Subject guides : Management and International Business
Business and Economics Information Services
BEIS home | Subject Guides | Course Pages | Business Librarians | Business School | Blog
|
Content
Books, ebooks and dvds
Dictionaries and encyclopedias
Databases
Citation searching
Journal rankings
Theses and dissertations
Topic guides
Industry information
Statistical data
Web resources
|

Course resources
MIB current course resource pages - access online course readings and recommended library resources. Created by the library in collaboration with the teaching staff.
Information Skills resources
Business Information Skills Online
See also:
Citing electronic resources using the APA style
Endnote: Bibliography management software
BEIS subject guides
|
Management and International Business Subject Librarian
Margaret Tibbles
Business & Economics Information Services
Room M25, Level M, General Library
Phone: 373 7599 ext 87537
Email: m.tibbles@auckland.ac.nz
Hours: Wednesday- Friday 9 - 5pm
Department of Management & International Business
New: Test your internet searching skills with 'A google a day'
|
|
|
The Library Catalogue - new interface or Voyager tells you what is held in the University of Auckland library system. For more precise searching use subject headings. In the new interface always choose advanced search.
Te Puna the National Bibliographic Database produced by the National Library of New Zealand, has records of the holdings of New Zealand libraries.
E-book databases with Management and International Business books include:
- Ebrary : more than 21,000 recently published books on all subjects
- Ebsco : major collection of business books
- OECD iLibrary - online full text access to OECD publications. Books are pdf files. Has some resources on non-OECD countries, including China.
- SpringerLink - journals and full text books Springer-Verlag. Core of the collection is in Science, Engineering and Medicine but containssome good material in Social Sciences and Business
DVDs - business videos and dvds held in the Library by subject . You can also search the catalogue to find out whether we hold a particular dvd
|
| Dictionaries and encyclopedias |
Print management and international business related dictionaries and encyclopaedias are in the Business Quick Reference Collection on Level M of the General Library.
- Cooper, C. L., Argyris, C., Starbuck, W. H., & Blackwell Publishing Ltd. (2005). The Blackwell encyclopedia of management (2nd ed.). Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub.
- Derdak, T. (1988). International directory of company histories. Chicago, St. James Press.Library holds from Vol. 1 (1988) onwards
- Kelly, L., & Booth, C. A. (2004). Dictionary of strategy : strategic management A-Z / Louise Kelly, Chris Booth. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage Publications.
- O'Connell, J. (1997). Blackwell encyclopedic dictionary of international management. Cambridge, Mass: Blackwell.
- Oxford University Press. (2006). A dictionary of business and management (4th ed.). Oxford ; New York: Oxford University Press.
- Shim, J. K., Siegel, J. G., & Levine, M. H. (1998). The dictionary of international business terms. Chicago: Glenlake Publishing Co. ; Fitzroy Dearborn
- Sutherland, J., & Canwell, D. (2004). Key concepts in international business Basingstoke: Palgrave Macmillan.
See also the following Online dictionaries and encyclopedias
Note : Ebsco also includes some business dictionaries.
| Databases - primarily used for locating journal articles |
Full list of Business databases available on Library website.
Finding business resources and searching the databases (pdf guide)
| Most frequently used: |
| |
ABI /INFORM - one of the main general business databases which covers academic
journals and business magazines. Searches can be limited to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals |
| |
Business Source Premier - o ne of the main business databases with a mixture of academic journals, trade magazines and industry reports, including the Harvard Business Review plus the tabular economic and financial data from the Economist. Searches can be limited to scholarly (peer reviewed)
journals |
| |
Emerald - has the fulltext of academic journals with an emphasis on management, logistics, and
marketing |
| |
Expanded Academic - a mixture of abstracts and fulltext journal articles with an emphasis on the social sciences and humanities. It can provide an interesting slant to areas of business. Searches can
be limited to refereed journals |
| |
Sciverse - major database which includes Scopus and Science Direct. |
| |
Web of Science Despite the name it has good coverage of Business and Economics material. |
| |
|
| New
Zealand coverage: |
|
Australia / New Zealand Reference Centre
A full-text collection combining content from Australian, New Zealand and overseas magazines and newspapers. Use this database to locate NZ business magazine articles. |
|
Newztext Plus -
fulltext of daily newspapers including the NZ Herald, Dominion Post and the Radio New Zealand news feeds, plus
Newzindex. Note: because of copyright some articles from newspapers, especially the Herald, are not on
Newztext. However, they may be full text on Factiva or the ANZ Reference Centre. |
|
Factiva- News and journal articles plus company and industry information. |
|
Index New Zealand General index to NZ newspapers and journals. Some business coverage eg indexes the University of Auckland Business Review. |
|
Kiwi Research Information Service Gateway to the open-access research documents produced at universities,
polytechnics, and other research institutions throughout New Zealand. |
| |
|
| For archival material: |
| |
JSTOR - an archive of scholarly fulltext journals. Material from the 1800s up to a 'moving wall' of between 1 and 8
years before current publication. NOTE: As JSTOR does not have articles
published during the last few years, use other databases to search for
current information |
| |
|
| Additional databases |
| |
Academic Research Library |
| |
Academic Search Premier |
| |
APECLIT from the Australian APEC Study Centre indexes published and unpublished items dealing with APEC and related topics. See also an alternative search interface with more links and resources. |
| |
Asia Studies Full Text Online includes APEC reports. |
| |
Business and Management Practices Focuses on the practical aspects and approaches of business management, including business planning, decision making and management issues. |
| |
China Academic Journals fulltext from 1994 onwards |
| |
Current Contents Indexes and abstracts journals. Within the Social & Behavioral Sciences section it 'covers resources on management and organizational science, strategic planning and decision-making methods, industrial relations and labor '. Updated weekly. |
| |
Factiva. Dow Jones and Reuters news and journal articles plus company information |
| |
IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences Indexes over 2700 journals. Wide coverage of the Social Sciences including business studies, organization studies, industrial relations, applied and theoretical economics.. |
| |
Informit Collection of databases mainly of Australian information |
| |
Ingentaconnect Index to scholary literature that provides bibliographic citations from tables of contents pages of over 26,000 journals. If the journal is subscribed to by the Library, then Ingenta will allow full text access. |
| |
Journal Citation Reports: Social Sciences Edition. Ranks journals by a variety of criteria including impact factor. |
| |
Mergent Online Company information, detailed information from annual reports, including financials, and news are available back to 15 years for most listed US and International companies. |
| |
NZX Annual Reports. Full text of annual reports for ASX companies and New Zealand domiciled companies on the NZSE from 1999 onwards. Other financial information also available.(See also IRG Online) |
| |
NZX Company Research Information on NZX and ASX listed companies. Includes company annual reports from 1999, stock indices, top 50 shareholders etc. |
| |
PapersInvited Extensive list of calls for papers in all areas of specialization. |
| |
Proquest Asian Business . Key titles include Asiaweek, China Daily, Harvard Asia Pacific Review. |
| |
Proquest European Business includes the full text of the Financial times |
| |
PsycINFO M ain database for psychology. It can be useful for finding information on a range of management and organization topics. |
| |
Science Direct Contains the full text (including graphics and tables) of over 2500 journals, but ONLY journals handled by Elsevier Science. It is now included as part of the Sciverse database suite. |
| |
Scopus - Scopus is a multidisciplinary database. It includes more than 35 million items from over 16,000 peer-reviewed journals from 4,000 publishers. Scopus also indexes over 275 million web sources. There is a link to any post-1995 citations from each individual item or reference. It is now included as part of the Sciverse database suite. |
| |
Sociological Abstracts Index only, with a sociological emphasis. |
| |
Wiley Online Library Wiley publishes journals in most subject areas including Business, Finance & Management and Psychology. The Wiley Online Library also contains e-books and reference tools. |
| |
 |
|
| Use
these databases to help track who is citing whom: |
|
Web
of Science - the key database to use for this type of research. Find out who has cited a particular journal article or book. Use the Create citation alert feature to receive
emails for any subsequent citing of a particular article. Also note the additional data available for citations eg ranking features, international spread for citations. Poor coverage of New Zealand
journals . |
|
Business
Source Premier - has Times cited in this database links
for some articles. It also has a Cited references button on the
top of the page menu bar. Note that the 'cited bys' are only to other
items in the EBSCOhost database |
|
ScienceDirect - look for the Cited by link for individual records. There is also
a link to Cited by in Scopus for individual records. Only relates
to other materials in the
ScienceDirect and Scopus databases |
|
Scopus -
There is a link to any post-1995 citations from each individual item or
reference. |
|
Google
scholar - look for Cited by links for some of the results |
|
Other databases
to search for 'cited by' information are those that allow you to run
your search through the fulltext or all text. Databases allowing you to
do this include ABI/INFORM, Business Source Premier, Emerald and Expanded
Academic |
|
See also : Library guide Who's Citing Me (pdf) |
| |
 |
|
Journal rankings, submitting material |
| Rankings: |
|
Journal
Citation Reports - use to rank journals by a
variety of criteria including impact factor |
|
Journal
quality list - from Harzing.com, Anne-Wil Harzing, University of
Melbourne |
|
Journal
rankings in business - from Western Libraries at The University of Western Ontario |
| Author guidelines
for submitting articles: |
|
Cabell's
Business Directory - find out guidelines for submitting manuscripts
to journals in the areas of
accounting, economics & finance, management, and marketing . Also includes acceptance rate. |
| |
 |
|
To search for University of Auckland theses consult the page "Theses and dissertations". This guide also contains lots of useful background information on writing and publishing a thesis, finding theses from other universities etc. |
|
 |
Listed below are some key Library business topic guides useful for Management and International Business
|
ABI/INFORM trade and
industry - specialised trade publications and core industry journals in areas as diverse as banking, oil, energy, real estate, telecommunications, metals, insurance, computers and fashion. It has regional to global
coverage of company, industry, product, marketing, manufacturing and management
information |
|
Business and Industry - from the Gale Group covers mainly trade magazines |
|
Business Monitor Online - information on 155 emerging countries and 20 developed countries. Industry data can be selected by industry and by region or country. Information includes alerts and analysis, quarterly industry forecasts |
|
Business Source Premier - includes industry profiles from DataMonitor for particular countries, as well as articles in journals. Factiva also includes industry profiles from DataMonitor |
|
Global Market Information Database - from Euromonitor. This database is one of the best sources to use to begin looking for industry/product information. The market research module has industry/product overviews by
country |
|
TableBase finds journal and magazine articles with statistical data reports. International coverage of demographics, companies, industries, marketing segments. Includes data on company and brand rankings, industry and product forecasts,
market share, number of users or outlets, production and consumption, trends, usage and capacity. Most of the data are in trade
magazines |
| Selected internet resources: |
|
Current Industrial Reports - from the US Census Bureau, Manufacturing and Construction
Division. Presented by sector |
|
FT.com
- free Annual Reports Service - presented by sector or company.
Covers the UK, Europe, the US and Canada |
|
Market research library - from the US Commercial Services, part of the US Dept of
Commerce. International market research reports, search by
industry, sector, region or country |
|
| New Zealand coverage: |
|
New Zealand industry and product information - links to databases and web resources |
|
Energy: information sources |
|
Seafood industry study - information resources |
|
Wine industry - information resources |
|
See alsoSituation, industry and environmental analyses |
| |
 |
| See Statistics and Numeric Data. Data in print form is shelved in the Statistics Collection on Level M in the General Library. Hints on How to find statistical data. |
|
New Zealand statistics sources Print, database and internet sources for New Zealand data arranged by topic. |
|
OFFSTATS- Database of links to free and easily accessible statistics from official sources - country statistical offices, Government departments, Central Banks. |
| |
Statistics New Zealand's Business Toolbox. To get a small-business industry profile or to find target markets. |
| |
Statistics New Zealand's Table Builder. Select from a range of variables such as population, age, etc. |
 |
These organize a large number of selected web-sites and briefly describe their contents.
|
BUBL LINK: catalogue of selected general management resources on the internet |
|
Cornell University School of Industrial and Labor Relations research and internet guides |
|
EIRO online : from the European Industrial Relations Observatory |
|
FITA a listing of 800-plus links compiled by the Federation of International Trade Associations (FITA) |
|
Free Management Library: designed to "help provide highly accessible and practcal resources to managers". Information is organized into 72 categories, including ethics, leadership development, human resources management |
|
globalEDGE - produced by Michigan State University Center for International Business Education and Research. Includes links to trade law, trade portals, statistical data, country insights, international business culture, organisations and associations, and working papers. |
|
Human Resources and the Internet: Cornell University guide to websites, articles and programs on Human Resource topics on the Internet |
|
Institute of Industrial Relations Library, University of California : rich variety of links to labour resources, US and international. |
|
Labor Unions and the Internet: Cornell University guide to online resources on labor unions |
|
The library network - index of World Bank Group and IMF research |
|
Intute : Business & Management (part of the UK Resource Discovery Network). |
|
Research
in International and Cross-cultural Management from Harzing.com the
website of Anne-Wil Harzing, Associate Professor in International
Management at the University of Melbourne, Australia. |
 |
|
|
|