Voyager 
Voyager is the University of Auckland, online Library catalogue, accessed via the Library's homepage.Search the Library catalogue using appropriate terms and keywords to locate fisheries material. Note the facility to order search results with the most recent first.
Te Puna the National Bibliographic Database produced by the National Library of New Zealand, has records of the holdings of New Zealand libraries
|
Useful subject headings for searching in Voyager: |
Aquatic ecology
Aquaculture industry
Fish trade
Fishery products New Zealand marketing
Fisheries economic aspects
Fishery law and legislation
Fishery management New Zealand
Fishery products-New Zealand
|
Maori (New Zealand people) Fishing
Customary law New Zealand
Right of property New Zealand
Seafood industry
Seafood industry Statistics
Seafood industry law and legislation |
E-books 
|
E-book databases to locate online books
- Ebrary : more than 21,000 recently published books on all subjects
- Ebsco : major collection of business books
- ScienceDirect :
|
To access e-books you must use your NetID and Net Password. For more information click here. If you are looking for an electronic book on Voyager, type the search terms and electronic resource into the boxes in a guided keyword search
Videos and DVDs 
E-journals 
Find a particular journal by title in Voyager, or go to E-journals on the Library
homepage page and type in the journal title.
|
Library databases for the Seafood industry 
To access articles in the databases you must use your NetID and Net Password. If you are working from home, you will need to follow the instructions on the NetAccount web page.
These databases contain many other titles, so search for seafood topics using the "Useful subject headings for Voyager".
ABI/INFORM
ABI/INFORM Global indexes and abstracts over 1,400 business and economics journals, magazines, and trade publications. In addition, it provides the full text and/or page images of the articles from about half of these periodicals.
Agricola
A searchable database of bibliographic records created by the US National Agricultural Library and its cooperators. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and fisheries.
Aquatic sciences & fisheries abstracts
International database on science, technology and the management of marine, brackish and freshwater environments.
Biological abstracts
Biological Abstracts is an international database on biology, clinical and experimental medicine, biochemistry and biotechnology. It indexes and abstracts articles in 6,500 serials from over 100 countries and is produced in the United States by BIOSIS
Business Source Premier
Contains the full text of the contents of over 2,000 international business publications.
Conference papers index
Citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis is in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, coverage 1982 - present.
ELIXIR
Australian database produced by the Library and Information Services Unit of the Victorian Department of Natural Resources and Environment, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts books, reports, theses, video recordings, manuscripts and pictorial matter in departmental libraries and regional collections. Includes fisheries information.
Emerald
Over 100 full-text journals covering marketing, human resources, quality management, operations, production & economics and general management. Articles have an academic focus.
Expanded academic
Multidisciplinary database of academic journals, magazines and newspapers.
Index New Zealand (INNZ)
INNZ indexes nearly 300 journals and newspapers. It is the key New Zealand database for social sciences, arts, humanities and general interest material.
Newztext Plus
Full-text of key New Zealand business publications including the National Business Review, New Zealand Management, NZ Business, The Independent and INL newspapers including the New Zealand Herald.
New Zealand Science
A comprehensive index of New Zealand Science, provided by The Crown Research Institutes. Searches can be restricted to all or any of the following: NIWA, Landcare, HortResearch, Institute of Geological and Nuclear Sciences (GNS) and the Forest Bibliography.
Science Direct
Mostly full-text database including coverage of economics, business and management science.
Streamline
Australian database. Subjects cover the sustainable management of land, vegetation and water resources, including urban water and wastewater and irrigation systems
Web of Science
The Web of Science is a mutlidisciplinary database listing 20 million items from over 8000 journals. Most items are in the Sciences, but it is also useful for the Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities. You may search for suitable items by Keyword, author, date and address. Furthermore you may also search for journal items by the references that they cite (including books or articles in books).
Wiley Interscience online journals
Wiley publishes journals on the following subjects: Business, Finance & Management; Chemistry; Computer Science; Earth Science; Education; Engineering; Law; Life and Medical Sciences; Mathematics and Statistics; Physics; Psychology.
Statistical information
New Zealand
NZStats- the Library's online database of statistical sources provides sources for the New Zealand fishing and seafood industry
Australia
Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics (ABARE) -fisheries resources
International
OFFSTATS.includes official statistics from all over the world in The University of Auckland Library compilation of official statistics.
United States
United States Regional
United States States and Provinces
Supply chains 
UK
- UK Seafish Organisation -
Resources, includes long list of downloadable pdf UK reports on all aspects of supply chain,economics and marketing of fish
US
Fisheries economics 
Maori Resources 
General
Reports
Journal articles
DVDs and Videos
- Consult the Maori AV Catalogue using the search term Kaimoana for seafood and fish:
The AV Maori Catalogue is an index of Maori television programmes, or programmes with substantial Maori content, that are broadcast on New Zealand television and held by the University of Auckland Library. Programmes that have been indexed include: Koha, Waka Huia, Marae, Tiki tiki, Pukana and other Maori series or documentaries.
- Whose rights are right? [videorecording] : Maori customary fishing rights / written and directed by Sean Kerins.[Rotorua, N.Z.] : Cardno Productions Rotorua [for] the Treaty of Waitangi Fisheries Commission, [1997]
- The Road to Waitangi [videorecording].Explains the text and gives a historical summary of the Treaty of Waitangi. Focuses on contemporary issues, such as land, education and fisheries claims. [Auckland, N.Z.] : Red Tapes, c1990.
- Against the tide [videorecording] / written, narrated, produced and directed by Tama Poata [.Wellington?] : Te Hokioi Film Co. [in association with] Television New Zealand, 1988. (Women fishers)
Internet sites
Treaty of Waitangi Fisheries Commission Te Ohu Kai Moana
Links to Organisations
Worldwide
Pacific
US
Europe
Australia
United Kingdom
New Zealand organisations 
New Zealand Reports 
New Zealand companies 
- See the Seafood Industry Council website Exporter Directory for a list of New Zealand exporting companies.
Useful information 
Theses and Dissertations 
Theses and dissertations page on the library site helps you search for theses held at the University of Auckland and elswhere.Te Puna the National Bibliographic Database, produced by the National Library of New Zealand, has both New Zealand and some international theses. In an ADVANCED search you can construct searches using keywords eg. thesis Māori business. (make the search KEYWORD ANYWHERE).
The Union List of Higher Degree Theses is an annual print bibliography of theses lodged in New Zealand libraries, with coverage going back to 1910. Available from the New Zealand & Pacific Quick Reference shelves Level G in the GENERAL LIBRARY, Call No. 013.37895 U581
- Internet Gateway: Other libraries Access the online catalogues of the other New Zealand universities
- Kiwi Research Information Service. A gateway to open-access research documents, such as theses, produced at universities,
polytechnics, and other research institutions in New Zealand. It provides a single gateway to the content of New Zealand research repositories such as the University of Auckland's ResearchSpace.
|