SUPPLY CHAIN MANAGEMENT : Library Resources and Information

Business & Economics Information Services (BEIS)


BEIS home  |  BEIS Subject Guides Business Librarians  |  Business Information Centre  |  Business School  |  Ask a librarian Business Blog


See also Topic Guides:

CSCM
CSCM Research
Website: NZ Centre for Supply Chain Management

ISOM Subject Librarian
Justene McNeice
Business & Economics Information Services
Room M25, Level M
General Library
Phone 373 7599 ext 84668

Margaret Tibbles
Business & Economics Information Services
Room M25, Level M
General Library
Phone 373 7599 ext 87537

 



Owen G Glenn Building

This Library guide supports the research activities of The University of Auckland Business School's New Zealand Centre for Supply Chain Management

CSCM Industry Members


CSCM publications

The following publications are from staff and students undertaking research work for the Centre for Supply Chain Management. Where available links have been made to the Library catalogue with book location details or to the full text of articles available within the Library's collections via institutional signon using Netaccount, or to open sources.

Refereed Journal Articles

Sections in Books

  • Reefke, H., Sundaram, D., & Ahmed, M. D. (2010). Maturity progression model for sustainable supply chains. In: W. Dangelmaier et al. (Eds.): Lecture notes in business information processing: Vol. 46, Advanced manufacturing and sustainable logistics 8th International Heinz Nixdorf Symposium, IHNS 2010, Paderborn, Germany, April 21-22, 2010. Proceedings (pp. 308–319). Berlin Heidelberg; Springer-Verlag. doi:10.1007/978-3-642-12494-5_28
  • Reefke, H. (2010). Simulation of container traffic flows at a metropolitan seaport. In: W. Dangelmaier et al. (Eds.): Lecture notes in business information processing: Vol. 46, Advanced manufacturing and sustainable logistics 8th International Heinz Nixdorf Symposium, IHNS 2010, Paderborn, Germany, April 21-22, 2010. Proceedings (pp. 420–431). Berlin Heidelberg; Springer-Verlag. doi:10.1007/978-3-642-12494-5_37
  • Arthanari, T.S. (2009). Models without main players. In S. K. Neogy, A. K. Das, & R. B. Bapat (Eds.). Statistical science and interdisciplinary research: Vol. 6, Modeling, computation and optimization (Chapter 7). Hackensack, NJ : World Scientific.
  • Soon, C. (2009). Radio frequency identification history and development. In J. Symonds, J. Ayoade, & D. Parry (Eds.). Auto-identification and ubiquitous computing applications: RFID and smart technologies for information convergence (pp. 1-18). NY; Information Science Reference.
  • Arthanari, T.S. (2008). On the membership problem of pedigree polytope. In S. K. Neogy, R. B. Bapat, A. K. Das, & T. Parthasarathy (Eds.). Statistical science and interdisciplinary research: Vol. 1, Mathematical programming and game theory for decision making (Chapter 6). Singapore ; Hackensack, NJ: World Scientific.
  • Haerian Ardekani, L., & Arthanari, T. (2008). Traveling salesman problem and membership in pedigree polytope - A numerical illustration. In Communications in Computer and Information Science: Vol. 14, Modelling, Computation and Optimization in Information Systems and Management Sciences Second International Conference MCO 2008, Metz, France - Luxembourg, September 8-10, 2008 Proceedings (pp. 145-154).
  • Lu, Q., & Wood, L. (2005). Dynamics on the factory floor of AES: any "credits" for short-sighted behaviours? In M. Wilson. (Ed.). (2005). Case in point : best cases from the 2005 International Conference on Case Study Teaching and Learning (pp.41-55). Auckland, N.Z.: GSE Publications.
  • Lu, Q., Wood, L., & Cheung, S. (2005). The birth of the vision tester at AES: the impact and distribution of process variety. In M. Wilson. (Ed.). (2005). Case in point : best cases from the 2005 International Conference on Case Study Teaching and Learning (pp.41-55). Auckland, N.Z.: GSE Publications.

Conference Papers

  • Arthanari, T. S., & Sundaram, D. (2009). A Metaphor for the interface between OM and IS. Paper in the refereed proceedings of the international conference of the production and operations society of America, POMS 2009, Orlando, Fl., USA, 30 April – 5 May, 2009.
  • Soon, C., & Guiterrez, J. (2008). Where is New Zealand at with radio frequency identification in the supply chain? - A survey result. In L. Janczewski & J. Gutiérrez. (Ed.s). Information resources management in the digital economy: Proceedings of 2008 International Conference on Information Resources Management, Niagara Falls, Ontario, May 18-20 2008, (Paper 93).
  • Wood, L. (2007). It takes three to tango: the role of process development in NPD. Proceedings of the 13th ANZSYS Conference, Systemic Development: Local Solutions in a Global Environment - Auckland, New Zealand, 2nd-5th December, 2007
  • Lu, Q., & Wood, L. (2006). Functional interactions for product realisation: Evidence from New Zealand high-tech manufacturing firms. Proceedings of the 11th World Congress for Total Quality Management, Wellington, New Zealand, 4-6 December 2006.
  • Soon, C., & Guiterrez, J. (2004). Mobile commerce over wireless local area networks. In N. Callaos, V. A. Lefebvre, E. Hansen, T. Dickopp, & Jaw-Sin, S. (Ed.s). The 8th World multi-conference on systemics, cybernetics and informatics : proceedings, July 18-21, 2004, Orlando, Florida, USA : SCI 2004. Vol. 1, Information systems, technologies and applications. Orlando: International Institute of Informatics and Systemics.
  • Wood, L., & Sankaran J. (2004). The Impact of JIT replenishment and road traffic congestion on distribution costs. Proceedings of the 39th annual conference, Operational Research Society of New Zealand, Auckland, New Zealand, 28-29 November 2004

Non-refereed Journal Articles

Soon, C. (2008). Picking up the signals: Is RFID making waves in New Zealand? iStart Technology in Business Magazine, Quarter One, 10-12.


Theses
Work in progress, please contact the Centre for Supply Chain Management for further details:
Degree Candidate Thesis Title
Masters Candidates Meng, Zhao (David) (2008) Measuring financial impact on splitting pack in multi-level distribution systems.
  Sherry Xueru Liu (2008) An exploratory study of the internet service delivery in New Zealand.
  Brenda Yang (Thesis submitted, 2009) Sustainable transportation management: integrated modeling and support.
Completed:
Soon, Chin Boo. (2010). Radio frequency identification : adoption of RFID in New Zealand supply chains. Thesis (Ph.D.). Information Systems and Operations Management, University of Auckland.

From other institutions:

For tips on finding theses within New Zealand and overseas refer to the Library webpage Theses and Dissertations.


Books

Suggested Subject Heading searches

Click on a subject heading below to display an index of subject headings in the Library catalogue, Voyager. Then click on a heading of interest to display a list of books / journals on that topic. Many of these headings have additional subcategories of interest:

Business enterprises - computer networks -management
*Business logistics use this heading for Supply chain management
Business logistics - management
Business planning
Business research
Climatic changes--economic aspects--New Zealand.
Cost effectiveness
Electronic data processing - auditing
Financial risk management
Freight and freightage
Freight and freightage --Government policy
Geographic information systems - management
Industrial efficiency
Information technology - cost effectiveness
Industrial management - mathematical models
Industrial procurement
Industries - technological innovations

Inventory control
Just-in-time systems
Knowledge management
Materials handling
Materials management
Physical distribution of goods
Product life cycle
Product management
Production control
Production planning
Production scheduling
Project management - examinations
Quality control
Shipment of goods
Strategic planning - case studies
Technological innovations - management
Transportation law and legislation
Value analysis - cost control

Recent materials

These materials are drawn from the University's Library collection and reports available on the internet:

Book series


Encyclopedias

Selected Journals relating to SCM

Click on a title below to display the Library catalogue Voyager record, including years held and location details (including online) :

Upper tier scholarly titles

New Zealand

Professional Management Journals

See also:

Trade / Industry Journals

 

See also

 


Searching for Academic Articles - Library databases

For the latest peer-reviewed research published in scholarly journals use these databases to locate articles for SCM: 

  • ABI/Inform | Helpsheet (Proquest) indexes over 2,700 business and economics periodicals and provides full text articles for around 2000 of these. May be searched simultaneously with other ProQuest 5000 databases

  • Business Source Premier | Helpsheet (Ebsco) provides full text for nearly 7,800 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,125 peer-reviewed business publications. It includes Country Monitor and Industry Yearbook Reports from WEFA and country reports from the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)

  • Emerald Management Xtra | Step by Step Guide full text journals covering marketing, human resources, quality management, operations, production & economics and general management
  • ScienceDirect | Helpsheet
    • Part of Scopus | Guide which can also be useful for business topics. Many items are available full text.
  • ProjectManagmentnetBASE - fulltext access to over 50 titles published by the Taylor and Francis Group. Topics include business process strategy, leadership, management strategy and techniques, supply chain management, software deployment and management, performance improvement, supply chain project management, process improvement, organizational engineering, lean management and risk management
  • Gartner Group Intranet  IT market research reports
  • ACM Digital Library  fulltext journals and conference proceedings from the Association for Computing Machinery
  • IEEExplore fulltext of all IEEE and IEE publications including journal articles, conference papers, and technical standards
  • General OneFile (Expanded Academic) cross-disciplinary with some good business content
  • Index New Zealand (INNZ) a general index to NZ periodicals. Not full text but useful for broad coverage of magazines such as The NZ Listener, North & South and government reports. To locate the full text of an article, you need to locate the details of the journal title in the library catalogue, by entering a serial title search in Voyager
  • Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre (Ebsco) combines content from Australian, New Zealand and overseas magazines, newspapers, newswires, reference books and company information

Staying current

Find out what is being reported in the New Zealand media concerning your area of research:

Additional resources

  • Google Scholar - concentrates on academic literature, worth searching in addition to the Library databases


Working papers / Conferences

Conference proceedings


Government / Research institutions

Industry

New Zealand

International

Industry resources

  • SupplyChainBrain - industry news and resources, by Keller International Publishing LLC

Copyright©The University of Auckland Library
Comments and suggestions to: Justene McNeice
 Last updated: October 20, 2011