Books and ebooks  |
| As well as books held in the General Library and the Short Loan Collection a growing collection of ebooks is available within the library collection: |
- The Library catalogue - search Voyager or the new Catalogue for books, ebooks, journal titles and more held by the library . For tips on searching consult the Voyager online tutorial
All books are shelved using the Dewey Classification Scheme. This is the Call Number that you look for on the spine of the book. Any New Zealand economics books will be shelved in the NZ&Pacific Collection on Level G, in the General Library. All other Economics books, with call numbers in the 330's, are shelved on Level 1, in the General Library.
Selected Call Numbers by broad classification are:
330 economics
330.15 schools of economic thought
330.155 welfare economics
331 labour economics
331.1 labour force and market
332 financial economics
332.4 money
332.45 foreign exchange
332.46 monetary policy
332.6 investment and investments
332.6322 stocks (shares)
333.7 natural resources
333.79 energy
336 public finance
|
336.201 taxation
337 international economics
338 production
338.521 price theories
339 macroeconomics
339.2 distribution of income & wealth
339.47 consumption
339.5 macroeconomic policy
339.522 government spending
382 international trade
382.3 trade policy
382.71 free trade
384 telecommunications & information networks
519.3 game theory
|
|
|
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias,
Handbooks  |
| Print economics dictionaries and encyclopedias are in the Business Quick Reference Collection on Level M, General Library |
| Biography |
Voyager subject search: Biography economists
|
| Dictionaries /glossaries |
Voyager subject search: Economics dictionaries
- New Palgrave dictionary of economics (2008)
an online version of the 8 volume 2nd edition, edited by
Steven N. Durlauf and Lawrence E. Blume, published by Palgrave Macmillan. Archival content from the original 1987 edition is also included. [Library database]
- Collins Dictionary of Economics (2000) and the
Penguin Dictionary of Economics (1998) in
Credo Reference [Library database]
- Dictionary of Economics (2003) in
Oxford Reference Online [Library database]
Selected web resources:
|
| Encyclopedias, Handbooks |
Voyager keyword search: economics and encyclopedias; economics and handbooks; economics and companions
- Cooper, C. L., Argyris, C., Starbuck, W. H., & Blackwell Publishing Ltd. (2005).
The Blackwell encyclopedia of management (2nd ed.). Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub.
see v.8 on
Managerial Economics
-
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences online version (2001). Scroll down the list of subjects to Economics and expand out levels to read introductory essays on all aspects of economics. Also at
300.3
S63 General Library, Arts Reference Collection, Level 1
- Pesaran, M. H. & Wickens, M. R. (Eds). (1999).
Handbook
of Applied Econometrics. Volume I: Macroeconomics. Blackwell
Publishing. [Blackwell Reference Online]
- Pesaran, M. H. & Schmidt, P. (Eds). (1999).
Handbook
of Applied Econometrics Volume II: Microeconomics. Blackwell
Publishing. [Blackwell Reference Online]
Selected web resources:
- Encyclopedia of Law and Economics (2000) published by Edward Elgar and the University of Ghent -
in-depth articles and bibliographies
- Henderson, D. R. (Ed.). (2008). The Concise Encyclopedia
of Economics. (2nd ed.) Library of Economics and Liberty - this work consists of " a broad
collection of easy-to-read, punchy essays that give the reader an
understanding of what economists actually think on a wide range of issues". Use the left hand index to view material by Title, Author,
Categories, Biographies, Index
|
| Atlases |
- World Bank. (2007).
Atlas of global development. Published for the World Bank by Collins. Covers economic, social,
environmental, population, and developing countries statistics
|
| |
Library Databases - for journal articles and economic commentary  |
Search Strategies - each search environment may look slightly different however core search principles apply:
• Turn your search topic into keyword and/ or phrase searches “ “
• Use the truncation symbol * to include variations on word endings
• Use field limits to set up ‘smart’ refinements
• Reorder display results to make it easier to view the latest materials first or the most relevant
• Use indexing or subject heading terms if available to help locate all relevant material on the topic
|
Most frequently used  |
- EconLit American Economic Association (EBSCO)
- The foremost source of references to international economics literature including books, journals, theses, working papers and conferences, from 1969 onwards. Academic peer reviewed literature, no ‘popular’ titles such as The Economist. Direct Export to Endnote
- Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
- Major database that includes many full text and page image journals and magazines, including the tabular economic and financial data from The Economist
Peer-reviewed (more academic focused) business publications; Company profiles from DataMonitor ; Industry reports from DataMonitor ; Industry yearbooks from Global Insight ; Country economic reports from the EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group and CountryWatch
Country profiles e.g. search: ‘zealand country report’ and change Default Fields to SO Publication name
- ABI/INFORM (Proquest)
- A mix of citations/abstracts and full text articles. Includes a large number of economics journals
Suggested Topics – after you have completed a search ABI offers you alternative search topics to expand or narrow your original search
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
- Has a good archival package of economics and econometrics journals
Excellent supplement to ABI/Inform and Business Source Premier
- Expanded Academic (General OneFile)
(Gale Cengage Learning)
- Coverage includes welfare, comparative, energy, regional, labour, business economics, input-output analysis plus full text of the New Zealand Economic Papers
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
(IBSS) (from the London School of Economics)
- Covers anthropology, politics, sociology and economics. Includes an extensive range of applied and theoretical economics, including records from the German National Library of Economics (in English)
- Google scholar
|
|
Access to New Zealand literature  |
Media sources are a way in to materials not formally published. The Newxtext, NBR and Factiva library databases are good starting points for identifying the release of commissioned reports, surveys, and findings; and which agencies/ think thanks/ departments are involved with a particular topic. All of the following library databases contain NZ content: |
- Newztext Plus (The Knowledge Basket, NZ)
- National Business Review Online 24/7 NEW 2010 access premium online content
- Factiva (Dow Jones)
- Global news and business plus company information
Useful for Australasian topics as it covers national and regional newspapers in Australia and NZ as well as the Associated Press Newswires, ABC News, New York Times, The Guardian, EUR-Lex, scoop.co.nz.
Use as an alternative source for the full text of The New Zealand Herald
- ANZ Reference Centre (EBSCO)
- Index New Zealand (National Library of NZ)
- General coverage, not specific to business or economics
Indexes NZ journals from popular through to "academic", includes bibliographic references and abstracts to articles only. Do a serial title search in Voyager to check if a journal is held by the library
Indexes Victoria economic commentaries, Reserve Bank Bulletin and New Zealand Economic Papers
- CarbonNews online (Horizon Publishing Limited, launched December 2007)
- This service brings you "specialist intelligence on the new carbon markets”. [Access full website content via Voyager e-resource link]
|
|
For archive materials  |
|
For theses and dissertations  |
|
Additional databases  |
|
Statistics and
Numeric Data  |
New Zealand 
- Voyager - library catalogue
- Guided keyword searches - include the word statistics
- Subject searches
- NZStats
[Library database]
- Includes links to University of Auckland databases, ‘official’ web resources, Statistics New Zealand’s web pages, data resources within government websites, e.g., Ministry of Education, website, Department of Corrections, Ministry of Health, Ministry of Justice, print sources in the library. Updated regularly
- Statistics NZ [the national statistical office of NZ] http://www.stats.govt.nz/- Search statistics ; Infoshare
- Statistics Collection, Level M, General Library.
- New Zealand materials are classified at S2/NZ
- S2/NZ CEN - NZ Census data from 1996 available online on Statistics NZ
- S2/NZ STAy - New Zealand Official Yearbook not all the information in the printed New Zealand official yearbook is available on the Statistics NZ webpage
- New Zealand Time Series [Library database]
- Collection of ‘popular’ data, sourced from Statistics New Zealand and the Reserve Bank. Annual or quarterly data - dependent on the underlying survey methodology. Starting dates variable as Statistics New Zealand adopts international standardisation methods, rebasing of indices, etc
- National accounts ; Balance of payments ; Overseas trade ; Government finance ; Financial markets ; Prices ; Demography ; Labour market ; Building and construction ; Production and distribution ; Transport and tourism
- Treasury website
- Working Paper series contains work in progress and research on a variety of economic, financial, trade and social issues. They include new empirical research relevant to understanding the New Zealand economy or the impact of economic policy in New Zealand, theoretical frameworks relevant for understanding microeconomic or macroeconomic behaviour or the impact of a policy proposal, or syntheses of literature
- Government websites
- The media
- People like to put their research results/survey findings into the public domain. The best initial way to do this is via the newspapers. The New Zealand Herald almost daily reports some sort of statistical data
- Check the library databases Newztext Plus and Index New Zealand as survey, product and market share data is often reported in journal and newspaper articles
|
|
International 
- Statistics Collection, Level M, General Library
- Includes publications from international agencies, individual country statistical offices and central/reserve banks
- S1/ ADB Asia Development Bank, S1/EC European Community, S1/ILO International Labour Office, S1/IMF International Monetary Fund, S1/OECD, S1/UN United Nations, S1/WBG World Bank, S2/AUS Australia, S2/CAN Canada, S2/CHN China, S2/GB Great Britain, S2/HK Hong Kong, S2/SGP Singapore, S2/USA and S3 materials on world statistics
- OFFSTATS
[Library database]
- Links mainly to ‘free’ ‘official’’ web sources, data by country, region or topic
- Doesn’t always link directly into data tables
- You may have to explore some of the sites as data can be in a publications or research link as well as under statistics, facts and figures or data links
- Datastream
[Library database]
- Note: IMF Direction of Trade data is available under IMF in the Economics view
- Global Market Information Database
[Library database]
- Maintained by Euromonitor, includes statistical tables and market reports
- Annual data from 1977 onwards including forecasts but note the data is chunked into time blocks and data is patchy before 1988
- Choose individual countries or choose regions
- Good for product retailing data
- Topics include automotives and transport, consumer markets, economic indicators, foreign trade, industrial markets, IT and telecommunications, leisure and lifestyle, population and households, resources and environment, retailing, service markets
- Bank For International Settlements
- Track research concerning issues relating to central bank activity. The Annual Report includes data concerning emerging market economies
- IMF
- International Financial Statistics IFS [Library database] - from the IMF, time series economic data, annual, quarterly and monthly data
- World economic outlook : a survey by the staff of the International Monetary Fund
[Voyager record] - full text in Expanded Academic from 1989 and see
IMF WEO website
Published twice yearly
- IMF Data mapper - macroeconomic data drawn from the World Economic Outlook presented visually on a world map. You can view data over time as a dynamic presentation using the Play Time function
- Principal Global Indicators (launched April 2009) presents data for the Group of 20. Hosted by the IMF, this website is a joint undertaking of the Inter-Agency Group on Economic and Financial Statistics: Bank for International Settlements, European Central Bank, Eurostat, the IMF, the OECD, the United Nations and the World Bank
- Regional
economic outlook reports - "examine financial sector development,
institutional quality, the quality of domestic macroeconomic policies, and
trade integration". Cover Asia and the Pacific; Europe; Middle East and
Central Asia; Sub-Saharan Africa; and Western Hemisphere." Published twice
yearly
- OECDiLibrary
[Library database]
- Full text access to all OECD publications, or construct your own tables.
- Trade publications and data
- OECD economic outlook published twice a year, has brief 2 page 'outlooks' for each OECD country
- OECD economic surveys. New Zealand and view the broader series for all countries
- OECD factbook provides a global overview of major economic, social and environmental indicators
- OECD International Trade by Commodity Statistics [Voyager record] - annual statistics on international trade of OECD countries. Data
are provided in value by commodity and by partner country
- OECD journal on development
- OECD main economic indicators [Voyager record] - a broad range of indicators
for 5 years for the 30 OECD countries, including national accounts, industrial
production, confidence indicators, car registrations, retail trade, CPI, labour
costs, unemployment, interest and exchange rates, trade and current balance.
- National Accounts at a Glance 2009 (new annual publication)
- National Accounts of OECD Countries database - includes breakdowns by kind of activity for gross value added (current and constant prices, 2000 reference year), components of value added, gross fixed capital formation and employment. Also includes final consumption expenditure of households by purpose; simplified accounts for general government, corporations and households; general government expenditure by function and detailed accounts by institutional sectors (total economy, non-financial corporations, financial corporations, general government, households and non-profit institutions serving households and rest of the world). Data are based on the System of National Accounts 1993 for all countries.
- Quarterly National Accounts - country data presented in preselected tables including a "selection of the accounts most widely used for economic analysis"
- OECD Statistics Portal access consumer prices, purchasing power parities,
unemployment rates, G7 merchandise trade volume, IEA monthly oil market report
and more
- Society at a Glance biennial report providing internationally comparable data on demography and family characteristics, employment and wealth, mobility and housing, health status, social expenditure, subjective well-being, social cohesion, and other social measures
- Revenue Statistics
- UN
- UN Data
- Includes the former UN Common Database - the Wiki provides a good overview of content - draws together annual time series data from ILO, IMF and the World Bank
- See the Monthly Bulletin of Statistics Online - search a wide range of indicators by country or region, from 1997 onwards
- Comtrade
- The United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database - the largest depository of international trade data. Bi-lateral trade between countries and areas by commodity. US$
- World Bank
- World Development Indicators [Library database]
- World Bank ‘official’ time series data (annual), from 1960 onwards, covers: people, environment, economy, states and markets, international transactions, global links
- Useful for comparing countries, regional groupings and income groupings
- Data manipulation is possible including viewing data as a index or % change, includes definitions and underlying data sources
- Also available in print format at S1/WBG DEVi with a companion publication, with World development report at S1/WBG DEV (Statistics collection Level M, General Library). World development reports are also online at http://econ.worldbank.org/wdr/
- Global Development Finance [Library database]
- See also
- Index of
Economic Freedom - ranks 161 countries according to 10 specific economic
freedoms
- MeasuringWorth.com - this website allows you to calculate relative worth over time
|
Citation Searching  |
| Use these library databases to help track who is citing whom |
- Web of Science - the key database to use for this type of research. Find out who has cited a particular journal article or book. Use the Create citation alert feature to receive emails for any subsequent citing of a particular article. Also
note the additional data available for citations egg ranking features, international spread for citations. Poor coverage of New Zealand journals
- Business Source Premier - has Times cited in this database links for some articles. It also has a Cited references button on the top of the page menu bar. Note that the cited bys are only to other items in the EBSCOhost database
- ScienceDirect - look for the Cited by link for individual records. There is also a link to Cited by in Scopus for individual records. Only relates to other materials in the ScienceDirect and Scopus databases
- Scopus - related to ScienceDirect. The cited by link is to the right side of each item in a results list
- Google scholar - look for Cited by links for some of the results
- Other databases to search for 'cited by' information are those that allow you to run your search through the
full text or all text. Databases allowing you to do this include ABI/INFORM, Emerald
and Expanded Academic
|
|
Journals, rankings, submitting material  |
The
library subscribes to over 200 journals and series on economics, in print
or electronic format. TIP: To find all economics journals held by the library,
search under the Subject Headings: Economics
Periodicals,
Economic development -
Periodicals,
Finance, Public - Periodicals.
Click on the links below to view library holdings with location details,
including access to the full text online where available. |
Tier 1 Economics Journals - listed in order of rank as as applied by:
Kalaitzidakis, P. Mamuneas, T.P., & Stengos, T. (2003). Rankings of Academic Journals and Institutions in Economics. Journal of the European Economic Association, 1(6), 1346-1366. |
Also of note:
|
| Selected Titles
available on the web |
|
| Author guidelines for submitting articles |
-
Cabell's Business Directory - find out guidelines for submitting manuscripts to journals in the areas of accounting, economics & finance, management, and marketing
|
| e |
Working Papers
 |
Library databases
-
Econlit
indexes Centre for Economic Policy Research CEPR Discussion Papers as
well as the National Bureau of Economic Research NBER Working Papers.
Use Find Full Text to see if the library has the full text of these
publications
- CEPR Discussion Papers Online - held full text from 1998
- GIBLIN Working Papers
Database - produced by the Giblin Economics and Commerce Library, University of
Melbourne. A bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts working papers on economics and economics-related topics published in the last 5 years. Part of the
Informit database
|
|
Asia Pacific economic papers Crawford School of Economics and Government, ANU |
| EconPapers - online access working papers, journal articles, ebooks and software downloads [subset of RePEc] |
| IDEAS (Internet Documents in Economics Access Service) |
| Bank for International Settlements
Working papers |
|
Berkeley Electronic Press
BE Press working paper links
|
| Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) Working
papers
- from the US Department of Commerce |
| EBSLG working papers
- 'European Working Papers in Business and Economics produced at major European Business Schools' |
| ERN (Economics Research Network) part of the SSRN (Social Science Research Network) |
| Federal Reserve Bank of New York's Research and Statistics
Group Staff
Reports |
| Fisher Centre for Real Estate and Urban Economics - Haas
School of Business, University of California, Berkeley -Working
papers &
Research
Reports |
| Harvard working papers
- includes links to other Business School working papers |
| IMFstaff papers from 1950 to 1995
are included in
Periodicals Archive Online |
| London
School of Economics (LSE) papers |
| Monash University, Department of Economics,
Discussion
papers - full text from 2005 |
| Monash University, Department of Econometrics and Business
Statistics
Working paper
series |
OECD working papers |
| RePEc access to collections of working papers |
| Stanford Institute for Economic
Policy Research -
SIEPR discussion papers |
| S-WoPEc Scandinavian Working Papers in
Economics (Stockholm School of Economics Library) |
| World Bank/IMF -
Policy Research Working Papers |
| |
| New Zealand |
| Department of Economics, University of
Auckland Working papers
- are available within ResearchSpace |
| Department of Economics, University of Otago
Discussion papers |
| Department of Labour Research papers |
|
ISCR Research Papers
- NZ Institute for the Study of Competition and Regulation, Victoria University of
Wellington |
|
Motu Working papers |
|
New Zealand Trade Consortium Working Papers
- from 1999 onwards. On the NZIER website |
|
NZIER
public discussion documents (working papers) - from the New Zealand Institute of
Economic Research |
|
Treasury Working Papers |
|
| |
Meta-sites, Portals, Virtual Libraries  |
| Resources for Economists on the Internet (RFE) by Bill Goffe, sponsored by the American Economic Association. See also Economics Search Engine a companion site to RFE |
| |
Organisations,
Research Centres  |
|
| New Zealand |
|
|
Copyright©The University of Auckland Library
Comments and suggestions to: Camille Tooman
Last updated:
21 December, 2011
|