S U B J E C T   G U I D E S  : ACCOUNTING & FINANCE

Business & Economics Information Services (BEIS)


BEIS home  |  Subject Guides Business Librarians  |   Business Information Centre  |  Business School  |  Ask a librarian  |  Business Blog



Books & DVDs
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias
Databases
Financial databases
Journals
Accounting Standards
Meta-sites and Portals
Statistical data
Topic Guides

COURSE RESOURCES
Accounting Course Resource pages
- access online course readings and recommended library resources. Created by the library in collaboration with the teaching staff

See also


Māori business
Pasifika business
Library services for business post graduates

Information for Accounting & Finance staff

Department of Accounting & Finance

Accounting and Finance Subject Librarian
Julie Sibthorpe
General Library Room M19
Phone: 3737599 ext. 84040
j.sibthorpe@auckland.ac.nz

BEIS Subject Guides - for help on research techniques, citation, using Endnote, further topic guides ...
BEIS home
- Services to Business postgraduates,
how to contact the BEIS team etc
 
 Books & DVDs Top of page
 

Voyager  - the Library Catalogue. For tips on searching consult the Voyager online tutorial. Electronic books held by the library may also be found through Ebrary and Ebsco see Voyager the Library catalogue lists all books held in the Library system.

 

Ebrary is an internet-based library of recently published full text electronic books (e-books).

 

Ebsco is an internet-based library of full text electronic books.

 

ScienceDirect - access the Elsevier JAI monograph series via the Books tab in ScienceDirect. Includes books in the series Advances in Accounting, Advances in International Accounting.

 

Te Puna the national database, has records of about 10 million books and journals. NZ library holdings are given.

 

NEW Business information skills tutorial - online modules about the Library and how to search business databases effectively. Particularly useful for new students. Also includes help with New Zealand business information as well as referencing and evaluating the information you find.

 
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias Top of page

General

Accounting dictionaries and web sites

Finance dictionaries and web sites

Databases Top of page
Most frequently used:
 

ABI/INFORM - one of the main general business databases with a mixture of  abstracts and full text articles from academic journals and trade magazines. Includes a large number of accounting and finance journals. Searches can be limited to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals.

 

Business Source Premier - one of the main business databases with a mixture of abstract and full text / pdf images of academic journals. Searches can be limited to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals.

 

Science Direct - academic journals from Elsevier publishers. Includes the full text of journals such as Accounting, organizations and society, Journal of Corporate Finance.

 

Emerald - has over 115 full-text Business & Economics journals including accounting and finance titles such as Accounting, Auditing & Accountability Journal; Managerial Auditing Journal; Managerial Finance.

 

Expanded Academic - a mixture of abstracts and full text journal articles with an emphasis on the social sciences and humanities mainly full text and across all academic disciplines. Searches can be limited to refereed journals.

 

Scopus - Scopus is a multidisciplinary database. It includes more than 30 million items from over 15,000 peer-reviewed journals from 4,000 publishers. Scopus also indexes over 275 million web sources. There is a link to any post-1995 citations from each individual item or reference.

 

Google scholar - Google Scholar is a search engine for scholarly literature. Search results are ranked by various criteria including how often the work has been cited in other scholarly works.

New Zealand coverage:
 

Australia / New Zealand Reference Centre
A full-text collection combining content from Australian, New Zealand and overseas magazines and newspapers. Use this database to locate NZ business magazine articles.

 

NBR Online A searchable online version of the National Business Review, including subscriber-only content not available in the weekly print edition or in the version of the NBR on Newztext Plus.

 

Newztext Plus - full text of daily newspapers including the NZ Herald, and the Radio New Zealand news feeds,  plus selected magazines including the National Business Review. Note: because of copyright some articles from newspapers, especially the Herald, are not on Newztext. However, they may be full text on Factiva

 

Factiva - use for news articles, includes the NZ Herald, plus company and industry information

 

Index New Zealand - indexes the Chartered Accountants' Journal, the University of Auckland Business Review and the New Zealand journal of applied business research and many others. 

Financial databases Top of page
 

See Financial databases page -a list of databases available for financial analysis of stocks, company results, and economic data.

 

Datastream  worldwide financial information including equities and company financials, stock market indices, unit and investment trusts, warrants, bonds, interest rates, exchange rates, commodities, and macroeconomic data sourced from the IMF, OECD and government agencies.

 

Factiva

Good for obtaining stock prices for listed companies worldwide, and also directors, and recent news items. Use the companies/markets button at top of the screen, and click Quotes for prices, or Company for recent news, and company snapshot. Once you have obtained your company you are offered news, financial reports or you can build a report such as a competitor analysis.

 

International Financial Reporting Standards (New Zealand Equivalents from NZICA) or New Zealand Equivalents to International Financial Reporting Standards -NZICA site for standards

 

NZX Company research
Information on listed companies and NZX prices and sectors. The NZX Company research includes major shareholders, financial profiles, prices, capital events, indices, stock exchange announcements and company history.
NZX Annual reports contains full text annual reports back to 1998.

 

Mergent Online
Company information, detailed information from annual reports, including financials, and news are available back 15 years for most listed US and International companies. It is possible to compare companies' data using a variety of settings and formats. The reports can then be customised and exported into software applications such as Microsoft Word, Excel or Adobe Acrobat Reader.

 

SDC Platinum  a collection of databases providing unique and authoritative information on mergers & acquisitions, joint ventures and global new issues.

 

Wharton Research Databases (WRDS) US and International stock market analysis, financial and economic data. Can be downloaded into various software applications.

For theses and dissertations

Theses and dissertations Use the search box to find theses from the University of Auckland, or universities around the world.  Link from here to the Researchspace@Auckland thesis repository.

Additional databases
 

Accounting and Tax Database   indexing and abstracts to 300 key publications in accounting, auditing, and financial management. Over 200 of these titles are available in full-text, full page image, and text & graphics formats.

 

AADT Australian Accounting and Taxation Database  produced by the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia.  A bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts material on accounting and related business topics from 1982 onwards.

 

Current Contents indexes and abstracts journals, including business and finance resources.

 

ECONOMICSnetBASE Online collection of over 500 full-text monographs on economics, finance, and related areas from Routlege and other Taylor & Francis imprints.

 

EconLit  indexes the international economics literature including books, journals, theses, working papers and conferences. See the list of journals indexed and a listing of JEL classifications. Includes a number of accounting and finance journals.

 

Informit is a collection of databases mainly of Australian information.

 

Ingentaconnect academic and professional content available online from over 260 academic and professional publishers

 

IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences Index and abstracts only compiled by the British Library of Political & Economic Science of the London School of Economics & Political Science. Includes many accounting and finance journals.

 

JSTOR  an archive of scholarly digitised full text journals. The collection covers material from the 1800s.

 

Scopus is a multidisciplinary database which includes citation information.

 

TAXABS Australian Taxation Abstracts Database  is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts journals primarily in the area of taxation law but also child support, accounting, business, finance and superannuation from 1992 onwards.

 

Valise-Victorian Audit Library Information Service Database (VALISE), produced by the Victorian Auditor-General's Office, is a bibliographic database that indexes articles on auditing and related business topics from 1988 onwards.

 

Web of Science enables you to find out who has cited a particular article or book.

 

Wiley InterScience full text of journals from 1996 onwards. Includes many important titles for accounting and finance.

 
 Journals  Top of page
New Zealand Journals
 

Finding New Zealand business magazines and newspapers - a useful Library guide

 

Academic and popular journals - what's the difference and how to find them

   
Information for Accounting & Finance staff Top of page
 

Services for Business School staff
Library information for academic staff
Information literacy for academic staff
PapersInvited new database for publishing opportunities
Short Loan forms

 
Journal impact factors and "cited by"  Top of page

Library guide - PBRF and journal ranking a quick guide to resources and information 

Author guidelines for submitting articles Top of page
  Cabell's Business Directory - find out guidelines for submitting manuscripts to journals in the areas of accounting, economics & finance, management, and marketing
Accounting Standards Top of page
International

International Accounting Standards Board 
University of Toledo, College of Law lists financial regulators in each country Financial regulators gateway

NZ

Standard setting is now under the auspices of XRB Board and the New Zealand Accounting Standards Board (NZASB). The NZASB is a sub-Board of the XRB and issues accounting standards under a delegation from the XRB Board.

Or : New Zealand Institute of Chartered Accountants website New Zealand equivalents to International Financial Reporting Standards

Australia

Australian Accounting Standards Board
Australian Auditing and Assurance Standards Board

US

United States Financial Accounting Standards Board

Electronic sources of US GAAP Literature

US GAAP website

Canada

Canadian Accounting Standard Board (CAcSB)

UK

United Kingdom Accounting Standards Board  also Auditing Practices Board

France

Conseil Nationale de la Comptabilité (CNC)

Germany

German Accounting Standards Committee (DRSC)

Japan

Accounting Standards Board (ASBJ)

   
 Meta-sites  Top of page
   
 

Finance Site List (maintained by Journal of Finance)  links to journals, working papers, organizations.

 

Project Finance Portal  (Baker Library at Harvard university)  huge and well organized collection of resources on project finance

 

Rutgers Accounting Web (RAW) 'largest accounting web site on the internet'  

 

Te Puna Web Directory: NZ: Business and Economy

 

Wachowicz's Web World -- Web Sites for Discerning Finance Students  headings based on chapters  in author's textbook Fundamentals of Financial Management. Categories are unfortunately too broad for the number of links provided but most are to excellent resources.

   
Statistical data

 

Data in print form is shelved in the Statistics Collection on Level M in the General Library. See  Brief guide to statistical data on the Statistics and Numeric data page.

Currency Site (Oanda, Inc.) historical interbank daily crossrates 

 

Datastream. Equity and economic data for academic staff and currently enrolled post graduate students researching for Honours, Masters or a PhD.

Economics data and text resources from Rutgers University library. Includes links to statistical and mathematical software.

Financial Data Finder (Ohio State University)  links to a wide range of data sources and providers.

Infoshare - browse and search for New Zealand statistics.

International Financial Statistics (IMF) This data is also available on Datastream. Annual, quarterly, monthly time series data. The print copies are shelved at S1/IMF STAy on Level M.

NZSTATS: New Zealand Statistics Sources Browse a collection of NZ sources to find statistical information on the Internet, in databases and in print form in the University of Auckland Library.

New Zealand Time Series data from Statistics New Zealand and the Reserve Bank.

OFFSTATS - University of Auckland Library's own database of links to free and easily accessible statistics from official sources - country statistical offices, Government departments, Central Banks. 

Pacific Exchange Rate Service  (University of British Columbia) cross rates from 1971 on as  monthly or daily (max. 4 years) averages. Output in several formats.

OECD iLibrary build your own tables or download the full text of OECD statistical publications.

 

Treasury Management Database  historical and current bond yields, interest and exchange rates (mainly US).

Webstat Statistics on the Web. A database of statistical sources from Statistics Finland

Topic Guides Top of page

Corporate governance centre

  Citing electronic resources using the APA style
 

The current state of the New Zealand economy  Links to NZ banks, OECD and IMF reports

New Zealand industry and product information

More Business & Economics topic guides

  Library Company guides:  International company information and New Zealand company information
 

Case studies - what are they, how to find them, how to write them


Copyright©The University of Auckland Library
Comments and suggestions to: Julie Sibthorpe
 Last updated: 21 July, 2011