BUSINESS SCHOOL ALUMNI

Business & Economics Information Services (BEIS)

 

BEIS home  |  BEIS Subject Guides  |  BEIS Subject Librarians


Contents

Access to University of Auckland Library business resources

Business Databases

Business librarian assistance

Business research & information guides
 

Business reference online

Internet tutorials

Free Online books

Business School Alumni

Information links

Business School Alumni  Webpage

Alumni & Friends of UoA

UoA Business School - latest news

University of Auckland Business Review


How to access Library resources

Business School alumni can continue access a range of business databases by taking out associate membership of the Library. See Associate Membership - Schedule of Fees .

Link to application form for associate membership, note there is a discount for alumni

Intending PhD students: Those who are preparing or have submitted a thesis proposal are given membership of the University Library free of charge for a limited period of time .

Business databases

Listing of databases available to Associate Members of the Library

Note: Many public libraries now have business databases such as ABI and Business Source Premier available to their patrons

Business Librarians


We encourage an on going relationship with our business alumni. Please contact Julie Sibthorpe, the Business & Economics Library Team Manager for further information on library services or research assistance for Business alumni.

 


Business research & information guides

Many of the resources on the Business & Economics: Subject Guides page are freely available on the Internet. These include information links for specific business topics, topic guides, industry and company guides, as well as tutorials and guides on finding business information. See below for examples of freely available content

Research and information guides Content
New Zealand industry and product information
Excellent 8 step guide to finding resources.
Recent industry news and articles; industry reports, profiles & overviews;company information; industry association & organisation websites; additional industry overviews and global scenarios using an internet search engine; the ANZSIC code and industry description; trade and market share statistics; patents, stardards and trademarks; doing business in New Zealand.
New Zealand company information
Company information can be sourced from a variety of places so it may be necessary to look in a number of resources.
Profiles; directories; annual reports; financials; rankings; journal articles; case studies; broker reports; TNCs & investment; case law; M & As; ownership; wealth creation; historical information; consumer information & market share.

Use the Flow Chart for finding information on a selected company.

International company information
As for NZ company information, this can be sourced from a variety of places so it may be necessary to look in a number of resources.
Overviews; directories; journal articles; rankings; annual reports; financials; investment reports; IPOs; M & As; joint ventures & strategic alliances; privatisation; stock exchanges & data; ownership; working papers.

NZSTATS: New Zealand Statistics Sources
Browse a collection of NZ sources to find statistical information on the Internet, in databases and in print form in the University of Auckland Library.

Finding statistics about New Zealand
Statistics New Zealand website has a number of free tables; see the Table Builder for creating a table using demographic data.
Brief guide to statistical data outlines some of the problems locating data plus information about the print Statistics Collection.
International statistical sources
Internet sites for building and downloading tables of data, locating international data on specific topics and archives.
OFFSTATS. Official statistics on the Web compiled by country, region or topic.
...more sites including additional economic, financial, political and social data and data archive sites. 
Entrepreneurship: information resources
Prepared for the Vision to Business seminar series.
Links to Subject Guides area.
Spark: the University of Auckland entrepreneurial challenge.
Vision to Business seminar series.

Current state of the New Zealand economy

Views of the Treasury & banks; views of Government departments and agencies; views and business opinions of organisations and economists

Foreign direct investment

Books & journal articles; investment policy; other FDI information sources; statistics - NZ and other; time series by sector; time series - bilateral flow.
Country information Country profiles; statistics; ratings & rankings; trade.
Energy: information resources Journal articles & industry reports; working papers; industrial enquiries; energy companies & organisations; statistics; NZ Government department reports 
Open access business sources Links to websites and other directories of open access resources
Seafood industry study

Fisheries economics; Maori resources; seafood supply chains; NZ and international seafood companies & organisations; NZ full-text reports



Quick Business Reference online 

Internet
Free ebooks online

 


File Last updated: April 13, 2011