not capitalize the title - only the first word of the title, the first word of any subtitle and proper nouns
- Description of form - these examples also have a description added in square brackets after the date, to help identify the material
- A retrieval date is not required. APA 6th ed advises this is only required for online sources which may change over time, such as wikis
|
|
Fonterra. (2009, April 28). Fonterra exits joint venture in India. [Press Release]. Retrieved from http://www.scoop.co.nz/
|
Fonterra is planning to leave the India marketplace (Fonterra, 2009). |
Flinders Medical Centre. (2008, February). Redesigning care. [Brochure]. Retrieved from http://www.flinders.sa.gov.au/redesigningcare/files/pages/FMC_A_World_Leader_flyer.pdf
|
|
|
|
2.5 Website - working papers  |
|
- The working paper number appears immediately after the title of the paper
|
|
Dooley, M. P., Folkerts-Landau, D. & Garber, P. (2003, September). An essay on the revived Bretton Woods System (No. 9971). NBER Working Paper. Retrieved from http://www.nber.org/papers/w9971 |
|
|
|
2.6 Website - no author  |
|
- For website citations with no author, begin with the title first
- Do not capitalize the title - only the first word of the title, the first word of any subtitle and proper nouns
- Description of form - this example also has a description added in square brackets after the date, to help identify the material
- The in-text citation uses the first two words of the title capitalised, in double quote marks in place of an author's name and the quote is referenced to a paragraph number in the text as there are no page numbers
|
|
|
|
2.7 Website - no date, content may change  |
|
- Where there is no date add (n.d.)
- 2010 6th ed update: Retrieval dates are required for online sources which may change over time
- Add the complete URL
|
|
Fonterra. Global food trends. (n.d.). Retrieved September 25, 2009, from http://www.fonterra.com/wps/wcm/connect
/fonterracom/fonterra.com
/Our+Products/Dairy+and+Nutrition/Global+Food+
Trends/
|
"Overall demand for dairy is rising by around two percent each year throughout the world" (Fonterra, n.d. para. 8). |
|
|
2.8 Large websites  |
|
- For information contained within large websites with lots of pages, identify the organisation and the relevant department or sub-section
- Include the term website: followed by URL
- The in-text citation uses the first two words of the title capitalised, in double quote marks in place of an author's name and the quote is referenced to a paragraph number in the text as there are no page numbers
|
|
University of Auckland. (2009, September 22). Corporate psychopath employees a heavy toll on New Zealand businesses. Retrieved from The University of Auckland, Business School website: http://www.business.auckland.ac.nz
/Schoolhome/News/Corporatepsychopathemployeesaheavytoll/tabid/1861/Default.aspx
|
"Up to one-in-ten New Zealand workplaces harbour a psychopathically-oriented worker" (University of Auckland, 2009, para. 1). |
|
|
2.9 Referencing more than one webpage within a website see also 2.4 |
|
- When referencing more than one webpage of information within a corporate or government website provide an URL that links to the homepage or entry page for the document
- Include the retrieval date if the content of the online source may change over time
|
|
Statistics New Zealand. (2009). New Zealand in profile: 2009. Retrieved from http://www.stats.govt.nz |
In 2007, 16% of the average household income was spent on food (Statistics New Zealand, 2009). |
Vodafone NZ Ltd. (2009). Waikato Rugby Union: Case study. Retrieved 6 October, 2009, from http://www.vodafone.co.nz |
|
|
|
2.10 Blog post  |
|
- The same rules for citing to a website apply
- The author's name becomes the 'screen name'
- The subject line of the message is the 'title'
- APA uses this Description of form for a blog post [Web log message]
- Add the complete URL
|
|
Happy As. (2009, September 13). Does drinking vitamin and mineral-enriched milk improve your health? [Web log message]. Retrieved from http://blogs.nzherald.co.nz/blog/your-views/2009/9/2/do-you-think
-drinking-vitamin-and-mineral-enriched-milk-improves-your-health/?c_id=168
|
Popular opinion does not support Fonterra's position that mineral supplements are required in milk (Happy As, 2009). |
2.11 Images from the web  |
|
- Any format of material you get from another source needs to be referenced, this includes images or photographs from the web.
- Note any particular copyright criteria associated with the image - you will need to gain permission from the author or copyright holder before use.
|
|
When an image is included in the body of an assignment it is treated as a Figure under APA rules. You provide a numbered caption to the figure immediately under the image. The word Source is included with the author date information in round brackets:
Figure 1: Description or title of image (Source: Author, Date).
In the Reference List a fuller citation including url is given. A Description of Form in square brackets is added, noting the work is a Photograph:
Author/Artist last name, initials.
(Year). Title of work [Photograph]. Retrieved from URL
|
|
|
3. Ebooks - general tips  |
|
Reference the item according to the format in which you read it
This applies most commonly to ebooks. The Library often has the same book title available in print and e-book format.
Sarah reads the print copy and would therefore cite the book in APA print book style as:
- Belbin, M. (1993). Team roles at work. Oxford: Butterworth-Heinemann.
Whereas Jason reads the e-book copy of the same book and he would reference the book as an electronic source, giving name of the database which has the e-book files.
- Belbin, M. (1993). Team roles at work. Retrieved from Ebsco database.
|
Whether the book is accessed in print or as an e-copy, the in-text citation is the same, (Belbin, 1993). |
3.1 Ebooks accessed from the Library website  |
|
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year). Title of work (edition statement). Retrieved from [name of library database].
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Ed.s.). (Year). Title of work (edition statement). Retrieved from [name of library database].
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year). Title of work (edition statement). doi:
|
|
- The Library makes ebooks available from a range of publishers. Rather than entering the Location: Publisher details a statement is added to indicate the database you accessed the ebook from.
|
|
Parker, G. M. (2008). Team players and team work: New strategies for developing successful collaboration (2nd ed.). Retrieved from Ebsco database.
|
|
Till, B. D., & Heckler, D. (2008). The truth about creating brands people love. Retrieved from Safari Tech Books Online database.
|
|
Aydogan, N. (Ed.). (2008). Innovation policies, business creation and economic development: a comparative approach. Retrieved from SpringerLink database.
|
|
Cleland, D. I., & Gareis, R. (Ed.s.). (2007). Global project management handbook: Planning, organizing, and controlling international projects (2nd ed.). Retrieved from ebrary database.
|
|
|
|
3.2 A chapter within an ebook  |
|
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year). Title of chapter. In A. Editor, B. Editor & C. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (edition statement) (pp. xxx-xxx). Retrieved from [name of library database or URL].
|
|
- Reference this way when the ebook has chapters by different authors and has an editor/s
- Note that the editors names are entered in the format initials then surname
|
|
Triffin, R. (1997). The myth and realities of the so-called gold standard. In B. Eichengreen & M. Flandreau (Ed.s). The gold standard in theory and history (2nd ed.) (pp. 140-160). Retrieved from ebrary database.
|
|
|
|
3.3 Ebooks accessed from the web  |
|
2010 6th ed update:
- Use Available from when the URL leads to information on how to obtain the book, rather than the full book itself
|
|
Eg. Google Books - limited preview only, with the site providing links to obtain the fulltext
Geffner, A. B. (2004). Business English : a complete guide to developing an effective business writing style (4th ed.). Hauppauge, N.Y. : Barron's Educational Series. Available from Google Books.
|
|
- Use Retrieved from when the whole item is available online. In this example the electronic retrieval source statement replaces the publisher location and name
|
|
Eg. Ebook - free download. If the content is only available in electronic format or is hard to find in print, include the source location
Henney, N. (1922). The Book of business etiquette. Retrieved from http://www.gutenberg.org/etext/23025
|
|
| |
|
|
4. Online course material in CECIL  |
|
These examples cover course related materials
- When you are citing a number works by the same author use a, b, etc after the date. This allows you to distinguish the separate sources within you in-text citations
|
|
4.1 Lecturer's notes  |
|
Callagher, L. (2009a). Team contracts for team management. Retrieved from The University of Auckland CECIL website, MGMT 191 Introduction to Business.
|
Team contracts require equal input from all members (Callagher, 2009a). |
|
|
4.2 A powerpoint presentation  |
|
- Note that a description of form is added to this citation [PowerPoint slides]
|
Callagher, L. (2009b). Team contracts for management [PowerPoint slides]. Retrieved from The University of Auckland CECIL website, MGMT 191 Introduction to Business.
|
Callagher (2009b) presents a list of strategies for teams in trouble. |
|
|
4.3 Lecturer / student emails - personal communication  |
|
E-mail citations are not included in the reference list, although you can include them in your text as a personal communication
- A personal communication can be personal interviews, letters, memos, emails, telephone conversations etc. These non recoverable personal communications are NOT included in the reference list
- When citing a personal communication try to provide an exact a date
as possible and include initials with surname
|
Capital gains tax is certain to be introduced within the next four years (T. Franks, personal communication, May 10, 2009).
B. S Wilson, (personal communication, March 25, 2009) believes that University of Auckland students will find exceptional careers. |
|
|
4.4 A recorded lecture  |
|
| You need to reference the lecturer's name, the year, the name of the lecture recording, include a description of form [Lecture recording] and include website details, eg.: |
|
Hedges, M. (2009). Week 2 lecture on applications of demand and supply [Lecture recording]. Retrieved from The University of Auckland website http://commedia.com.auckland.ac.nz/ECON101
|
|
|
|
4.5 Readings from the Library's Course Reserves  |
|
- Digitised book chapters - in this example the chapter is by a different author to the book editor
- Note the editor's name occurs with initial then surname
|
|
Smith, P. (2009). The New Zealand wine industry. In: M. Morse (Ed.). The South Pacific wine industry, (Chapter 4). Auckland: Pedal Press. Retrieved from The University of Auckland Library Course Reserves website BUSINESS 192 Business Management
|
|
| |
|
|
5. Other formats  |
|
5.1 Computer software  |
|
Do not cite software such as Word, Excel or programming languages. Provide references only for specialised software.
- Include a description of form [Computer software]
- For the in-text citations use the ¶ symbol to denote paragraphs in electronic files where there are no page numbers
|
|
Amos, D. (2008). Concept mapping [Computer software]. New York: Techsite Media.
|
“Four variables are required for the data tree map” (Amos, 2008, ¶ 5). |
- Provide the version and web address for software downloaded from a website
|
|
Cecire, B., Paltrow, B., & Zhang, K. (2009). Mindmapping: Learn optimization skills (Version 5.1) [Computer software]. Retrieved from http://www.mindmapping.com
|
Mind mapping has been recommended as an initial research step (Cecire, Paltrow & Zhang, 2009). |
| |
|
5.2 Numeric data  |
|
| These examples help with citing data generated from products such as Table Builder on the Statistics NZ website, or the library databases World Development Indicators or Global Market Information Database.
- (n.d.) applies. A user generated data set is not treated as a formal publication with a publication date. It is created by the selection of variables on a particular day, this date is used as the retrieval statement.
- Italicise the title of the data set, begin with Statistics for ...
- Use the Description of form [Data file] immediately after the title and include information to allow others to recreate the data
|
|
- Table Builder - in this example customised data on ethnicity by age from the 2006 Census was generated.
The organisation is treated as corporate author.
Table Builder is added to the url to identify this programme within the Statistics New Zealand site:
Statistics New Zealand. (n.d.). Statistics for ethnic group by age [Data file, Ethnic group, by age, 2006 Census]. Retrieved April 4, 2011, from Table Builder http://www.stats.govt.nz/tools_and_services/tools/tablebuilder.aspx
|
|
- World Development Indicators - in this example customised data on long term unemployment within OECD countries for the years 2000 to 2009 was generated. The World Bank is treated as corporate author. The variables used to generate the data are added to the description of form. The library database name is provided, an url is not required:
World Bank. (n.d.). Statistics for long term unemployment OECD countries [Data file, long term unemployment (% of total unemployment), OECD countries, 2000-2009]. Retrieved April 4, 2011, from World Development Indicators database.
|
|
- Global Market Information Database - in this example customised data on consumer expenditure on beer in New Zealand per household was generated. Euromonitor International, the publisher of this data, is treated as corporate author:
Euromonitor International. (n.d.). Statistics for consumer expenditure on beer in New Zealand [Data file, consumer expenditure on beer, NZ$ per household, 2005-2010]. Retrieved April 4, 2011, from Global Market Information Database.
|
|
|
| 6. Audiovisual material |
|
6.1 Videos / DVDs  |
|
Producer, A. A. (Producer). (Year). Title of video [Video recording] or [DVD]. City or country of origin: Studio.
|
|
- TIP: If it is a library item, check Voyager / the library catalogue to ensure that you have all the details
|
|
University of Auckland. (Producer). (2003). Winemaking in New Zealand [Video recording]. Auckland:
University of Auckland Educational Media Centre.
|
|
| |
|
6.2 YouTube video clips  |
|
- Treat the producer of the clip as author, with (Producer) immediately following
- If authorship is unknown, begin with the title, followed by date
- Use (n.d.). if the date is not known
- Include a description of form [Video webcast] for a YouTube video:
|
|
3 News (Producer). (n.d.). Spark launch 2009 (TV3) [Video webcast]. Retrieved October 2, 2009 from http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tfew4GbnzfU
|
The University of Auckland Business School encourages business ideas and leadership from budding entrepreneurs (3 News, n.d.). |
|
|
6.3 TV programmes on the web  |
|
- For TV programmes made available as video on demand on a channel's website, fuller details are added than for a YouTube posting
- For a programme in a series, such as the 60 Minutes example below, the format follows the same style as a chapter in a book. The description of form [Television series episode] is added
- The city or country and programme studio are treated as publication place and publisher
- The URL is given in this example as the item is available on the web
|
|
3 News (Producer). (2009, June 5). Lord of the rings: Michael Hill jeweller [Television series episode]. In 60 Minutes. Auckland: 3 News. Retrieved from http://www.3news.co.nz
/Michael-Hill- Jeweller/tabid/371/articleID
/107426/cat/31/Default.aspx
|
|
|
7. Books - general tips  |
|
- Refer to authors using only initials for first names
- Do not capitalize the book title - only the first word of the title, the first word of any subtitle and proper nouns
- The title of the book is written in italics
- Edition statement - occurs immediately after the title, with no fullstop or comma in between
- Put a colon (:) between place of publication and publisher's name
- Full stops are used at the end of each element and at the end of the citation
|
|
7.1 Books - one author  |
|
Author, A. A. (Year). Title of book. Place of publication: Publisher.
|
|
Hale, P. (2009). Teamwork that works. Auckland: Freewheel Press.
|
"The crux of a team is its leader" (Hale, 2009, p. 45). |
|
|
7.2 Books - two to six authors  |
|
- List out all author names using an ampersand (&) before the last author. The format of surname, then initials remains the same for all authors
|
|
Mankiw, N. G., Bandyopadhyay, D., &
Wooding, P. (2009). Principles of macroeconomics in New Zealand (2nd ed.). South Melbourne, Vic. : Cengage Learning.
|
|
Mill, H., Chan, L., & Tamahere, M. (2007). Skills for success. London: Pearson Education.
|
Referencing is accepted as the key to academic success (Mill, Chan & Tamahere, 2007). |
|
|
7.3 Books - referencing a chapter  |
|
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year). Title of chapter. In A. Editor, B. Editor & C. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (pp. xxx-xxx). Place of publication: Publisher.
|
|
- Reference this way when a book has chapters by different authors and has an editor/s
- Note that the editors names are entered in the format initials then surname
|
|
Brookes, W. (2008). New Zealand leaders. In J. Wilson (Ed.), Making a difference to New Zealand (pp. 236-243). Auckland: Pedal Press.
|
“Today's business students are
tomorrows leaders” (Brookes, 2008, p. 210). |
|
|
8. Journal / Newspaper articles you have read in print - general tips  |
|
Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author. C. C. (Year, month, day). Title of article. Title of Journal/Newspaper, vol(issue), pp-pp.
|
|
- For citations with no author, begin with the title first
- Do not capitalize the article title - only the first word of the title, the first word of any subtitle and proper nouns
- Do not place quote marks around the title of the article
- The title of the publication (ie. journal) is capitalised and in italics.
- Most journals have a volume and issue number, if there is no volume or issue number put the
month
- Note the volume number is italicised, the issue number isn't
- Include the page numbers of the article
- Full stops are used at the end of each element and at the end of the citation
|
|
8.1 Journal or magazine article  |
|
King, J. A. (2002). Conflict in teams. New Zealand Journal of Management, 42(3), 26-28.
|
Team conflict cannot be left unsorted (King, 2002). |
|
|
8.2 Newspaper article  |
|
- For articles with no author, begin with the title first
- Do not capitalize the title - only the first word of the title, the first word of any subtitle and proper nouns
- The name of the publication (ie newspaper) is capitalised
- The in-text citation uses the first few words of the title capitalised, in double quote marks in place of an author's name
|
|
How to choose human resources software. (2008, July 12). The New Zealand Herald, p.19.
|
“Peoplesoft was first in 2008” ("How to Choose", 2008, p.2). |
|
|
9. Readings from a printed course book  |
|
- Cite each reading from a course book as the source
- Do not cite the course book as whole
- It is advisable to cite to the original source if you are referring to an article taken from a published journal
- TIP: The library's Article Linker is a useful tool to quickly find the fulltext of an article if it is available in one of the library's databases
|
|
9.1 Copy of a published article  |
|
| As an example your course book may have a photocopy of an article by Peter Drucker from the Harvard Business Review. You are encouraged to cite to the original article. In this instance it is available within the Business Source Premier database: |
|
Drucker, P. (2004). What makes an effective executive. Harvard Business Review, 82(6), 58-63. Retrieved from Business Source Premier database.
|
Effective leaders may have various styles but they all follow the same eight practices (Drucker, 2004). |
9.2 Article in course book written by the lecturer  |
|
Sometimes material in a couse book is written by the teaching staff for a particular course.
- In APA style this is considerd a publication of limited circulation.
- The author date and article title are followed by course book name.
- Information helping to describe how this material may be accessed by others is added in square brackets after the title.
- Publisher details include place of publication and name of organisation
|
|
Inkson, K. (2011). Career dynamics. Business 101 Course book. [Available from The University of Auckland to enrolled students]. Auckland: University of Auckland Business School. |
|
|