
Industry Guide: Wine Industry
Business and Economics Information Services
BEIS home | Business Librarians | Business Information Centre | Business School | Blog
|
Contents:
|
|
 |
This
page covers business aspects of the wine industry. For Wine Science
resources please see the Wine
Science page.
Each section below has links to resources pertaining to the wine industry: print material, databases, websites and various e-resources. In some sections there are examples of books and journals that can be found on the open shelves of the General Library. There are also examples of e-books and e-journals that can be sourced directly online.
To access the Library
resources via the internet you must be a member of the Library and have a NetID and NetPassword. For more information click on the Library's Membership
Policy or NetAccount. When coming in to the library to borrow books you must bring your student id card.
|
 |

| The Library catalogue lists all items held in the Library system (books, journals, videos and more). You can search using key terms such as these: |
|
|
Below are some examples of printed titles held by the Library: |
- Bell Gully. (2006). Winemaker's legal handbook. (variant title
Winemakers legal guide) Auckland: Bell Gully.
- Campbell, Gywn and Guibert, Nathalie. (2007). Wine, society and
globalization :multidisciplinary perspectives on the wine industry.
New York, NY: Palgrave MacMillan.
- Hawkesby, John and Baker, Ian. (2006). Vintage: a wine journey. North Shore, NZ: Penguin/Viking.
- Jenster, P. (2008). The business of wine: a global perspective. Copenhagen Business School Press.
- Resnick, Evelyne. (2008). Wine brands: success strategies for new
markets new consumers, new trends. Basingstoke, UK :Palgrave
Macmillan.
- Stewart, Keith. (2010). Chancers and visionaries : a history of New Zealand wine. Auckland, N.Z. : Godwit.
- Wagner, Paul, Olsen, Janeen and Thach, Liz. (2007). Wine marketing
& sales: success strategies for a saturated market. San Francisco,
CA: Wine Appreciation Guild.
|

The Library catalogue lists all books and ebooks held in the Library
system.
Te
Puna, the National Bibliographic Database produced by the
National Library of New Zealand, has records of about 10 million
books and journals. Other library holdings, in other institutions, are a
useful source for possible interloans: Interloan request form.
| Examples of some e-books: |
- Anderson, Kym. (2004). The
world's wine markets [electronic resource]
: globalization at work. Northhampton, MA : Edward Elgar Pub.
- Jack Carlsen; Stephen Charters; ebrary, Inc. (2007). Global wine tourism [electronic resource] : research, management and marketing. Wallingford : CABI Pub.
- Guibert, Nathalie and Campbell, Gwyn. (2006). Impact of
globalization on the wine industry. England: Emerald Group
Publishing.
- Hall, Colin and Mitchell, Richard. ( 2008). Wine marketing:
a practical guide. Amsterdam: Elsevier.
- Heyhoe, Kate & Hock, Stanley. (2004). Harvesting
the dream: the rags-to-riches tale of the Sutter Home Winery. Wiley.
- Matasar, Ann B. (2006). Women of wine: the rise of women in the
global wine industry. Berkeley: University of California
Press.
- Tetteh, Emmanuel O. (2002). Lone
River Winery Company [electronic resource] : a case of virtual
organisation and electronic business strategies in small and
medium-sized firms. Hershey, Penn. : Idea Group.
- Varriano, John. (2010). Wine [electronic resource] : a cultural history. London : Reaktion Books.
|
| Examples of some Bibliographies: |
- Amerine, M. A. (Maynard Andrew). (c1986). A bibliography of
publications by the faculty, staff, and students of the University of California, 1876-1980, on
grapes, wines, and related subjects. Berkeley : University of California Press.
- Bradley-Streeter, Danielle. (1994). New Zealand wines and
vineyards : a bibliographic guide.
- Gabler, James. (2004). Wine into words : a history and
bibliography of wine books in the English language. Baltimore, MD : Bacchus Press.(Science Reference, Level M).
- Geography of New Zealand wine. UoA Library bibliography and guide includes articles, theses, book chapters on aspects of the New Zealand wine industry.
- The International wine marketing and wine tourism database is a
bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles
from published material on all aspects of the global wine
industry. Source documents include journal articles, books,
government publications, research reports, statistical
documents, and conference papers. Subject coverage includes:
marketing, business strategies, supply chain management,
consumer choice behaviour, branding, retailing, tourism,
health, and export marketing.
|

|
|
The Library catalogue has links to a large number of full-text electronic journals, or use the A-Z
e-journal list. Also see: How
to search and use e-journals (pdf)
Selected journals for the wine industry: |
|

| Databases for the wine industry |
Library Databases: Search the databases for useful articles using key words such as wine, wineries, vineyards,
vitaculture. Add secondary key words to a search specific areas of interest, such as accounting, financials, investment, production, costing, expansion, capacity, forecasting. How
to set up email alerts: easy to set up, customised alerts keep you
informed of the latest publications in your subject area.
| New Zealand databases: |
- ANZ Reference Centre A full-text collection combining content from Australian, New Zealand business magazines like NZ Business and New Zealand Management magazine. Also overseas magazines, academic journals, newspapers, newswires, reference books and company information.
- NZresearch.org.nz Kiwi Research Information Service, contains full text university research in wine.
- Index New Zealand (INNZ) Indexes New Zealand content journals from popular magazines through to "academic" journals. Not full text. To get the full text of an article use this helpful guide: Finding New Zealand business magazines and newspapers
- Newzindex Indexes general magazines (Metro, North and South, New Zealand
Listener) and trade publications.
- Newztext
Plus Full text access to daily newspapers including the NZ Herald, plus magazines including the National Business Review.
|
Global databases: These databases index articles from thousands of international business publications and are a useful source for trends and developments |
- ABI Inform One of the main general business databases with full text articles from academic
journals and trade magazines. Searches can be limited to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals.
- Business Source Premier Business database with over 1300 titles in full text. Includes the Journal of Wine Research. Indexes
the Harvard Business Review.
- Business Monitor International Contains market reports and individual sector studies including the worldwide retail drinks market.
- Emerald Provides access to the full text of over 100 journals
published by the MCB University Press. All journals are peer
reviewed.
- Factiva News items and company profiles. Can limit search to a region and combine terms.
- Global Market Information
Database Search industries, then choose geogaphical area. Contains statistics, market share, company information and articles.
- Google Scholar : Helpsheet Search engine for scholarly literature. Not a structured database but good for cross-disciplinary topics and has useful 'cited by' links.
- International Wine marketing and wine tourism database An online
bibliographic resource produced by the University of South
Australia. The International Wine Marketing Database indexes and abstracts articles from published
material on all aspects of the global wine industry, and
includes full-text for around 500 articles.
- Science Direct Academic journals from Elsevier publishers.
Includes many full text articles on wine science.
- Scopus Multidisciplinary database covering scientific information.
Includes 27 million abstracts, covering 14,000 peer-reviewed
titles from 4,000 publishers.
|

Library
Theses and dissertations Use the search box to
find theses from the University of Auckland. Also lists
databases which cover other Universities around the world
including ProQuest
Theses & Dissertations
Te Puna the National Bibliographic Database, produced
by the National Library of New Zealand, has both New
Zealand and some international theses.

| Case Studies for the wine industry |
What
are case studies? In the Library catalogue you can add the words 'case study' to your search.e.g. 'wine marketing cases studies',
'viticulture case studies'.
Use IStart online to find New Zealand wine case studies. Use the search box at top right and select Case studies in the drop down box.
| The following are some New Zealand case studies: |
- Wilson, H & Scholes, K. (2002). Coopers Creek and the New Zealand Wine
industry in Exploring Corporate Strategy : [Texts
and Cases]. Financial
Times Prentice Hall.
- Birchfield, Reg. (Nov, 2004). The
Come-back Corbans - the fall and rise of New Zealand's
best-known winemaking dynasty. New Zealand Management,
Auckland, p40.
- Delegat’s growth drives online recruitment model (iStart ebusiness case study).
- Langdale Wines, in Clemes, M. (2002). New Zealand Case Studies in Strategic Marketing. Palmerston
North:
Dunbar Press.
- Preston,W. (1996). Mills Reef Winery in
Poulin, B. Mills, B. & Spiller, D. (1998). Strategy and Management : A New Zealand Casebook.Longman, Auckland, p.91-102.
- Montana’s secrets ripe for sharing (iStart ebusiness case study).
- Villa
Maria leads with a “Smart” sales force (iStart ebusiness case study).
|

| Company and industry information |

| Annual Reports & statistics |
| Company Annual Reports can be found on company websites: |
| |
| Statistics can be found at the links below: |
| |

| New Zealand Organisations: |
| |
| Australian Organisations: |
|
| International Organisations: |
|
| Research Centres: |
|
| Other Internet resources: |
|

|
|