S U B J E C T   G U I D E S  :   INFORMATION SYSTEMS AND OPERATIONS MANAGEMENT

Business & Economics Information Services (BEIS)


BEIS home  |  BEIS Subject Guides Business Librarians  |  Business Information Centre  |  Business School  |  Ask a librarian  Business Blog


Books
Encyclopedias and dictionaries
Journals
Databases - use to search the contents of journals and find the fulltext
Databases to track research - find out who is citing who
Conferences
Statistics - for NZ and overseas

Selected internet resources

See also:
Topic Guide - Supply Chain Management

ISOM Subject Librarian

Manuhiri Huatahi
Business & Economics Information Services
Room 25, Level M, General Library
Phone 373 7599 ext. 86418
Email: m.huatahi@auckland.ac.nz

 

COURSE RESOURCES
ISOM Course Resource pages
- access online course readings and recommended library resources. Created by the library in collaboration with the teaching staff.



Subject Guides: Business & Economics - - for help on research techniques, citation, using Endnote, further topic guides ...

Department of Information Systems and Operations Management


Books  Top of page

Find out what is in the Library

  • Use Voyager, or Library Search from the library home page:

    • Voyager is the classic library catalogue - use it to locate books, what journals the library subscribes to, and multimedia held in the Library system. Take advantage of Voyager subject headings to accurately describe your topic.
    • Library Search applies a Google type search across a range of library sources - use it to retrieve books, journal articles, multimedia and more.

      • To assist getting relevant results put as many key terms into your search as possible - eg author name, key word from title, date
      • We strongly recommend you work with Advanced Search within Library Search. This gives you more options, including using subject headings for precise searching
      • To locate more focussed and better quality journal articles on business topics you are advised to search the Business databases - don't just rely on the articles you get from 'Articles & more'
      • To find out more explore Help or enrol in a library workshop
  • To locate journal articles (as opposed to titles of journals) you will need to search one of the journal databases

Other sources for locating books

Preset Voyager searches to help get you started with your research

Use these selected Subject Heading searches to find library materials on information systems and operations management.  Many of these headings have additional subcategories of interest:

Information Systems

Business - data processing
Business enterprises - computer networks
Business intelligence - data processing
Business intelligence - management
Chief information officers
Computer architecture
Computer network architectures
Computer networks - security measures
Computer networks - social aspects
Computer networks - standards
Computer security
Cyberspace - security measures
Data protection
Electronic commerce
Electronic commerce - case studies
Information society
Information technology - management
Information technology - security measures
Information technology - social aspects
Information technology - technological innovations
Management information systems
Management information systems - security measures
Service industries - information technology
Service industries - technological innovations
Software architecture
Telecommunication - technological innovations
Virtual work teams
Wireless communication systems
World wide web - social aspects

Operations Management and Supply Chain Management

Business research
Business logistics - management
Communication in organizations
Contracting out
Freight and freightage
Industrial efficiency
Industrial management - mathematical models
Industrial procurement
Industries - technological innovations
Inventory control
Just-in-time systems
Knowledge management
Materials handling
Materials management
Organizational behavior
Organizational behavior - handbooks, manuals
Organizational effectiveness
Organizational learning
Organizational learning - congresses
Organizational sociology
Physical distribution of goods
Product life cycle
Product management
Production control
Production planning
Production scheduling
Project management - examinations
Quality control
Shipment of goods
Strategic planning - case studies
Technological innovations - management

Additional Keyword Searches to find SCM materials: 

Customer relationship management
Enterprise resource planning
Global sourcing
Lean manufacturing
Order fulfillment
Outsourcing
Reverse logistics
Supply chain
Supply management
Value chain
Vertical integration

Career Planning

This subject heading leads to books covering career development in the IT industry:
Electronic data processing personnel



 


Encyclopedias and Dictionaries  Top of page
Dictionaries
Encyclopedias

Journals  Top of page

Information Systems

Upper tier IS titles:

See also:

Operations Management and Supply Chain Management

Upper tier OM titles:

See also:

Professional Management Journals

Trade Journals

 


Searching for academic articles - Library databases  Top of page

Multi-Database Searching for Information Systems and Operation Management

This can be a good start if you are unsure which of the Library databases below best covers your topic:

  • From the Library home page select Databases & Articles, then select tab Multi-Database Search
  • Under Custom Search select Create your customised list
  • In the Subject drop-down box select Business and Economics
  • Under Category select Information Systems and Operations Management
  • From this point your are able to search a set of 10 databases as one combined resource
Most frequently used Library databases for Information Systems and Operation Management
ABI/INFORM | Helpsheet (Proquest) mixture of citations/abstracts and fulltext articles
ACM Digital Library  fulltext journals and conference proceedings from the Association for Computing Machinery
  Business Source Premier | Helpsheet  (EBSCO)
  Business Monitor Online up-to-date IT reports for global and regional markets, as well as individual country reports, includes emerging economies
Emerald | Helpsheetcovers about 115  fulltext business and management journals
  Gartner market research reports and commentary in the area of information technology
IEEExplore fulltext of all IEEE and IEE publications including journal articles, conference papers, and technical standards
  INSPEC produced by the Institution of Electrical Engineers. Covered topics include  physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing, and information technology
ScienceDirect | Helpsheet - fulltext access to journals published by Elsevier. Contains a 'Top 25 Articles' in a range of subject areas. This leads you to the 'hottest articles' as classified by ScienceDirect
World Telecommunication Indicators Database - from the International Telecommunication Union
 

New Zealand coverage

  • Index New Zealand general index to NZ newspapers and journals
  • ANZ Reference Centre Australian and New Zealand content, including Metro, North and South, NZ Business and New Zealand Management, the New Zealand Herald, The Press and Sunday Star-Times.
Staying current

Find out what is being reported in the New Zealand media concerning your area of research, industry or company of interest:


Cited by Databases Top of page
Web of Science the premier databases for finding out who has cited a particular article or book. Use the Create citation alert feature to receive emails for any subsequent citing of a particular article. Also note the additional data available for citations eg ranking features, international spread for citations. Poor coverage of New Zealand journals
Business Source Premier has Times cited in this database links for some articles. It also has a Cited references button on the top of the page menu bar. Note that the cited bys are only to other items in the EBSCOhost database
ScienceDirect look for the Cited by link for individual records. There is also a link to Cited by in Scopus for individual records. The cited by articles are again like BSP, only to those titles included in the ScienceDirect and Scopus databases.
Scopus is related to ScienceDirect (same company owns them). It has a clean search interface and it is easy to find the cited by link to the right side of each item in a results list.
Google scholar look for Cited by links for some of the results
Other databases to search for 'cited by' information are those that allow you to run your search through the fulltext or all text. Databases allowing you to do this include ABI/INFORM and Expanded Academic
  Journal Citation Reports use this to identify the most heavily cited journals in a particular research area
  Incites track the most cited scholars, journals, institutions. Also provides journal impact factors. 

Conferences Top of page

Statistics Top of page
 
See also:
  • NZSTATS browse a collection of NZ sources to find statistical information on the Internet, in databases and in print form in the University of Auckland Library
  • OFFSTATS links to international web sites providing official numeric data

Selected Internet Resources  Top of page
  BuddeComm from Paul Budde – a leading Australasian telecommunications analyst. Research reports are very reasonable if they are not freely available.
Deloitte Fast 50 index of NZ's fastest growing businesses. And see Deloitte Technology Fast 500 by geographic region - Asia Pacific, EMEA, North America, Canada
AISNet from the Association of Information Systems.  From the Research Resources section:
TUANZ Telecommunications Users Association of New Zealand
  MIS100 report on the top IT users in NZ from CIO New Zealand
  New Zealand Chapter of the Project Management Institute
New Zealand Institute see their section on The Weightless Economy
ZDNet - an ezine published by US corporation CBS Interactive. Includes a section on free technical IT white papers, webcasts, and case studies.
 

Copyright©The University of Auckland Library
Comments and suggestions to: Manuhiri Huatahi
 Last updated: 16 February, 2012