Books, e-books |
|
The catalogue
The Library catalogue lists all books, e-books, journals and newspapers by title, audio-visual material, and more, held in the University library. Search the catalogue for recommended texts, or for books and other material on your subject of interest.
• To find what is held in the library use either Library search or Voyager, both available from the library home page.
• Voyager enables you to locate books and multimedia held in the Library system while Library search also searches for articles (a very general search) and images.
• For more help with Library search click on the Help link on the main search page or enrol in a training course.
• If you want to know how the Voyager interface works then have a look at the Voyager online tutorial.
• These tools are the key to locating and accessing material in the library system - it is to your advantage to learn how to search them well.
Hints
• When doing a simple search of Library search include as many key terms into your search as possible - eg author name, key word from title, publication date.
• Advanced search gives you a lot more options for searching, including using subject headings for more precise searching.
• The results you get on Library search will often include journal and magazine articles and these will appear first in the result list. If you want to locate a book then you will need to refine by format or location AFTER you do your initial search (the options will be on the left hand side of the screen).
• To locate more focused and better quality journal articles on business topics search one of the journal databases.
Locations
The Location information tells you where the item is held (i.e. General Library, Kate Edger Information Commons - KEIC), and if it is currently available to borrow.
In the catalogue, the location Short Loan is where you will find many of your recommended books. Short Loan is held in KEIC, cnr Alfred and Symonds Street. These items can usually be borrowed for 2 hours at a time. You will need your ID card to borrow them.
The rest of the books for your subject are held in the General Library, Level G and 1. You may find further items of interest in the Architecture library too.
|
| Call No. |
Subject |
| 332.6342 |
Property finance |
| 332.72 |
Real estate finance |
| 333.33 |
Real estate practice |
| 333.332 |
Valuation |
| 333.5068 |
Property management |
| 333.707 |
Real estate development |
| 333.77 |
Land economics |
| 346.043 |
Property law (held at the Davis Law Library) |
|
| Databases for journal articles & legal information |
|
The Library subscribes to many databases covering a wide range of subjects. Below are the key databases for property.
Some of the listed databases contain full text content of journals, case studies, and business reports. You can search the content of these database for articles on specific topics and subjects. Other databases are used for searching legal information, including legislation, cases, and judgements. There are also databases which cover business and trade news. These can be useful for finding current market and company information. Then there are databases which contain specific information, such as industry reports, statistical information, and property details.
The Business Information Skills Online tutorial offers valuable information about business and property databases.The tutorial will help you understand the nature of business information, and will inform you of the range of resources available to University of Auckland students.
Selecting the most relevant database can be difficult. If you need further assistance with this please contact your subject librarian.
|
- ABI/INFORM Full-text access to international property and housing journals.
|
- Business Source Premier Full-text access to international scholarly journals covering property, housing, and facilities management.
|
- EconLit Index to economic literature, with coverage of housing economics.
|
- Emerald Full-text scholarly journals, with good coverage of property and construction.
|
- Index New Zealand: INNZ The key database for searching on property related subjects pertaining to New Zealand. Indexes NZ newspapers, journals,
conferences etc.
|
- LexisNexis NZ Provides access to an extensive range of full text New
Zealand and Australian legislation and legal resources. Includes full-text of Residential Tenancies Act, Resource Management Act, and the Property Law Act.
|
- LinxPlus: Access via LexisNexis NZ LexisNexis NZ hosts LinxPlus and is published by the District Law
Society libraries of NZ. LinxPlus provides access to the full text
of many unreported judgments and also indexes legal journal articles and books received by the Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch
District Law Society libraries.
|
| |
|
| Databases for property news |
|
- Bayleys Research Up to date, nationwide research on residential, apartment, commercial, industrial, rural, retail, waterfront, lifestyle, and South Pacific property markets.
|
- Factiva Includes full text of NZ Herald, Dominion Post, The Press, Otago Daily Times, NBR.
|
|
- Global Property Guide - A resource for international investors in residential real estate markets. Research focuses on gross rental yields, market structure and developments, landlord and tenant law, and tax rates. Has international data on over 100 foreign property markets.
|
|
- Landlords - New Zealand property investment site.
|
|
|
| Other property databases |
- Auckland Cityscope Descriptions and sales histories of Auckland Central properties. Includes photographs of every building, names of occupants, ownership details.
|
- Business Monitor International Up-to-date real estate industry reports for a selection of countries. Each report includes a real estate market overview, 5-year forecasts, analysis of business environments, and information on leading real estate companies.
|
- GMID Major international market profiles on commercial real estate, property management, and mortgage finance.
|
|
|
- Maori Land Legislation Database Summary of all NZ legislation since 1840 (including
private and local Acts) which has affected Maori or Maori land.
Gives brief notes on the historical context and the impact of each
Act cited.
|
|
- Sydney Cityscope Detailed property and building information for the Sydney CBD area.
|
|
| |
Journals
and E journals |
|
| Journals are useful for finding current news and research on specific subjects. To search for print and electronic journals use the Library catalogue, entering the title of the journal. Or you can use E-journals to locate a journal available online in full-text. |
| A selection of freely available online property journals: |
|
- Development
Online Selected articles on commerical real estate development from the print edition.
|
|
|
- Landscan Official client newsletter of Land Information New Zealand.
|
- Retail Traffic Independent monthly magazine covering the shopping centre/retail industry. Covers centre design and construction, property management and operations,
shopping centre leasing and development, finance, and
shopping centre marketing.
|
| |
Directories  |
|
| Directories provide links to real estate related websites and online resources. It can be a useful way of identifying relevant companies and industry associations. |
|
|
|
Statistical
information  |
|
New Zealand
For help with statistics refer to the detailed guide onFinding Statistics about New Zealand.
|
|
Australia
|
Canada
|
United Kingdom
|
United States
|
International
|
New Zealand Organisations  |
|
New Zealand
New Zealand government
New Zealand local government
Auckland local government
Local government includes regional plans, transport plans, urban and retail development plans and strategies.
To access district plans you will need to view the old council sites:
|
International
organisations  |
|
- BOMA (Building Owners & Managers
Association) International
- International Council of Shopping
Centers (ICSC) US based, global trade association of the shopping center
industry.
- International Facility Management
Association (IFMA)
- International Urban Development
Association (INTA) Fosters initiatives in major urban programmes,
regeneration schemes and development policies.
- International Valuation Standards Council
- Pacific-Rim Real Estate
Society Members from Australia, New Zealand, Fiji, Hong Kong, Singapore, China, Indonesia, Malaysia and
Korea.
PRRES provides a formal focus for property researchers, educators and practitioners in the Pacific-Rim region. PRRES, along with the American Real Estate Society (ARES), the European Real Estate Society (ERES), the Asian Real Estate Society (AsRES), the African Real Estate Society (AfRES), the Latin American Real Estate Society (LaRes) and the Middle East North Africa Real Estate Society (MENARES) form the network structure for the International Real Estate Society (IRES) in further developing international property research and education.
- World Association of
Valuation Organisations
US
UK
Canada
Australia
|
Facilities management  |
|
|
New Zealand property
reports  |
|
Residential
Commercial
Other
|
Other property information
and topic guides |
|
This is a selection of other useful guides for Property students. See Business & Economics resources for a full list of subject guides, topic guides, and industry & company guides.
|
.
|